Fundsupermart.com v15, 基金超市第十五章 - Rise the Dragon

guy3288
post Oct 2 2016, 10:44 PM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 2 2016, 10:28 PM)
It's already in Post #1 in the most layman-friendly presentation. I will not re-post again.
Come on be a man. dont come barking madly and then run away with tail in between your legs so fast.

I am sure the following post is very easy to prove or disprove by simple maths, any Tom Dick and Harry can do it.

if you with ACCA or CFA and still dont know how to disprove that, better you go resit again. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

These are simple clear straight forward hypotheses:

1) If you buy at 10% cheaper, later when the price picks up, you will earn 10% more than your friend any time.
2) The higher the UT price moves up, the more you will win over your friend, by 11%,12%,13% etc. i call it multiplying effect even though you just bought 10% cheaper, you can win your friend by more than 10% at the end.

Come on prove it wrong, by simply putting in some numbers and test them!

This post has been edited by guy3288: Oct 2 2016, 10:45 PM
guy3288
post Oct 3 2016, 02:16 AM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(spiderman17 @ Oct 3 2016, 12:08 AM)
This kind of mathematical what-if discussion is not adding much value, simply because noone knows the future movement of the price. NAV fall by 10℅ and you buy in, thinking that you will do better than yklooi. He instead sold all and lost 10%.
What happens next noone knows. Let's say NAV drop another 20%, and you buy in again. Yklooi took his earlier cash and buy all now. Are you sure you're still better off than him in all circumstances? Are you really sure? Well, we haven't even considered how much % you topup in round1 and round2. See how this can be an endless discussion going nowhere?
On the one hand you acknowledge "what happens next no one knows" but on the other hand you contradicts yourself using an example that clearly implied yklooi "knows", so that he can sell and buy back later at a much cheaper price.

Similarly i can also say what if the UT goes up ,of course yklooi who sold at a loss earlier will lose even more
now if he were to buy back again. Is that some great argument? NO!

You are wasting my time making circular arguments like that!

But then go think about it again (not that i agree with your untenable presumption there)
you tell me why your yklooi can win there??

I am sorry to say it again, it is because he has bought at a LOWER NAV price!

Now what? Enter at whatever NAV price does not matter as long as you choose the correct UT?

guy3288
post Oct 3 2016, 03:06 PM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(spiderman17 @ Oct 3 2016, 07:59 AM)
rclxms.gif
You're 150% right. You win. I'm sorry to have wasted your time engaging you in this pointless discussion. I should go back being a silent reader.
if my statement is wrong ,you think that can stand in a lions den without being torn to pieces?
you dont have to agree with me, you only need to see if that is a fact or not.

Anyone who is reasonable enough should know there is hardly any need for argument on a simple statement that says
if you buy cheaper you win over another who buys it at higher price.

common sense, yet it seems that is not so common to many in here...sigh. they put too many compounding
factors in it. What if i buy and he sells, what if I buy Fund A and he buys Fund B etc....That is ridiculous! How can
you compare the effect of price difference on 2 totally different scenarios, you buy he sells etc etc, 2 different funds worse!

Of course it must refer to SAME UT, both stay same invested , or else how can you compare? Basic stats man!

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Oct 3 2016, 09:25 AM)
So heat up discussion here... smile.gif

Treat UT as long term.. if feels the particular region or sector that UT is invested in has potential, then just top up regularly or once a while without letting the NAV affecting ur decision to top up
That is a very reasonable comment, as long as the UT can go up, even if you buy a little higher you still can make money out of it. I am not telling people dont go buy it. High can go higher still.

But that is besides my point.

What I am saying all this while is: if you buy at a higher price (eg KGF at RM1.0175 last week), you are losing out to someone who bought it cheaper at RM0.9855 last month. He got more units than you for the SAME amount of money invested.

But that seems to ruffle quite a few feathers here. Because the self-called sifus want to drill into you guys' head,
buy KGF at RM0.9855 or RM1.0175 or whatever other prices, it doesnt matter!.It makes NO DIFFERENCE etc etc.........in other words, you just buy it ,if you think that UT is good, so dont go TIME the market, blah blah,.......

That is what i find plain boolshit and must be rebutted at all costs.

