> is MBA from local university worthless?

scorptim
post Aug 31 2016, 10:20 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(KimiLau @ Aug 31 2016, 10:16 AM)
Hmm, got friends take MBA from UKM and UPM(Putra business school)...pretty useless

they just went for weekend class, doing some useless assignment, after getting the degree still work at same place, no promotion whats over.....

I believe the cert is not important, but the people you know from the course(maybe aspiring entrepeneur/ professional) and increase your network
you usually get a masters in order to APPLY for a new job which the employer has higher paper requirements. If you take masters and expect your current employer to promote you just cause you have upgraded your paper qualifications, then memang bodoh la like that, coz it will never happen.
scorptim
post Aug 31 2016, 08:31 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(TheMasterDebater @ Aug 31 2016, 05:36 PM)
No one knows bro... try asking most bosses.... they don't care if you are hallam ke uni of sheffield ke...UWE vs Bristol.... all are the same to them.

If it aint oxford cambridge or harvard.... all are the same to people who are not from the education industry.

There are too many uni in this world to keep track.

As long as they are legit uni can liao
I beg to differ on your last statement.... If i'm the HR, I would rather pick any post 92 UK uni (non twinning) than those lapsap UM/USM/UKM/UPM ..... main reason is because of our local uni standard has gone down to the shit... bloody lecturers uses Malay to translate when teaching....
Are you in HR? If you are,then you should know that we mainly look at your working experience, your paper as long as meet the minimum requirements for the post enogh d, we don't care what uni unless ivy league different story la but the rest doesn't matter, UK ke, Malaysia ke, Zimbabwe ke,as long as our govt recognize then enough d.
scorptim
post Aug 31 2016, 08:57 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(KimiLau @ Aug 31 2016, 08:36 PM)
LOCAL COMPANY MAY NOT CARE BUT SOME MNC DO CHECK WHICH UNI
On the contrary, im from MNC and we seriously do not care as long as you have the minimum required paper qualifications. Work experience is most important, we look at the type of company you work before, the size of the company etc...of course for fresh grads we do pay attention on the uni la. But 70% still based on your communication skills during interview.

QUOTE(TheMasterDebater @ Aug 31 2016, 08:40 PM)
"ivy league" say it like an american.

How many Ivy league uni can u name without googling?
Work exp is most important, however, most would prefer someone who had studied overseas before over local grad. I shit you not, the probability of overseas grad having better communication skills and being more pro-active is very much higher than local grads.
I'm not saying those who studied overseas for at least 1 year are automatically more vocal because some did not take any inivative to mingle around or participate when they were studying in overseas. However, majority are more pro active and have better English skills than local grad.
I've worked for 3 different companies and so far, those who actually DARE to do presentation during meetings or training activities are overseas grad while those local grads all sok chun and try to push to others to present.
If you cant judge a persons communication skills during the interview itself, it just means your interviewer/recruiter sucks or your interview process itself sucks. If the interview is done properly by a good interviewer, you can pretty much know these things at the start itself.

scorptim
post Sep 1 2016, 12:01 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Aug 31 2016, 11:38 PM)
i hate to say this to your face but you are exactly the reason why HR gets a shitty reputation: just what exactly do you mean that "the rest doesn't matter"? just because you guys do not bother about university rankings nor have the degrees that your candidates possess, doesn't make it right to denounce these as "doesn't matter". It is laughable that you grouped Zimbabwean degrees on par with our great Malaysian degrees.
Look, I say it doesn't matter because I judge your working experience (for those experienced one) and communication skills (for fresh grad). Like it or not im not doing this out of my own whim, its the employer's guidance, i'm supposed to hire a capable person for the job, im not supposed to hire the degree for the job. The employer would usually just specify what qualification is needed for a particular post, for example job a, need this and this degree, job b need MBA min for example, they did not mention it needs to be from which particular uni. Then they would mention the criteria/characteristic of the person they want to hire, this would be a more detailed and comprehensive list...so I just have to make sure you meet the paper requirements as per the guideline and the rest is to determine if you fit the criterias/characterictics required/

If your degree is from a really good university, but from your past experience, I see that you can't hold a job for long...I won't hire you, i'd rather hire someone with a degree from a shitty university but has a proven track record at Work.

Similarly, if you come from a top university, but during interview you only know how to give scripted answers for standard questions but can't answer questions that you are not prepared for on the fly, i'd rather hire someone from a third rate uni that can do that, because those are the skills the job requires, not the degree.

Assuming that both person from the good and shitty uni both have good previous employment record and for fresh grad both can communicate and present themselves equally well, then the next criteria is how much you are asking for, if the person from shitty uni is asking for rm500 lesser, i'd hire him instead. But lets say asking salary both are the same...only at this point i would look back at the degree and hire the one with the so called better degree. (reality hurts but we do have to keep our costs down and productivity up, when you start working you will realise this is the global trend right now)

your degree is not going to do the work...you are. Your university ranking is not gonna make money for the company, the quality and quantity of your work is what makes money for the company.

So don't assume just because you have a good degree people will hire you automatically, like I said the degree doesn't get the job done, the person does. So its good that you have a good degree, but if you think that guarantees you a job, without you putting the extra effort, commitment and hard work like everyone else, then you're daydreaming.
scorptim
post Sep 1 2016, 09:17 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Sep 1 2016, 09:13 AM)
this is another anecdote showing where HR should really have more critical thinking and really add value to their work rather than pulling in all other factors to avoid answering the question.

The question is: if we are holding aptitude and experience constant, would you still say a Zimbabwean degree is equivalent to a UM (not ivy league in your books) degree?
I answered that already right, if aptitude and experience constant, next goes to what salary ur asking, if both the same, then i'd look at the better degree...
scorptim
post Sep 1 2016, 09:22 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Sep 1 2016, 09:18 AM)
Are you working for a chinaman company, or an MNC run by a chinaman?
neither, american MNC...obviously you're too oblivious to the fact that mnc accross the world are cost cutting now...if i can get a cheaper candidate that has equal experience and aptitute, why should i hire the more expensive one? Give me a reason pls...
scorptim
post Sep 1 2016, 09:34 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Sep 1 2016, 09:30 AM)
again you are throwing in other factors to justify your disdain for people with qualifications

Let me put it again: if 2 candidates with the same aptitude, experience AND same pay expectations, would you still put up the one with Zimbabwean degree to be in contention with the one from UM? If I am your boss, I would screw you nicely for putting both on par.
again you are not reading my comments, if both same salary i'd take the one with the better degree, how many times do i have to repeat this? to be spcific if between zimbabwean and um, id take UM. Happy now?

i guess you're from one of those "Better" uni, but yet i had to repeat my point 3 times to get through to you...and im not sure if its getting through yet...

This post has been edited by scorptim: Sep 1 2016, 09:37 AM
scorptim
post Sep 1 2016, 10:16 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Sep 1 2016, 10:00 AM)
yes you did. but calling these as "so-called good universities" does show your disdain towards them and tendency to put them to the bottom of the pile. i have seen people from ivy leagues talking rubbish. but i dont go around calling these institutions "so-called". either they are ivy league or they are not.
again, i dont put anyone at the bottom of the pile, i judge the person, not where they studied. I put those who i find not qualified as a person at the bottom of the pile...not those who studied at xxx uni at bottom of the pile.

I've not seen people from ivy league talking rubish la, coz i've never had an ivy league candidate (sorry but UM is not an ivy league uni...thats a fact! if you think it is, then you don't know the definition of ivy league)

0.0170sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:17 AM