Fundsupermart.com v15, 基金超市第十五章 - Rise the Dragon

Ramjade
post Oct 12 2016, 09:06 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 12 2016, 08:56 AM)
now now buddy. let us not start the day being passive aggressive and stick on what's going on.

what else you planning to top up?
I topup ponzi 2, ta global, reits (HK market have been red for few days hopefully it will force reits down)

KGF and eastspring SC. KIV. Waiting for more xdb issue/some local issues. - No local issue will just redirect the money into ponzi 2 + reits (as what xuzen said, direct money elsewhere first).

Rhb gold. Let it run a bit further. Will buy later. I believed it still can go lower. Waiting for price to go below usd1250. Am going for rhb gold as required less holding (min rm100 only compare to precious need min holding rm1k)

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 12 2016, 09:03 AM)
hmm.gif If the "catastrophe" would come as expected,... would not top up now.....but after the catastrophe...why waste the current ammo.  biggrin.gif

if I would top up 2% every time US mkts drops...I would go bankrupt before I knew it....
Not if your topup is small amount like rm100-200. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 12 2016, 09:08 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 12 2016, 09:09 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 12 2016, 09:07 AM)
Based on latest fund fact sheet, apple is 7.4%, samsung is 4.9%

Does the samsung incident resulting in apple surge?

If it is then TA GTF will up rather go down  biggrin.gif
Look at MSCI AW Technology index (it's benchmark). whistling.gif
Ramjade
post Oct 12 2016, 09:32 AM

24,392 posts

AIYH Let's see if I am right that TA Global and asia pacific will drop today.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 12 2016, 09:33 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 13 2016, 08:52 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 12 2016, 09:32 AM)
AIYH Let's see if I am right that TA Global and asia pacific will drop today.
QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 12 2016, 09:40 AM)
rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif  thumbsup.gif
so smart & clever......  thumbsup.gif
AIYH I was right. TA Global Tech + AP drop. rclxms.gif
Ramjade
post Oct 13 2016, 09:28 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 13 2016, 09:20 AM)
lemme guess you gonna top up TA Global?
Already did yesterday morning itself. Now keep money for next drop.

Btw, can we ask FSM spy to introduce auto IRR calculator? innocent.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 13 2016, 09:31 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 13 2016, 09:40 AM

24,392 posts

How do we key in unit split into the excel file?
Ramjade
post Oct 13 2016, 09:50 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 13 2016, 09:42 AM)
You just type the amount of units you got from unit split (e.g. TA GTF is your current unit holding / 5)at the reinvestment date's NAV
I key in under the Transection amount? Then what about NAV column? Leave it blank or follow the NAV as of 10/10/2016
Ramjade
post Oct 13 2016, 10:05 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 13 2016, 10:00 AM)
Most of us here are clueless as well, we either just:

I) Wait for the NAV to drop further then whack kaw-kaw

II) Wait for distribution to happen then whack kaw-kaw

III) Blur-blur wait for some divine sign like a black crow flying across the chimney or rooster crowing at specific time or perhaps see a pregnant black cat jump across a coffin or something like that

IV) Some just whack kaw-kaw and then pray

V) Just buy all the FSM recommended funds and whack kaw-kaw

V) Some just wait for some silly crystal-ball to give some hints and then whack kaw-kaw

VI) Some just do DCA slowly and steady into FSM's recommended UTF

VII) Some just use a combination of method I) to VI)

Xuzen
Best reply. thumbsup.gif laugh.gif I use I), II), V)*
V)* depends on whether feeling lucky or not devil.gif

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 13 2016, 10:02 AM)
I been thinking of that instead of manually inserting it over excel every now and then. until now I haven't touched the excel sheets over on the first pages.
Well you could use old school, after one year, see how much money you make. Not accurate but hey, easy method. biggrin.gif

AIYH did I key in correctly for the unit split?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 13 2016, 10:06 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 13 2016, 10:25 AM

24,392 posts

From 2003 onwards, I also started using my EPF Account 1 to invest in unit trust but locked in profit by selling 80% of my unit trusts in May 2007 when I felt that I had made enough i.e. profit close to 100% of my capital, the market went up further before sliding down in 2008. I am now (refer to early 2012 when this article was first published) considering selling off the balance 20% not sold in 2007 as the market is at an all time high where I am still making close to 100% profit but if I had sold the 20% in 2007, I would actually be making more after considering the annual dividend from EPF.  In 2008 when the market was in bear mode, the value of my unit trust if I had not sold would be about half of what it was in 2007. Investing in unit trust especially relating to equities is no different than investing in stocks. There is a yearly annual management fee on your unit trust besides the initial fee when you purchase the units. Anyway, it will be more than 10 years before I can actually withdraw from my EPF Account 1. So I am waiting patiently for the next round of bear market and then jump into buying unit trust again with my EPF Account 1, but no one really knows what will happen in the future and a bear market can last for 10 years too.
https://genxgenygenz.com/2016/10/08/investm...lth-retirement/

Food for thought. hmm.gif notworthy.gif
Ramjade
post Oct 14 2016, 08:47 AM

24,392 posts

Guys, please help with filling up this excel.

