QUOTE(Michael J. @ Jul 20 2014, 04:02 PM)
As we are on the topic of mangoes, here are some of my analysis of mango varieties I am growing right now. They are all seedlings only, and are Southeast Asian:
(i) Maha Chanok (Rainbow Mango)
As the name says, it is produces very pretty fruits. Deep yellow with blushes of pink and red on the shoulder of the fruit. There is a very prominent "horn" a few inches before the nose of the fruit. The shape is oblong, almost tubular, ranging 16-18cm in length. Contains a very thin seed and husk, with an extremely good flesh:pulp ratio. 3 fruits usually make 1kg.
Taste wise, this is one of the best tasting mangoes I've had thus far. Very sweet, intensely rich mango flavors. Flesh is fiberless, deep orange, and melt-in-your-mouth texture. For me, it had a buttery feel.
Unfortunately, this is a monoembryonic variety, so seed propagation will yield seedlings that are not true to type.
(ii) Nam Duc Mai (Water Lily Mango)
A seriously huge mango. The largest I've found on sale weighed in about 3kg (which is near to the world's heaviest mango, recorded in Philippines). The skin is nicely peppered with pearly spots over a green and blush undertone. Notable feature is a slightly tapered shoulder, and a prominently pointed nose.
Taste wise, it is sweet and juicy, quite aromatic. But compared to the Rainbow, pales in comparison. The fruit to seed ration however is excellent, as the seed and husk is small by comparison. Slightly fibrous flesh, but negligible.
The good news is that Nam Duc Mai is polyembryonic, so inadvertantly, it will produce multiple shoots from the germinated seed. The strongest one is often a hybrid (i.e. different from parent), but the smaller shoots produced are true-to-type trees. The seeds are also very easy to germinate, as the husk has a very unique "flat" section towards the shoulder end of the husk, which allows moisture to enter easily and therefore quick germination.
(iii) Gao Lim Krong (Cobra Tongue Mango)
Very similar to Rainbow in shape, but the skin lacks the blush. Typically light lemony yellow colored skin, and a similarly light yellow flesh. Often easily mixed up with Keo Savoy mango which is closely related to it.
Taste wise, the flesh is more complex in taste. Strong sweet note, with a mild lemony sour undertone. Floral fragrance, and very juicy. The seed and husk are much more thicker than Rainbow, although similarly shaped.
There is some debate about whether this is polyembryonic or not. The seeds I germinated looks to be so, as multiple shoots were produced.
(iv) Thong Dam (Black Gold Mango)
Seriously, I do not like this one. Although the fruits are large, the skin remains green all the way through, so you don't know if it is actually ripe or not. Add on the problem of the seed germinating quickly when the fruit ripens, and you've got a real headache. Both fruits I've had already started germinating before I had to chance to eat it. After cutting away all the roots and stuff, I did still managed to get some edible content.
Thong Dam is polyembryonic, and much more vigorous than Nam Duc Mai.
(v) Apple Mango
Possible one of the least favored mango in Southeast Asia, but also one of the most commonly encountered ones in the countryside.
This mango has a poor fruit to seed ratio... sadly. Out of 1kg of fruit, I've only managed to extract 360g of pulp. But if you do get a ripe fruit, you are in for a treat. Very sweet, slightly fibrous, and had a very unique taste that I can only describe as a cross between popcorn, butter, and cream.
The tree is a year-round fruiter, but more pronounced that Nam Duc Mai (which flowers at odd times on different branches throughout the year). In a way, having this tree means year-round supply of mangoes lar. Moderately heavy bearing, with fruits ranging around 200-250g each.
The skin is extremely thin, but holds up well to light handling. If you apply a slight pressure to the fruit and it gives, then it is already ripe. However, most people don't use it for fresh fruit eating. Often it is used to make pickles, either as halved mangoes in vinegar, or as Indian chutney and spiced pickles. I've made a very simple version of this using soy sauce, salt, roasted sesame seeds, chili padi and vinegar... and man, you will be eating plates full of rice at each meal.
Apple mangoes are polyembryonic, and often used as a grafting rootstock for other varieties. Since it is fast growing and quick to establish in the ground, plus the lack of many common mango diseases, grafts of monoembryonics such as Indian mangoes are made onto apple mango rootstock.
My nursery supplier did recommended highly on the Maha Chanok (Rainbow Mango) and Guilin, but at the time I had not done any research on these and made a pass.
My other wish list are R2E2 and Irwin. Shall take a look into Maha Chanok & Gao Lim Krong (Cobra Tongue Mango)
in the mean time.
I read that Thong Dam is classified as a green Mango, you can either eat it green or ripe. Shall worry about the harvesting later, right now am just in the preparing of planting material stage and initial field planting. Am sure we shall have plenty to share in the future.