> is MBA from local university worthless?

SUSWanie404
post Aug 31 2016, 09:50 AM, updated 10y ago

79 posts

Bincangkan.
azarimy
post Aug 31 2016, 09:51 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

no.

/close thread.
SUSgsem984
post Aug 31 2016, 09:51 AM

216 posts

yes.

case closed.
SUSWanie404
post Aug 31 2016, 09:52 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Aug 31 2016, 09:51 AM)
no.

/close thread.
why
xavi5567
post Aug 31 2016, 10:04 AM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(Wanie404 @ Aug 31 2016, 09:50 AM)
Bincangkan.
is the person who enroll in the MBA without knowing wat they have just sign up for that is worthless...
KimiLau
post Aug 31 2016, 10:05 AM

589 posts

DEPENDS...

IF FROM PRIVATE LOUSY UNI LIKE OPEN UNI, SEGI , UTAR , etc all cap ayam one then useless
xtylish
post Aug 31 2016, 10:05 AM

593 posts

if get MBA for that extra few hundred increase in salary then no need la
river.sand
post Aug 31 2016, 10:08 AM

3,816 posts

Worthless.
From my own experience.
GnomeMage

198 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Aug 31 2016, 09:51 AM)
no.

/close thread.

HAHAHHAHA OP OWNED

SUSWanie404

79 posts

QUOTE(KimiLau @ Aug 31 2016, 10:05 AM)
DEPENDS...

IF FROM PRIVATE LOUSY UNI LIKE OPEN UNI, SEGI ,  UTAR , etc all cap ayam one then useless
no i mean from ipta like UM or UUM
SUSWanie404

79 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Aug 31 2016, 10:08 AM)
Worthless.
From my own experience.
tell me your experience
Faidzal
post Aug 31 2016, 10:12 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(KimiLau @ Aug 31 2016, 10:05 AM)
DEPENDS...

IF FROM PRIVATE LOUSY UNI LIKE OPEN UNI, SEGI ,  UTAR , etc all cap ayam one then useless
ahmad maslan is UKM MBA grad...

sad.gif

he singlehandedly turned one of the better MBA certs from a top 3 public uni into a worthless piece of paper...

hiro2016

19 posts

It is not useless but it is not that useful too... finally companies will evaluate your MBA based on your working experience... some MBAs require specific working experience before you may take the course. Some MBAs have additional requirements before enrolling, therefore companies will know the MBAs quality from there... if you compare a MBA from local uni with overseas uni, we still have a long way to go...
Faidzal

240 posts

QUOTE(Wanie404 @ Aug 31 2016, 10:08 AM)
UM maybe still ok.

UUM out.

river.sand
post Aug 31 2016, 10:14 AM

3,816 posts

tell me your experience
It doesn't help me get a job, cos employers value working experience more.
skeleton202
post Aug 31 2016, 10:15 AM

Perdana Malaysia ke-9
1,132 posts

Ahmad maslan
KimiLau
post Aug 31 2016, 10:16 AM

589 posts

Hmm, got friends take MBA from UKM and UPM(Putra business school)...pretty useless

they just went for weekend class, doing some useless assignment, after getting the degree still work at same place, no promotion whats over.....

I believe the cert is not important, but the people you know from the course(maybe aspiring entrepeneur/ professional) and increase your network
Chisinlouz
post Aug 31 2016, 10:18 AM

849 posts

Bcos u spend 20k to get salary rm200 higher than degree.
scorptim
post Aug 31 2016, 10:20 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(KimiLau @ Aug 31 2016, 10:16 AM)
Hmm, got friends take MBA from UKM and UPM(Putra business school)...pretty useless

they just went for weekend class, doing some useless assignment, after getting the degree still work at same place, no promotion whats over.....

I believe the cert is not important, but the people you know from the course(maybe aspiring entrepeneur/ professional) and increase your network
you usually get a masters in order to APPLY for a new job which the employer has higher paper requirements. If you take masters and expect your current employer to promote you just cause you have upgraded your paper qualifications, then memang bodoh la like that, coz it will never happen.
KimiLau
post Aug 31 2016, 10:23 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(Chisinlouz @ Aug 31 2016, 10:18 AM)
Bcos u spend 20k to get salary rm200 higher than degree.
Agree.....Hmm, getting a master degree is useless in the short run for junior executive/ fresh grad

But it is important when you are moving up the corporate ladder ....example 2 candidates for management/manager position, same work experience and performance,
THEN having a MBA will be an advantage as well as boot licking
KimiLau
post Aug 31 2016, 10:29 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(scorptim @ Aug 31 2016, 10:20 AM)
you usually get a masters in order to APPLY for a new job which the employer has higher paper requirements. If you take masters and expect your current employer to promote you just cause you have upgraded your paper qualifications, then memang bodoh la like that, coz it will never happen.
Depends bro, quite a lot local companies i know provide allowance(& study leave) and encourage us to improve our self and take up master degree( eg specialize in I.T/project management instead of general MBA)
SUSSpecial Agent
post Aug 31 2016, 10:38 AM