The units are not showing. Did I do something wrong?

AIYH Ponzi 2 increase on Oct 12 blink.gif sad.gif but TA Global and REITS decrease rclxms.gif So looks like Asia Pacific drop doesn't really play well with Ponzi 2 sad.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 14 2016, 08:48 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 14 2016, 09:15 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 14 2016, 09:03 AM)
1.35% increase in the midst of bad market, that's rather mind boggling. But it's welcome. rclxms.gif
Looking at the bright side if the fund manager can generate good returns when market is down, notworthy.gif biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Oct 14 2016, 09:29 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 14 2016, 09:23 AM)
Maybe it's to do with strengthening of baht against ringgit.
I highly doubt it. 6% holdings won't do much.
Ramjade
post Oct 14 2016, 10:02 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Oct 14 2016, 09:57 AM)
you need to manually key in the units in transaction amount; the guidance is at the transaction amount cell if you hover around it
[attachmentid=7769084]

And delete the units from the manual adjustment column
Your formula is based on the assumption that the 3 funds invest in the same stocks/bonds/markets in identical proportion which is clearly not the case
Sales charge 0% or 1% (I still have the new customer benefit)?
NAV = 10/10/2016 NAV?

Same thing during dividends right?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 14 2016, 10:06 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 14 2016, 07:47 PM

24,392 posts

I have a few queations regarding RHB ATRF
(i) can the return be (-)/at FD board rate after holding say 1 year?
(ii) can it give min 7% or it will be less? (I am using rhb islamic bond fund as a benchmark for stable yearly returns)
Ramjade
post Oct 14 2016, 08:18 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 14 2016, 07:52 PM)
Actually the tools in FSM, such as fund info, chart center and portfolio simulator can assist you in answering those question smile.gif

But to give you a hint, ATR return is not bad, but both funds you mention invest in different region

And given the nature of ATR, will recommend you to DCA instead smile.gif
Actually I am looking for bond fund which can give min >=7%. No point buying one if it can give lower returns than the proven rhb islamic bond fund which can give 7% p.a when both are bond fund. Who cares about where/how it invest. As long as the returns match one's expected return (in this case RHB IBF). After all, end of the day, it's all about making money.

Returns not bad, but have the returns dim below 7% p.a (the table shows not) but I would like to hear from fellow forumers.
Ramjade
post Oct 14 2016, 11:54 PM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 14 2016, 08:46 PM)
if I am SURE that i don't need to use the money in the next 12 months....
(I will allocate my funds to ensure that I don't need the money)
worst come to worst...pay the redemption fees....

I would go for the RHB IBF....
VERY MUCH lower volatility, continuously progressing at pace....
(But, there is always a risks for this type of BOND fund....the quality of its holdings.....how many % AAA, AA, etc,etc...)
study and compare them with other FHs.....why others did not have such good returns? how is their holdings?
Few years ago, i shown RHB IBF holdings to another FM......he said, some of the holdings in RHB IBF failed their preliminary buying assessment...
he continue by saying,....that is why RHB IBF can gives better returns,.....if you can stomach the possible debt default risks...go for it.

RHB ATRF......only the last 2 + yrs performing....most probably due to the RM depreciating.....

my take is the RHB ATRF, splendid performance may not repeat in the next 2 years......
but if you look at the IRR...it is still showing "GOOD"
Thank you. But their 5 years return still good hmm.gif

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 14 2016, 08:58 PM)
I believe he meant, they have a criteria to assess the quality of the debt papers. (RAM Rating....)
sort of bank assessment of the loan applications....
Er, talking about me? hmm.gif

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 14 2016, 09:10 PM)
maybe he is just trying to "discourage" me from buying from RHB but buy his bond fund? or he is just trying to tell me to pay more  attention to the type of holdings in those FI funds....if I am more worried about my money.

how knows his real intention?
Real intention: which bond fund give the best returns? Buy that regardless of where/how it invest without looking at the volatility. For me volatility is just slightly important - I need something to generate income in case equity fail like early this year so I am perfectly fine with any risk as long as I can get better returns than RHB IBF. If the bond fund cannot outperform RHB IBF, better I buy RHB IBF.
Ramjade
post Oct 15 2016, 12:15 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 15 2016, 12:05 AM)
thumbup.gif  yes, better buy RHB IBF....
but if you think USD will rise again due to FED RATE...then BUY RHB ATR fund....
It will rise. The question is this year or next year? sad.gif

