259 posts

This looks yummy...

2 GB Ram
160 HDD
tablet
12 inch wide
altec lansing speakers
retails beginning at about rm4.5k (straight conversion larr)
2.2kgs (bit weighty for a tablet)
128MB Nvidia GeForce Go 6150 graphics chip
plans for WWAN
Vista

Downside is that reviews saying the handwriting recognition is rather bad as they do not use active pen; and no C2D option yet (currently AMD X2 1.8Ghz)

Official Website:
HP TX1000

Planned release in US on 28 Feb

[attachmentid=186221]
[attachmentid=186222]
[attachmentid=186223]

This post has been edited by mavericksam: Jan 25 2007, 05:39 PM
victor
post Jan 25 2007, 10:49 PM

46 posts

Definitely looks yummy biggrin.gif
julchin_09
post Jan 26 2007, 03:42 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Quite a sleek design, with good specs too.... smile.gif
CKyoon
post Feb 10 2007, 10:35 PM

266 posts

Is this model available for purchase in Malaysia already?

williamngwl
post Feb 10 2007, 11:31 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(CKyoon @ Feb 10 2007, 10:35 PM)
Is this model available for purchase in Malaysia already?
havent and i dont think will be available in malaysia
CKyoon
post Feb 10 2007, 11:49 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(williamngwl @ Feb 10 2007, 11:31 PM)
Check this out

http://star-techcentral.com/tech/story.asp...2&sec=itfeature
Venice
post Feb 16 2007, 01:54 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(williamngwl @ Feb 10 2007, 11:31 PM)
Dear all forumers

Before dealing with williamngwl
Read these first !

williamngwl dispute case 1

Lowyat.NET -> Trade Zone -> Trade Zone Helpdesk & Dispute Resolution Corner ->Money Paid but Item not receive!, williamngwl~WANTED!!!

williamngwl dispute case 2
Lowyat.NET -> Trade Zone -> Trade Zone Helpdesk & Dispute Resolution Corner -> [WTComplain]williamngwl

supazta
post Feb 22 2007, 01:04 PM

phuker*s'd!
753 posts

but reviews said that the handwriting recognition is not so good.
other than that my saliva is already dripping.

=)
hurricane21
post Feb 22 2007, 02:09 PM

Senior Probation
1,389 posts

nice design frm hp......
hmm......
wat the pricing? xD
supazta
post Feb 22 2007, 08:18 PM

phuker*s'd!
753 posts

lowest specs priced at 1299usd. thestar said it will be around rm4800.

limchee
post Feb 23 2007, 07:04 PM

Sien
1,745 posts

its priced at RM4999
i saw it at HP shop at mid valley
supazta
post Feb 23 2007, 07:34 PM

phuker*s'd!
753 posts

its really here?
omg.
i have got to check it out!
what are the specs for the 4999 unit?
limchee
post Feb 23 2007, 08:44 PM

Sien
1,745 posts

specs i forgotten adi
i tried out the stylus
v hard to use lol XD

Added on February 23, 2007, 8:44 pmand 4999 is the oni unit over there
no other specs other den the 4999 one

This post has been edited by limchee: Feb 23 2007, 08:44 PM
supazta
post Feb 24 2007, 07:15 PM

phuker*s'd!
753 posts

HP pavilion tx1005au (2.0kg)
amd turion 64x2
1GB ram
nVIdia GeForce Go 6150
an extra 4-cell batt
1 yr asia pacific limited warranty
fingerprint reader
vista home premium
120GB HDD
1.8GHz

(rough specs - only one spec available)
the shop said so far they have sold 5 units in 9 days.

rm4999
Devilc0de
post Feb 24 2007, 07:21 PM

The Real N0ob Doesn't Know He Is No0b
788 posts

QUOTE(supazta @ Feb 24 2007, 08:15 PM)
HP pavilion tx1005au (2.0kg)
amd turion 64x2
1GB ram
nVIdia GeForce Go 6150
an extra 4-cell batt
1 yr asia pacific limited warranty
fingerprint reader
vista home premium
120GB HDD
1.8GHz

(rough specs - only one spec available)
the shop said so far they have sold 5 units in 9 days.

rm4999
nice price for nice stuff thumbup.gif
sokdotcom
post Feb 24 2007, 07:26 PM

sokdotcom
1,122 posts

its already out at LOWYAT plaza... the authorised HP distro has it.. the one on the 2nd floor neat the escalator and the hp shop right opposite lowyat entrance... its RM 4999... sweet.. but the screen is like a regular tablet screen.... i played with it yesterday.. really sweet...
supazta
post Feb 25 2007, 10:11 AM

phuker*s'd!
753 posts

i played with it too but i found that i have to use the stylus extra hard when writing notes on it.
its not very sensitive i guess.
cant compare with the normal pda.
accs_centre
post Mar 2 2007, 12:52 AM

4,840 posts

Cool! But they dont use Intel Core2 Duo sad.gif

Anyone know how much cheapest they are selling? Paying cash got discount?
chris_c28
post Mar 2 2007, 03:09 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Mar 2 2007, 12:52 AM)
Cool! But they dont use Intel Core2 Duo sad.gif