76 posts

all MBA = worthless
SUSWanie404
post Aug 31 2016, 12:05 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Aug 31 2016, 10:12 AM)
ahmad maslan is UKM MBA grad...

sad.gif

he singlehandedly turned one of the better MBA certs from a top 3 public uni into a worthless piece of paper...
how so
Subang Nuclear Reactor
post Aug 31 2016, 12:12 PM

165 posts

Every mba also useless
Take more technical one
SUSDarth Vaper
post Aug 31 2016, 12:20 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(gsem984 @ Aug 31 2016, 09:51 AM)
yes.

case closed.
Blofeld
post Aug 31 2016, 12:20 PM

4,704 posts

It is worthless if you don't utilize it to what it is served to be.

It is useful if you utilize it well enough.
richardss
post Aug 31 2016, 01:00 PM

116 posts

depends. if working in public sector, then local U MBA is alright. if MNC, they wont give a shit.

don't forget, a big part of MBA is the networking with the alumni - that's why prestigious Uni like harvard are so hard to get into (along with the cost of the programme, obviously)
iceypain
post Aug 31 2016, 01:08 PM

503 posts

there are only ~20 MBA programs in the world that not worthless
mycolumn
post Aug 31 2016, 01:20 PM

2,085 posts

what makes you say that it is worthless?
un.deux.trois
post Aug 31 2016, 01:33 PM

679 posts

Yes. Only MBAs from top tier business schools matter.
un.deux.trois
post Aug 31 2016, 01:33 PM

679 posts

-----

This post has been edited by un.deux.trois: Aug 31 2016, 01:34 PM
Hensem
post Aug 31 2016, 01:36 PM

22 posts

Studying is so overrated
D-Frog
post Aug 31 2016, 01:47 PM

2,983 posts

QUOTE(KimiLau @ Aug 31 2016, 10:23 AM)
Agree.....Hmm, getting a master degree is useless in the short run for junior executive/ fresh grad

But it is important when you are moving up the corporate ladder ....example 2 candidates for management/manager position, same work experience and performance,
Unless your master degree is From a top 10university in the world.
Like my brother. His starting pay was offered 40% above industry rate even before he graduate
heavenly91
post Aug 31 2016, 01:48 PM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

My boss say will give me good increment once I get my MBA

Cheeky
post Aug 31 2016, 01:49 PM

168 posts

All MBAs are useless
KimiLau
post Aug 31 2016, 03:05 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(TheMasterDebater @ Aug 31 2016, 01:33 PM)
If you are talking about bragging rights ... Local MBA is as shit as local degrees.
Let me tell you 1 thing about academic qualifications (Through my experience, common sense and what the norm perceives). Masters and MBA certainly would make a person STANDS out from the crowd, they are normally looked highly upon (see all the aunty uncle hear "WA, you have masters ah" also know liao). However, the ranks of masters/mba will be as follows in the eye of everyday people, a.k.a people who are not in the education industry

1. MBA/Masters from harvard/oxford/cambridge
2. MBA/Masters from UK/AUS/US/EU/CANADA
3. MBA/Masters from UM/UKM/any twinning program or equivalent
4. MBA/Masters from any other local uni
Why the rank is as above is simple.

1. Everyone knows harvard/oxford/cambridge.... every other uni is the same from there onward unless they are from the education industry.
2. Any of UK/AUS/US/EU/CANADA uni gives you extreme bragging rights. Don't believe me? See all the business cards... they will put (UK) / (AUS) etc. at the end of their qualifications giving them a level of kudos. Of course if you are on twinning program this doesn't count cause it will be embarrassing when someone ask you about UK but you say you never been to UK but your business card puts (UK)

Other than the above 2... the rest are just normal MBA/Masters.... your call card will not show or give u any additional bragging rights but when someone asked, it will always feel better telling them your alma mater is UM than unknown local uni or UiTM or UTAR
AGREE...

but not all degree from UK/AUS/US/EU/CANADA re the same
Those cheapo uni twin with UTAR
1. SHEFFIELD HALLAM (DIFFERENT FROM REAL UNIVERSITY OF SHEFFIELD)
2. Newcastle upon tyne (DIFFERENT FROM REAL UNIVERSITY OF NEWCASTLE)
THOSE BAD RESULT STUDENTS BRAGGING ON UK DEGREE BUT OTHER ARE LAUGHING AT THEM

WITH SEGI
3. University of Greenwich

KDU
4. University of Chester

ALL THESE CHEAPO UK UNI WORLD RANKING ARE WORST THAN TOP FIVE LOCAL PUBLIC UNI (UM,USM,UKM,UPM)

UNFORTUNATELY MANY EMPLOYER JUST SEE UK DEGREE BUT DONT KNOW THOSE ARE SOME OF THE WORST UNI IN UK (RANKING >500)

rclxm9.gif brows.gif icon_idea.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

milky12388
post Aug 31 2016, 03:13 PM

108 posts

if u working in government sector then yes
KimiLau
post Aug 31 2016, 03:15 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(manickam123 @ Aug 31 2016, 03:10 PM)
waste time.

even MBA from other country is waste time.

