yes i think the programme is still on. its from the OUM website.
you can still check with them
QUOTE(OMG! @ May 23 2010, 03:39 PM)
Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY
Jul 20 2010, 10:16 AM
2,348 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Ch3r@s |
Dec 14 2010, 09:24 PM
checking in here to the thread.
Updates : Am currently the Malaysia Distributor of World Eco Products. Will be launching in 2011 We are a complement to Fertilisers and we help enhance plants. Save Time & Increase Yield |
Jan 1 2011, 03:43 PM
replied your PM
Jan 16 2011, 10:48 PM
IMHO generally Ornamental Fish is more lucrative based on the market now as the demand is good but the con is ornamental fishes die faster than those fish for consumption as they are more delicate and requires more resources.
but on the long term, fish for breeding is more sustainable QUOTE(happy_gal @ Jan 9 2011, 10:30 PM) jz wanna know.. what is the market right now comparing between rear fish for consumption ... and BREED ornamental fish??... Bro Michael, thanks for meeting me up and educating me so much on plantations...appreciate it very much which 1 brings in faster income and also higher profit?... and to compare, which 1 takes less time to get the end result?? pls advice.. thanks.. i agree with your answer to happy_gal. aquaculture is a long term business. it takes time to stabilise and grow the business. short term will actually hurt you. think medium and long term. cashflow is important for aquaculture business. dont take this lightly. QUOTE(Michael J. @ Jan 12 2011, 02:06 PM) Hey Rexis, Para. Long time no see lar.. How are you guys? I trust your agribusinesses have soared. Just to update you guys, I'm no longer working as a plant scientist for the plantation business. Instead, I've hung up my labcoat and I'm now working for the government to further develop the biotech industry. Maybe I could answer happy_gal on the question asked: Don't take this the wrong way, but I see that your aptitude for business is still green. Any business will take time to mature, and of all businesses, agriculture takes the longest. Compare apple to apple lar... Not those who cheat people to part with their money sort... Para, correct me if I'm wrong on this. The average ROI for an established ornamental/commercial fish farm is between 15% to 25%; exceptional ones can and do make above 30%, but that's only when demand for specific fish breeds are high, like grouper or snapper. In terms of time to get end result, well that really depends; poorly planned and executed, business can fold within a month or less, but I don't think that's the result you are looking for. Adequately planned, it can take 2-3 years before the business gets sure footing, and begins generating real profits. Correct me if I'm wrong, happy_gal, but I'm guessing when you refer to ornamental fish, you are refering to breeding arowanas, right? A real hot item these days, but entirely unsustainable. Don't get me wrong, I'm all about breeding and conserving the fish; I just can't justify 250,000 fishes selling at an average of RM3,000 (or RM750million sales) a year having a sustainable pool of buyers. I just hope that the arowana does not end up like the Flowerhorn. Added on January 16, 2011, 10:58 pmhi apenfx, good that you are interested in Agri & Aquaculture. guide ? 1) get the fries. the amount you want. 1000 ? 2) ensure you have enough areator to make sure enough oxygen **IMPORTANT** 3) calculate how much fish feed you need per serving to the fish. 4) you must know your Feed Conversion Ratio (FCR). How much feed is needed for the fish to gain weight. 5) (this is personal) i am dealing in Fish Feed Supplement. Interested you can PM me. TQ The remaining land you can plant something as cash crop. QUOTE(apengfx- @ Jan 12 2011, 03:05 PM) hi. This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Jan 16 2011, 10:58 PMi'm an IT student in one of local university. this is my last semester of my study. after finish my degree, i want to go into agriculture and aquaculture. my plan is to do aquaculture first because my family already have a pond at my hometown. im from sarawak. for the start, i want to start with raising tilapia fish. really need a guide on how to start. what should i do first? this is the layout of the land in sarawak. the land is 5 ekar. the one i mark with red is the pond. the size of the pond is around 25000 sq feet. last year we already try to put 1000 tilapia to test. and after 6 month, the average of the fish is 750g ~ 1kg. please advice. |
Jan 16 2011, 11:00 PM
after so many request for meetups.
we will be having one after CNY. The meet up will be in Kuala Lumpur. |
Feb 12 2011, 09:40 PM
khchong : we are not sure when we will be meeting up but this thread is a good place to get information.
---------------------------------------- happy_gal : 1 thing i must say about your BF. he's got guts... but i would like to tell you and him, it aint easy. i've been thru it. pls ensure he gets PROPER information rather than just hearing from here & there or coffee talk. soon hock breeding where fries or growout is very hard and a delicate matter. everything must be GOOD. water, ph, feed, oxygen and etc etc. they can die very fast which means $$$$ will fly fast fast also. one last advice. Theory and practical is 2 different things like that Michael had mentioned. Do keep us updated on this venture. |
Feb 14 2011, 09:20 AM
happy_gal :
well i like i said earlier rearing soon hock really really needs to becareful. make sure you have someone who reared it before assisting off and on. i tried doing grow out in RAS but the result after 1 year = DISMAL. Water quality bad = Die Electricity outage = Die Less Feed = Cannibalism = Die Less Feed = they dont grow efficiently seriously with RM 50k he better rethink his strategy. Would you or him mind to send me via PM or email what's you strategy or action plan be rather than just jumping in? so i can get some other views for your rather than posting your information here since you are venturing into a business. Not to say that nobody had succeeded but even if they do they seldom tell people the trick of the trade as its lucrative. BTW if rearing in ponds please ensure that you have some lining on the side or on the bottom because these buggers like to hide...haha QUOTE(happy_gal @ Feb 13 2011, 11:48 AM) ai.. can die very fast ar... yeah he mentioned before.. thats why i owiz wonder if really like what he say can make big bucks then why are ppl not doing it.. man, money is a real constraint u know.. he oni have that amount of money.. 50k.. and if really the fish die, money flies away i also dunno how to get married d.. every dream that we have is on this.. bt then currently there is NOBODY who succeded in rearing soon hock fish in ponds ar?.. was told that soon hock is river fish.. nobody?? not 1??... Added on February 13, 2011, 11:50 amparaoptical.. u've been thru it meaning u also tried to rear that soon hock ar?.. how did it come up??... u made it?.. how long u take to realize that u wont be making it big by rearing soon hock ?? |
Feb 17 2011, 03:57 PM
any brother here have any info on bee-keeping ?