Anyone know how much cheapest they are selling? Paying cash got discount?
From past experience with HP products, I'm pretty sure HP will release this model with a Santa Rosa chipset later this year, around May or June as those are due pretty soon.
supazta
post Mar 2 2007, 05:56 PM

phuker*s'd!
753 posts

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Mar 2 2007, 03:09 PM)
From past experience with HP products, I'm pretty sure HP will release this model with a Santa Rosa chipset later this year, around May or June as those are due pretty soon.
thats what the salesman told me as well.
thumbup.gif
swanchew
post Mar 2 2007, 09:43 PM

463 posts

Wow!! Very impressive system!! Unfortunately I just brought a new system. sad.gif Maybe save money for next year new laptop for this. smile.gif

This post has been edited by swanchew: Mar 2 2007, 09:44 PM
accs_centre
post Mar 11 2007, 02:04 AM

4,840 posts

HP is advertising this model in LYN now.. But no further discussion by us here.. sweat.gif
calvin_gsc
post Mar 27 2007, 10:19 PM

10,261 posts

Today HP did a roadshow in my college, INTI College Subang Jaya.

I managed to play with the TX1000, and I must say, it's freaking cool.

I was trying to get used to the Vista interface. Very diff from XP.

But one downside about it...

it is SUPER DUPER HOT!

It's crazy. Touch the vents, and you could possibly burn your fingers. Yeah, I am exaggerating, but trust me, it's hotter than even an Acer laptop.

By they way, got student price now.

RM4249 i think, if not mistaken. RRP is RM4999.

Tomorrow the roadshow will be Sunway University College.
fariq_azad
post Apr 3 2007, 09:56 AM

ReTrO RoCkS!!!!
917 posts

hmm issit too hot for your lap?
tplcaik
post Apr 3 2007, 10:58 AM

<DeaL WiTh ConFideNcE>
3,541 posts

QUOTE(swanchew @ Mar 2 2007, 09:43 PM)
Wow!! Very impressive system!! Unfortunately I just brought a new system. sad.gif Maybe save money for next year new laptop for this. smile.gif
Next year this model may be obseleted alr lo. tongue.gif
akeiser
post Apr 4 2007, 12:35 AM

128 posts

anyone bought it already? review ler...
calvin_gsc
post Apr 4 2007, 12:52 AM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(fariq_azad @ Apr 3 2007, 09:56 AM)
hmm issit too hot for your lap?
It will definitely burn your lap if your stressing the laptop cpu.

It's super hot at it's fastest speed.
supazta
post Apr 5 2007, 09:25 PM

phuker*s'd!
753 posts

oh dang..
not a good thing for me as i tend to leave my laptop on like 70% of the time!
beyond430
post Apr 5 2007, 09:46 PM

-----
1,325 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Mar 27 2007, 10:19 PM)
Today HP did a roadshow in my college, INTI College Subang Jaya.

I managed to play with the TX1000, and I must say, it's freaking cool.

I was trying to get used to the Vista interface. Very diff from XP.

But one downside about it...

it is SUPER DUPER HOT!

It's crazy. Touch the vents, and you could possibly burn your fingers. Yeah, I am exaggerating, but trust me, it's hotter than even an Acer laptop.

By they way, got student price now.

RM4249 i think, if not mistaken. RRP is RM4999.

Tomorrow the roadshow will be Sunway University College.
the promotion changed already.. Rm4674..!! more expensive...

try login and c the tx1019...
i forgot got any different from the previous model (RM4999 that 1)
supazta
post Apr 27 2007, 10:37 PM

phuker*s'd!
753 posts

reviews?????????
nobody buys this?
beyond430
post Apr 28 2007, 12:55 AM

-----
1,325 posts

QUOTE(supazta @ Apr 27 2007, 10:37 PM)
reviews?????????
nobody buys this?
haha mayb nobody want to use it;s special function..
since that price can get a lappy which got dedicated GC liao..
obm_nlh
post Jul 7 2007, 01:51 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(beyond430 @ Apr 28 2007, 12:55 AM)
haha mayb nobody want to use it;s special function..
since that price can get a lappy which got dedicated GC liao..
True, if you don't need the tablet option. If you need it, this is one of the best one around for that price. Others will easily attract beyond RM6000 or more. Some will command up to 5 digit figure. Mind you, the tablet is being classified as for home user only.

This post has been edited by obm_nlh: Jul 7 2007, 01:55 PM
julchin_09
post Jul 7 2007, 02:44 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Im suprised no one has come out to say they have bought this. Would love to know the developement regarding the internals of this model. Im due for a new notebook soon and this is something I would love to consider as its a 12" and has built in GC. But the heat issue is a concern, plus should you be running grpahic applications for extensive periods of time, I worry about the toll it will take on the inner components. No mention about the material? Metal? Cos that is the only material good enuf for heat dissipation...... sad.gif
obm_nlh
post Jul 8 2007, 11:38 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Jul 7 2007, 02:44 PM)
Im suprised no one has come out to say they have bought this. Would love to know the developement regarding the internals of this model. Im due for a new notebook soon and this is something I would love to consider as its a 12" and has built in GC. But the heat issue is a concern, plus should you be running grpahic applications for extensive periods of time, I worry about the toll it will take on the inner components. No mention about the material? Metal? Cos that is the only material good enuf for heat dissipation...... sad.gif
I've tried my friend's 1.6GHz version. The heat built-up is not that bad. A bit slow as only running Vista with 1GHz and slower processor. Will be waiting for mine sometime this month. PM me by next if you want to know more. Hopefully, the new version 2.0GHz with 2Gb memory will speed up the cutie a bit. However, the touch screen is not as sensitive as the others. Need to push a bit just to get some decent detection.