Not unless it is from Ivy league, INSEAD, oxford.
wtf

IF WORKING FOR GOV, kakitangan awam...THEY DO HAVE GRED BASED ON EDUCATION LEVEL !!!!!!!

WITH MASTER/PHD CAN LET YOU NAIK your GRED FASTER WITHOUT ACCUMULATE CERTAIN YEARS OF WORKING EXPERIENCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

brows.gif
gogocan
post Aug 31 2016, 03:28 PM

486 posts

Need to ask yourself..why MBA?
Ask_Yip
post Aug 31 2016, 03:35 PM

Retired Audiophiles
2,864 posts

worthy or worthless it all depend on what you want to learn from the course

regards,

current MBA student in cap ayam university
phas3r
post Aug 31 2016, 03:37 PM

1,206 posts

Go top business school overseas
200-400k rm yo

I know a top performer in petronas who got sponsored for mba in oxford. Damn syiok

This post has been edited by phas3r: Aug 31 2016, 03:39 PM
Ibrahimovic
post Aug 31 2016, 03:53 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

I know a just graduated guy from Wharton Business School (where Trump, Elon Musk and Warren Buffett study) get a starting pay of RM8000.

Apparently its actually low salary because its Malaysia
L_nette
post Aug 31 2016, 04:09 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Wanie404 @ Aug 31 2016, 09:50 AM)
Bincangkan.
Worlds best mba school just few hours away in Singapore. Malaysia MBA can masuk tong sampah
pokie182
post Aug 31 2016, 05:05 PM

94 posts

U need better qualification than degree if want move up to senior Mgr role. My boss advised me to take MBA majoring in finance for Snr manager position.
Chisinlouz
post Aug 31 2016, 05:11 PM

849 posts

QUOTE(KimiLau @ Aug 31 2016, 10:23 AM)

But first, compare yrself among jr.exec before dream further. That will easily cost u about 4 to 5 years, with condition:

1. Fed up and jump ship bcos covservative management/that fker dint retire/that fker dint left as promised/no opening for u

2. U did not perform against that diploma qualifier

3. Ur performance is not on par with yr MBA. Wait, what uni MBA again?

4. There is better candidate than u

5. Best deal from yr MBA qualification is DEAL WITH IT.

I ask for forgiveness if u find it insulting. Cheers and gd luck

This post has been edited by Chisinlouz: Aug 31 2016, 05:12 PM
thefryingfox
post Aug 31 2016, 05:38 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

when i got mine..company give me salary adjustment 1k a month after i got my mba...break even the cost after 25 month wroking lol....
Blofeld
post Aug 31 2016, 05:44 PM

4,704 posts

QUOTE(TheMasterDebater @ Aug 31 2016, 05:40 PM)
I shit you not... you go around ask those CEOs see if they know wtf is INSEAD... and they would rather praise some dude graduated from Uni of East London in UK than the guy who studied INSEAD from singapore
sad but true lol

if u tell any managers about INSEAD, they would blink at u as if what unknown low ranking institution is that when it's one of the best business schools in the world.
SUSWanie404
post Aug 31 2016, 06:21 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(milky12388 @ Aug 31 2016, 03:13 PM)
if u working in government sector then yes
how so elaborate
KimiLau
post Aug 31 2016, 08:19 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(Chisinlouz @ Aug 31 2016, 05:11 PM)
But first, compare yrself among jr.exec before dream further. That will easily cost u about 4 to 5 years, with condition:

1. Fed up and jump ship bcos covservative management/that fker dint retire/that fker dint left as promised/no opening for u

2. U did not perform against that diploma qualifier

3. Ur performance is not on par with yr MBA. Wait, what uni MBA again?

4. There is better candidate than u

5. Best deal from yr MBA qualification is DEAL WITH IT.

I ask for forgiveness if u find it insulting. Cheers and gd luck
Chisinlouz
HMM, TALK LIKE THAT YOU WIN LIAO LOR..... IF PERFORMANCE NOT GOOD PHD ALSO NO USE

This post has been edited by KimiLau: Aug 31 2016, 08:23 PM
Vexation
post Aug 31 2016, 08:21 PM

44 posts

I think only a small handful of local U's have 1 or 2 Crowns from one the top 3 business schools.
scorptim
post Aug 31 2016, 08:31 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(TheMasterDebater @ Aug 31 2016, 05:36 PM)
No one knows bro... try asking most bosses.... they don't care if you are hallam ke uni of sheffield ke...UWE vs Bristol.... all are the same to them.