QUOTE(dasecret @ Oct 15 2016, 12:06 AM)
Yet another auntie advice, learn the basics of unit trust. Don't just look at returns. Volatility is important. Underlying assets is important. Market outlook shd not be ignored. It's not as simple as comparing returns to FD n ASx returns

Now what I will do is I will give you the answer. But the reason you need to figure out by reading up past discussions about ATR n RHB Islamic bond

Bad idea to buy ATR if you want stable returns. ATR is anything but consistent. It's consistent with USD:RM forex rates

RHB Islamic bonds may not be able to return 7% consistently as well. It has some bond default in the past n is seem as more risky bond fund than say asnita and EI bonds or PM bond funds. But those bond funds don't give u 7% in a normal year. This year is not a normal year for MY bond
I read the discussion already. That's all I need as in the long term RM will lose to USD sad.gif (auntie kangaroo + unker dreamer words + you know whistling.gif ) All I need is something which will outperform RHB IBF on a yearly basis.

That's the reason I don't want to get another Malaysian fund (already holding KGF and Eastspring Smallcap). But if no bond fund can match or exceed RHB IBF yearly, maybe I will just stick with RHB IBF. But still thinking.

Already few years giving 7.x%. That's pretty consistent.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 15 2016, 12:17 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 15 2016, 12:42 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 15 2016, 12:34 AM)
I think we should stop the habit of comparing returns from UTs to FD returns.

only thing good  about FD is that is has fixed returns upon investing.

cons of fd is that your
-money is locked and returns will be lost if upliftment is done before maturity
-rates are based on OPR.

unit trusts.

pros
-ability to choose a myriad of funds based on their geographical regions and volatility.
-ability to purchase funds anytime anywhere and sell anytime you like
-returns are based on many factors like economic booms, currency exchange and etc.

cons
returns are never sure.
risk of losing your investments.
service charge (if you want to nick pick)
annual charge.
so can we stop mentioning fd rates here? if you want stability go for fds. you want to have full control of how your money is invested go for UTs.

Its like comparing a small country car to a ferrari. they both ain't the same. Regards.

the end.
I think it's wise to compare against FD. Why? If after 3 years a fund give you board rates FD rates, it's better to just chuck the fund away and give your money to the bank. For what you pay service charge and end up with FD rates. It's very illogical. confused.gif rclxub.gif
Ramjade
post Oct 15 2016, 12:55 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(_azam13 @ Oct 15 2016, 12:47 AM)
ayy, my thoughts on FI:
-RHB IBF's 1% redemption rate is a massive turnoff, unless you hold long term. I hold substantial amount in that fund and feel handcuffed. If I want to park money somewhere, I use Anita Mui
Not for me as I have no problem in holding the money for > 1 year.
Anita Mui return is too low for my liking. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 15 2016, 12:56 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 15 2016, 08:12 AM

24,392 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 15 2016, 07:59 AM)
do realize you are also sacrificing the ability to take the money anytime and parking these funds in your bank accounts for the bank to earn money from yours.
Like I said, I have no problem parking my money >1 year. Before ASX FP, my money 100% of them are in FDs for ~3 years. After finding out about ASX FP, I transferred my money into ASX FP. already coming close to 2nd year holding money in there. All this while I never performed any withdrawal.

Even this year when I had to access RM3k for emergency purpose, I didn't even withdraw from there. So again, locking up the money for years is perfectly fine with me. That 1% exit fees doesn't bother me if I were to choose RHB IBF because I know I can lock my money > 1 year as I have > enough emergency cash reserves.

So for me, the bond fund must be able to generate income when equities fail (got an inspiration from dasecret earlier post that mentioned when equities fail, RHB AIF came to the rescue)

This are my personal reasons:
Reason to go for RHB IBF
(i) consistent returns at ~7% p.a rclxm9.gif

Reason not to go for RHB IBF
(i) is only in malaysia which means I will be overweight in malaysia (KGF, eastspring, ASX FP)

Reason to for RHB ATRF
(i) Potential of higher returns than RHB IBF
(ii) Not focus on malaysia
(iii) In the long run, it will exceed RM as it was mentioned USD-RM forex affect it biggrin.gif

Reason not to go for RHB ATRF
(i) Potential lesser returns than RHB IBF

I am perfectly fine with RHB ATRF risk or RHB IBF exit fees so those are not in my criteria.

Siapa main report some more? vmad.gif mad.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 15 2016, 08:28 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0872sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:24 AM