Tell me you agree or not it DOES NOT matter if pay RM10,000 for KGF at RM1.0175 and get only 9828 units whereas another who paid same amount at RM0.9855 got 10147 units?

Who cares if KGF holds stocks XYZ at the time when you buy it at RM1.0175, and KGF holds stocks ABC at the time I buy it at RM0.9855??

Of course if you insist you dont mind lose 3.2% to him, then that is your own problem, not the problem of my statement's veracity.

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 3 2016, 10:43 AM)
Heated debate, no problem, but please tone down the word and don't use the word of "barking" (it is a disrespectful word to call people like that), and or whatever similarity word.
Just focus on the fund issue discussion.

Ty.
i hope next time you read idiots, orang hutan, put you in zoos, lembu etc...you also let him know as well..

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 3 2016, 11:19 AM)
Less TALK; MOAR NUMB3RS!

The above is clear from a mathematical point of view, but opps we have a problem. In real life, we do not know when the NAV will go up, if goes up, until how high? If it goes down, until how low? if you want to wait and wait and wait to buy at the trough and sell at the peak, one word = GOOD LUCK!

That is why rational / logical / unemotional investing is to do DCA to take away the guess work and let average takes its course naturally.

Xuzen
I fully agree with you there Xuzen.

One would be silly to say he knows when is the best time to buy and when is the best time to sell.
No body knows, but that does not mean in that case, you buy it higher or you buy it cheaper, it makes no difference, it doesn't matter, so just buy la.

Two different things totally.

I hope more people can see my points there.

You can say you cannot control the weather, i can agree.
But you simply cannot say rain or sunshine it is all the SAME, if you know what i mean....
(this is a lousy example, as rain or shine you may not lose out, unlike buy high or buy low in UT there)

QUOTE(dasecret @ Oct 3 2016, 12:55 PM)
I'm responding to you not because I feel the need to argue with you, but I do not want this meaningless argument to
Here I'll give an example using our MY small cap market crash 1month+ ago. So uncle Looi bought into RHB Small Cap Opp right before it crashes (ouch, sorry, but it's a good comparison), and say you bought into it after the crash, so you are better off than uncle Looi by 10% like your example. And then here I am, buying into EI small cap instead, it only fell by 4%. So Am I worse off than you? Let the graph do the talking now

Everything else equal, uncle looi would still be -8%; while you are better off at +2%; and I'm at +3%. So are you the smartest of the bunch now? Actually I don't know the answer as it's less than 2 month; lets take a look again 6 months later then it would be more meaningful

But the truth is, would you be buying at the lowest point? Or somewhere when it's still falling, or only when it rose back to normal.... no one really knows. Not something we can have 100% control over.
Hence what we advocate to do is, control what you can; in this case - buy the fund that has a better risk to return ratio and have good track record; and VCA or DCA to not be in the worst situation, somewhere in between is good enough since we cannot catch the lowest point most of the time.
Don't be intimidated by the loudest voice in the room. Once a wise man told me that tin kosong make the most noise. You can always throw in idea and if you are right you help others, if you are not and being corrected you'd learn something. Don't just be a silent reader
You are missing the point maam. Of course it is meaningless if you put me and yklooi to buy RHB and you go buy Eastspring wanna come and compare with us.......That sounds more like a tin kosong to me, Basics step - ask your self
first -are you comparable there!!

This post has been edited by guy3288: Oct 3 2016, 03:14 PM
guy3288
post Oct 3 2016, 05:33 PM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 3 2016, 04:26 PM)
After a couple of pages dedicated to the topic buying at Lower NAV pawns those who bought at higher NAV, so what usable info can we derive from this new and profound information?

How can we add value as investors to our portfolio?

Buy at lower NAV?

Xuzen
Acceptance is the word.
accept that NAV price "matters", at time you buy and again at time you sell.

When you refuse to accept that fact, you would hide under various pretexts such as "invested at the wrong time",
another word of saying NAV price was high.

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 27 2016, 04:32 PM)
Exactly what I was saying above, ..., just happened that invested at the wrong time, hence still having negative return.
If that sifu is blind to his own poison, someone tried pointing it out but was ignored
What is TIME, TIMING, ultimately it sinks down to NAV again.

QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 27 2016, 04:51 PM)
hmm.gif just for discussion .....many time, many SIfus / experts and FSM also did mentioned about TIME in the Market NOT timing the market.... isn't what you you mentioned contradictory...

btw,...i also believes a bit of LUCK in the entry points can helps the ROI...
Other pretext used is LUCK-
ultimately it refers NAV price again, luck means he got it cheaper.

more example here, the bottom line in discussion there is NAV price to buy and more units to get
for the same amount of money right?

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Sep 12 2016, 12:39 PM)
Let it drop till end of this month, then time to nimble some...  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 12 2016, 12:42 PM)
should it be,.sell all now and then end of the month...time to nimble some?  biggrin.gif  brows.gif
This post has been edited by guy3288: Oct 3 2016, 06:21 PM
guy3288
post Oct 3 2016, 06:05 PM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 3 2016, 05:29 PM)
I repeat - KNOW WHAT IS A UT

A UT is not an entity, not a company. It is a composite of securities and cash. And it is dynamic i.e. it's composition could change from day to day.

Period.
A and B both decided KGF is good and bought RM10,000.

A bought on 28.8.2016 at NAV 0.9855 got 3.2% more units than B who bought
on 29.9.2016 at NAV RM1.0175.

Does it matter to A what stocks KGF held on 28.8.16 when he bought, compared to what
stocks KGF held on 29.9.16 when B bought?

Aren't both of them going to have their rewards from whatever KGF 's profit the same?

guy3288
post Oct 3 2016, 06:16 PM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Oct 3 2016, 05:45 PM)
Actually I did not, I even acknowledged that mathematically when you look at ONE fund what you argued is technically correct.

But instead of just looking at that one tiny sand, even though that one sand is pricking your eye and irritated you so much, I asked you to step back and look at the bigger picture.

Let me try again, and hopefully we can move on after this.

what I was trying to say is, say everyone has rm10k to put into 1 fund. Do you just buy into the fund that ur friend bought at a price that is 10% higher? Or do you consider other factors? Of course any sensible person will tell you they will consider other factors, to try to buy into a fund that they think got better chance of making more money in the future, and hopefully not lose so much in the process

So why are you still fixated about buying the fund that you can buy at a lower price? Fell 10% may not be as good as another fund that only fell 4% as I illustrated earlier. There are more than 1 fund or 1 counter to buy. Talking about just 1 fund is meaningless in the grand scheme of things

Ok. Let say if I want to be really nice about this. What you are trying to explain is what the fancy finance people call value cost averaging where investors are advised to buy more of the fund when the price fall below certain point (not due to distribution). And it's a more than acceptable way of investing. But the way you explained obviously did not make it easy for ppl to understand
Wah boss, the most meaningful comment the whole day 
How do you deal with those who are stubborn to prove that they are right and would not look at things from a different perspective even when they were told to do so?
Hello maam, you are so far off track! You must read before you reply.

We have already moved on, see Xuzen's post there as the ultimate reply!

We are not talking about must buy 10% cheaper and whatnot!!
We are not asking what factors to consider before we buy, what to buy etc...
We are just saying you buy cheaper you win as simple as that.

This post has been edited by guy3288: Oct 3 2016, 06:28 PM
guy3288
post Oct 4 2016, 09:11 AM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Oct 3 2016, 11:52 PM)
I wonder why a straight forward statement by you got such nasty replies. Maybe some just don't read to understand. What you have been saying is correct, buy cheaper will have advantage over those buying at higher price. A friend of mine is still having negative ROI over some China fund that he bought almost 10 years ago. If bought the same China fund 4 years ago would get him quite a nice profit.

I always time the market during top-up. The only time I did not time the market is when buying into a new fund as there is no way for me to predict when (not if) the price will drop much lower later. It may drop lower but it could be years later, next month, next week or even tomorrow. In the mean time, I better ride on the profit that it might give me now.
Reason being i have stirred the hornets "taboo words", NAV, TIME the market etc.........

I salute you for having the courage to say it out loud.

Not that they dont do it like you, only they dare not say it direct ie using those taboo words
or else sure get whacked by the so called sifus.

you can find those whackings regularly whenever some one 'steps' on it.

This post has been edited by guy3288: Oct 4 2016, 09:14 AM
guy3288
post Oct 5 2016, 12:31 AM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 4 2016, 10:54 AM)
Guy3288 made an assertion..............., Then he continues," He agrees that timing the market is impractical as in his post #956 on page 48. "
Xuzen
I am disappointed by the imprecise way you quote me.

