X100 vs RX100

davidletterboyz
post Sep 22 2016, 12:08 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Sep 19 2016, 01:09 PM)
Hi

Due to bajet, narrow down to these 2 models only. Of coz 2nd hand due to similar price.

Advantage on x100
- low noise on high iso
- sensor

Advantage on rx100
- weight
- 3x zoom

Anyone can help me to decide ?
wo totally different kind of cameras.
X100 suits street photography whilst the RX100 is more versatile and smaller. X100 has better image quality, but are you comfortable with the prime lens setup? And don't forget, you are likely to use manual focus/zone focusing of the X100. The AF is very slow by today's standard. Sometimes it won't even lock the AF. I would say it's not the camera for you if that is the only camera you have.

Really depends what you want to do with your camera.

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Sep 20 2016, 02:22 PM)
I have used the XE-1 and it shares the same hardware with X100, after the update, the whole AF improved a lot but still hunts during low light situation, which isn't really ideal for me.

On the other hand, I recommended my friend to get the RX100 and we brought the camera to test in a restaurant at night, the AF was better on the Sony, much more snappier. smile.gif
I used to own XE-1 and X100 at the same time. And guess what, X100's AF is actually even slower than XE-100! doh.gif I end up using a lot of zone focusing.

This post has been edited by davidletterboyz: Sep 22 2016, 12:13 AM
TSepo
post Sep 22 2016, 08:45 AM

892 posts

QUOTE(iambovi @ Sep 21 2016, 10:27 PM)
If you are really into photography, get the x100.

Pros:
+ Superb files, great color and tonality, almost film like
+ Fast F2 lens and Big sensor give you nice bokeh, dynamic range and ability to shoot in dark scene.
+ Viewfinder, it helps you to get into the mood of shooting ( Serious photog uses viewfinder)
+ Main setting (aperture, shutter, EV) can be set directly on the hardware
+ Better grip (the Sony rx100 feels like a bar of soap)

Regarding the fixed 35mm lens, I learned the most using a prime lens, it let you focus on the composition, message and feel

It does hunt badly on low light situation, most camera hunt in low light anyway. Just switch to manual focus and you will be fine. There is a distance indicator and magnifier (you have to enable it in setting) which aids focusing. It also help you to pre-focus, very useful when doing street photography. I shoot manual focus and prime all the time now. (legacy lens on Sony A7).

If you are reading this line, I hope you have made the decision. wink.gif
Agreed on the pros. Yet to decide. tongue.gif

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Sep 22 2016, 12:08 AM)
wo totally different kind of cameras.
X100 suits street photography whilst the RX100 is more versatile and smaller. X100 has better image quality, but are you comfortable with the prime lens setup? And don't forget, you are likely to use manual focus/zone focusing of the X100. The AF is very slow by today's standard. Sometimes it won't even lock the AF. I would say it's not the camera for you if that is the only camera you have.

Really depends what you want to do with your camera.
I used to own XE-1 and X100 at the same time. And guess what, X100's AF is actually even slower than XE-100! doh.gif I end up using a lot of zone focusing.
Main usage is taking a pic in ofis (staff lunch, festival event, product launch, showcase, etc), food foto, event in restaurant
Does indoor light with fluo lamp (ie. in ofis, restaurant) isn't enough for x100 focusing ?

Mostly no fast shutter required due to static object so I think i can take time on focusing.

This post has been edited by epo: Sep 22 2016, 10:28 AM
davidletterboyz
post Sep 23 2016, 12:33 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Sep 22 2016, 08:45 AM)
Main usage is taking a pic in ofis (staff lunch, festival event, product launch, showcase, etc), food foto, event in restaurant
Does indoor light with fluo lamp (ie. in ofis, restaurant) isn't enough for x100 focusing ?

Mostly no fast shutter required due to static object so I think i can take time on focusing.
The AF speed is slow even if it's under the bright sun (by today's standard). Hunting when it's dark.

If it's static object... Then you can take your time. But I doubt your subjects are static in staff lunch or festival events lol. You may have a hard time framing with the prime lens if you are covering an event and only got one cam.

This post has been edited by davidletterboyz: Sep 23 2016, 12:34 AM
zaxkong
post Sep 23 2016, 07:38 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Sep 22 2016, 08:45 AM)

Fast fast pick up the x100 and let us know happy.gif
TSepo
post Sep 23 2016, 08:42 AM

892 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Sep 23 2016, 12:33 AM)
The AF speed is slow even if it's under the bright sun (by today's standard). Hunting when it's dark.

If it's static object... Then you can take your time. But I doubt your subjects are static in staff lunch or festival events lol. You may have a hard time framing with the prime lens if you are covering an event and only got one cam.
Walauweiii even bright sun also slow meh... Hmmm...
I got another dslr with 17-70mm before but so leceh bring it with big flash
Dah la i ride kapcai to opis je
davidletterboyz
post Sep 23 2016, 12:16 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Sep 23 2016, 08:42 AM)
Walauweiii even bright sun also slow meh... Hmmm...
I got another dslr with 17-70mm before but so leceh bring it with big flash
Dah la i ride kapcai to opis je
By today's standard, yes it is slow. It is using contrast based AF. Not like nowadays phone lol...PDAF, laser focus, dual pixel focus...etc.