If it aint oxford cambridge or harvard.... all are the same to people who are not from the education industry.

There are too many uni in this world to keep track.

As long as they are legit uni can liao
I beg to differ on your last statement.... If i'm the HR, I would rather pick any post 92 UK uni (non twinning) than those lapsap UM/USM/UKM/UPM ..... main reason is because of our local uni standard has gone down to the shit... bloody lecturers uses Malay to translate when teaching....
Are you in HR? If you are,then you should know that we mainly look at your working experience, your paper as long as meet the minimum requirements for the post enogh d, we don't care what uni unless ivy league different story la but the rest doesn't matter, UK ke, Malaysia ke, Zimbabwe ke,as long as our govt recognize then enough d.
JoGaki
post Aug 31 2016, 08:33 PM

144 posts

makan nasi lemak better....
KimiLau
post Aug 31 2016, 08:36 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(scorptim @ Aug 31 2016, 08:31 PM)
Are you in HR? If you are,then you should know that we mainly look at your working experience, your paper as long as meet the minimum requirements for the post enogh d, we don't care what uni unless ivy league different story la but the rest doesn't matter, UK ke, Malaysia ke, Zimbabwe ke,as long as our govt recognize then enough d.
LOCAL COMPANY MAY NOT CARE BUT SOME MNC DO CHECK WHICH UNI

NielWooWoo1205
post Aug 31 2016, 08:38 PM

81 posts

My American cousin graduated from Columbia University in NYC in MBA. He got a lot of job offers haha
sheahann
post Aug 31 2016, 08:39 PM

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,263 posts

Degree useful yes. At least it help to get a job.
MBA tarak guna. Get only few hundred more than ppl who applied using degree. But wasted 2 years plus minus to get it done.

That 2 years experience can easily get increment worth 4 digits
zephyrus9999
post Aug 31 2016, 08:42 PM

649 posts

i think first of all is the mentality of people who want to take MBA. nowadays youngsters is like quantifying everything. Wah he got a MBA, automatic switch to bank. Wah he got MBA confirm +RM3000 jump. Sorts of silly reasons like this. Totally no purpose and sense to take.
Some has no value in the person itself to even take MBA. Go class and all these shit only focus to finish up assignment and get that paper.

After beating that, only start thinking bout prestigious or not the MBA school, but mostly all crap schools around. Crap schools = most likely crap mentor or classmates just like urself, which can kiss goodbye the important experience of networking and sharing insights blablabla throughout the course
ipohmali70
post Aug 31 2016, 08:49 PM

1,133 posts

As employer I do not really care about MBA or similar paper qualification.

MBA holders do not have any advantage over non holders, IMHO. I actually know an MBA holder who is also a bankrupt.

Rather, hiring and consideration for promotion depends on 3 things, performance, performance and performance. If my employee took a year off and comes back with MBA and demands RM xxx extra just for the MBA, I would just tell him to get out and stay out.

However if my employee took a year off to Europe or someplace and comes back with multi million dollar business contacts and deals, I'd hug him and triple his salary and throw him a free Porsche to boot!
scorptim
post Aug 31 2016, 08:57 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(KimiLau @ Aug 31 2016, 08:36 PM)
LOCAL COMPANY MAY NOT CARE BUT SOME MNC DO CHECK WHICH UNI
On the contrary, im from MNC and we seriously do not care as long as you have the minimum required paper qualifications. Work experience is most important, we look at the type of company you work before, the size of the company etc...of course for fresh grads we do pay attention on the uni la. But 70% still based on your communication skills during interview.

QUOTE(TheMasterDebater @ Aug 31 2016, 08:40 PM)
"ivy league" say it like an american.

How many Ivy league uni can u name without googling?
Work exp is most important, however, most would prefer someone who had studied overseas before over local grad. I shit you not, the probability of overseas grad having better communication skills and being more pro-active is very much higher than local grads.
I'm not saying those who studied overseas for at least 1 year are automatically more vocal because some did not take any inivative to mingle around or participate when they were studying in overseas. However, majority are more pro active and have better English skills than local grad.
I've worked for 3 different companies and so far, those who actually DARE to do presentation during meetings or training activities are overseas grad while those local grads all sok chun and try to push to others to present.
If you cant judge a persons communication skills during the interview itself, it just means your interviewer/recruiter sucks or your interview process itself sucks. If the interview is done properly by a good interviewer, you can pretty much know these things at the start itself.