thanks a bunch |
Feb 22 2011, 12:08 PM
well not to pour cold water. if he is still stubborn he final point will be failure. unless you are telling me he has like 500k or 5M as cash to sustain. RM 50k isnt much.
You got a point on breeding tilapia 1st then moving up the value chain. i agree with you on this BUT still dont move into Soon Hock because it just aint worth it. Grouper or Barramundi (aka Siakap) would be a better choice. When the fishes hide its difficult to feed them and also count & measure. that's why people rearing in ponds have lining on their ponds to reduce their chances of hiding... ps : tell him dont be stubborn unless he would like to fail. even ppl in the breeding industry is of the same opinion. Just my 2cents worth QUOTE(happy_gal @ Feb 20 2011, 09:35 PM) hmm.. he never tell me exactly what is his plan or action item.. jz told me that he want to breed this fish lor.. last sat we went over to talk to a fish farmer who is also a breeder.. he also said that breeding soon hock is really diff.. he's in the breeding industry for 20yrs liao and he took 3 years to breed.. can breed and some of it was successful bt the death rate is freaking high and it cant grow big.. like he mentioned those fish grow very slowly.. those mosquito larvae, water insects which got in can easily grow faster and bigger and in the end the soon hock fries become their food o.. i also told him eh u serious bout this ar? so many ppl already mentioned that its so diff... why cant u start with something more simpler like tilapia?? get the money turning d then oni go and do ur research and breeding on this soon hock lah.. he damn stubborn still say wan to do it.. walao.. and then so stubborn dun wan ppl to guide him.. what happens when the fish like to hide?? |
Mar 1 2011, 12:34 PM
it aint NO suprise at all. Agriculture can make money. it's the starting few years of the capital outlay that is difficult.
so there is a future in agriculture QUOTE(Fanniethoo @ Feb 28 2011, 04:03 PM) |
Mar 3 2011, 02:30 PM
Mar 8 2011, 09:11 PM
i am currently seeking individuals with agriculture qualifications doing sales & after sales in Fertiliser Related Company.
PM me if interested. |
Mar 14 2011, 03:55 PM
where is your farm located ?
or Parcel 5 thanks Johnny QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Mar 13 2011, 05:54 PM) No not yet. I did lots of research since last year, went to attend some talks, did some simple testing, and am still trying to built a flow through worm bin. I already have some idea on how to go about it, but unfortunately the welding set broke down. Hence I shall have to push it till the end of the year, also I am working on trying some F1 Thailand Sweet Corn. What I'm trying to do now is to leave these worm on their natural habitat, grow them and try to propagate the super sized ones Let's see if I can manage to post a pic, me am not good in IT. ![]() Am trying to feed them with waste material, contributing to recycling and also save on cost. It's complicated, I do not "own" this farm, this particular piece of land is rented from the land owner by us and i refer this land as Parcel 5. ![]() If anyone has any new/funny idea to test out on agriculture, I can help, of course I'll still need to slot it into our schedule and if we have the required facilities. Help needed, any1 has experience in dealing with ants problem, simple/low cost? Would like to manage/reduce the ant population. There are all types of ants here, fire ants, red ants, black ants, termites & etc. It can be organic/ non-organic or whatever, (try to be environmental friendly) |
Mar 15 2011, 11:36 AM
** There will be a agri & aqua enthusiast gathering on the
9th of APRIL 2011 - Saturday @ Nando's Mid Valley 7.30pm SHARP SHARP updates on PAGE 1 Thank you ** This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Mar 15 2011, 11:37 AM |
Mar 15 2011, 01:12 PM
We dont have a specific agenda or topic. Its people driven.
Ask questions and someone will try to answer... Most welcome to join....interested let me know so i can put your name there... QUOTE(chinyen @ Mar 15 2011, 12:11 PM) |
Mar 19 2011, 10:36 AM
currently i am looking for Corn/Maize & Papaya Collector...
i am deciding whether to plant corn/maize or papaya for supply to the local market. |
Mar 21 2011, 08:21 AM
hi chinyen,
are you into farming now ?? where is your farm located ? thank you » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Mar 21 2011, 11:57 AM
** 1st Page updated for the gathering **
--------------------- kaiser : MrFarmer's land is in Sabah. I would suggest you go to the State Agriculture Dept and ask them about abandon land and check if you can start your farming adventure using those lands. |
Mar 25 2011, 04:28 PM
These are my 3 Specimen for my World Eco Products
Papaya A » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Papaya B » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Papaya C » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Mar 28 2011, 09:16 AM
All 3 specimens are being sprayed by naturally sourced product from my company
i am taking photos for recording purposes what i am looking for are: - a) thicker & larger leaves b) more fruits c) larger fruits on veges the effect is faster noticeable because on average veges are 35-40 days crop QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Mar 26 2011, 09:55 AM) |
| Change to: | 0.0538sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:29 PM |