Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> How safe is Paypal?

tester
post Jan 28 2007, 02:36 PM, updated 19y ago

379 posts

Hello,

I'm planning to register a Paypal account for occasional online shopping but I have some doubts regarding its security, especially after reading some reviews from http://www.paypalsucks.com/.

I only plan to use it because the seller prefers Paypal and I do not shop online regularly, which means I will leave the account idle most of the time.

Here's my question for users of Paypal: how safe do you think it is? Have you ever had any bad experience with paypal?

havocx
post Jan 28 2007, 04:44 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(tester @ Jan 28 2007, 02:36 PM)
Hello,

I'm planning to register a Paypal account for occasional online shopping but I have some doubts regarding its security, especially after reading some reviews from http://www.paypalsucks.com/.

I only plan to use it because the seller prefers Paypal and I do not shop online regularly, which means I will leave the account idle most of the time.

Here's my question for users of Paypal: how safe do you think it is? Have you ever had any bad experience with paypal?

No problems so far, besides, any irregular charges that comes through Paypal will prompt your credit card company to call ya back. Mine's idle most of the time, but it comes in handy when I need it tongue.gif At least for me now its safe.

tester
post Feb 6 2007, 09:37 PM

379 posts

Thanks for the reply!

I have another question: what does "unverified" account means? It appears that unverified account has a limit of USD$1000 when sending money. Does that mean that one can send money up to USD$1000 even BEFORE the account is being funded, that is having NO money in the account?

Anyone who knows the answer to this please clarify.

Thanks!

rasmuswil
post Feb 8 2007, 04:35 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(tester @ Feb 6 2007, 09:37 PM)
Thanks for the reply!

I have another question: what does "unverified" account means? It appears that unverified account has a limit of USD$1000 when sending money. Does that mean that one can send money up to USD$1000 even BEFORE the account is being funded, that is having NO money in the account?

Anyone who knows the answer to this please clarify.

Thanks!
of coz not
unverified means u hvn't rely registed wif ur credit/debit card which will rate u as "original" owner
xinanxxx
post Feb 8 2007, 05:58 PM

200 posts

is it safe to register paypal and give our cc details?
rasmuswil
post Feb 8 2007, 10:19 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(xinanxxx @ Feb 8 2007, 05:58 PM)
our detail is safe n secure
they claim "so"
blush.gif
havocx
post Feb 8 2007, 11:21 PM

The Last Fat Samurai
1,913 posts

QUOTE(xinanxxx @ Feb 8 2007, 05:58 PM)
Hmm maybe you've missed reading my post. Have a look. Its just 2 posts above you doh.gif

TheXxBestxX
post Feb 9 2007, 10:36 PM

...sPEeDinG t0 HeaVeN...
1,253 posts

paypal is really safe.
Junior83
post Feb 15 2007, 02:40 PM

Investor
1,256 posts

Ya.. Paypal is very safe until is quite tedious for u to withdraw money from PayPal doh.gif ....
tester
post Feb 15 2007, 08:48 PM

379 posts

Thanks for all replies.

What I don't understand is that why is there a limit of US$1000 for unverified user? Does that mean you can start sending money even before you have added a credit/debit card?

ibnuasad
post Feb 16 2007, 10:19 PM

A screw is not a screw until you screw it!
558 posts

You can spend/send the money in your PayPal account with an UNVERIFIED account but there will be a strict limit on how much you can spend. Just add a credit card to your PayPal account and get total access smile.gif

If you dont have a credit card, you can get Virtual Credit Cards (VCCs) for about RM 100 or USD 30 from the net. FYI, I bought a VCC for USD 30 from http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=193945 biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ibnuasad: Feb 16 2007, 10:23 PM
khoking
post Feb 22 2007, 01:40 PM

make sure you key in all the TRUE information in your paypal account when registering. If they found out you are lieing...you will not be able to change and they will freeze your account later.
MakNok
post Feb 22 2007, 02:27 PM

5,713 posts

definitely very safe as it is tied to my credit card...

usually credit card bank will call me up to double check with me most of the time anyway...

But as a seller....too much restriction!

khoking
post Feb 25 2007, 06:21 PM

In short, PayPal is safe smile.gif You need to worry more about the seller than PayPal.

Regards,
Kho King
www.ECMalaysia.com ~ Electronic Commerce in Malaysia!
MakNok
post Jul 13 2007, 02:54 PM

5,713 posts

sorrriii!!

This post has been edited by MakNok: Jul 14 2007, 11:41 AM
mansahar
post Jul 18 2007, 09:41 AM

Hello everyone!

Some of you here who is using PayPal while in Malaysia must be using it for online shopping. But have you guys encountered a problem where someone over the net sends you some money through your PayPal account, and you were unable to withdraw the funds using your verified credit cards?

That is because Malaysia is under PayPal's blacklist.

Now there's only two option on what you can do with that funds; either keep it there and use it to buy another stuff online without deducting (or maybe deducting a little from your card),

OR

You can find another solution into withdrawing that funds from a local ATM machine.

I am selling an E-book entitled "How To Withdraw PayPal Money into Malaysia" for the sole price of RM15 (that is Ringgit Malaysia opposed to those selling digital electronic products for 40-50 USD). It covers a step-by-step guide into using PayPal as a Malaysian. Those interested could e-mail me at man_sahar@yahoo.co.uk.

Smiles.

P/S: This is to encourage Malaysian online shoppers not to be involved in credit card frauds, as this is the reason why Malaysia is listed in some US companies blacklist. Besides, internet business is the new business trend now. Think of the benefits of internet business.

0.0161sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:27 AM