Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

happy_gal
post Jul 13 2009, 09:34 PM

154 posts

hi all,

i am intrested in this aqua business (breeding fish & selling it) because of my boy..he wants to start up a business for this but he seemed to be a little naive like telling me he wants to leave his day job, buy a land and start rearing fishes.. but he doesnt have the money to do it

i am really worried because he has NEVER setup a farm before, he and his friend from s'pore is really into this but from the way i see it, they want to buy the land 1st, that will already costs them a bomb then they wanna build their own house to rear the fish, pull the water and electricity from dunno where cause apparently the place they plan to build the farm is very very outskirt. Therefore there isnt any electricity or water there..

i jz wanna know what are the returns for this business? like as in is it worth doing and how can a newbie (never done any business before, never did the aquaculture business before)

he always tells me that he wants to breed fish for food like talapia and that the returns are this good and that good.. jz wonder if he's lying to me o nt..

Sorry ah if i seem a bit dumb.. i admit i am a little blurr on this business.. i am glad someone actually started a threat on this.. at least i can also advice him..
happy_gal
post Jul 14 2009, 04:47 PM

154 posts

rexis.. he is partnering with someone who has no experience in business as well.. jz another normal white collar guy who is also intrested in this fish business.. thats y im so worried loe..

my boy has been attending those courses for fish organized by the malaysian board of fisheries.. they teach him how to breed, how to make the net.. etc etc..

there's a lot of uncertainty.. anyway, hey if u guys have any meet up on this fishy thingy, pls inform me also ya.. i believe he would like to join too..
happy_gal
post Jan 9 2011, 10:30 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Jan 1 2011, 03:43 PM)
replied your PM
jz wanna know.. what is the market right now comparing between rear fish for consumption ... and BREED ornamental fish??...

which 1 brings in faster income and also higher profit?...

and to compare, which 1 takes less time to get the end result??

pls advice.. thanks..
happy_gal
post Feb 8 2011, 04:44 PM

154 posts

[quote=ParaOpticaL,Jan 16 2011, 10:48 PM]
IMHO generally Ornamental Fish is more lucrative based on the market now as the demand is good but the con is ornamental fishes die faster than those fish for consumption as they are more delicate and requires more resources.

but on the long term, fish for breeding is more sustainable biggrin.gif
Bro Michael, thanks for meeting me up and educating me so much on plantations...appreciate it very much biggrin.gif

i agree with your answer to happy_gal. aquaculture is a long term business. it takes time to stabilise and grow the business. short term will actually hurt you. think medium and long term.

cashflow is important for aquaculture business. dont take this lightly.

oh.. thanks for the info.. jz to let u know im looking out for information on behalf of my bf who wants to do this business.. he's gonna start on March this year.. nxt mnth... well he owis say that he will know if the biz can run within 1 year .. if he makes it then he makes it thru lor..

and now he's having startup capital problem so he say he want to breed fish 1st.. want to breed the "soon hok" fish in his pond wor.. he told me its risky because usually soon hok is found in rivers and not many ppl can breed in ponds geh wor.. so i asked him what makes u think u can be successful if ppl already try and failed... i jz dont want him to fail ...

he says that he has all the notes and theory portion done.. nw jz the practical part nia.. i feel its a bit too risky lor.. so worried lah...

yes ur rite cashflow is important bt his plan is to stop his current full time job and work on this business... and within these months of startup, he wont have a fixed income.. jz living off his savings... sumore all those fish food, water bill for the fish.. all also need money 1.. i also dunno is this really a feasible option to start with...

happy_gal
post Feb 11 2011, 11:52 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Feb 8 2011, 08:07 PM)
happy_gal:

Not to pour cold water, but I would like to clarify: is it "breed" or "grow"? Sometimes many people use these terms interchangeably, but usually what they mean is to get fingerlings and grow them to market size.

Nonetheless, any way one looks at it, entering into a business will always carry some risks of failure. Again, not to pour cold water, but even with best technical knowledge, the chances of failing is still relatively high, due to a combination of factors.

Yet, I will give this to your bf: he's got guts. Personally, I feel that if he has done all the required study, and has weighed the consequences (positive and negative) of doing this, then there really isn't any thing to keep him back from pursuing this venture. However, if his motivation and reasons for doing his own business is misplaced, then I would be cautious. Some of these misplaced beliefs are that doing ones own business will "make more money than a salaried job", and the second is "I get to do things my way".