CherylDarryl
post Jul 8 2007, 04:05 PM

647 posts

yer why hp always release lousy graphics de.. i still waiting compaq presario release 8600M GT ler.. or any news here?? T.T
dublosix
post Jul 9 2007, 03:33 AM

Ok, here is the review.

I got the latest TX1215AU, which comes with AMD Turion 2X2Ghz. 2mb ram and 160 gb. All for RM5499.

The Good:
------------
- Feature loaded, comes with loads of software
- Lightscribe included
- Finger print scanner
- built in blue tooth
- 1.3 mb camera
- Two batteries!! I like this. 6 cell and 4 cells together
- Remote control! Have a neat remote hidden by the side for those DVD/MP3 moments

The Bad
----------
- Definitely the touch screen. this touch screen is absolutely bollogs!. I have tried adjusting the pen speed and pressing real hard but like a 3 year old boy, I even have difficulty writing A B C!!! If you are buying it for writing on the touch screen, forget it friend. If you just want touch screen for buttons and surfing...its ok.

- HEAT!...this baby got loads of it. Can fried an egg!! Serious, I have never got a lappie with heat like this.....coming from the right hand side, it burns!..no way you gonna put this on your lap in an airplane unless, you are drunk and cant really feel much pain on your legs.

- The GLARE, the screen is ok, except for the tremendous glare. You can basically see your own self like a mirror!

- The shiny top cover of the laptop is made out of shiny black plastic which is extra coated with some sort of gloss. Its black in colour and unless you are wearing a glove, on normal days it will be seen full of finger prints! very messy.

- I also dislike the point that HP loads it up with tons of useless 30 days trials and 60 days trials. Slows down the processor a lot.

- Of course how can I end this without mentioning how much I hope this model comes with Freedos insteads of Vista. but being a tablet , you will need vista. And Vista SUCKS!!!....Majority of my old software and drivers can't be used. Including SPSS...my god!

Overall, I give it a rating 6 out of 10. 4 points taken out mainly because of the lousy tablet screen, serious...it really bothers me to spend so much money and get such lousy touch screen!

Dublo

Added on July 9, 2007, 3:38 amOh yes, I almost forgot.

HP FOR CHRIST SAKE!

For a lappie worth 5 grand, can you guys please issue a better grade bag????? The one being issued with TX1215AU top of the range model, is a lousy low end Targus with flimsy handles! My old 2 K Dell, have a much much better bag.

Come on, this is a joke!

This post has been edited by dublosix: Jul 9 2007, 03:38 AM
obm_nlh
post Jul 9 2007, 12:28 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(dublosix @ Jul 9 2007, 03:33 AM)
Ok, here is the review.

I got the latest TX1215AU, which comes with AMD Turion 2X2Ghz. 2mb ram and 160 gb. All for RM5499.

The Good:
------------

[ snips ]

The Bad
----------

[ snips ]

.. The video controller is also not as good compare to the "NORMAL". Are you running the full 128k share memory mode? At 2Gb available, I think you can this whistling.gif

Quickie for you,

1. Did you install any screen protector for the LCD? If yes, what type, where to get and how much?
2. Did you get your freebies from HP? I think for limited time only they are offering free HP Limited Edition Black Premiums?

This post has been edited by obm_nlh: Jul 9 2007, 12:36 PM
obm_nlh
post Jul 10 2007, 02:30 PM

473 posts

Quickies:

1. Is it worthwhile to RAM upgrade the unit from 2Gb (2x1024/667) to 4Gb (2x2048/667)?
2. In order to access the full 4Gb RAM once upgraded, we need to install MS Vista (64 bit). Any incompatibility problem here?
3. Possibility to use protective casing (leather type or the like) whilst in tablet mode? Any product out there yet?

This post has been edited by obm_nlh: Jul 10 2007, 03:09 PM
dublosix
post Jul 12 2007, 04:27 PM

I am not using any screen protector. Have not found any. Anyway the touch screen is unsensitive like hell...would only make it worst if another layer is added, I presume.

Nope, no free gift. Bought it before they have the freebies...rats..!

TX1000 will come with Vista anyway, some of the functions such as the finger print scanners and touch screen will only work with vista i presume.

QUOTE(obm_nlh @ Jul 10 2007, 02:30 PM)
Quickies:

1. Is it worthwhile to RAM upgrade the unit from 2Gb (2x1024/667) to 4Gb (2x2048/667)?
2. In order to access the full 4Gb RAM once upgraded, we need to install MS Vista (64 bit).  Any incompatibility problem here?
3. Possibility to use protective casing (leather type or the like) whilst in tablet mode? Any product out there yet?
obm_nlh
post Jul 12 2007, 05:18 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(dublosix @ Jul 12 2007, 04:27 PM)
I am not using any screen protector. Have not found any. Anyway the touch screen is unsensitive like hell...would only make it worst if another layer is added, I presume.

Nope, no free gift. Bought it before they have the freebies...rats..!

TX1000 will come with Vista anyway, some of the functions such as the finger print scanners and touch screen will only work with vista i presume.
Yes, I also find it hard to locate the suitable screen protector say like Martin Fields for the TX. Most of them come in smaller sizes. But my vendor seems to be able to find a suitable one. Not sure which one but let's us see first.

Have you compare its Wi-Fi capability say with other laptops? Is yours Intel Proset or Atheros card? It seems that the installed a/b/g card is not as strong as Dell's one. I'm still wandering why HP revert from pre-N Wi-Fi card to a/b/g one. Makes things worst is that HP and the gang will not accept any other card (e.g. Super-G Atheros etc) from what I've been told. Rats! vmad.gif

Travies
post Aug 13 2007, 07:12 PM

1,048 posts

I have seen the model in the market. I found that the screen is blur compare to other HP pavilion. The color is also not that sharp?(i knew it's touch screen, but it's absolutely far different from other laptop) Anyone using this? Review on its screen and color pls. Will this bring problem to me after i purchase it?
obm_nlh
post Aug 21 2007, 09:41 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(dublosix @ Jul 9 2007, 03:33 AM)
Ok, here is the review.

The Good:
------------

[snips]

The Bad
----------
- Definitely the touch screen. this touch screen is absolutely bollogs!. I have tried adjusting the pen speed and pressing real hard but like a 3 year old boy, I even have difficulty writing A B C!!! If you are buying it for writing on the touch screen, forget it friend. If you just want touch screen for buttons and surfing...its ok.

- HEAT!...this baby got loads of it. Can fried an egg!! Serious, I have never got a lappie with heat like this.....coming from the right hand side, it burns!..no way you gonna put this on your lap in an airplane unless, you are drunk and cant really feel much pain on your legs.

- The GLARE, the screen is ok, except for the tremendous glare. You can basically see your own self like a mirror!

- The shiny top cover of the laptop is made out of shiny black plastic which is extra coated with some sort of gloss. Its black in colour and unless you are wearing a glove, on normal days it will be seen full of finger prints! very messy.

- I also dislike the point that HP loads it up with tons of useless 30 days trials and 60 days trials. Slows down the processor a lot.

Dublo

Added on July 9, 2007, 3:38 amOh yes, I almost forgot.

HP FOR CHRIST SAKE!

For a lappie worth 5 grand, can you guys please issue a better grade bag????? The one being issued with TX1215AU top of the range model, is a lousy low end Targus with flimsy handles! My old 2 K Dell, have a much much better bag.

1. I missed my HP4700 touch screen functionality. Still trying to figure out how to properly tune the screen for proper usage.
2. Yes, very good if you are in winter season. In tablet mode, you can easily exhaust it out in different direction than to your lap by selecting different orientation.
3. Put screen protector film. It cuts the glare tremendously. Ensure that you install it properly first.
4. Agree - the shiny part at the back can be easily scratched. I don't know how long my "original" plastic cover will lasts.
5. Agree - too many time crippleware items. Sometimes, I also notice that copying files under MS Vista will take too much time - finally resorts to WinXP on other machine (slower CPU though) to do the job.
6. I got two bags - canvas + folder type (cannot fit the charger in it). Should give an option to upgrade the bag at least.

obm_nlh
post Aug 21 2007, 10:25 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Aug 13 2007, 07:12 PM)
I have seen the model in the market. I found that the screen is blur compare to other HP pavilion. The color is also not that sharp?(i knew it's touch screen, but it's absolutely far different from other laptop) Anyone using this? Review on its screen and color pls. Will this bring problem to me after i purchase it?
Seems to be ok to me unless you're trying to run high definition graphics programme. Please ensure that the TX1k is running on its natural screen resolution.

The video card (built-in type) is a lot to be desired. As a certified home user laptop, it is okay.

Travies
post Aug 21 2007, 04:11 PM

1,048 posts

I just bought one TX1k, i wonder do i need to have a screen protector on its screen?? How much is the screen protector normally?.
I have a cover plastic on outside the lappy to cover the shiny black top part. Can i buy the cover plastic in the market if i have remove the original plastic?
death_nite
post Aug 21 2007, 04:19 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Aug 21 2007, 04:11 PM)
I just bought one TX1k, i wonder do i need to have a screen protector on its screen?? How much is the screen protector normally?.
I have a cover plastic on outside the lappy to cover the shiny black top part. Can i buy the cover plastic in the market if i have remove the original plastic?
can u do a review?

wat abt the heat? sweat.gif
yewkhuay
post Aug 21 2007, 05:51 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

u can try ask those stalls doing Handphone lamination about the cost for lappy lamination, i seen one stall in cineleisure selling lappy lamination with many designs, or else try lelong.com.my for some carbon-fiber-looked sticker to DIY. thumbup.gif
y_owez
post Aug 21 2007, 08:22 PM

1,745 posts

is this series good??????review??
obm_nlh
post Aug 21 2007, 10:22 PM

473 posts

1. which tx1k model?
2. highly recommended to install screen protector - at least can reduce glaring problem
3. outside cover - see answer elsewhere in this thread.
Travies
post Aug 21 2007, 10:53 PM

1,048 posts

Review of HP pavilion TX 1221au

I was a student, budget 4k. Earlier i consider buting Dell XPS M1330, but after i have seen the real model in the PC fair, i was disappointed with its material. HP material is far better, thus i choose HP. At last i bought Hp Pavillion TX 1221au with the price of Rm 2999 three days ago. It's pretty cheap, no one can beat this lappy with the price of 2999. With fingerprint, touchscreen, stylus, WebCam and microphone, remote control, Vista premium. But remember you have to spend another 300 for RAM upgrade to 2 Gigs.

