1Gb RAM or 2x 512MB ?, got diff on performance???
youngkies
Jan 25 2007, 10:23 PM
Monday <--> Friday
if u dont plan to upgrade the memory in future anymore.. than get 2 x 512mb to enable the dual channel.
dual channel is like - two way two lanes motorway
single channel is like - two way but one lane motorway
hence dual channel can afford more transfer, more capacity, more efficiently.
but if u plan to upgrade ran again in the future, then get 1 x 1gb first to save up the slot for next time
youngkies
Jan 26 2007, 01:44 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(rhesusv @ Jan 26 2007, 12:38 AM) ya i do plan to upgrade again later. jsut that 1 shot cmoe out with RM800 abit too much for my wallet to handle. if u plan tat ur total upgrade will be 1gb only, then get a 512mb first and get another 512mb next time when u got the cash again.. at least when u hv the total upgrade of 1gb, u can hv it running dual channel.. else throw much cash now for a 1gb and upgrade another 1gb ram or 512mb next time if u need it. but if u put 512mb next time, u wont hv the dual channel stuff.. which is not really important if u a lot of memory..
youngkies
Jan 29 2007, 01:44 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(rhesusv @ Jan 29 2007, 02:35 AM) is the differece really that big until i can feel it ??? Yes, if u have 512mb ram only, u can feel the difference of its running in dual channel or single channel.. but if 1GB ram and above, you wont feel much different unless u run heavy applications + multitasking a lot of time.
youngkies
Jan 29 2007, 03:09 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(greddy @ Jan 29 2007, 03:04 AM) dual channels works best if both rams are of the same model chips... similar to dual channel performance ram for PCs bundled together... but one shot 800 bucks pokai lor..... i'm usin dell insp 6000 dual channel wif 1Gb + 256Mb....running fine... u wan faster boot time... use apps to load boot/startup/system files on memory...even so, wen i upgrade to 2Gb, i'll sell my current 1Gb and get 2 new 1Gb sticks.... definitely minimize compatibility issues.... sayin tht i feel like wanna get a new laptop altogether....heheheheh.... mac os x boot time is fast enough.. c.f. to windows XP.
youngkies
Jan 29 2007, 11:26 PM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(rhesusv @ Jan 29 2007, 12:29 PM) so you mean that if i use a 1gb + 256 mb ram will be faster than 512mb x 2 ??? the extra 256mb does have extra advantage. since there are only two slots, go for 1gb ram, then next time u can upgrade again if u feel not enough.