Fundsupermart.com v15, 基金超市第十五章 - Rise the Dragon

David3700
post Oct 4 2016, 04:48 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 4 2016, 04:36 PM)
switch funds to the same fund house and into another equity fund or change your investment into another geographical region

or

sell it off.

or

funnel it into a fixed income fund till the region recovers

honestly even the most basic investor will jump ship after his returns are blood red after years of investing unless and until you absolutely trust that certain company that it would rebound but by then other funds would have popped up
Thanks for the advice. I think he bang in too big in 1 shot that's impossible for him to switch or chop...lol
David3700
post Oct 6 2016, 02:02 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 6 2016, 09:23 AM)
FSM seems to only recommend funds to buy. That's is an easier job as no time frame is given, fsm never mention how long you should stay with the fund. Next moment when the fund becomes less performing, fsm will recommend other funds.

FSM should perhaps also recommend which fund to switch out. That will be a nasty job which can piss people off.  blink.gif
Yes, a very good idea.
Know when to go in must also know when to come out too....
David3700
post Oct 6 2016, 02:25 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 6 2016, 09:31 AM)
why die die must rush in to buy?  biggrin.gif
had been proven, mkts always fluctuates...if one can buy at 1~2% lower than others...UNTUNG lah.

but there will always be others buying lower than you.... doh.gif  tongue.gif
Yup, I agree on the first part.
Of course, ppl will say high will go higher.
But what I will do is to take a break, especially with so many uncertainties lying in the near future (US presidential election, Fed rate hike, Deutsche Bank.....)
No need to rush, save some bullets and shoot when the clues are clearer.

* Sifu dun be angry lah....just my personal thinking. Regular DCA is a good method, just that I want to took some gamble biggrin.gif

David3700
post Oct 6 2016, 03:09 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 6 2016, 02:35 PM)
Where do you keep your "reserve" ? Do you keep them in the banks, or you keep them as fixed income funds and switch over from time to time ?
In banks, maybe CMF also a good option.
David3700
post Oct 6 2016, 04:10 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 6 2016, 03:54 PM)
but in my case I fpx through Maybank2u which has been alwaus a quick tap or two. so I am still thinking why the need CMF
Seems like CMF interest is quite attractive....but I have not try yet biggrin.gif . Still using fpx
David3700
post Oct 10 2016, 07:04 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 9 2016, 10:17 PM)
Kenanga Growth Fund
Eastspring Investments Small Cap Fund
Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund
AmAsia Pacific Reits
CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund
RHB Asian Income Fund
Aberdeen Islamic World Equity Fund
CIMB-Principal Global Titan Fund
CIMB-Principal China-India-Indonesia Equity Fund

Similar appetite ah....I have those in red colour
David3700
post Oct 10 2016, 04:07 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 10 2016, 07:35 AM)
I think these are consider high risk category, are you?  smile.gif

Do you invest one shot and DCA when time comes, or periodically top up?  smile.gif
All in 1 shot. Until now returns are reasonable except for REITs and RHB AIF.
Will do top up when time comes....
David3700
post Oct 10 2016, 04:25 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 10 2016, 04:11 PM)
Wa, me pocket not rich enough to go one shot  laugh.gif

Can only slowly RSP to hope for silver status by end of 2018  laugh.gif

I thought both funds have reasonable return overtime? or you enter at peak  sad.gif
Hehe. I enter them 2 weeks ago and straight away went into correction stage..... sad.gif
However, CIMB China India Indonesia went upwards
David3700
post Oct 11 2016, 11:17 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 10 2016, 09:42 PM)
I sold off a portion of kaptrf. But it appears in top 6 in one months top performers.
For this Kaptrf, I started Apr 16, now have 8% gain.
This shows the effect of timing, but too bad we are not able to time it
David3700
post Oct 11 2016, 11:41 AM

1,055 posts

Quite a lot of UTs have fantastic performance since July 2016, just want to check with sifus on how to deal with it....

1. Keep calm and stay. Ride thru' storms (if they come) and wait for another spring to come.
2. Axe or switch to bond fund if major storm arrives.
3. Skim the profit and re-invest the profit into bond fund to preserve it.

David3700
post Oct 11 2016, 05:36 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Oct 11 2016, 03:55 PM)
By the time you realize a major storm has arrived, the market is already down 10%.

There are thousands of full time investors/traders out there. These people study news every hour. When there are good news, they buy; when there are bad news, they sell.

If you are part timer, you can't beat them to action. Even if you can, it's going to be very stressful.
Oh, I am asking which one (1,2 or 3) is the best method...
David3700
post Oct 12 2016, 02:07 PM

1,055 posts

I presume equity markets will start to volatile. Except the usual old things, new issues like fat finger, italy exit referendum, note 7 stop production, xMDB etc are coming out....

Then ppl start talking about US stock near tech bubble level, HK rate hike, China bad debt etc.....

* No special intention, just share some latest news. For me, just keep calm and wait....
David3700
post Oct 12 2016, 07:27 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 12 2016, 04:15 PM)
So you are using method 1 ( as mentioned in your post ) ?
Yup, at this moment
David3700
post Oct 13 2016, 12:08 AM

1,055 posts

Since AmAsia Pacific REITs has dropped more than 2% these few days, plan to top up tomorrow. Anybody will also do this ?
David3700
post Oct 13 2016, 06:58 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 12 2016, 08:41 PM)
So you are optimistic about this round of correction ....
No serious indication market will not crash at the moment, can still wait and see (just my opinion tongue.gif )
David3700
post Oct 13 2016, 09:42 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 13 2016, 07:25 AM)
I have decided to follow you. Let me know if you managed to pick up some signs. 😜
Take your own risk woh as I dun have the crystal ball.... biggrin.gif
David3700
post Oct 13 2016, 09:50 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Oct 13 2016, 09:31 AM)
Sorry, i'm just wanna ask u guy something. Pls dont shoot me if nonsense... brows.gif

How you guy make judgement whether the UT is worth to invest or not?
What i mean is other than look for the return, sharpe ratio, consistency ....

Normally i will look at the Annual Performance (%) VS Benchmark at factsheet.
If the fund performance is always beat by the Benchmark every year, i won't invest in that fund.

Are u guy the same?
For me as a beginner, will use the performance (consistent for both short term and long term) as a basis to select.
Still learning on method "whether the market is expensive or not" for judging timing for entry/exit.

This post has been edited by David3700: Oct 13 2016, 09:50 AM
David3700
post Oct 13 2016, 10:21 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Oct 13 2016, 10:17 AM)
Sorry guy.......due to my lousy language bangwall.gif ......make u guy confused......

i mean Benchmark beat the annual performance .......very very sorry.... notworthy.gif
Must have correct usage of "beat" and "beaten by"..... tongue.gif
David3700
post Oct 13 2016, 10:39 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Oct 13 2016, 09:47 AM)
I will wait n see..... biggrin.gif
Asian share market is in bad shape this morning, so can still wait....
David3700
post Oct 14 2016, 08:43 AM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 14 2016, 12:27 AM)
Good as RSP date is coming soon  rclxms.gif
Good time for topping up

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1735sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled