QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Jun 11 2014, 10:50 AM)
5 acres north, I think should be sustainable. Any stay-in workers?
Crops that don't required attention are usually low value crops. Lemon Grass? If you want to do high value crops with less attention, then we are looking at high investment automated system. Chilly can be done in greenhouse, fertigation.....but then you'll need to shift your attention into marketing
Papaya, need lots of time managing, fertilizing, pest control & harvesting.
You are blessed with a 5 acres land, with a stream, part hilly & flat. Make the best of it. Since it's idle at the moment, I guess it's at minimal idling cost, why not spend some time, read up on agriculture, get more information. Then only decide if you want to develop the land.
With more inform, then you can make better decision on what to do with the land. Upgrade it? Re-plant? New crops? High density planting? High value crops?etc...Like you said you have Durian, but again you said your price not really good, did you find out why? Certain varieties in certain area command premium price. Method of marketing? Value added? etc. Just something for you to think about. Work in harmony with your blessed land and you shall reap everlasting rewards.
Hi Farmer,
Thanks for replying.
The land still belongs to my father but it was left unattended for quite some years already.
All the fruit trees are still there but at the same time so are the wild grass/trees.
I guess durian doesn't work out because of few reasons
1) Half of the planted ones are not famous type (D24, Musang King etc) but they taste good though.
2) Comes durian season, everyone is selling at same time lead to glut. Unless the fruits were brought somewhere else...at least that's what my father said
Currently it incur no cost but no income too...
I'm thinking to clear some land from the wild (keeping the fruit trees) and plant it with something that is quick (6month - 1 year) to harvest, less attention needed (not much diseases, easy to attend, easy to survive etc), not necessary high value but should be enough to make some profit, and not much facility investment needed because I'm fairly new with this whole farming thing hence don't want to invest too much on facility until i get a hold of it.
So greenhouse thingy no go for me cause I think the investment will be quite substantial.
Please don't scold me if this sounds like I'm hoping for trees that grow money....lol!
I'll be willing to spend money to hire kampung folk to help do the ground work which will eat into my profit.
But I guess getting something is better than getting nothing, right.
Any suggestion where I can get more information? Been looking at the malaysia agri website but it's quite confusing....
Thanks!