Chisinlouz
post Aug 31 2016, 09:04 PM

849 posts

QUOTE(KimiLau @ Aug 31 2016, 08:19 PM)
Chisinlouz
HMM, TALK LIKE THAT YOU WIN LIAO LOR..... IF PERFORMANCE NOT GOOD PHD ALSO NO USE
Welcome to reality. Btw how many PHD actually enrolled to a job, or just attach to certain uni running their papers? Do yr research.
Kesh1018
post Aug 31 2016, 09:45 PM

353 posts

Rule of thumb

If you're looking into doing your masters, your goals is to migrate and get off from this deplorable country.

Look at all the negative replies here.

My thoughts mate, do it, its better to be overly qualified, it'll put you on the upper edge against everyone else.

Ignore the negative sentiments from this morons.

Oh, for qualified answer, do open a thread under the education or job section of the forum.
KimiLau
post Aug 31 2016, 11:26 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(Kesh1018 @ Aug 31 2016, 09:45 PM)
Rule of thumb

If you're looking into doing your masters, your goals is to migrate and get off from this deplorable country.

My thoughts mate, do it, its better to be overly qualified, it'll put you on the upper edge against everyone else.

Oh, for qualified answer, do open a thread under the education or job section of the forum.
LOL, WHAT U EXPECT rclxm9.gif

in forum:

THOSE WHO GOT MASTER WILL SAID IT IS GOOD

THOSE WHO DO NOT HAVE MASTER WILL SAID IT IS USELESS
Starbucki
post Aug 31 2016, 11:29 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Aug 31 2016, 10:12 AM)
UM maybe still ok.

UUM out.
but UUM recently got AACSB. full page advertorial with huge face of the VC. cant be that bad? biggrin.gif
asdasd
post Aug 31 2016, 11:36 PM

337 posts

its not the cert that counts but the knowledge that you can apply to your work.
Starbucki
post Aug 31 2016, 11:38 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(scorptim @ Aug 31 2016, 08:31 PM)
i hate to say this to your face but you are exactly the reason why HR gets a shitty reputation: just what exactly do you mean that "the rest doesn't matter"? just because you guys do not bother about university rankings nor have the degrees that your candidates possess, doesn't make it right to denounce these as "doesn't matter". It is laughable that you grouped Zimbabwean degrees on par with our great Malaysian degrees.
scorptim
post Sep 1 2016, 12:01 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Aug 31 2016, 11:38 PM)
i hate to say this to your face but you are exactly the reason why HR gets a shitty reputation: just what exactly do you mean that "the rest doesn't matter"? just because you guys do not bother about university rankings nor have the degrees that your candidates possess, doesn't make it right to denounce these as "doesn't matter". It is laughable that you grouped Zimbabwean degrees on par with our great Malaysian degrees.
Look, I say it doesn't matter because I judge your working experience (for those experienced one) and communication skills (for fresh grad). Like it or not im not doing this out of my own whim, its the employer's guidance, i'm supposed to hire a capable person for the job, im not supposed to hire the degree for the job. The employer would usually just specify what qualification is needed for a particular post, for example job a, need this and this degree, job b need MBA min for example, they did not mention it needs to be from which particular uni. Then they would mention the criteria/characteristic of the person they want to hire, this would be a more detailed and comprehensive list...so I just have to make sure you meet the paper requirements as per the guideline and the rest is to determine if you fit the criterias/characterictics required/

If your degree is from a really good university, but from your past experience, I see that you can't hold a job for long...I won't hire you, i'd rather hire someone with a degree from a shitty university but has a proven track record at Work.

Similarly, if you come from a top university, but during interview you only know how to give scripted answers for standard questions but can't answer questions that you are not prepared for on the fly, i'd rather hire someone from a third rate uni that can do that, because those are the skills the job requires, not the degree.

Assuming that both person from the good and shitty uni both have good previous employment record and for fresh grad both can communicate and present themselves equally well, then the next criteria is how much you are asking for, if the person from shitty uni is asking for rm500 lesser, i'd hire him instead. But lets say asking salary both are the same...only at this point i would look back at the degree and hire the one with the so called better degree. (reality hurts but we do have to keep our costs down and productivity up, when you start working you will realise this is the global trend right now)

your degree is not going to do the work...you are. Your university ranking is not gonna make money for the company, the quality and quantity of your work is what makes money for the company.

So don't assume just because you have a good degree people will hire you automatically, like I said the degree doesn't get the job done, the person does. So its good that you have a good degree, but if you think that guarantees you a job, without you putting the extra effort, commitment and hard work like everyone else, then you're daydreaming.
ipohmali70
post Sep 1 2016, 12:02 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Aug 31 2016, 11:38 PM)
Scorptim is right.

To employers, university ranking doesnt matter.

Most important is professional experience.

Even for fresh graduates, questions will be asked about your relevant achievements during internship.

The paper qualification doesnt matter much to me.

