Property for Airbnb, Need advice
TSkavman1984
Sep 19 2016, 12:57 PM, updated 10y ago

My father has a house in Langkawi Island(6+1 Bedroom,5 Baths). I am planning to list it on Airbnb. I need your advise regarding the following :
1)amenities(any suppliers you guys know for bedding set, toiletries, etc) 2)any contacts for interior design(cheap) just give advise on color scheme. I will provide pictures
Thats about it for now.
Thank you in advance
masblurr
Sep 19 2016, 01:20 PM
PM u already
peri peri
Sep 19 2016, 02:41 PM
u need cleaner, thats the most important
second is digital access lockset
TSkavman1984
Sep 19 2016, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 19 2016, 02:41 PM) u need cleaner, thats the most important second is digital access lockset We already have a cleaner. What is digital access lockset?
peri peri
Sep 19 2016, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(kavman1984 @ Sep 19 2016, 02:48 PM) We already have a cleaner. What is digital access lockset? main door lockset where u can send ur customize password to them for easy access. u no need to attend them for arrival and check out
TSkavman1984
Sep 19 2016, 02:51 PM

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 19 2016, 02:50 PM) main door lockset where u can send ur customize password to them for easy access. u no need to attend them for arrival and check out Thats a good idea. Will google it up once we done with renovation.
bklowyat
Sep 19 2016, 04:46 PM
hi, tumpang a question here.
i'm planning to convert my condo for airbnb as well. My condo is full furnished and I'm not able to meet the guests on arrival and departure.
How do I avoid guests from taken away my items? Normally, deposit is just a few hundreds, it is not enough to cover if my items get stolen. If I choose to return deposit after my inspection the next day, the guest might not admit their wrong doing, just in case something is stolen or damage.
For the cleaning, I plan to do it only after they leave. Thanks.
TSkavman1984
Sep 19 2016, 06:37 PM

QUOTE(bklowyat @ Sep 19 2016, 04:46 PM) hi, tumpang a question here. i'm planning to convert my condo for airbnb as well. My condo is full furnished and I'm not able to meet the guests on arrival and departure. How do I avoid guests from taken away my items? Normally, deposit is just a few hundreds, it is not enough to cover if my items get stolen. If I choose to return deposit after my inspection the next day, the guest might not admit their wrong doing, just in case something is stolen or damage. For the cleaning, I plan to do it only after they leave. Thanks. Airbnb covers up to USD1million dollars. Not sure whether it applies to Malaysian market yet. They dont even offer profesional photographers yet in Malaysia. If I am not mistaken la.
peri peri
Sep 19 2016, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(bklowyat @ Sep 19 2016, 04:46 PM) hi, tumpang a question here. i'm planning to convert my condo for airbnb as well. My condo is full furnished and I'm not able to meet the guests on arrival and departure. How do I avoid guests from taken away my items? Normally, deposit is just a few hundreds, it is not enough to cover if my items get stolen. If I choose to return deposit after my inspection the next day, the guest might not admit their wrong doing, just in case something is stolen or damage. For the cleaning, I plan to do it only after they leave. Thanks. Airbnb, visitor can choose host via review. Host also can choose their tenant via review. U worry too much
ck2chan
Sep 19 2016, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 19 2016, 02:50 PM) main door lockset where u can send ur customize password to them for easy access. u no need to attend them for arrival and check out Wow, one set cost how much? What brand?
peri peri
Sep 20 2016, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(ck2chan @ Sep 19 2016, 10:34 PM) Wow, one set cost how much? What brand? http://www.smartlockmalaysia.com/keyless-door-locks/starting rm1000
Sky_Q
Sep 20 2016, 12:16 PM

they still nid access card to the unit? how to pass them access card safely without being physically present?
peri peri
Sep 20 2016, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(Sky_Q @ Sep 20 2016, 12:16 PM) they still nid access card to the unit? how to pass them access card safely without being physically present? same like ur office, u can use access card or key in password u can alter the password anytime over the phone
faizalmzain
Sep 20 2016, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 19 2016, 09:59 PM) Airbnb, visitor can choose host via review. Host also can choose their tenant via review. U worry too much yes correct, those property that need to request first, owner can review potential tenants. review system for airbnb is fair enough, host and tenants cannot see each other review until both submit review.
kochin
Sep 20 2016, 04:39 PM
anybody have contacts for full time agent managing props on behalf of agents to do short term stay? klang valley.
am considering to release some units to experiment.
please pm me if any.
thanks.
Zicoras1
Sep 20 2016, 05:38 PM

