wira 1.5 auto, petrol consumption! is this normal?

TSyhanwong
post Jan 28 2007, 06:13 PM, updated 19y ago

159 posts

as title...

wira 1.5 auto 1994 with 3speed transmision only
test condition is
from my house to tar college 27.5km
1 trip in 5day
27.5km x 2(trip) x 5day = 275km (*and i dun speed. whole trip just 80km/h, no over 80)

my wira petrol consumption
require RM 60 petrol to do that.. is this normal? the fuel consumption? shakehead.gif

Yapmy
post Jan 28 2007, 06:18 PM

Don't count your lucky stars.
1,334 posts

I think with RM60 u should be able to do about 300km. But for your car its still under the normal range. Just make sure u do regular check ups and servicing at the required time.
leowhy
post Jan 28 2007, 06:21 PM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(Yapmy @ Jan 28 2007, 06:18 PM)
I think with RM60 u should be able to do about 300km. But for your car its still under the normal range. Just make sure u do regular check ups and servicing at the required time.
yup, my old wira aeroback 1.5gli also performing quite similar...

perhaps ur trip is having a lot of traffic lights and junctions where u need to stop & re-accelerate?
lee831219
post Jan 28 2007, 06:25 PM

n00b™
7,761 posts

won so bad la the fc. around 46km for RM10.
TSyhanwong
post Jan 28 2007, 06:40 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(leowhy @ Jan 28 2007, 06:21 PM)
yup, my old wira aeroback 1.5gli also performing quite similar...

perhaps ur trip is having a lot of traffic lights and junctions where u need to stop & re-accelerate?
maybe.. cause i use mrr2.. traffic sometime can be very worst...

QUOTE(lee831219 @ Jan 28 2007, 06:25 PM)
bad? then how yours?
Vanquish
post Jan 28 2007, 06:41 PM

F.U.B.A.R.
2,115 posts

I think it's normal for Wira 1.5 Auto to have that high FC... Everyone I came across who's driven a Wira 1.5 Auto had told me the same thing... Very high FC.
thom_chai
post Jan 28 2007, 09:40 PM

1,830 posts

That's because of 3 speed auto gearbox. Nothing much you can do about it. Try observe the engine RPM when you're cruising at 80km/h. I bet it's approaching 3k RPM wink.gif
the_catacombs
post Jan 28 2007, 09:46 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

change to manual gearbox la... no more headache.... can easily reach 400km per full tank....
popiah04
post Jan 28 2007, 09:50 PM

245 posts

for wira 1.5 A, what is the normal FC? 350km per full tank consider bad?
lee831219
post Jan 29 2007, 01:34 AM

n00b™
7,761 posts

QUOTE(yhanwong @ Jan 28 2007, 06:40 PM)
maybe.. cause i use mrr2.. traffic sometime can be very worst...
bad? then how yours?
Did u read my post carefully?

Added on January 29, 2007, 1:36 am
QUOTE(popiah04 @ Jan 28 2007, 09:50 PM)
for wira 1.5 A, what is the normal FC? 350km per full tank consider bad?
how much ur full tank?

This post has been edited by lee831219: Jan 29 2007, 01:36 AM
kayef
post Jan 29 2007, 02:03 AM

173 posts

Last time my 1.5 wira auto can go 440km with one full tank going slow n steady when it was quite new......now only about 300 n my mom is driving it

Now i using 1.6 wira manual can go 500+ full tank if slow n steady n still manage around 400 with crazy driving n all the time revving
Yapmy
post Jan 29 2007, 06:48 PM

Don't count your lucky stars.
1,334 posts

QUOTE(kayef @ Jan 29 2007, 02:03 AM)
Last time my 1.5 wira auto can go 440km with one full tank going slow n steady when it was quite new......now only about 300 n my mom is driving it

Now i using 1.6 wira manual can go 500+ full tank if slow n steady n still manage around 400 with crazy driving n all the time revving
wah..sure or not? even honda city lose already.
popiah04
post Jan 29 2007, 07:42 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(lee831219 @ Jan 29 2007, 01:34 AM)

how much ur full tank?
about rm70-ish. usually i'll go to the station whenever i see the warning light, say about 20-40km from the first light i see. what about others? how do u guys fare with 1.5A?
lee831219
post Feb 4 2007, 11:19 AM

n00b™
7,761 posts

QUOTE(popiah04 @ Jan 29 2007, 07:42 PM)
about rm70-ish. usually i'll go to the station whenever i see the warning light, say about 20-40km from the first light i see. what about others? how do u guys fare with 1.5A?
mean RM70 for 350km. then 50km per RM10. still ok la the fc..
underexposure
post Feb 4 2007, 03:01 PM

32 posts

my 5 years old Wira 1.5 AT also have the similar high FC, but if you step on your right foot a bit gently... sometime can go up to RM10/60km +/-

This post has been edited by underexposure: Feb 4 2007, 03:02 PM
Vervain
post Feb 4 2007, 10:54 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

yup. very normal. used to own a 97 model 1.5A. problem with it is the lousy 3 speed auto. problem comes when you run on highways. 3k rpm is around 90 km/h and when you stay too long on 140km/h, you will see the temp needle going up to hot and you get to stop by at the side of the road to have a cup of tea. new 1.5 wira auto already comes with 4 speed auto. so this problem is a pass. my experience has been twice over heating and once radiator explode and leakage due to over heat. because of the lousy transmission, i decided to sell it off and get something reliable.

if you consider on the 4 speed auto. that should settle the problem of speed vs rpm issue. but do remember the 1.5 soch is way too underpower and you will feel the lack of power, and countless reving to achieve desire speeds.
bukanmain
post Feb 5 2007, 03:52 AM

I'm only 20,still learning..
1,711 posts

woah wira that teruk ah? 3rd speed lousy ahh..hmmm can fix ah this problem?
RDPD
post Feb 5 2007, 10:51 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Feb 4 2007, 10:54 PM)
yup. very normal. used to own a 97 model 1.5A. problem with it is the lousy 3 speed auto. problem comes when you run on highways. 3k rpm is around 90 km/h and when you stay too long on 140km/h, you will see the temp needle going up to hot and you get to stop by at the side of the road to have a cup of tea. new 1.5 wira auto already comes with 4 speed auto. so this problem is a pass. my experience has been twice over heating and once radiator explode and leakage due to over heat. because of the lousy transmission, i decided to sell it off and get something reliable.

if you consider on the 4 speed auto. that should settle the problem of speed vs rpm issue. but do remember the 1.5 soch is way too underpower and you will feel the lack of power, and countless reving to achieve desire speeds.
Sure arr new Wira 1.5 Auto now comes with 4 speed auto? How to know that? Plan to buy 1 blush.gif
rockdaman
post Feb 5 2007, 12:19 PM

357 posts

i always pump 35-38 liters of gasoline....city driving can only reach around +-320KM....

P.S: year 2001 wira 1.5L
azxel
post Feb 5 2007, 12:49 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

hmm... Wira's FC quite high eh?
My 1.6 Vitara... RM95 for 460-480km.