I'd hire a 24 yr old SPM graduate with 4 years experience in McD/KFC, reaching level of Branch Manager, and pay him a higher salary compared to a fresh uni grad (any uni), anytime.

Thats because I know that the SPM grad has slogged through hell, working on weekends and public holidays, manage to satisfy millions of customers and make money for the company. Yes, this would be my employee of choice.

ipohmali70
post Sep 1 2016, 12:09 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(scorptim @ Sep 1 2016, 12:01 AM)
Look, I say it doesn't matter because I judge your working experience (for those experienced one) and communication skills (for fresh grad). Like it or not im not doing this out of my own whim, its the employer's guidance, i'm supposed to hire a capable person for the job, im not supposed to hire the degree for the job. The employer would usually just specify what qualification is needed for a particular post, for example job a, need this and this degree, job b need MBA min for example, they did not mention it needs to be from which particular uni. Then they would mention the criteria/characteristic of the person they want to hire, this would be a more detailed and comprehensive list...so I just have to make sure you meet the paper requirements as per the guideline and the rest is to determine if you fit the criterias/characterictics required/

If your degree is from a really good university, but from your past experience, I see that you can't hold a job for long...I won't hire you, i'd rather hire someone with a degree from a shitty university but has a proven track record at Work.

Similarly, if you come from a top university, but during interview you only know how to give scripted answers for standard questions but can't answer questions that you are not prepared for on the fly, i'd rather hire someone from a third rate uni that can do that, because those are the skills the job requires, not the degree.

Assuming that both person from the good and shitty uni both have good previous employment record and for fresh grad both can communicate and present themselves equally well, then the next criteria is how much you are asking for, if the person from shitty uni is asking for rm500 lesser, i'd hire him instead. But lets say asking salary both are the same...only at this point i would look back at the degree and hire the one with the so called better degree. (reality hurts but we do have to keep our costs down and productivity up, when you start working you will realise this is the global trend right now)

your degree is not going to do the work...you are. Your university ranking is not gonna make money for the company, the quality and quantity of your work is what makes money for the company.

So don't assume just because you have a good degree people will hire you automatically, like I said the degree doesn't get the job done, the person does. So its good that you have a good degree, but if you think that guarantees you a job, without you putting the extra effort, commitment and hard work like everyone else, then you're daydreaming.
Scorptim is right on all points here. I hire people, not degrees.

Many candidates sit in front of me thinking that their degree will represent them in toto. They can't be more wrong!

No amount of MBA or even DBA will help when the candidate has poor track record, poor interpersonal/communication skills, little or no achievements or a royal jobhopper.

oe_kintaro
post Sep 1 2016, 12:13 AM

2,222 posts

IMHO the point of an MBA is to find out what you really want out of life. As a paper qualification, it is worthless for a fresh grad and they would typically struggle if they did it soon after their first degree. For an experienced worker with a few years under their belt, then it has the aforementioned value. Most Malaysians typically don't invest in continuing education and are not widely read. And I don't mean paper qualifications here, but in life experiences and knowledge about the world. An MBA is one condensed shortcut to get that rounded knowledge to make oneself more self-aware and marketable. In that respect, I think any MBA, even from a local university will serve that function.
ipohmali70
post Sep 1 2016, 12:27 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Sep 1 2016, 12:13 AM)
IMHO the point of an MBA is to find out what you really want out of life. As a paper qualification, it is worthless for a fresh grad and they would typically struggle if they did it soon after their first degree. For an experienced worker with a few years under their belt, then it has the aforementioned value. Most Malaysians typically don't invest in continuing education and are not widely read. And I don't mean paper qualifications here, but in life experiences and knowledge about the world. An MBA is one condensed shortcut to get that rounded knowledge to make oneself more self-aware and marketable. In that respect, I think any MBA, even from a local university will serve that function.
IMHO an MBA from any university is useless and pointless and serves more as office decoration. If one is really so hardup to improve himself I suggest he go take a course from the Bill Gates, Warren Buffetts, Vincent Tans, Lim Goh Tongs. Oh they're not giving any courses? Fret not, just join them, absorb knowledge and work your way up.

KimiLau
post Sep 1 2016, 12:52 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Sep 1 2016, 12:27 AM)
IMHO an MBA from any university is useless and pointless and serves more as office decoration.  If one is really so hardup to improve himself I suggest he go take a course from the Bill Gates, Warren Buffetts, Vincent Tans, Lim Goh Tongs.  Oh they're not giving any courses? Fret not, just join them, absorb knowledge and work your way up.
hmm, it depends

thats why i recommend take TECHNICAL Msc (master of science) degree like I.T instead of general MBA

