wira 1.5 auto, petrol consumption! is this normal?

bogartT
post Feb 5 2007, 12:58 PM

97 posts

u shud get around 45-50KM for RM10 gas..

better use Caltex..me from JB -> KL (300++KM) .. Full Tank (RM70) on Wira 1.5 Auto and still got 1 bar left...huhuhu..
Singh_Kalan
post Feb 5 2007, 01:02 PM

2,033 posts

Wira 1.5A is really a sad car. Previously i was driving 1 @ 300km/38l, now change to vios @ 510km/38l. Can see the difference??
WhizzWork2005
post Feb 5 2007, 01:54 PM

1,433 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Feb 4 2007, 10:54 PM)
yup. very normal. used to own a 97 model 1.5A. problem with it is the lousy 3 speed auto. problem comes when you run on highways. 3k rpm is around 90 km/h and when you stay too long on 140km/h, you will see the temp needle going up to hot and you get to stop by at the side of the road to have a cup of tea. new 1.5 wira auto already comes with 4 speed auto. so this problem is a pass. my experience has been twice over heating and once radiator explode and leakage due to over heat. because of the lousy transmission, i decided to sell it off and get something reliable.

if you consider on the 4 speed auto. that should settle the problem of speed vs rpm issue. but do remember the 1.5 soch is way too underpower and you will feel the lack of power, and countless reving to achieve desire speeds.
Sure the newer Wira 1.5 is with 4-speed AUTO????
If not mistaken... all Stock 1.5 Wira with 4G15 engine will have only 3 speed AUTO new model or old... all same....

QUOTE(rockdaman @ Feb 5 2007, 12:19 PM)
i always pump 35-38 liters of gasoline....city driving can only reach around +-320KM....

P.S: year 2001 wira 1.5L
Me also the same...
Normally, pump RM 78+- petrol and get 320 km +- also...

daddyVW
post Feb 5 2007, 04:41 PM

997 posts

Last time using father in law 1.5A for about 1 year. Got 400 to 450 km per full tank. He said he put something to save fuel. Do no what...

Currently with Vios, RM 0.13 per km rclxm9.gif
tysern
post Feb 5 2007, 06:12 PM

245 posts

i know the wira 1.6(A) versions come with 4 speed auto gearbox, becuase of the O/D button. Anyway, is it possible to transfer the wira 1.6 (A) gearbox to the 1.5 (A) one, can it be done?

Because if it is possible, then yeah, u'll have a 4 speed for your wira 1.5(A)
Vervain
post Feb 5 2007, 09:28 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(WhizzWork2005 @ Feb 5 2007, 01:54 PM)
Sure the newer Wira 1.5 is with 4-speed AUTO????
If not mistaken... all Stock 1.5 Wira with 4G15 engine will have only 3 speed AUTO new model or old... all same....
Me also the same...
Normally, pump RM 78+- petrol and get 320 km +- also...
yup the new wira aeroback se comes with 4 speed auto. sorry for the lack of information.
zeist
post Feb 5 2007, 10:41 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(yhanwong @ Jan 28 2007, 06:13 PM)
as title...

wira 1.5 auto 1994 with 3speed transmision only
test condition is
from my house to tar college 27.5km
1 trip in 5day
27.5km x 2(trip) x 5day = 275km (*and i dun speed. whole trip just 80km/h, no over 80)

my wira petrol consumption
require RM 60 petrol to do that..  is this normal? the fuel consumption? shakehead.gif
Your car stock standard?