Here is the spec
1.7GHz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core TK-53
1024 MB RAM
Nvidia Geforce GO6150
160 GB HDD
Lightscribesuper multi DVD write
12.1 WXGA BrightView Widescreen with touch screen
Wireless available
ALtec Lansing speakers
FingerPrint, Remote Control, Stylus, Carrying case
1.98KG
Integrated 1.3 WebCAM and Microphone
Come with 2 batteries(6 cell and 4 cell)
MS Vista Premium

Forget about the touch screen, you cannot use it for writing or taking notes. Normal surfing will do and normal gaming is okay. Not a very fast lappy as i using 1 GiG RAM at the moment.
Heat is a little bit with this lappy as im not using cooler. If you run several application, advisable to use cooler. For me heat management for this lappy is okay. This lappy is build with good material and good quality, good surface, far better than Dell. It's a Home Entertainment PC, for student or home users. Strong recommended!

Guys, need help... im considering to do the extended warranty to 3 years. Do i advisable to do that, i think with the price for RM 300+-.
yewkhuay
post Aug 22 2007, 12:21 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Aug 21 2007, 10:53 PM)

I was a student, budget 4k. Earlier i consider buting Dell XPS M1330, but after i have seen the real model in the PC fair, i was disappointed with its material. HP material is far better, thus i choose HP. At last i bought Hp Pavillion TX 1221au with the price of Rm 2999 three days ago. It's pretty cheap, no one can beat this lappy with the price of 2999. With fingerprint, touchscreen, stylus, WebCam and microphone, remote control, Vista premium. But remember you have to spend another 300 for RAM upgrade to 2 Gigs.

Here is the spec
1024 MB RAM
Nvidia Geforce GO6150
160 GB HDD
Lightscribesuper multi DVD write
12.1 WXGA BrightView Widescreen with touch screen
Wireless available
ALtec Lansing speakers
FingerPrint, Remote Control, Stylus, Carrying case
1.98KG
Integrated 1.3 WebCAM and Microphone
Come with 2 batteries(6 cell and 4 cell)
MS Vista Premium

Forget about the touch screen, you cannot use it for writing or taking notes. Normal surfing will do and normal gaming is okay. Not a very fast lappy as i  using 1 GiG RAM at the moment.
Heat is a little bit with this lappy as im not using cooler. If you run several application, advisable to use cooler. For me heat management for this lappy is okay. This lappy is build with good material and good quality, good surface, far better than Dell. It's a Home Entertainment PC, for student or home users. Strong recommended!

Guys, need help... im considering to do the extended warranty to 3 years. Do i advisable to do that, i think with the price for RM 300+-.
u sure is rm300+ for 3yrs waranty ? the last i remember was rm700-800+ , if 300+, go for it, u will not regret for the next 3yrs unless u think of changing laptop every 2yrs. any part tht koyak within 3yrs will easily cost u more than 300... icon_rolleyes.gif
limyusiong
post Aug 22 2007, 12:58 AM

2,815 posts

Last PC fair got a model for TX series selling 2999...y got such model selling at so low price ha???
yewkhuay
post Aug 22 2007, 01:00 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Aug 22 2007, 12:58 AM)
Last PC fair got a model for TX series selling 2999...y got such model selling at so low price ha???
AMD processor, heavy for a 12inch lappy.
limyusiong
post Aug 22 2007, 01:02 AM

2,815 posts

but not all de HP pavilion TX model oso running AMD processor???
williamngwl
post Aug 22 2007, 01:28 AM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Aug 22 2007, 01:02 AM)
but not all de HP pavilion TX model oso running AMD processor???
currently only HP Pavilion TX model that run with amd processor
limyusiong
post Aug 22 2007, 02:03 AM

2,815 posts

yalo, then y YewKhuay SAying "AMD processor, heavy for a 12inch lappy.???"

so y tat model selling so cheap ha???
Travies
post Aug 22 2007, 10:40 AM

1,048 posts

Maybe it's AMD Athlon, as the latest is AMD Turion....
it's heavy for 12.1 lappy (2.0KG)
unknowndevices
post Aug 22 2007, 10:44 AM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

Forget about the touch screen, you cannot use it for writing or taking notes. Normal surfing will do and normal gaming is okay. Not a very fast lappy as i  using 1 GiG RAM at the moment.

wow!...congrats... rclxms.gif
mind to share more reviews and feedback about this model?... icon_rolleyes.gif
how's the graphics?...have you tried any games/programs that involve graphics thing?... hmm.gif
yeah!...go and grab the three years warranty...that's consider cheap for a three years warranty...

