So where do I start?, I cannot afford trainer lol

TSDakaa
post Aug 21 2016, 04:41 PM, updated 10y ago

75 posts

I don't want to get myself hurt in the gym, or looking stupid when using the equipment the wrong way.

green_algae
post Aug 21 2016, 09:08 PM

1,003 posts

Watch YouTube videos,observe other gym members while they are doing their exercise,ask questions.
Armesh
post Aug 21 2016, 09:12 PM

1,493 posts

Squat
http://youtu.be/zoZWgTrZLd8
http://youtu.be/RMFHgVN_pcg
http://img3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb2008061...r_Placement.jpg

Bench
http://youtu.be/22Tiguoetus
http://youtu.be/33mjoyc5JbE

Deadlift
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1nRRlk6264I

Romanian Deadlift or SLD
http://youtu.be/JCXUYuzwNrM

Incline Bench
http://youtu.be/QeXECbti2gU

http://stronglifts.com/madcow/table_of_con...%20Descriptions
PzGman
post Aug 21 2016, 09:20 PM

Private Pilot
828 posts

Just ask around the gym or get a knowledgeable friend to help you out.
bafukie
post Aug 23 2016, 01:54 PM

1,406 posts

buy a pair of db and start using it with reference to youtube.
helven
post Aug 23 2016, 02:17 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(Dakaa @ Aug 21 2016, 04:41 PM)
I don't want to get myself hurt in the gym, or looking stupid when using the equipment the wrong way.
Start by making mistake. We made mistake and all got hurt, even with a trainer, will not give u a bullet proof guarantee.
"looking stupid" is in the eye of the beholder. Mature people will lay u a hand, those that laugh at you/haters don't worth your time, move on.
Glute bridge may look stupid, but it has its value.

If you're looking for what to do, search the forum, plenty of them.

For exercise video, you can watch Alan Thrall for the 3 big lifts (squat bench deadlift)
He has detail explanation yet simple enough to understand
Candito Training HQ, Omarisuf are good too

For straight forward supplement, nutrition or training
look for Sean Nalewanyj, this guy has no bullshit, straight to the point, but sometimes he has a lot of science term in his video.

This post has been edited by helven: Aug 23 2016, 06:50 PM
toman88
post Aug 24 2016, 11:46 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(Dakaa @ Aug 21 2016, 04:41 PM)
http://startingstrength.com/get-started

bulit the foundation 1st...legit for 6/12 - 1 year..u willl see the result
Armesh
post Aug 24 2016, 11:57 AM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(toman88 @ Aug 24 2016, 11:46 AM)
http://startingstrength.com/get-started

bulit the foundation 1st...legit for 6/12 - 1 year..u willl see the result
Lol probably only good for 1~2 months. Not gonna grow after that.
toman88
post Aug 24 2016, 05:00 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Aug 24 2016, 11:57 AM)
Lol probably only good for 1~2 months. Not gonna grow after that.
the progrm itself yes..but strength foundation is advise to cont for 6m-1year if youre newbie..
you willl see the result much better compare fastly wanna to jump for BB regime..

the is much more to choose
SS
5x3 mark riptoe
powerlifting to win
cube methode

just adjust yourself which program is suit you...
im advising to choose the program base on your weight load periodization WLP
e.g
Ss n mark riptoe program..the add weight for each session until platue
the you can jump to next strength program (which is WLP is much longer such as 2time a week or 1time a week --> biweekly exp p2w --> once a month exp 531)
the process continue until 6m-1 year depend on how you feel n strength gain

instead just do strength program for 2-4 week and then jump to BB prgmme(which almost inc isolation excsice)..it more appropriate for begginer to solidify their fondation 1st
Armesh
post Aug 24 2016, 05:47 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(toman88 @ Aug 24 2016, 05:00 PM)
the progrm itself yes..but strength foundation is advise to cont for 6m-1year if youre newbie..
you willl see the result much better compare fastly wanna to jump for BB regime..

the is much more to choose
SS
5x3 mark riptoe
powerlifting to win
cube methode

just adjust yourself which program is suit you...
im advising to choose the program base on your weight load periodization WLP
e.g
Ss n mark riptoe program..the add weight for each session until platue
the you can jump to next strength program (which is WLP is much longer such as 2time a week or 1time a week --> biweekly exp p2w --> once a month exp 531)
the process continue until 6m-1 year depend on how you feel n strength gain

instead  just do strength program for 2-4 week and then jump to BB prgmme(which almost inc isolation excsice)..it more appropriate for begginer to solidify their fondation 1st
The proper approach is actually run SS for 1-2 months at start, then from that point onward just write your own programs. Doing all those cookie cutters like 531, cube method or whatever is almost always useless. Volume is highly specific to the individual.

U can easily write a good P/P/L which revolves around compound movements for yourself.
toman88
post Aug 25 2016, 10:25 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Aug 24 2016, 05:47 PM)
The proper approach is actually run SS for 1-2 months at start, then from that point onward just write your own programs. Doing all those cookie cutters like 531, cube method or whatever is almost always useless. Volume is highly specific to the individual.

