Travel Travel to Japan V9, Please Read Page 1 before you post

evanyi
post Sep 15 2016, 05:09 PM

hi,
i have a brief itinerary for my trip in November. Can i get help from sifus here to amend amend for me (not sure the places worth to go or i missed out any good places)
Appreciate if you guys can recommend clean & cheap accomodation (4 adult 1kid) for Tokyo and Kyoto.

do i get to see the autumn leaf as i will be there from 11-19th Nov??

1st Day - Narita Airport - Roam around Tokyo
2nd Day -Kyoto via JR pass (Hikari Train-160mins) $279
3rd & 4th Day - Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine, Kinkakuji Temple,Eikando Zenrinji Temple
5th Day - Shinjuku
6th Day - DisneySea
7th Day - Tsukiji Fish Market, Meiji Shrine, Yoyogi Park, Harajuku
8th Day - Shibuya
9th Day - bye bye return to KL
I will be getting the 7 days JR pass as well..

Thanks a million!
evanyi
post Sep 15 2016, 10:26 PM

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Sep 15 2016, 05:41 PM)
Why so rush? I would just stay at Tokyo (or nearby) if so. Unless you already book accommodation for Kyoto & Tokyo and bought your 7 day JR pass.

If not I would say just save the money and venture around Tokyo and have 1 day trip to Lake Kawaguchiko or somewhere nearby.

Actually that was my initial plan of staying at Tokyo for the whole trip.. Because this is my first time to Japan I believe there will be a lot of interesting places and things to do.

But my sis in law wanted to go Kyoto.. So issit better to stay at Tokyo for the entire trip or stick with Tokyo-Kyoto? Any advice?
Thanks!
evanyi
post Sep 16 2016, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 15 2016, 10:47 PM)
Just stick to Tokyo only. Kyoto save it for next trip.
Thanks..
So any ideas which accommodation is nice and cheap? And should I get the JR 7 day pass since I'm sticking back to Tokyo only?
Will probably go for a one day trip to Mt Fuji..

Any interesting place to explore in Tokyo??

Thanks a lot!!
evanyi
post Sep 16 2016, 01:52 PM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 16 2016, 12:13 PM)
No. In general JR pass only worth it if you do return trip to/from Kansai/Tokyo.
Thanks for reply..
So just travel by normal ticket?
evanyi
post Sep 17 2016, 02:58 AM

QUOTE(joetiew @ Sep 16 2016, 06:17 PM)
Personal Quick Tips :

1. Buy ONLINE your Disneyland/ Disneysea ticket early, so you can skip queue. Also, they have "evening weekend" ticket that slash the price by 50% (I bought it in 2014 trip). For those just want a quick trip to Disneyland, this ticket will help you save $$$

2. Buy Kansai Thru Pass if you plan to travel within Kansai Region (Osaka-Kyoto-Nara-Kobe). It will help you to save $$$ (depend on your travel pattern, personally I save about 35%).

3. If you love to stay longer in Osaka, please check "Osaka Amazing Pass" (transport + entrance ticket included).

4. If you travel from Osaka to Tokyo, please check the following option (besides Bullet train) :

- JAL (Japanese Airlines) ~ I got my 50% discount in conjunction of their special season & early bird)
- Normal train ticket buy in advanced ~ you will get huge discount + complimentary drink

5. If you would like to travel by bus, besides JR Express, you also can consider Willer Express. All Willer Express ticket can be booked online and it's cheaper than JR.
Thanks for reply!
I guess i will be staying in tokyo this time, skipping kyoto & osaka...

I have read about the Tokyo Subway 3 days pass.. issit worth it than the Suico reload?
evanyi
post Sep 17 2016, 03:02 AM

QUOTE(popice2u @ Sep 16 2016, 06:51 PM)
evanyi, are you going to japan on your own without tour agency?
guess you must have done alot of homework......i thought of doing the same to save money but no confidentlah, so plan to use tour agency
Yea going on my own.. not engaging any tour agency as i kinda enjoy planning for my trip..
actually u can just scroll thru other member's itinerary and pick&plug from other online sample... then just ask the sifus opinion to finalize ur itinerary... icon_rolleyes.gif
evanyi
post Sep 17 2016, 03:25 AM

QUOTE(ivan92 @ Sep 6 2016, 08:06 PM)
Hi All,
I will be traveling on this coming 17th October until 24th October.
First time travel to Japan.
17th October afternoon will arrive at Narita Airport.
24th October afternoon depart from Narita Airport.
Now still planning on the following option, need some input for my planning

Accommodation: Now planning either Airbnb or Hostel, keen to try out capsule hotel as well. Need a place to sleep. Any recommendations are welcomed.

Option 1: 17th after landed on Narita, straight go to kyoto by Shinkansen (which means I will purchase a JR pass). 20th morning head back to Toyko and 24th depart back to home. (itineraries for Kyoto will be mainly temples and shrine, tokyo part still doing research, but Disneysea is a must go!)

Option 2: Only in Tokyo as Tokyo itself has a lot of interesting places and nearby cities for me to explore (itineraries still doing research).

I'm worried that Option 1 would be too rushed.
Or would it be better to have another trip in future solely on Kansai Region like Kyoto Osaka Nara etc.?

For first timer, is it better to explore Tokyo (and nearby cities) only?

I'm looking forward for all the feedback.
Thank you for your inputs. notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
hi.. mind to share your itinerary? hehe my initial plan was also Kyoto but sifus here advised to stick with Tokyo only, so i am still finalizing my trip itinerary... appreciate if you can share some tips too!
evanyi
post Sep 17 2016, 03:26 AM

any good & cheap airbnb/hotel to recommend?

This post has been edited by evanyi: Sep 17 2016, 03:29 AM
evanyi
post Sep 18 2016, 01:17 AM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 17 2016, 07:53 AM)
You done this again one more time you are out from here.
I am Serious here.

Please quote all message you want reply and done under one post.
Sorry bro
Still getting used to "reply" and "quote" function 🙁

0.0321sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:05 AM