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Post #956 Oct 3 2016, 03:06 PM)
One would be silly to say he knows when is the best time to buy and when is the best time to sell.
No body knows, but that does not mean in that case, you buy it  higher or you buy it cheaper, it makes no difference, it doesn't matter, so just buy la. <----this is meant to be sarcastic
I dont see how the above can mean to say it is impractical to time the market.

How can i say timing the market is impractical if I support timing the market?

Isn't trying to buy low = timing the market?

Or must it only be buying the LOWEST then only considered
timing the market, yes that is impractical then.

guy3288
post Oct 5 2016, 01:13 AM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 4 2016, 10:54 AM)
Also If I were to follow your logic that you want to maximize the units per RM transacted (get more units per buy), then it is most likely you would want to buy into a risky asset that is forever on a downtrend. Sounds funny to me leh!

Your past post seems full of irony.
Xuzen
I thought you were one of the few who understood what i was trying to say when i read the ultimate reply from you,
thought we can move on..but now you turn back the clock again......

There is no irony in the following post

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 3 2016, 05:33 PM)
more example here,
QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Sep 12 2016, 12:39 PM)

Let it drop till end of this month, then time to nimble some...  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 12 2016, 12:42 PM)
should it be,.sell all now and then end of the month...time to nimble some?  biggrin.gif  brows.gif
the bottom line in discussion there is NAV price to buy and more units to get
for the same amount of money right?
Do you not agree they are waiting to buy at lower NAV?

If you can agree "Buy low NAV is better", I am sure you understand it is to make money or push up your IRR.
So if "getting more units per RM" there" is meant to make money and increase your IRR, what is the irony?
To understand it otherwise means you have misunderstood me.

lower NAV by itself is automatically translated into more units for the same amount of money paid.

I thought i have made my self clear with the KGF example..

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 3 2016, 03:06 PM)
What I am saying all this while is: if  you buy at a higher price (eg KGF at RM1.0175 last week), you are losing out to someone who bought it cheaper at RM0.9855 last month. He got more units than you for the SAME amount of money invested.

Tell me you agree or not it DOES NOT matter if pay RM10,000 for KGF at RM1.0175 and get only 9828 units whereas another who paid same amount at RM0.9855 got 10147 units?

Who cares if KGF holds stocks XYZ at the time when you buy it at RM1.0175, and KGF holds stocks ABC at the time I buy it at RM0.9855??

It would be ridiculous to say, out of the hundreds over UTs there, you go pick that one with lowest NAV and buy it.

What i have been saying all this while is: Once you have decided the UT can be a "winner", you keep an eye on it,see who is buying it at what price, who has topped up further at what price ,observe its NAV fluctuations then you buy la.
You buy low you have a head start compared to those who buy higher, that's all.

And who says this way cannot be done if you want to have more than 1 UT fund in your portfolio.

You just need to do the same for each and every UT fund you target to buy.

guy3288
post Oct 5 2016, 01:30 AM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 4 2016, 07:18 PM)
Universal truth like buy cheap, buy at basement price bargains also need to have mathematical proof to show advantage over friend? So high class one the discussions..
You think only you alone surprised meh? me too la!

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 3 2016, 03:06 PM)
Anyone who is reasonable enough should know there is hardly any need for argument on a simple statement that says if you buy cheaper you win over another who buys it at higher price.

common sense, yet it seems that is not so common to many in here...sigh.
QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 4 2016, 07:18 PM)
I top-up 2 weeks ago, so damn regret la... nav price drop 1% last Friday, should have waited till Friday.
If it drop again next 2-3 weeks another 8-9%, more regret la...  cry.gif

But ask me in 10 years time, what's the returns, hopefully I can boast "don't know la, maybe 110% or just above 120%... for sure more than 100."

In 10 years time, I would also forgot what's the NAV price I bought, and what's the 'rugi' I didn't buy at cheaper price. No luck... already buy, then price drop... buy somemore, price drop again.

Always no luck, so keep on buying...
After buy what is there to regret, lose lose la.
I lost RM6+k in AmCommodities also no cry .How much you lost?

