Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> PayPal discussion thread, No PayPal fund sales allowed!

subpar
post Oct 23 2007, 12:59 PM

I would totally turn lez for Effy...
827 posts

QUOTE(melz84 @ Oct 23 2007, 12:22 PM)
if not mistaken.. paypal will only credit back the USD1.95 if u made ur first purchase using paypal...

correct me if i'm wrong..
they don't credit back the USD1.95 asap either...mine took about 2 weeks i think...
subpar
post Nov 22 2007, 10:25 AM

827 posts

okay, question:

i recently received some funds in GBP, but it was automatically converted to USD for me. thing is, i want to keep it in GBP because i normally pay sellers in GBP. before this, i have received payment in GBP before, and i will have to accept it manually. now, paypal just converts incoming GBP funds into USD.

anyone knows what changes i might have done to cause this or how i can resolve this? thanks in advance.

and yes, my primary currency is USD but i assume it's okay to have multiple open currency balances?

This post has been edited by subpar: Nov 22 2007, 10:38 AM
subpar
post Nov 22 2007, 10:41 AM

827 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Nov 22 2007, 10:29 AM)
how to downgrade account from premier to personal?

thanks!
i think you need to contact paypal to do that. read this.
subpar
post Jan 16 2008, 08:35 AM

827 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 16 2008, 01:11 AM)
guys, got a problem here.

I just receive an email from paypal, it says any unverified account will get deleted in 72 hours. So i'm badly in need of a debit card now. I only have Hong Leong and RHB bank account, can get debit card from there?

i just need it for verification purpose, no withdrawing in the near future. need reply ASAP.
even if you register for a debit card before that 72 hours, you'll need to wait for about 2 weeks for them to verify and approve your application. for PBB's visa electron, you'll need to wait for a letter for them to tell you your application has been approved, and then to tell you to go bank in the min amount needed into your debit card account. after that need to wait a bit more before they tell you that the card is finally ready for you to go collect.

btw i've never heard of unverified accounts in paypal will get deleted. are you sure the email's genuine?
subpar
post Jan 20 2008, 08:27 PM

827 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 16 2008, 05:31 PM)
make me worried only  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

i just forwarded the mail to spoof@paypal[dot]com, and wat i receive is:
luckily decided to check phishing prevention by paypal.

but i think it's also time for me to get my account verified also... blush.gif
:/ that's why, never trust any links that you get from emails. if you want to access to paypal, go directly to their website, not through links in emails.
subpar
post Nov 27 2008, 06:38 PM

827 posts

QUOTE(mandypchan @ Nov 27 2008, 05:09 PM)
That was fast reply... Thanks for the reply  rclxms.gif
I'm currently still reading this thread from the front.
However, I'm still blur.  doh.gif
I'm intersted in PB Visa Debit card but I don't want to open any savings/current account in PB.
Can I just "top-up" the card through bank-in by ATM machine?
Yes of course but having a PBB savings account makes things easier. You can transfer money from your SA to your debit card online rather than going to the bank everytime.
subpar
post Nov 28 2008, 09:54 PM

827 posts

QUOTE(minamie @ Nov 28 2008, 09:38 PM)
I make a mistake of applying a PBB mastercard debit. Can I use this card to verify my paypal?

You guys mention about 'limits' if you are not verified. What is this limit actually? I have funds in my paypal (and I'm not verified), can I use it to pay my ebay?
There's a PBB mastercard debit? You can still use it to verify your paypal account, but if you want to withdraw funds from your paypal account, you must do it with a visa credit or debit card.

The limit is something like...sending and receiving up to USD1,000. After that you'll need to verify your card with paypal. I'm not sure about the amount, you'd do well to check it yourself. If your paypal account's unverified then just click on the link in your main page, it's there.
subpar
post Dec 5 2008, 09:48 AM

827 posts

QUOTE(mandypchan @ Dec 4 2008, 03:28 PM)
That's great about paypal will not block it  rclxms.gif
I know the verified thing sounds nice but it takes alot of effort to do it  blink.gif
It doesn't actually...just put in your card details and paypal will do the rest. Then when you get your credit/debit card statement, key the code in and you're verified.

Thing about unverified accounts is, if you're planning to use it for long-term sooner or later you'll reach the limit. Then you have to verify it also. So why not just verify it earlier?
subpar
post Feb 15 2009, 10:22 PM

827 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Feb 10 2009, 09:03 PM)
Please help me with this...

Recently, I bought something from a seller from USA. I pay certain amount to him thru Paypal. Today, the seller refund some amount to me coz of the lower than expected shipping fees.

The thing is the refund money did return to my Paypal a/c at 1st. After that, Paypal transfer the money back to my Public Bank Debit Card a/c. So, will the money really be send back to my Public Bank a/c?

I've check thru online, still no updates yet... sad.gif

Wouldn't it be better if the money is kept on my Paypal a/c?
Usually if money refunded by the seller goes straight to your debit card, it means that in the first place, you paid with your debit card. You didn't pay with paypal funds did you? You paid with your debit card, so it makes sense that the money goes back into your card. Anyway this usually takes a few days, 4-5 days perhaps. Check the balance today, it should be in already.
subpar
post Feb 19 2009, 07:47 PM

827 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Feb 15 2009, 10:53 PM)
Yup, received the refund already. Like what u said, takes 4-5 days for the transfer to be completed.  thumbup.gif

Anyway, how do I transfer my money to my paypal funds?
You mean convert the RM in your debit card to paypal funds? I don't think you can do that. If you want to have paypal funds why don't you try buying from reputable paypal sellers in Garage Sales? You pay them in RM, they send USD to you.
subpar
post Mar 5 2009, 10:09 AM

827 posts

QUOTE(Aaron1988 @ Feb 19 2009, 08:27 PM)
1. Do you mean we can't buy paypal funds ourselves?

2. Actually Paypal is it just work as a third party that when I buy an item from some place like Ebay, but I pay them by my debit card through Paypal? (does this mean I don't have to have balance of money in my Paypal) ? *I hope u guys understand what I mean*

3. How do those sellers get Paypal funds? Why some willing to sell cheaper than market rates? I saw one from Lowyat selling 3.40$ if purchase over $100, and 3.45$ for lower than $100 (reputable seller).
From what I understand...

1) Yes we can't buy it the funds from an official source (paypal) ourselves. No such option.

2) You can just store enough money in your debit card and pay for the ebay item using paypal. It'll show up in your debit card monthly statement. Yes, you don't need to have paypal funds to buy from ebay. Paying with your debit card through paypal is also another way.

3) From what I gather, they sell stuff, they get money in their paypal account. Paypal doesn't credit the money earned from their sales into their cards you see. They credit the money as paypal funds into their paypal accounts instead. So their options are either to withdraw the money (which some deem as troublesome, more exp etc etc) or to sell to people who are willing to buy. And if they don't sell cheaper than market rate who's going to buy from them? Might as well pay using our card right. To attract buyers, then they put a lower price lor.

QUOTE(stupid @ Mar 4 2009, 11:26 PM)
a simple questuon

if i wish to have 300 usd in my paypal account
(assumed rate 1 usd=rm3.8)
how much do i need to pump into my debit card account(in RM)?<as i heard only can use 75% amount
how much transaction fee(in usd) will cost me if i buying an 300 usd item?

advise me,thanks
Just put in enough money lar. It won't be 75%, probably they will hold up RM30 or so, depends on the bank. Call and ask. It does not hurt to have extra in your card, and you can always withdraw it back out later. So put in more than less is always good.

0.0194sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:55 AM