QUOTE(M_century @ Aug 19 2014, 11:49 PM)
There is only good fry and bad fry, nothing much to grade about.
It happens all the time that you won't get uniform size fish when you harvest.
The golden question is always about FCR. How many tons of feed spent yield you how many tons of harvest.
I only care about FCR.
Fry is a living thing, you can never get consistent quality fry all the time. Just like all your children will not look the same and grow at same height. So it's a but of luck. And of course hatchery integrity sometimes being questioned too.
I also can tell you that everyone has good and bad things to say about everyone in this business.
My preference will be Thong Tai in Simpang Pertang near Titi Negeri Sembilan.
I would usually go for 1.5inch to 2inch fry. Nothing smaller nor larger.
Price for fry can go from 5cent to 10cent. Depends. Sometimes by pressuring seller too much May made you end up with low quality fry.
Good quality fry is extremely important.
Hello Sir(s),It happens all the time that you won't get uniform size fish when you harvest.
The golden question is always about FCR. How many tons of feed spent yield you how many tons of harvest.
I only care about FCR.
Fry is a living thing, you can never get consistent quality fry all the time. Just like all your children will not look the same and grow at same height. So it's a but of luck. And of course hatchery integrity sometimes being questioned too.
I also can tell you that everyone has good and bad things to say about everyone in this business.
My preference will be Thong Tai in Simpang Pertang near Titi Negeri Sembilan.
I would usually go for 1.5inch to 2inch fry. Nothing smaller nor larger.
Price for fry can go from 5cent to 10cent. Depends. Sometimes by pressuring seller too much May made you end up with low quality fry.
Good quality fry is extremely important.
This is my first post to the thread. I started an aquaculture venture with a few partners a year ago. We did try on poly tanks for red tilapia but didnt work out as the tanks we found were not that feasible as we could only healthily stock 300+- adult tilapia in one tank. The tanks were 3000 liter(600 gallon) circular poly tanks from BNC n measured 2mx2m. Now we've switched to concrete tanks that were used for paper factory 20 yrs ago and re-do a system and piping for aquaculture. I've been following this thread since half a year ago and find it very informative and a very positive sharing attitude among most members in all areas of agriculture and aquaculture. I truly appreciate the generosity all the masters and sifus and pros and other people have given and now I also want to participate in this thread, to learn as well as to share on whatever knowledge I have learned.
Regarding fish fries, do you know of any good suppliers in Perak, as I am based here. I have been getting from Kam Sing(kampar) and Wong(gopeng) and have had bad results - up to 70%-90% mortality rate. Only the fries i get from kk road(Ng) is good, only 15-30% mortality rate. I'm not sure what the problem is, is it the groundwater im using not enough oxygen cause not enough sunlight in storage tank? or not enough days under the sun? is there a way to check or to tell if the water is good enough? or is it calcium or malnutrition from the water source? any suggestions?
cause in the storage tank we also have like 1000-2000 fish, and they grow till grade A fish in 7-8 months with minimal feed, and those were leftover fry from the last harvest from that tank. So im guessing the water quality shouldnt be too bad if the fish there can grow and breed as well. does rust also play a big part with fish health? as our concrete tanks are old n reused and some have metal bits with rust.
or was it because of the rainy season and the water was too cold? The earlier batch was a bit bigger and wasnt affected much and they were in the same system, but the new batch died during the rainy season during 9 wong yeh. We were saying that the 9 wong yeh came and took some fishes back. haha.
I am currently looking for new red tilapia suppliers for the next batch. Planning to get from a few sources and grow them side by side to see the differences in quality and growth rates. Been getting them at 6cents-9cents depending on size. I grow the fry in 20x10 ft tanks in 3-4 ft of water and stock 2000-2500 per tank till 6-8 inches. Then transfer them to growout tanks which are 30x30ft and 10ft in depth and stock 6000-10000 per tank. I know the depth is not ideal as oxygen goes lower in deeper water n less surface area. but we have one 3hp swirling paddlewheel in each tank which I think is good enough. Fish have been growing to 500gms in 5 months, so we still need to improve. I dont think there's a problem with the growout tanks. Just the fry tanks aren't good enough. Maybe not enough aeration as their appetite is pretty low - 2-5% of bodyweight in average. Hard to get them to consume more. When in the growout tanks, their appetite is like monsters. Throw two bags finish in 5mins. Feed until scared.
I'm just a noob with a lot of interest in fish, been fishing for over 20 yrs and been gutting fish since then haha. Stumbled into aquaculture/aquaponics 8 years ago, got interested and started doing research. Then came back to malaysia and then my partners asked me to join them, what a dream come true.
Joined this thread in hopes of getting help solving problems i face at work and also to help out if someone has a similar problem and also to b**** about work, haha. What a long-winded first post. Lol. Thanks all for your time to read/reply to my post. Cheers!!
Nov 7 2014, 06:22 PM

0.0487sec