But i thought you are a veteran, surely got at least few years IRR to show already ,no need wait 10 years .
unless you are waiting for your not so nice IRR to "even" out something like that of yklooi's?

No la, if no luck no point keep buying blindly, you only go deeper in red and lose more.
i kena before.

guy3288
post Oct 5 2016, 02:44 PM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 5 2016, 10:44 AM)
In the mood for charity today...

Ref: Post #1

People that cannot get this...are Lembu. I repeat my "insult". sleep.gif

This is a statement as simple as 1+1=2. If a pupil keep saying that 1+1=3, his/her teacher can't call that pupil lembu? yawn.gif
QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 3 2016, 06:05 PM)

A and B both decided KGF is good and bought RM10,000.

A bought on 28.8.2016 at NAV 0.9855 got 3.2% more units than B who bought
on 29.9.2016 at NAV RM1.0175.

Does it matter to A what stocks KGF held on 28.8.16 when he bought, compared to what

Aren't both of them going to have their rewards from whatever KGF 's profit the same?

Charity alone tak cukup , you must have some courage also to face your "challenger",
ie get into the ring and "fight" it out by presenting your points and arguments.

What is the point of only knowing how to say few words like lembu, zoo,
put orang utan's brain in your head etc??

It is obvious what you have done so far is just "throwing stones" from the side.....
and when you come into the ring, all you did is just regurgitate some known facts people can read fr books.

How about upgrading yourself a bit, making this discussion ada STANDARD sikit.

Tackle what i said directly,present your points for everyone to assess.

For a start just tackle these 2 simple Qs:

Question (1) --->Does it matter to A what stocks KGF held on 28.8.16 when he bought, compared to what

I am sure everyone knows my answer is NO.

Would you dare answer YES there?

Question (2) ------->Aren't both of them going to have their rewards from whatever KGF 's profit the same?

My answer is YES, you dare say NO is your answer?

guy3288
post Oct 6 2016, 09:42 AM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Oct 4 2016, 09:09 PM)
Below is my Main portfolio September performance based on 30/9/16 NAV.

Jul Aug Sep
Overall IRR 12.21% 10.56% 10.65%

That must be the first portfolio i see here with IRR >10%!

It's a pity despite so many so called sifus here, instead of getting the result
from them, it comes from you, one who supports timing the market.

The big headed sifu who is so against your way, how high is his IRR after so many years of experience?

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 23 2016, 11:12 AM)
My commencement to-date IRR is now at 6.7%
Sure, it's not amazing...only managed to beat EPF marginally... sad.gif

Most people in here clearly steadfastly clinging behind the back of that sifu,
what IRR are they getting?

QUOTE(T231H @ Sep 9 2016, 02:55 PM)
there are forummers that posted their portfolio's IRR at < 4% ..... after investing > 3yrs.
guess, they among other things went in at the wrong time.
Ultimately is how much money you made? how high your IRR is, not just how loud you can talk...

guy3288
post Oct 6 2016, 02:39 PM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 6 2016, 09:51 AM)
example of hypocrisy, calling someone who talks alot while showing an image of his total sum of his investment.

This statement revealed your lack of ability to think.
call your self "physician" some more.......malu lah.

if your brain is working/logical, you should know hypocrisy is not a sensible word to use there,
as I did not tell others not to something that i did (it) myself.
I do market timing, i tell others, yes go ahead and do it.

if you have a bone to pick with me, poke at the right spot dont just tickle me.

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 6 2016, 11:09 AM)
you do know those sifus (legit ones)  have a platinum and majority have gold status right.one sifu here don't even need to pay for switching fees. we have a few investors who think their 60k is a huge sum.

also they make no money being in this forum but here they are trying to teach and advise or maybe just to talk kok as usual. if you follow the versions of fsm, you will notice many members have adopted their way of investing and it has been proven time and again that it works.

Excel sheets and formulas being made and spoon fed to us and who thought them when fsm first opened up in Malaysia?

don't know why this version for fsm this time is drama packed and butthurt. fine if you think your method works then back that up with calculations and facts and not just spew out insults.

come on lah,  your goals and your money why need to use other members to insult the other guys. we did well without you and we will continue doing so in the next threads down the years.
you may be a good boot licker in buttering up your sifus.
but if you dont know how to use your brain, and simply shoot from your hips,
you may be shooting at your sifus rather than at me.

Go read what you say in red.

Who champions in throwing insults?
Who back it up with calculations?
Who is proven mathematically correct? your sifu??

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 6 2016, 11:50 AM)
IRR of 7.7% in a span of around 3 years old portfolio = OK lar. In line with some of the more conservative type balanced fund. Guy3288, I recalled you are a young person. If it is true, that is, my memory serves me right, you should bump up your IRR by including more equity fund. Show me again your total port and let me look at it again.

Xuzen
i have shown my portfolio already. dont want to aggravate that butthurt Avangelice more.

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Oct 6 2016, 01:54 PM)
For me, no hard and fast rule in investing.

Investing should be stress free and fun! Life is short.

If you make money, good for you lor. What is IRR? What is ROI? What low NAV or high NAV? smile.gif
I fully agree with you there.
Why must have hard and fast rule?

As long as you can make money.
But IRR* can tell you how good is good.
ROI no use la, if time no taken in it.

Yes then can forget about low NAV and high NAV
when you already have high IRR!

*At least 3 years period, the longer the more indicative it is.

guy3288
post Oct 8 2016, 02:48 PM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 8 2016, 12:20 PM)
And the reality is small % differences are those can work out to have high certainty. And big % differences are almost impossible to know with certainty. India might have gone up 3% in a week, do we know it for sure ?
QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 8 2016, 01:01 PM)
Give some time ma laugh.gif

Yes, there is investment amount for wealth accumulation

but there are also some money left that are for liquidity and waiting for opportunity aka wealth preservation

We try to find a balance to maximize the return for this standing fund while learning and finding other investment opportunity

Of course when we earn more from income or investment and have enough to dispose them to investment, the petty method will slowly become insignificant and we start to increase risk appetite maximizing the investment portion of the portfolio smile.gif

Give time to learn ma, sorry sifu laugh.gif
the 2 comments above show a very positive attitude towards money(investment)

everything starts from small, no one can become BIG suddenly, out from no where.

Trouble is many only start to look when that amount is big (to them), when small they ignore, dont bother,
they look down on it.

That's why we hear people say, "aiya why bother that small amount, that is not even enough for my one go at the pub... etc..."

Truth is if you have such a habit of not knowing how to "value" your money ( starting at small amount),
you are likely to continue your habit the same when you grow bigger. Next time you become a miilionaire, you would say, aiya what is RM5000, nothing lah, 0.5% only ma......the same.

To me, every little extra in % counts, even just 0.5% more. When your amount is RM10,000 that RM50 may not seem big. But it is not the amount, it is the way you look at it that matters.

SO yes, i support you 2 guys!

This post has been edited by guy3288: Oct 8 2016, 02:52 PM
guy3288
post Oct 9 2016, 12:35 AM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 8 2016, 06:38 PM)
It is not about big or small sum issue, sometimes it is about petty issue.
In investment world, you can't possible "maximise the return" one, aka try to find lowest to buy and highest to sell.
For long term investment, you take a bigger picture and more long term view instead.
Every one also wants the biggest bang for their money, those who cant do it have to settle for less,
fair and square

Eg.You correctly bought a stock/UT that worth Rm10 today, if looking back, there is not much a difference if you had bought it at RM1.00 or 1.05. A long term and bigger picture, is that you made a right decision that you had bought it, be it RM1.00 or 1.05.

From RM1.00 you push it up to RM10, that is a 900% increase!
You are 'diluting' the effect of the difference many times.
how many years needed to get that 900%? diluting it more.
Start with only RM100k can become a millionaire will take how long?

Same with property, today your property worth RM1 mil, does it matter you bought it 500k or 520K?
The matter one is you made the decision to buy when it was 500k or 520k.
missed opportunity aside, you may think the difference is only RM20k. Even RM20k is significant difference to me. But you have underestimated that difference-how many years to reach RM1M?, loss from opportunity cost, RM20k today might be RM80k later.

You don't try to "maximise the return, so that you must buy it at RM1.00 or Rm500k, as in the process of trying to "maximise" the return, you might miss the opportunity to buy it entirely, which you left with no profit.

How many UT funds have NAV price going up straight line without fluctuations that if we dont buy,
we would miss it ...............?

I agreed on maximise return in term of putting FD in a bank that has higher rate, yes, this is correct way to maximise return, because this "investment" we know the outcome aka you will be fully paid on the interest.

