Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.14, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

wjchay
post Aug 26 2016, 07:08 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(ryancars88 @ Aug 26 2016, 08:02 PM)
It is a totally different thing. The product is savings plan 10k per annum for continuous 5 or 6 years then only can get 5.18% for your 10k FD
Hlb keeps calling me for this kind of savings plan, but I don't trust them, never bothered to take up their offer to meet and talk.

I don't know why they can't send over all the facts by email.
wjchay
post Oct 18 2016, 04:14 PM

645 posts

Are there any charges for FPX transfer for HLB 4% eFD?

Edit: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...-Accounts#72596

According to FAQ No 7:
7. Are there any charges when using this service?
You may be charged a flat rate or a percentage of your total transaction amount.

This post has been edited by wjchay: Oct 18 2016, 04:45 PM
wjchay
post Oct 26 2016, 01:51 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(anwa @ Oct 26 2016, 01:21 PM)
As mentioned by another forumer and myself, can check via M2U:

Account & Banking > Fixed Deposits & Mudarabah IA > View my accounts > General Investment Account-i (GIA-i) > check the cert with 12 months, it will show the % with exclamation mark
I also cannot find the interest rate.

wjchay
post Oct 27 2016, 07:33 AM

645 posts

ok confirm 12 mths GIA-i no more, but 6 months still available. I just uplifted my 12 mths and deposited 6 mths, effective interest is shown.
wjchay
post Oct 28 2016, 10:57 AM

645 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 28 2016, 12:03 AM)
Went to Maybank tis morning
My RM informed 12 mths still available
I did maybank 2u online only, no more 12 months promo. Yesterday I did online 6 months, still could get 6months promo.
wjchay
post Nov 2 2016, 09:52 AM

645 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Nov 1 2016, 09:34 PM)
if put via m2u, just choose 12 months and automatically get promo rate d? or need any other steps?
Yes, also take not that this is step up. After placing 12 months, go back to view the account/cert created, mouse over the interest rate.

I just uplifted my 6 mths and changed to 12 mths today.
wjchay
post Nov 2 2016, 11:30 AM

645 posts

QUOTE(Jeck10 @ Nov 2 2016, 12:18 PM)
Hi it's my first time here, when I clicked "continue" after selecting GIA, it came out with a list of questions and eventually asking whether I accept to place under mudarabah..am I at the right place? Thanks in advance! smile.gif
Yes, just answer yes, whatever, then you are good to go.
wjchay
post Nov 2 2016, 01:46 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(babienn @ Nov 2 2016, 02:22 PM)
weird thing, I tried to place RM10,000 into GIA via web M2U for 12 months. And it is still 3.6% interest (shown on mobile app M2U)?
I am not sure about mobile app, but login using web, mouseover the icon next to 3.6%, it will show you the step up interests.
wjchay
post Nov 3 2016, 08:59 AM

645 posts

QUOTE(Jeck10 @ Nov 2 2016, 11:29 PM)
Done and thanks for clarity. smile.gif Btw, I'm not good with fd so may I know why it seems like a big concern to many with the 0.something difference in interest rate. Do you guys really put so much that it makes a big difference in the returns? Is fd like an investment tool for you guys and what do you usually use with the returns you got upon maturity?
For me, these are the things considered when placing FD:
- only park funds in FD for 1) unable to find better returns elsewhere (temporary), 2) diversification/safety net
- ease of placement - distance, parking, queue, online, flexibility of withdrawal vs effective net returns

Everyone would have their own parameter to work with. Iam sure most people would have other investments rather than relying on FD alone.

wjchay
post Nov 3 2016, 11:42 AM

645 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Nov 3 2016, 11:10 AM)
OCBC only offering me 3.9% for 13-mth (conventional) and 3.95% for 13-mth (islamic).

Any idea if its "safe" (ie slightly higher than FD rate is enough for me) to go for Hwang Select Bond Fund or RHB Asian Income?
Anything other than FD would be OT. Although I have been through where you are right now, looking for something a little riskier but a bit more return, possibly for diversification. I found the answer in cash trust. I am not selling but I know someone who owns an agency.

If you are interested, PM me, because this is OT.

wjchay
post Nov 14 2016, 10:35 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(Vizhai @ Nov 14 2016, 10:54 PM)
How to get that redemption code? '
I already download the maxis app, but no idea how to get that code.
it will be grateful if u can share with me thank you.
Only if u r maxis one club member. You are a member if u are or were paying > rm150 / mth.

I'm on 98 plan, so I.am not a member sad.gif
wjchay
post Nov 15 2016, 07:56 AM

645 posts

QUOTE(PenangLaksa @ Nov 15 2016, 02:13 AM)
dunno why I am a member of the club as I was on the surfmore plan which cost me less than <100RM/month...
Maybe u once was on a >150/nth plan. This was what cs told me.
wjchay
post Nov 15 2016, 09:47 AM

645 posts

QUOTE(Vizhai @ Nov 15 2016, 09:21 AM)
Today manage to put 4.15% online. Thank you for all the advice here, let huat TOGETHER.
I have moneybox account, car loan account, but HL Connect does not allow me to participate in this promo sad.gif

QUOTE(joeduff @ Nov 15 2016, 10:31 AM)
i would like to ask I placed Maybank GIA for 12 months, but the profit rate show on my certificate is "Rate as declared on maturity date", how can i know whether i am enjoying the 4.10%p.a campaign rate or not??
You will only know after you have made completed the deposit, but hovering mouse over the (i) icon when you view the new placement. I think recently someone said 12 months no more, only left 6 mths promo.
wjchay
post Nov 15 2016, 12:27 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Nov 15 2016, 12:08 PM)
Did u do it correctly?

Follow the steps.

Click Apply button

Then from there choose FD placement

The rest simple steps easy to follow

nothing to do with Money Box.

But, u have to have a conventional HLB account i guess
I followed the steps here: https://www.hlb.com.my/main/promotion/20161...1-4pc-6month-fd

wjchay
post Nov 15 2016, 04:25 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(joeduff @ Nov 15 2016, 04:29 PM)
can you see my image in attachment? i doesn't see any (i) icon on my placement view......
12 months promo no more already, it was mentioned before.
wjchay
post Nov 15 2016, 04:27 PM

645 posts

Has anyone successfully placed 6 mths 4.2% FD with HLB-Maxis promo? How is the process over the counter? Can describe?

wjchay
post Dec 6 2016, 09:51 AM

645 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Dec 6 2016, 10:43 AM)
Seldom see there is online FD placement for promotion. Hopefully other banks use this way too so there is no need to go over banks.
Unfortunately, it doesn't work with moneybox account. I have to find time just to go to counter to open a SA.
wjchay
post Dec 7 2016, 03:57 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Dec 6 2016, 09:30 PM)
Hello guys, any of you place fd through Mach? Can I uplift it today if the maturity date is today? Then I can do the fpx for 4.15 biggrin.gif
I have moneybox, car loan account, and FD account with HLB. No CASA. I tried but failed to do the fpx 4.15%.

That was 2 weeks ago.
wjchay
post Dec 7 2016, 04:45 PM

645 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 7 2016, 05:24 PM)
I think the promo is for HLB not Mach right?
The promo is for HLConnect, which I also have.

wjchay
post Dec 9 2016, 05:27 PM

645 posts

Guys, for affin promo, they hv average rates finely printed at the bottom. I guess these are the effective rates?

0.0762sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:18 AM