Wira 1994, wow 12+ years. How is the engine condition? Any white smoke from the exhaust pipe?
popiah04
post Feb 5 2007, 11:00 PM

245 posts

from my personal experience, using primax3 is better for my FC, compared to "more mileage" from shell. didnt try projet or the rest though
hengng
post Feb 6 2007, 04:58 PM

355 posts

My sold 99 Wira 1.5 A/B, could give me around 500KM per full tank. I used it to travel along NS highway daily.
Beside, I did mod quiet heavy with my sold wira with K&N drop-in, NGK platinium plugs, plug cable , 3 units fuel saver, 4-2-1 extractor, cut cat., S flow exhaust pipe.

cheers!
kb2005
post Feb 6 2007, 08:50 PM

Yahoo!
17,864 posts

QUOTE(yhanwong @ Jan 28 2007, 06:13 PM)
as title...

wira 1.5 auto 1994 with 3speed transmision only
test condition is
from my house to tar college 27.5km
1 trip in 5day
27.5km x 2(trip) x 5day = 275km (*and i dun speed. whole trip just 80km/h, no over 80)

my wira petrol consumption
require RM 60 petrol to do that..  is this normal? the fuel consumption? shakehead.gif
Your car is about 13 years old, so the fuel consumption should be higher than new wira. SO, it think it is normal biggrin.gif
TSyhanwong
post Feb 6 2007, 09:32 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(lee831219 @ Jan 29 2007, 01:34 AM)
Did u read my post carefully?

Added on January 29, 2007, 1:36 am
how much ur full tank?
sorry dude... new to this thread... dunno fc==fuel consumption. shocking.gif

QUOTE(zeist @ Feb 5 2007, 10:41 PM)
Your car stock standard?
Wira 1994, wow 12+ years. How is the engine condition? Any white smoke from the exhaust pipe?
ya... nothing mod to the engine.. still the same...
but since is old car.. just normal service every 5000km
ya.. no white smoke...

QUOTE(popiah04 @ Feb 5 2007, 11:00 PM)
from my personal experience, using primax3 is better for my FC, compared to "more mileage" from shell. didnt try projet or the rest though
i dun think got difference..
i try project, shell and primax.
almost same...
currently using primax due to the bankcard convient thumbup.gif

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Feb 6 2007, 08:50 PM)
Your car is about 13 years old, so the fuel consumption should be higher than new wira. SO, it think it is normal biggrin.gif
but somehow the fc are killing me... day by day.. (cant imagine if the petrol price rise again)
want change car but this old car max only can sell 7k... rclxub.gif
paanjang16
post Feb 6 2007, 09:35 PM

335 posts

My 13 year old wira 1.5A sedan average bout 17-18 sen per km and this is avoiding the jam in the morning and evening by going to work early in the morning and going home late in the evening. Still very good condition and change spark plug+engine oil+transmission oil.
kb2005
post Feb 6 2007, 09:37 PM

Yahoo!
17,864 posts

QUOTE(yhanwong @ Feb 6 2007, 09:32 PM)
want change car but this old car max only can sell 7k...  rclxub.gif
No choice lah unless you change your car biggrin.gif
TSyhanwong
post Feb 6 2007, 09:45 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Feb 6 2007, 09:37 PM)
No choice lah unless you change your car biggrin.gif
7k also not enough to bayar muka lah.. how to buy...

think maintain it fequenlty.. still can use for few year de...
by the way.. i remember that malaysia gov are 'learning' singapore where those over 15 years car are not allow on the road.. <--- is this true?
kb2005
post Feb 6 2007, 10:01 PM

Yahoo!
17,864 posts

QUOTE(yhanwong @ Feb 6 2007, 09:45 PM)
7k also not enough to bayar muka lah.. how to buy...

think maintain it fequenlty.. still can use for few year de...
by the way.. i remember that malaysia gov are 'learning' singapore where those over 15 years car are not allow on the road.. <--- is this true?
No confirmation from the government on the implementation yet biggrin.gif
Vervain
post Feb 6 2007, 10:54 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

you can try to overhaul the engine, retune the carburator. which is the cheap way. the expensive way is to change the carburator to a EFI unit. there are workshops which does such transplant. But do take note that the cost is high and its not practical unless you're stuck to the car for another few more years. in addition. you won't get a drastic in performance but its much better than the old carb engine.

0.0141sec    0.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:05 PM