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Aug 22 2007, 12:21 AM)
u sure is rm300+ for 3yrs waranty ? the last i remember was rm700-800+ , if 300+, go for it, u will not regret for the next 3yrs unless u think of changing laptop every 2yrs. any part tht koyak within 3yrs will easily cost u more than 300... icon_rolleyes.gif
i did ask during PC Fair...and they mentioned it rm300 for 3years warranty...didn't if that applies after PC Fair...

QUOTE(williamngwl @ Aug 22 2007, 01:28 AM)
currently only HP Pavilion TX model that run with amd processor
owh!...HP Pavilion TX only comes with AMD processor?... hmm.gif

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Aug 22 2007, 02:03 AM)
yalo, then y YewKhuay SAying "AMD processor, heavy for a 12inch lappy.???"

so y tat model selling so cheap ha???
i think, he mean in-term of weight its heavy for a 12'inch notebook...correct if i'm wrong... sweat.gif
but from what i tried...it isn't that heavy...don't know for others... icon_rolleyes.gif

unknowndevices
post Aug 22 2007, 10:51 AM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Aug 22 2007, 10:40 AM)
Maybe it's AMD Athlon, as the latest is AMD Turion....
it's heavy for 12.1 lappy (2.0KG)
yups...its running in the previous processor that is AMD Athlon... cool2.gif
TX1000 series model running in AMD Turion for TX1000 price around rm4999... sweat.gif
Travies
post Aug 22 2007, 04:40 PM

1,048 posts

I have tried Warcraft 3... seem no problem to me, the problem is the screen too small... but come on this is a lappy lolz! unless u get a 17.0 inch lappy that will be better.

The Turion edition is indeed Rm 4999

I'd like to know is TX1221au can support to 4 Gig RAM?
Currently the model is come with 2 pieces of 512 RAM.
I considering to add two pieces of 1 GiG RAM or just one piece of 2 GiG RAM.
Besides, if add a piece of 2 Gig RAM so plus the 512 then that will be 2.5 GiG RAM. Any advise? Which one will be better as the price factor just a little bit different, maybe +- Rm100.
Need help from computer professional... hehe
limyusiong
post Aug 22 2007, 10:37 PM

2,815 posts

but seem my question haven been answer?hw come tat model is selling so cheap while others all above rm4500???
williamngwl
post Aug 23 2007, 12:35 AM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Aug 22 2007, 04:40 PM)
I have tried Warcraft 3... seem no problem to me, the problem is the screen too small... but come on this is a lappy lolz! unless u get a 17.0 inch lappy that will be better.

Besides, if add a piece of 2 Gig RAM so plus the 512 then that will be 2.5 GiG RAM. Any advise? Which one will be better as the price factor just a little bit different, maybe +- Rm100.
HP TX1221AU can support up to 4gb ram
if price is not a problem,then u can go for 2.5gb ram

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Aug 22 2007, 10:37 PM)
but seem my question haven been answer?hw come tat model is selling so cheap while others all above rm4500???
as this question.....i think only HP marketing department can answer u....
obm_nlh
post Aug 23 2007, 07:15 AM

473 posts

[snips]

Here is the spec
1024 MB RAM

[snips]

My tx1225 is costing around RM2,500 more than yours. Only difference 2.0GHz TL-60 processor, 2048Mb RAM & non-student price. It can be upgraded to max. 4Mb. A bit more to pay for the additional features, eh? But opting the 2.0GHz processor seems to be justified. Are you sure that yours is a TK-53 not TL-53? I know that AMD has a MK model - single core.

death_nite
post Aug 23 2007, 10:58 AM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

so, wat u guys mean, the cheaper 1 is single core n the expensive 1 is dual core?
Travies
post Aug 23 2007, 12:06 PM

1,048 posts

My Tx1221au is come with dual core TK-53. The only diff is yours is Turion but mine is AMD Athlon.... Which is a older version as the latest is TURION. TK-53 is 1.7 GHz.
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 23 2007, 12:26 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

pc fair was selling it for oni RM2K ++

since then..i hv seen quite a number of ppl with it..
williamngwl
post Aug 23 2007, 02:44 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Aug 23 2007, 12:06 PM)
My Tx1221au is come with dual core TK-53. The only diff is yours is Turion but mine is AMD Athlon.... Which is a older version as the latest is TURION. TK-53 is 1.7 GHz.
tk-53(1.7ghz,256 X 2 l2 cache,1600mhz sb) is new low entry notebook proceesor using 65nm and TDP is 31w and support 64bit.....
unknowndevices
post Aug 23 2007, 08:44 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Aug 22 2007, 04:40 PM)

owh!...really?...the outcome is good... smile.gif
yeah!...some one its a small size notebook...sure you can't have the feeling that much... laugh.gif

anyway...if you're doing lots of stuff with your notebook...best to upgrade for bigger ram...as less headache when doing works,system running faster... cool2.gif

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Aug 23 2007, 12:26 PM)
pc fair was selling it for oni RM2K ++

since then..i hv seen quite a number of ppl with it..
PC Fair selling this model at rm2999...but on Sunday afternoon already sold-out at every booths... cool2.gif
Travies
post Aug 24 2007, 12:06 PM