U can easily write a good P/P/L which revolves around compound movements for yourself.
yeah,of coz you can write your own program (if u know what is u doing n principle behind the regime) ..what i give is an example program base on their weight loading duration..n that is not issue here..my point is newbie should focus on their foundation 1st
axtray
post Aug 25 2016, 06:48 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Aug 24 2016, 05:47 PM)

Wanted to ignore this but then amongst all the programs, the Mr no gains is saying 5/3/1 is useless. funny that his over complicated meso watever cycle seem to produce virtually 0 result (feel free to checkout his journal for testament). even worse, the same dude who was complaining that missing a week of training = having to redo a whole month's worth of routine.

Not saying PPL is a bad routine per se (doing something almost similar myself and producing result). but his "i know best attitude" is something that i'm advising others to take his advice with a grain of salt.

Quoting below. Seriously?

QUOTE(Armesh @ Jul 7 2016, 10:38 AM)
Here we go again... hate this shit.

https://scontent-kul1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0...893&oe=57ED97D6

Wed,Thurs - Sat, Sun. There goes 4 of my training days, which is actually 1 microcycle of my 4 weeks mesocycle. Screwing up my 1 month training plan... just because someone wanted to Raya.

Now have to redo the 1 month cycle when the gym reopen. Wasted 1 month.

And people still ask me why my gains suck even after training after 1 year+, here's your answer. Setbacks which I have no control over.
Excuses will get you nowhere.
heavensea
post Aug 25 2016, 07:43 PM

9,616 posts

youtube is useful AFTER you already familliar with workout..

be humble and ask ppl at gym... (especially those cheapskate gym, they are friendly to help)
heavensea
post Aug 25 2016, 07:45 PM

9,616 posts

ya ts 1 more thing, don't buy protein shake or whatever first.. bazir $$

it's better you "eat healthier" + sleep better everyday after workout..
Armesh
post Aug 26 2016, 12:48 AM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Aug 25 2016, 06:48 PM)
Wanted to ignore this but then amongst all the programs, the Mr no gains is saying 5/3/1 is useless. funny that his over complicated meso watever cycle seem to produce virtually 0 result (feel free to checkout his journal for testament). even worse, the same dude who was complaining that missing a week of training = having to redo a whole month's worth of routine.

Not saying PPL is a bad routine per se (doing something almost similar myself and producing result). but his "i know best attitude" is something that i'm advising others to take his advice with a grain of salt.
Quoting below. Seriously?
Excuses will get you nowhere.
The original 5/3/1 is a joke. The volume so low only the gifted can grow on that. However 5/3/1 BBB version is decent.

Missing a week of training usually causes me to be super sore once back to hitting the gym. So I have like spend a week to ease into my normal routine, thus must reset my monthly cycle.
bafukie
post Aug 26 2016, 07:37 AM

1,406 posts

ANY program and i mean ANY program can help you build muscle given you do it consistently, adhere to it and progressive moving forward. Those are the foundation of bodybuilding. Please check out Eric Helms Muscle and Strength Pyramid Training. Good info from one of the respectable guys (at least for me).
Armesh
post Aug 26 2016, 10:20 AM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Aug 26 2016, 07:37 AM)
ANY program and i mean ANY program can help you build muscle given you do it consistently, adhere to it and progressive moving forward. Those are the foundation of bodybuilding. Please check out Eric Helms Muscle and Strength Pyramid Training. Good info from one of the respectable guys (at least for me).
No, only if the volume is sufficient for growth for you. Not "any".
axtray
post Aug 26 2016, 02:27 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Aug 26 2016, 12:48 AM)
The original 5/3/1 is a joke. The volume so low only the gifted can grow on that. However 5/3/1 BBB version is decent.

Missing a week of training usually causes me to be super sore once back to hitting the gym. So I have like spend a week to ease into my normal routine, thus must reset my monthly cycle.
the best way natural lifters going to gain muscle is by gaining strength and the best way to gain strength is by going lower volume "first", hence all the available strength programs scattered around. only by consistently going at it for a while only then you can opt (and i again i say "opt") to modify or create a new routine. 1 or 2 f*cking month won't ever be enough for a complete newbie to sufficiently obtain the knowledge and even strength to start his own routine. Small wonder your lifts continued to be as mediocre as your strength and muscle gains.

the fact that missing only a week of training = becoming super sore. pretty sure the rest of the sifus are laughing reading this. Let's be honest, most of them just couldn't be bothered anymore.

Armesh
post Aug 26 2016, 02:34 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(axtray @ Aug 26 2016, 02:27 PM)
the best way natural lifters going to gain muscle is by gaining strength and the best way to gain strength is by going lower volume "first", hence all the available strength programs scattered around. only by consistently going at it for a while only then you can opt (and i again i say "opt") to modify or create a new routine. 1 or 2 f*cking month won't ever be enough for a complete newbie to sufficiently obtain the knowledge and even strength to start his own routine. Small wonder your lifts continued to be as mediocre as your strength and muscle gains.

the fact that missing only a week of training = becoming super sore. pretty sure the rest of the sifus are laughing reading this. Let's be honest, most of them just couldn't be bothered anymore.
Well I guess I am the joke here.

axtray
post Aug 26 2016, 02:42 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Aug 26 2016, 02:34 PM)
Well I guess I am the joke here.
had always been.
bafukie
post Aug 26 2016, 09:03 PM

1,406 posts

Lets not derail the thread here. Choose a program u van adhere to, consistently work out n the gains will come. Applicable to all new to bodybuilding. And it applies to u too armesh. N me smile.gif

0.0172sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:04 AM