Just to share my experience on Airbnb, I tried for 5 months only had one booking and it was from a local. Eventually I rented it out normal tenancy. I managed to talk to an Airbnb Sifu and this is what he told base on his experiences two years doing airbnb properties in KL and Selangor:
1. You only make money if you rent to foreigners, locals will not pay to stay in your place as they have friends, families and other cheaper alternatives. 80% of his clients were foreigners and 20% locals.
2. So far only KLCC properties are making money. Other area properties will likely not have much booking. Cause tourists will want to stay in city center.
3. Airbnb guest want personal interactions so he advised against door lock as it is impersonal. The successful Airbnbs properties all are owners who have regular interactions with their guests.
4. Must have cleaners who are reliable. One bad review is enough to ruin your rating and affect future bookings.
Good luck on Airbnb.
peri peri
Sep 21 2016, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(kochin @ Sep 20 2016, 04:39 PM) anybody have contacts for full time agent managing props on behalf of agents to do short term stay? klang valley. am considering to release some units to experiment. please pm me if any. thanks. Fuyoh, how many actually? i got friend running this around golden triangle. very tedious work and not rewarding based on time sacrificed.
peri peri
Sep 21 2016, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(Zicoras1 @ Sep 20 2016, 05:38 PM) Just to share my experience on Airbnb, I tried for 5 months only had one booking and it was from a local. Eventually I rented it out normal tenancy. I managed to talk to an Airbnb Sifu and this is what he told base on his experiences two years doing airbnb properties in KL and Selangor: 1. You only make money if you rent to foreigners, locals will not pay to stay in your place as they have friends, families and other cheaper alternatives. 80% of his clients were foreigners and 20% locals. 2. So far only KLCC properties are making money. Other area properties will likely not have much booking. Cause tourists will want to stay in city center. 3. Airbnb guest want personal interactions so he advised against door lock as it is impersonal. The successful Airbnbs properties all are owners who have regular interactions with their guests. 4. Must have cleaners who are reliable. One bad review is enough to ruin your rating and affect future bookings. Good luck on Airbnb. Actually he did not mentioned the WORST part. complaint from neigbour or JMB due to influx of short stay visitor. Once AGM approved to ban such to ban short term stay tenant, ur airbnb = GG
aurora97
Sep 21 2016, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 21 2016, 09:17 AM) Actually he did not mentioned the WORST part. complaint from neigbour or JMB due to influx of short stay visitor. Once AGM approved to ban such to ban short term stay tenant, ur airbnb = GG In my condo group chat, the mention of the word Airbnb and the August House was in session already… the matter was debated for more than 1 hour… With opposition throwing chairs… The speaker of the house was dragged onto the floor and beaten up. Best part is… JMB hasn’t been formed yet hahaha….
peri peri
Sep 21 2016, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(aurora97 @ Sep 21 2016, 09:54 AM) In my condo group chat, the mention of the word Airbnb and the August House was in session already… the matter was debated for more than 1 hour… With opposition throwing chairs… The speaker of the house was dragged onto the floor and beaten up. Best part is… JMB hasn’t been formed yet hahaha…. hahaha, barbarians. recent AGM i attended also barbarians, MC formed 1 year, this year all resigned. have to force new recruit to fill or else MPKJ take over. like gangsters shouting here and there in the AGM. so low class i felt ATM. this country is like this, when seeing people making profit, they start to jelly and butt hurt