1,048 posts

do you guys recommend me to do the extended 3 years warranty? Price will be around Rm 400+ or -. Anyway, i would like to know what can the HP warranty do? Let's say my screen or speaker was broken thus i sent to HP center and they will replace me a new one? Is there anybody experience before HP service? Is it worth to do the extended warranty?
unknowndevices
post Aug 24 2007, 01:13 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Aug 24 2007, 12:06 PM)
do you guys recommend me to do the extended 3 years warranty? Price will be around Rm 400+ or -. Anyway, i would like to know what can the HP warranty do? Let's say my screen or speaker was broken thus i sent to HP center and they will replace me a new one? Is there anybody experience before HP service? Is it worth to do the extended warranty?
i would suggest you to get the extended warranty...its more of safety of your notebook... smile.gif
sometimes you could only see the faulty and big problems after one year...maybe less than a year also... sweat.gif
bought a desktop from HP...and experienced sending back for replacement of mobo...got it after three days..,now working fine...
don't know for notebook...but i think it would be the same...maybe you can try to post this question in HP Compaq thread...all the best... icon_rolleyes.gif
Travies
post Sep 5 2007, 05:59 PM

1,048 posts

Just do the extended warranty of my TX 1000. 1+2.
Not satisfy with the HP service center... earlier they ask me to pay 600+ for the extended warranty, i was strongly not agree, i complain then at last they gave me 300 for the 1+2 warranty. Is there anyone know where to complain about HP regarding their bad service?
Nyxator
post Sep 7 2007, 12:26 PM

69 posts

This lappy has a well known Webcam issue, it only runs "once" after every reboot/startup.

As long it's a HP Pavilion running on Vista, you will have this issue. If you don't believe me, try running MSN Live Messenger using webcam chat then signout and exit MSN. Turn on your HP QuickPlay Webcam, by now you will notice the webcam fails to work.

Try signin back into MSN and try Webcam Chat again. You will notice it also fails there.

The only solution HP can come up now is rebooting it but it always fails after the first try.

I tried googling up "HP Pavilion Webcam" and I notice that almost everyone who bought a Pavilion running on Vista has this issue.

Fear not as there is a workaround please refer to this forum...

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/516496

TX1221AU Disadvantages
------------------------------

NHC reports that this lappy runs hot at 65 degrees celcius on full load.

My opinion it's really hot compare to my T60 which is only at 55 degrees max

Honestly during my entire life working on lappy, this is my first time seeing a CPU heat exceeding 55 degrees celcius for a lappy.

As for the touchscreen, it's not very responsive, I have to press really hard to write something. Occasionally my letters are broken off.

The screen is way too glossy too, recently I was in Thailand and I can't read my google maps on it.

TX1221AU Advantages
--------------------------

I like the sound quality produced by the Altec Lansing speaker, it's really loud/clear compare to my T60.

Duo microphone helps big time. Previously on my T60, my gf can hardly hear me speaking and most of the time we end up with frustration. Now it's crystal clear.

Plus it comes with card reader, very convenient for a shutterbug like me.

Bluetooth works fine with my Jabra, I can use it for wireless chat on my MSN Live.

Watching movies on this lappy is great using Windows Media Center thanks to the remote control.

Reading E-Book on this lappy is great too, but recommended in an air-conditioned area.

Integrated Fingerprint reader ease my identity verification in places like gmail, hotmail, MSN etc. No longer require me to remember my password or to type it out. All I had to do is just swipe my finger.

Consider cheap for such a bundle.

Thats about it. Hope it's informative.

unknowndevices
post Sep 8 2007, 12:23 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Sep 5 2007, 05:59 PM)
Just do the extended warranty of my TX 1000. 1+2.
Not satisfy with the HP service center... earlier they ask me to pay 600+ for the extended warranty, i was strongly not agree, i complain then at last they gave me 300 for the 1+2 warranty. Is there anyone know where to complain about HP regarding their bad service?
erksss...their services didn't satisfied you?...have you check under HP-website under complaints/problems site?... hmm.gif
what happened to you notebook?...mind to share?... cool2.gif

QUOTE(Nyxator @ Sep 7 2007, 12:26 PM)
This lappy has a well known Webcam issue, it only runs "once" after every reboot/startup.

As long it's a HP Pavilion running on Vista, you will have this issue. If you don't believe me, try running MSN Live Messenger using webcam chat then signout and exit MSN. Turn on your HP QuickPlay Webcam, by now you will notice the webcam fails to work.

Try signin back into MSN and try Webcam Chat again. You will notice it also fails there.

The only solution HP can come up now is rebooting it but it always fails after the first try.

I tried googling up "HP Pavilion Webcam" and I notice that almost everyone who bought a Pavilion running on Vista has this issue.

Fear not as there is a workaround please refer to this forum...

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/516496
TX1221AU Disadvantages
------------------------------

NHC reports that this lappy runs hot at 65 degrees celcius on full load.

My opinion it's really hot compare to my T60 which is only at 55 degrees max

Honestly during my entire life working on lappy, this is my first time seeing a CPU heat exceeding 55 degrees celcius for a lappy.

As for the touchscreen, it's not very responsive, I have to press really hard to write something. Occasionally my letters are broken off.