This is my personal observation, after analyzing various economies: There are only 3 sectors that can be deemed to be relatively recession proof. These are: (i) Education (ii) Healthcare (iii) Food production. Just take some time to observe and make your own assessments. Now please take note I said "relatively recession proof", which does not mean they will not be affected by a recession completely; it just means they are better able to withstand the effects of a recession than most other sectors.
oh its breed meaning that he get 2 adult fish, make fries and SELL the fries wor.. he dont wanna grow the fingerlings cause he says its too costly and time consuming and he has some issue with not having enough ponds..

act he said that the main reason for wanting to do business is as he says he has passion for fish.. then he said he knows he's not good in working in office as it will always be there at 1 level oni.. very difficult for him to go up management level lor which i agree cause he's chinese ED so difficult to climb too high lor..

so what is the probability and market out there who needs these fries ar?... small fish before they grow big.. as i know many ppl buy those big fish for consumption.. the buyers are like restaurants, to export to overseas consumption.. etc etc.. bt then small fish like this.. ppl buy back still need to feed and let it grow big oni can sell wor..

can make money meh sell these small fish like that??...
happy_gal
post Feb 13 2011, 11:48 AM

154 posts

ai.. can die very fast ar... yeah he mentioned before.. thats why i owiz wonder if really like what he say can make big bucks then why are ppl not doing it..

man, money is a real constraint u know.. he oni have that amount of money.. 50k.. and if really the fish die, money flies away i also dunno how to get married d.. every dream that we have is on this..

bt then currently there is NOBODY who succeded in rearing soon hock fish in ponds ar?.. was told that soon hock is river fish.. nobody?? not 1??...

Added on February 13, 2011, 11:50 amparaoptical.. u've been thru it meaning u also tried to rear that soon hock ar?.. how did it come up??... u made it?.. how long u take to realize that u wont be making it big by rearing soon hock ??

This post has been edited by happy_gal: Feb 13 2011, 11:50 AM
happy_gal
post Feb 20 2011, 09:35 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Feb 14 2011, 09:20 AM)
happy_gal :

well i like i said earlier rearing soon hock really really needs to becareful. make sure you have someone who reared it before assisting off and on.

i tried doing grow out in RAS but the result after 1 year = DISMAL.

Water quality bad = Die
Electricity outage = Die
Less Feed = Cannibalism = Die
Less Feed = they dont grow efficiently

seriously with RM 50k he better rethink his strategy. Would you or him mind to send me via PM or email what's you strategy or action plan be rather than just jumping in? so i can get some other views for your rather than posting your information here since you are venturing into a business.

Not to say that nobody had succeeded but even if they do they seldom tell people the trick of the trade as its lucrative.

BTW if rearing in ponds please ensure that you have some lining on the side or on the bottom because these buggers like to hide...haha
hmm.. he never tell me exactly what is his plan or action item.. jz told me that he want to breed this fish lor..

last sat we went over to talk to a fish farmer who is also a breeder.. he also said that breeding soon hock is really diff.. he's in the breeding industry for 20yrs liao and he took 3 years to breed.. can breed and some of it was successful bt the death rate is freaking high and it cant grow big..

like he mentioned those fish grow very slowly.. those mosquito larvae, water insects which got in can easily grow faster and bigger and in the end the soon hock fries become their food o.. i also told him eh u serious bout this ar? so many ppl already mentioned that its so diff... why cant u start with something more simpler like tilapia??

get the money turning d then oni go and do ur research and breeding on this soon hock lah.. he damn stubborn still say wan to do it.. walao.. and then so stubborn dun wan ppl to guide him..

what happens when the fish like to hide??

happy_gal
post Feb 25 2011, 04:47 PM

154 posts

wah seems like its really really difficult to rear soon hock??...

hmm... i dunno why soon hock, prob cause he sees that the profit is the highesT??... no idea..

Why talk to that professor ar??... he is super serious wor.. that prof can help him??

see this is why i hate him so much cause he never wanted to talk to ppl who is ALREADY doing this business and he jz keep saying that he want to do it.. i dont get it..

everytime also keep having this thinking that other ppl will c him as competitor and will not give him advice...

0.0189sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:11 AM