Master degree will be useful in certain job sectors ONLY , NOT ALL

But i can guarantee that if you HAVE MASTER DEGREE(GOOD UNI) AND argue with colleague over work matters, they dont dare to bully you or talk big in front of you...FROM MY PAST EXPERIENCE! flex.gif rclxms.gif brows.gif

ipohmali70 scorptim Starbucki Chisinlouz

This post has been edited by KimiLau: Sep 1 2016, 12:54 AM
KimiLau
post Sep 1 2016, 12:55 AM

589 posts

DUPLICATE

This post has been edited by KimiLau: Sep 1 2016, 12:56 AM
interferens
post Sep 1 2016, 12:56 AM

337 posts

the best MBA is Mac Book Air
clon12
post Sep 1 2016, 01:11 AM

let's learn together!
2,920 posts

+1 to you mate. what you said gave me a new perspective about the process of hiring candidates. thanks mate.
oe_kintaro
post Sep 1 2016, 01:15 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Sep 1 2016, 12:27 AM)
IMHO an MBA from any university is useless and pointless and serves more as office decoration.  If one is really so hardup to improve himself I suggest he go take a course from the Bill Gates, Warren Buffetts, Vincent Tans, Lim Goh Tongs.  Oh they're not giving any courses? Fret not, just join them, absorb knowledge and work your way up.
I understand where you are coming from but I'm not talking about that piece of paper: I was referring more the process of getting there. Some people just pay money for people to write their thesis for them and other stuff like that thinking that piece of paper means something like more money. I agree that's really pointless. OTOH I won't deny it might help *some* people see things differently from their day to day jobs.
IReallyNeed Answers
post Sep 1 2016, 01:25 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

Dah cakap brp kali,

Is not the cert, it's the student,

Attitude macam pantat, malas macam pundek,

Masuk Harvard Ke, Cambridge Ke, kluar pun sampah
SereneAshley
post Sep 1 2016, 01:33 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(Kesh1018 @ Aug 31 2016, 09:45 PM)
Rule of thumb

Thumbs up, one of the more reasonable comments here
Starbucki
post Sep 1 2016, 09:13 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

this is another anecdote showing where HR should really have more critical thinking and really add value to their work rather than pulling in all other factors to avoid answering the question.

The question is: if we are holding aptitude and experience constant, would you still say a Zimbabwean degree is equivalent to a UM (not ivy league in your books) degree?
scorptim
post Sep 1 2016, 09:17 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Sep 1 2016, 09:13 AM)
this is another anecdote showing where HR should really have more critical thinking and really add value to their work rather than pulling in all other factors to avoid answering the question.

The question is: if we are holding aptitude and experience constant, would you still say a Zimbabwean degree is equivalent to a UM (not ivy league in your books) degree?
I answered that already right, if aptitude and experience constant, next goes to what salary ur asking, if both the same, then i'd look at the better degree...
Starbucki
post Sep 1 2016, 09:18 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(scorptim @ Sep 1 2016, 09:17 AM)
I answered that already right, if aptitude and experience constant, next goes to what salary ur asking, if both the same, then i'd look at the better degree...
Are you working for a chinaman company, or an MNC run by a chinaman?
scorptim
post Sep 1 2016, 09:22 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Sep 1 2016, 09:18 AM)
Are you working for a chinaman company, or an MNC run by a chinaman?
neither, american MNC...obviously you're too oblivious to the fact that mnc accross the world are cost cutting now...if i can get a cheaper candidate that has equal experience and aptitute, why should i hire the more expensive one? Give me a reason pls...
Starbucki
post Sep 1 2016, 09:30 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(scorptim @ Sep 1 2016, 09:22 AM)
neither, american MNC...obviously you're too oblivious to the fact that mnc accross the world are cost cutting now...if i can get a cheaper candidate that has equal experience and aptitute, why should i hire the more expensive one? Give me a reason pls...
again you are throwing in other factors to justify your disdain for people with qualifications

Let me put it again: if 2 candidates with the same aptitude, experience AND same pay expectations, would you still put up the one with Zimbabwean degree to be in contention with the one from UM? If I am your boss, I would screw you nicely for putting both on par.
SUSAllnGap
post Sep 1 2016, 09:32 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

1. How many of u of the same cert, same results
2. Do u want to win
3. Do u have connections in that industry ?
4. Attitudes
scorptim
post Sep 1 2016, 09:34 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Sep 1 2016, 09:30 AM)
again you are throwing in other factors to justify your disdain for people with qualifications

Let me put it again: if 2 candidates with the same aptitude, experience AND same pay expectations, would you still put up the one with Zimbabwean degree to be in contention with the one from UM? If I am your boss, I would screw you nicely for putting both on par.
again you are not reading my comments, if both same salary i'd take the one with the better degree, how many times do i have to repeat this? to be spcific if between zimbabwean and um, id take UM. Happy now?

i guess you're from one of those "Better" uni, but yet i had to repeat my point 3 times to get through to you...and im not sure if its getting through yet...