The screen is way too glossy too, recently I was in Thailand and I can't read my google maps on it.
TX1221AU Advantages
--------------------------

I like the sound quality produced by the Altec Lansing speaker, it's really loud/clear compare to my T60.

Duo microphone helps big time. Previously on my T60, my gf can hardly hear me speaking and most of the time we end up with frustration. Now it's crystal clear.

Plus it comes with card reader, very convenient for a shutterbug like me.

Bluetooth works fine with my Jabra, I can use it for wireless chat on my MSN Live.

Watching movies on this lappy is great using Windows Media Center thanks to the remote control.

Reading E-Book on this lappy is great too, but recommended in an air-conditioned area.

Integrated Fingerprint reader ease my identity verification in places like gmail, hotmail, MSN etc. No longer require me to remember my password or to type it out. All I had to do is just swipe my finger.

Consider cheap for such a bundle.
Thats about it. Hope it's informative.
thanks for the reviews... thumbup.gif
anyway...how's the webcam?...working perfectly?...any pictures to share with?...
wah!...guess..the integrated fingerprint reader is reliable....nice... cool2.gif

Travies
post Sep 12 2007, 08:25 PM

1,048 posts

This happened in HP tower , at bukit damansara...
i went to HP tower 4th September at 3pm reaching, the assistant served me and saying that i bought my TX 1221au is very expensive. sigh she do not know anything? My proved of purchase stated only RM 2999. somehow this is not her job. She acted like my lappy(TX1221au) is not from HP pavilion.
Then i looking for my lappy care pack. i ask her about the price, she tells me RM 198 for my lappy, i was so happy. thus i signing up the form. But after 2 minutes she told me RM 680+ for my care pack! THIS IS CRAZY. i coundn;t believe it i ask again, then she show me her LCD that the lappy was different model(it's not TX model) then she answer me my lappy was fall under the category. Crazy fella, can u imagine u show me other picture for my lappy then she says it's under same category. I stared on her and i ask her to bring me her higher authority to serve me. She entertain me awhile then she ask me to sit beside. DAMN she was ignoring me , is it because i was too young? 21 years old. i waited 10+ mins then another assistant come over, im sure she is not the manager, she is a normal staff. She speaks to me nicely, then i ask her to double check for me about my carepack. After awhile she get me back saying that RM 300 for my care pack 1+2 years. thus i pay her and settle it.

CAN u imagine how HP assistant threat me? if i follow what the earlier indian lady told me then i was paying her RM 680+ to HP already.
In the conclusion, HP tower service is sucks!!! Quote this to HP to see what have them trained for their employee. I am sure if this was my dad at the moment, she will get scolded on the spot in front of everyone.
Is that i going to urge all the youngster do not buy HP pavilion?
i finish my care pack upgraded on 4.58pm, just imagine HP took me around 2 hours to complete their task!
jychow
post Sep 22 2007, 12:51 AM

1,169 posts

hi guys, i have a TX1221AU also. Yes, the CPU is pretty warm. BUt i use this software:

RightMark CPU clock utility.

It regulates the voltage and thus, reducing the heat. Mine is constantly running below 50 degree c. In normal room temp w/o aircon, it is about 48 deg C. In air con room and laptop cooler, maybe about 42 Deg C. On Athlon, I use 0.650 for 1x and gradually move up on each x. No problem. Having it too low will have Blue screen of death. But no worry, just a normal restart will do. Hope this help./

And BTW, I bought my tablet in HP shop, Mid valley. great service. look for tony. icon_rolleyes.gif i have a fantastic offer on the extended warranty. rclxm9.gif have been using it for close to a month already and still very happy with it.

This post has been edited by jychow: Sep 22 2007, 12:54 AM
Travies
post Sep 22 2007, 10:28 AM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(jychow @ Sep 22 2007, 12:51 AM)
hi guys, i have a TX1221AU also. Yes, the CPU is pretty warm. BUt i use this software:

RightMark CPU clock utility.

It regulates the voltage and thus, reducing the heat. Mine is constantly running below 50 degree c.  In normal room temp w/o aircon, it is about 48 deg C.  In air con room and laptop cooler, maybe about 42 Deg C. On Athlon, I use 0.650 for 1x and gradually move up on each x.  No problem. Having it too low will have Blue screen of death. But no worry, just a normal restart will do. Hope this help./

And BTW, I bought my tablet in HP shop, Mid valley. great service. look for tony.  icon_rolleyes.gif  i have a fantastic offer on the extended warranty.  rclxm9.gif have been using it for close to a month already and still very happy with it.
mind to let me know how do u check the degree celcius? The right mark CPU clock utility is is a software? Mind to tell how to get it? How much have u bought of the extended care pack?
jychow
post Sep 23 2007, 01:49 AM

1,169 posts

the software installs a few icons on taskbar. one of them is a temp gauge. you can download it at http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/System...k-Utility.shtml

free / lite version is good enough. full version is for the pro...

bought extended warranty for 199.

Added on October 1, 2007, 12:10 amYou can write Chinese on vista. The tablet pen input is great for this. Just add Chinese as an input method in control panel. look for Regional and Language setting,

This post has been edited by jychow: Oct 1 2007, 12:10 AM

0.0348sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:02 PM