If you have another DSLR already, then it's still fine. X100 is a fun camera, but with limited versatility.
TSepo
post Sep 23 2016, 08:45 PM

892 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Sep 23 2016, 12:16 PM)
By today's standard, yes it is slow. It is using contrast based AF. Not like nowadays phone lol...PDAF, laser focus, dual pixel focus...etc.

If you have another DSLR already, then it's still fine. X100 is a fun camera, but with limited versatility.
But my obj is not to bring dslr. Otherwise no need to buy compact aldy.
davidletterboyz
post Sep 23 2016, 10:03 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Sep 23 2016, 08:45 PM)
But my obj is not to bring dslr. Otherwise no need to buy compact aldy.
What I mean is having X100 as the only camera you own. smile.gif
DaddyO
post Sep 24 2016, 11:52 AM

1,255 posts

Or just up your budget and get rx100mkiii. Problem solved.
TSepo
post Sep 25 2016, 09:55 PM

892 posts

Hmmm... After watching below utube, look the focus speed is acceptable...

zzzxtreme
post Sep 26 2016, 12:43 PM

Synth Freak
4,300 posts

X100 - slow focus, 35mm, has viewfinder, good high ISO image

RX100 - better focus, 28-100mm, no EVF

for me, I would never buy a camera without viewfinder.
Kilohertz
post Apr 25 2017, 12:50 PM

2,173 posts

Sorry to bump this up abit, I'm contemplating between RX100 iii vs X100.. I like fuji colors, but considering it's a really old camera, is it still worth to get now? I'm looking at second hand cameras.

This post has been edited by Kilohertz: Apr 25 2017, 12:50 PM
dvlzplayground
post Apr 25 2017, 10:26 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Apr 25 2017, 12:50 PM)
Sorry to bump this up abit, I'm contemplating between RX100 iii vs X100.. I like fuji colors, but considering it's a really old camera, is it still worth to get now? I'm looking at second hand cameras.
I had the X100 before. I'd say try to get the X100S instead. i love the images, the controls, the lens...but these 2 issues really let me down:
- on/off and exposure compensation dial is quite loose. frequently found myself accidentally turning them
- as others have mentioned, AF is one of the low points of the X100. it has somewhat improved by the new firmware, but still slow and inaccurate compared to most other cameras on the market.

X100S fixes both of these issues. costs more for sure, but i think you'll get a better experience with it. apart from those two issues, the X100 series is a joy smile.gif

how comfortable are you with the 35mm equiv prime lens? it's not for everyone...

the RX100m3 is definitely more versatile. certainly beats the X100 when it comes to video
Kilohertz
post Apr 26 2017, 08:55 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 25 2017, 10:26 PM)
I had the X100 before. I'd say try to get the X100S instead. i love the images, the controls, the lens...but these 2 issues really let me down:
- on/off and exposure compensation dial is quite loose. frequently found myself accidentally turning them
- as others have mentioned, AF is one of the low points of the X100. it has somewhat improved by the new firmware, but still slow and inaccurate compared to most other cameras on the market.

X100S fixes both of these issues. costs more for sure, but i think you'll get a better experience with it. apart from those two issues, the X100 series is a joy smile.gif

how comfortable are you with the 35mm equiv prime lens? it's not for everyone...

the RX100m3 is definitely more versatile. certainly beats the X100 when it comes to video
I'm more into pictures and street photography, looking to shoot some indoors stuff as well. Yea I saw the latest firmware improved the AF but not sure how good is it, on the X100S.. it's definitely out of my budget even second hand unit costs a lot more. I actually like the film simulation feature on fujis, it looks very film-ish... On the sony, it is good (images are really sharp) and compact.. I was even thinking, get the sony, shoot raw and apply film filters on the images biggrin.gif but that's more into editing.
dvlzplayground
post Apr 26 2017, 11:33 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Apr 26 2017, 08:55 AM)
I'm more into pictures and street photography, looking to shoot some indoors stuff as well. Yea I saw the latest firmware improved the AF but not sure how good is it, on the X100S.. it's definitely out of my budget even second hand unit costs a lot more. I actually like the film simulation feature on fujis, it looks very film-ish... On the sony, it is good (images are really sharp) and compact.. I was even thinking, get the sony, shoot raw and apply film filters on the images biggrin.gif but that's more into editing.
seems like the X100S suits you better bro. it's fantastic for street. lots of strangers will compliment your beautiful camera haha.

i think used X100S and RX100m3 is about the same price, about RM2k... have a look at the garage sales section
Kilohertz
post Apr 27 2017, 08:05 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 26 2017, 11:33 PM)
seems like the X100S suits you better bro. it's fantastic for street. lots of strangers will compliment your beautiful camera haha.

i think used X100S and RX100m3 is about the same price, about RM2k... have a look at the garage sales section
Haha! For the aesthetics? tongue.gif Aite, I'll look into second hand x100s, thanks for the tips bro.

0.0235sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:56 PM