This post has been edited by scorptim: Sep 1 2016, 09:37 AM
mousqy
post Sep 1 2016, 09:42 AM

758 posts

it worth more than a degree
cedyy
post Sep 1 2016, 09:45 AM

1,404 posts

MBA regardless of local or oversea are useless due to majority of companies in Malaysia do not appreciate the benefit of an MBA graduate plus, there are plentiful of MBA graduates nowadays and there aren't that much positions that officially require an MBA anyway. so getting an MBA these days is just to syiok sendiri
Starbucki
post Sep 1 2016, 10:00 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(scorptim @ Sep 1 2016, 09:34 AM)
again you are not reading my comments, if both same salary i'd take the one with the better degree, how many times do i have to repeat this? to be spcific if between zimbabwean and um, id take UM. Happy now?

i guess you're from one of those "Better" uni, but yet i had to repeat my point 3 times to get through to you...and im not sure if its getting through yet...
yes you did. but calling these as "so-called good universities" does show your disdain towards them and tendency to put them to the bottom of the pile. i have seen people from ivy leagues talking rubbish. but i dont go around calling these institutions "so-called". either they are ivy league or they are not.
KoChun
post Sep 1 2016, 10:10 AM

688 posts

What qualifies local universities to offer MBA when MAS = bankcrupt, Proton = struggling, RHB = VSS staff, CIMB = MSS staff + shut down 22 banks, 1MDB = news scandal....
scorptim
post Sep 1 2016, 10:16 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Sep 1 2016, 10:00 AM)
yes you did. but calling these as "so-called good universities" does show your disdain towards them and tendency to put them to the bottom of the pile. i have seen people from ivy leagues talking rubbish. but i dont go around calling these institutions "so-called". either they are ivy league or they are not.
again, i dont put anyone at the bottom of the pile, i judge the person, not where they studied. I put those who i find not qualified as a person at the bottom of the pile...not those who studied at xxx uni at bottom of the pile.

I've not seen people from ivy league talking rubish la, coz i've never had an ivy league candidate (sorry but UM is not an ivy league uni...thats a fact! if you think it is, then you don't know the definition of ivy league)
nickykee
post Sep 1 2016, 10:22 AM

50 posts

if you decided to take it, please make use of the alumni network and the friends you make.
budak minyak
post Sep 1 2016, 10:47 AM

257 posts

Ppl who have MBA will say MBA is good and worth it.

Ppl who dont have MBA will butthurt and straight to say MBA is rubbish.

Simple.

But personally, its always better to have a higher qualification, not jz for the benefits in your career, but also as your self-personal improvement. Its always interesting to learn new things in life, and keeps educating ourselves. Remember, education is the best investment one can make.
Faidzal
post Sep 1 2016, 08:39 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(Wanie404 @ Aug 31 2016, 12:05 PM)
how so
well ahmad maslan is now synonymous with stupidity.

even though he keeps repeating that he is the top of his MBA class in UKM.

so if he is the top of the class, what about those who graduated in his same class but got lower marks?

it's like you are no. 1 in standard 6 but in the stupid class, anyone below you must be stupider than you right?

thus now ppl will ask you very carefully if you are an MBA grad from UKM, whether you are the same class as ahmad maslan or not.

tl; dr reputation gone...
Faidzal
post Sep 1 2016, 08:46 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Aug 31 2016, 11:29 PM)
but UUM recently got AACSB. full page advertorial with huge face of the VC. cant be that bad?  biggrin.gif
my criteria for a good uni = the more ads they show, the shittier they are.

have you seen any ads for any top 10 or even top 100 uni?

no right?

uni reputation speaks for themselves, they don't need some branding/marketing to get students to come and study there.

their names alone are priceless...

no top scholar will choose a uni based on an ad shown before movies...

whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
KimiLau
post Sep 1 2016, 08:48 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(budak minyak @ Sep 1 2016, 10:47 AM)
Ppl who have MBA will say MBA is good and worth it.

Ppl who dont have MBA will butthurt and straight to say MBA is rubbish.

Simple.

But personally, its always better to have a higher qualification, not jz for the benefits in your career, but also as your self-personal improvement. Its always interesting to learn new things in life, and keeps educating ourselves. Remember, education is the best investment one can make.
Agrèeeeeeee...finally a comment that make sense
ReWeR
post Sep 3 2016, 01:02 AM

Foreveralone
1,715 posts

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Sep 1 2016, 08:46 PM)
my criteria for a good uni = the more ads they show, the shittier they are.

have you seen any ads for any top 10 or even top 100 uni?

no right?

uni reputation speaks for themselves, they don't need some branding/marketing to get students to come and study there.

their names alone are priceless...

no top scholar will choose a uni based on an ad shown before movies...

whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
so true

but those top uni refuse to accept me as their student cry.gif

0.0318sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:39 PM