But in investment that full on uncertainty, we can't possible maximise the return unless we have a crystal ball to know the exact timing and future outcome.

Cherry picking, and focus on too petty issue sometimes is not good "behaviour" for investment over long term. smile.gif
We can't possible earn every cent one that available. Instead a bigger picture and long term view may provide way bigger return.
some also implied over-analysing the SD, Sharpe etc is like cherry picking too, so no need hard and fast rule so to speak.

Put aside missed opportunity, a 0.5% difference is the same be it in FD, UT or stocks. For every 1 million invested you
can lose out RM5000 for it

This post has been edited by guy3288: Oct 9 2016, 12:45 AM
guy3288
post Oct 15 2016, 09:26 AM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 15 2016, 12:34 AM)
I think we should stop the habit of comparing returns from UTs to FD returns.

cons of fd is that your
-money is locked and returns will be lost if upliftment is done before maturity
-rates are based on OPR.
unit trusts.

pros
-ability to choose a myriad of funds based on their geographical regions and volatility.
-ability to purchase funds anytime anywhere and sell anytime you like
-returns are based on many factors like economic booms, currency exchange and etc.

cons
returns are never sure.
risk of losing your investments.
service charge (if you want to nick pick)
annual charge.
so can we stop mentioning fd rates here? if you want stability go for fds. you want to have full control of how your money is invested go for UTs.

Its like comparing a small country car to a ferrari. they both ain't the same. Regards.

the end.
That kind of reasoning from a doctor is really ....... doh.gif shakehead.gif

The very purpose people buy UT is to make more than FD returns.
Who buy UT and dont mind lower return than FD rate ,just for the fun of having "control" of money?
What for, having control and lose???

Ultimately if you dont make more than 6-7% returns, why so silly waste time and effort
when you can just sit back?

Just for the sake of being able to "play play" and "control" how you play that money?
then you better go genting.

To lament that early upliftment of FD will cause you to lose return WITHOUT knowing
that urgent sell of UT is even worse, just show how much you can think.
Doing the same for UT,not only you may lose returns, you may even lose your capital !

And the point on OPR movements as a con for FD is again an unthinking blabber.
Talking about unpredictability, UT is many times worse than FD if you just pause and think first!!

I have FD paying me 4.7% right till 2018.
So tell me how can your OPR con factor affect me till then?

Your reasoning is far inferior to that of Ram, mind you, he is only a student!

And what kind of rubbish is that to say FD is small car and UT is ferrari?
Especially when your ferrari can produce only 3-4%
and my small car gives me fixed 4.7% return.
Dont just keep thinking about your car, for once look into the mirror to see that driver.

guy3288
post Oct 16 2016, 09:48 AM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 15 2016, 03:21 PM)
I like it. Now my post got reported. So now we know who is the person keep reporting to moderator but the mod isn't doing anything about it.
the moderator is not sleeping. he/she has done his/her job by removing pinky 's bulying post yet again.
That guy does not seem to learn, all he can do is simply yelling around whenever he wakes up.......
hoping for people to support his bruised ego.....sigh.
guy3288
post Oct 16 2016, 10:10 AM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 15 2016, 10:15 AM)
pfft. here we go again. If you are so sure about your FD returns why don't you stick to the pinned FD thread. why the fuck are you here then if you are so adamant about its returns? btw I do not take kindly to people questioning my intelligence just because you do not agree on my beliefs.

Anyways I was discussing the topic with Ramjade. if you got nothing to chip in and insulting me, just stfu and go play your fds
People judge you by how you present your idea and how logical your belief is, not on how loud you can say the four letter words!

And be reminded this is a public forumn, not your private room.
so please dont embarass your so called "DOCTOR" status further.

And for once please admit you are just a diploma holder,
a paramedic and NOT a doctor.
guy3288
post Oct 16 2016, 11:26 AM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 15 2016, 05:09 PM)
But i am a lot more tolerant to it. I dont mind it floating around.

But what you mentioned is absolutely correct, if one finds it not worth discussing, then just dont participate. As simple as that.
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Yes, you can always skip reading any post you dont like, why bother?

This post has been edited by guy3288: Oct 16 2016, 12:56 PM

0.0993sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:45 PM