4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

【Micro Four Thirds】Olympus & Panasonic Thread V8, OM System OM-3 Arriving In Malaysia 2025

Hexlord
post Dec 8 2021, 09:27 AM

991 posts

Quick question, are there anyone still rocking their original 4/3 bodies & lenses?

Recently took my brother in law's E-520 out for a spin. Although the AF is bonkers (lol), the handling/feel of the body not bad le.

Wanted to see if any 4/3 lenses are available on Lazada/Shopee but only found Micro variants... tongue.gif
Hexlord
post Jan 17 2022, 11:01 AM

991 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 17 2022, 10:14 AM)

IMHO i would not invest too much in 4/3 as the system is discontinued.
Then throw away the camera? tongue.gif
Hexlord
post Jan 17 2022, 07:45 PM

991 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 17 2022, 01:00 PM)
use it until the camera die.
Sadly the AF is quite problematic at the moment. I suspect the lens might be the cause, cmiiw.

That's why I ask about availability.
Hexlord
post Jan 19 2022, 11:37 AM

991 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 19 2022, 11:32 AM)
i would suggest you get the 4/3 to m4/3 adapter
there are plenty of worthy m43 lenses 45mm f1.8, 17mm f.18, 20mm f1.7.......

https://shashinki.com/shop/panasonic-dmw-ma...ras-p-4672.html

shasinki still have stock for the legendary 14-35mm f2.0 4/3 lens at rm8k  sweat.gif

https://shashinki.com/shop/olympus-zuiko-14...sia-p-1542.html
Won't work right? I need m4/3 to 4/3 body, which I was told is not possible.
Hexlord
post Mar 1 2022, 02:29 PM

991 posts

I picked up a PEN E-P3 today~ will be arriving next week I guess.

Might add in a 45mm f1.8 and a Pana 20mm f1.7 in the future.

Hexlord
post Mar 1 2022, 04:18 PM

991 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Mar 1 2022, 02:36 PM)
welcome to the M43 family!
Thanks~ all the videos by Robin Wong convinced me to try haha. Does he hang around here in Lowyat?
Hexlord
post Mar 3 2022, 09:16 AM

991 posts

Anyway, with regards to Robin Wong....

https://robinwong.blogspot.com/2022/03/i-qu...usomsystem.html

Also the camera I got recently... the IBIS doesn't work lol. I just figured out why the IS icon is blinking. lol!
Hexlord
post Mar 3 2022, 02:33 PM

991 posts

Just spoken to a gentleman called Lee from OMD World Imaging... very friendly & informative chap.

But dayum, if send camera to service and check the IBIS would take between 10-15 working days.... cannot lar haha.

Guess have to live with it lar. Still a great camera body though.

This post has been edited by Hexlord: Mar 3 2022, 02:33 PM
Hexlord
post Mar 4 2022, 01:44 PM

991 posts

Nothing too late lar if you really are serious in photography. biggrin.gif

Hexlord
post Mar 4 2022, 05:30 PM

991 posts

Anyway the E-P3 which I picked up has the orange blinking IS icon which I checked online, is related to the stabilization module being faulty. I am still able to take photos and thanks to the light setup I guess there's no really not much worries about image shake.

I checked with the seller and it turns out all her remaining stock has the blinking orange IS icon...

This post has been edited by Hexlord: Mar 4 2022, 05:48 PM
Hexlord
post Mar 6 2022, 12:14 PM

991 posts

Hexlord
post Mar 7 2022, 10:50 AM

991 posts

Just found out that the internal capacitor in the camera no longer hold the date/time properly.

You guys think it is a good idea to just get a E-M10 Mk IV or continue using the PEN? I still plan on getting a few primes for casual street/travel photography.
Hexlord
post Mar 7 2022, 05:39 PM

991 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Mar 7 2022, 05:21 PM)
bummer! IBIS is the core of Oly m43 system.

OMD is leaps ahead compared to PEN system.
even the old e-m5 mark 1 still can beat any latest PEN, most notably because of the 5 axis IBIS.

use the PEN first to find out if m43 is to your liking or not before you invest any further.
there are cons and pros for every system including m43.
E-P7 also offers 5 axis IBIS haha.

I'll get a few more lenses then see how it goes.
Hexlord
post Mar 8 2022, 09:34 AM

991 posts

https://fstoppers.com/reviews/new-om-1-impr...w-camera-598141

Not bad~
Hexlord
post Mar 9 2022, 09:17 AM

991 posts

QUOTE(shanjeev @ Mar 8 2022, 07:34 PM)
Hi guys, need help on my E-M10 MkII; it has developed ribbon issue. May I know where can it be repaired, as too what I know currently Olympus doesn't have any official service centre in Malaysia or am I wrong. Thanks in advance.
You can enquire from OMD World Imaging.... I recently called them regarding the prospect of repairing my E-P3.

Address: VO6-06-02, Signature 2, Lingkaran SV, Sunway Velocity, 55100 Kuala Lumpur, Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur

Phone: 03-2702 3575

They did mention about the average turnaround time for repairs/servicing = 7-14 working days. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Hexlord: Mar 9 2022, 09:18 AM
Hexlord
post Mar 14 2022, 05:16 PM

991 posts

QUOTE(shanjeev @ Mar 10 2022, 02:05 PM)
Don't mind the time line, as long as can repair. Thank you very much

Not sure want to stick with m43 or sell everything and start fresh with A7III. Any suggestions.
Maybe can consider A6400 or A7c as well lar.

To me I just started on this whole m43 journey. Really liking it so far.

I picked up an E-M10 Mk II from a seller today. Looking forward to using it over the weekend.

Hexlord
post Mar 14 2022, 10:21 PM

991 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Mar 14 2022, 07:08 PM)
Wahhh 1 month in you already so form into M43 liao!!! Nice nice
A lot of good deals, really cheaper than my main system. tongue.gif

If only Nikon's prices are the same as Oly. bruce.gif
Hexlord
post Mar 17 2022, 10:07 AM

991 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Mar 17 2022, 09:58 AM)
m10 ii has 5 axis ibis so its gooding.  brows.gif
Yeap. Also been watching Rob Trek's videos on how to use the camera.

In addition, I also took note of Robin Wong's OMD cheat sheet. Already adjusted the settings.

Btw I have a few questions.

1. Shading Comp = useful?

2. High Frame Rate = Any issues you experienced so far?

EVF's decent. I still prefer OVF though haha.
Hexlord
post Mar 17 2022, 10:19 AM

991 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Mar 17 2022, 10:13 AM)
1. leave it off unless you shoot JPG. it applies to the RAW file so better to post process it to your preference.

2. non that i know off.

yeah nothing beats OVF. also OVF saves battert too, but the mirror slap. remember that?  doh.gif  laugh.gif
Yeap lol. I also turned on the anti shock 0 sec option. Doesn't seem to impact any photo taking so far.
Hexlord
post Mar 17 2022, 03:25 PM

991 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Mar 17 2022, 12:05 PM)
shutter shock for the OMD series are almost unheard of.

shutter shock are famous for the PEN series especially the earlier models though.
Yeah some ppl at DPR did mention about it so why not just turn it on.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0361sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:48 PM