ILLEGEAR Custom Gaming Laptops v.3, RTX ON! ILLEGEAR RTX Gaming Notebook.

zstan
post Jun 19 2017, 08:37 PM

15,856 posts

Hello. May i know how is the battery life for the U3? Can it last for 8 hours or more?
zstan
post Jun 20 2017, 10:58 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(AZIM@ILLEGEAR @ Jun 20 2017, 09:50 AM)
Hello smile.gif It can last around 7-8 hours upon normal surfing based on our testing, but some users reported that the battery lasted beyond 8 hours too. Depends on each user's usage actually, but the long lasting battery life is contributed because of the absence of the discrete GPU, kindly note.
Thanks for the info. Since U3 has a Type C USB, I am assuming that it can be charged using a powerbank?
zstan
post Sep 19 2018, 02:16 PM

15,856 posts

Any owners for more than a year here? how's your laptop doing so far? ever since the day i bought my illegear u4 it has been plagued with problems, especially the monitor. and yesterday the monitor just died again for some reason. probably have to send it back to get it fixed again. i think my laptop spent roughly a month getting fixed in a year of purchase.

not sure if it's user problem, or my luck is bad, or i've gotten a lemon unit, or illegear is just unreliable.
zstan
post Sep 19 2018, 04:59 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Sep 19 2018, 04:30 PM)
First gen customer from illegear here. Now my Sager Np8130 is 7 years old ( bought Aug 11) So far it has survived almost 24/7 heavy use. I am using it as my main application development work ( running application server/ rule engine/ databases / mobile app development) and entertainment device after office hours ( playing games / watching movies ) definitely no triple A games but casual ones like two point hospital still can run.

Current status : the back bottom case is already cracked and the battery is dead ( i believe its the 3rd one im buying), The hdmi port is dead but the dvi one still alive.

But other than that its still alive and kicking.

wow that seems pretty bruised. does your heavy use include regular travelling? guess my luck is pretty horrible then. so frustrating.
zstan
post Sep 19 2018, 09:30 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Sep 19 2018, 05:08 PM)
Yeah travelling with it as my second office is Indonesia and Turkey. Probably you just need to replace the panel which is the main problemt. What other problem that you been having other than the display?
guess my unit is lemon then. or the materials they used damn fragile hahaha. on the other hand, my lenovo thinkpad which i have been using since 8 years ago, which i am using now to type this message since my illegear laptop is dysfunctional still works perfectly well, just damn slow since no SSD lol.

the panel had been replaced already in fact. when i first bought the screen had been flickering for some reason. sent for repairs, came back, still same issue. then finally they replaced the screen for me. now this issue again. aikz. so much time lost as i can't do my work properly for few days to a week.

and me being in east malaysia just makes things even harder to access support services hahaha.
zstan
post Sep 19 2018, 09:31 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(AZIM@ILLEGEAR @ Sep 19 2018, 05:46 PM)
Hi zstan, I'm truly sorry to see that you are experiencing this problem. I believe our Support Team has contacted you via WhatsApp? If not, you can also PM me your WhatsApp number and we shall arrange for a reverse pickup for your laptop accordingly.
yes already arranged accordingly thank you biggrin.gif
zstan
post Sep 21 2018, 08:43 PM

15,856 posts

So it's been 1.5 days and my laptop has yet to be collected by GDEX. Have to wait until Monday again and HOPE they turn up. Not sure if GDEX is really so incompetent or illegear customer service is just taking their own sweet time. 😂

Also don't understand why I can't just drop off my laptop at the GDEX office. Maybe I should just pay my own courier fees instead of waiting blindly for the weekend.

Oh well beggars can't be choosers. . 🤭

This post has been edited by zstan: Sep 21 2018, 08:44 PM
zstan
post Sep 24 2018, 10:10 PM

15,856 posts

Maybe it's about time to change a shipping agent. My laptop is still uncollected sweat.gif
zstan
post Oct 8 2018, 12:18 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(nycz1990 @ Oct 8 2018, 12:09 PM)
Hello Prince J, thank you for getting back to me on this long overdue conversation. Firstly I would like to address that I do not appreciate you addressing my Real name in this forum here as there is a reason why I specifically used a LYN persona. I am pretty sure things will not go comfortably too for you if I addressed your real name here.

As for the offensive remarks directed towards you, I do admit that I got too caught up in the moment and I sincerely apologize for it. However, I hope you understand where I am coming from as a consumer, going through that ridiculous RMA process with stil no proper resolution in sight. Other consumers have voiced out ther opinions to me too via FB/LYN pm's so I am definitely sure that I am not the only one suffering. Let me remind you too that aside from stress/grievance and additional cost, this issue has also costed me one client when I did not have access to my laptop to work properly during the down time. I for one would like to keep my private and professional life separate but since I placed my trust in illegear's products the end result is inevitable.

For the scratch issue, I was actually advised by my lawyer to keep things as it is in order to preserve the quality after the most recent RMA. I truly did not wish to mention it before this however since you guys highlighted and pointed it out insistently during the 1 to 1 attempt, stating it is one of the main reasons why your manufacturer did not want to honor the warranty, I had no choice but to point out my experience with it. I was pissed out of my mind because I for one am very meticulous and careful with my laptop especially so after the key and bezel issues. Therefore, any cosmetic damages will be extremely noticeable for me and I am pretty sure I have no means to create it unless I use a screwdriver constantly on my palmrest.

I have actually editted my second post to point out that the bribe attempt was in actual fact a compensation for all of the troubles that I went through. I will edit out the rest of my post too so thank you for pointing it out.

Since there are actions being taken, I will retract  my lawyer's letter for now to clear things up and make sure we are on the same page. Again, thank you for finally reaching out to me personally and I hope you guys will take things more seriously as there are obviously a lot of unhappy customers going through the same issue as me but having no other means to voice out their feelings.
i feel you biggrin.gif my laptop also had tonnes of problems
zstan
post Oct 11 2018, 12:36 PM

15,856 posts

So my laptop is finally back after a week in the workshop. But it was sent back without my charger. Not sure whether to laugh or cry.

This post has been edited by zstan: Oct 11 2018, 12:44 PM
zstan
post Oct 11 2018, 08:53 PM

15,856 posts

Anybody have any recommendations for 3rd party chargers? Not sure how my charger can go missing after packing it with the laptop and even taking a photo of it before. Guess my luck has been horrible since the day I purchased the U4. If only the laptop was reliable and i didn't even have to send my laptop back and forth then this wouldn't have happened. My mistake also for sending the charger along with the laptop. But since i didn't record myself packing the charger before delivery i will have to accept lah right.

What is more shocking is that Illegear does not keep any stock and have to order from their supplier which will take another 4 weeks and hundred of ringgit to buy it. I really can't wait for another month to use this laptop doh.gif

so yeah, any recommendations would be welcomed.
zstan
post Oct 12 2018, 08:26 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(jrlogger @ Oct 11 2018, 09:14 PM)
Can try Asus/MSI/Clevo power bricks

Level51's P-13 charger will fit your U4 too, perhaps you can ask for a quote.
Thanks for the tip. Will try.

QUOTE(Prince J @ Oct 12 2018, 12:13 AM)
Hi zstan,

The picture you took are the laptop, your laptop pouch and the charger on your table, it did not show the box packaging and where the charger placed inside the box.

We are pretty sure there was no charger in your pouch (or box) the time we received your laptop according to the CCTV footage, and it's quite impossible for the charger to went missing during the transit as the pouch was closed tightly.

Azim also had to borrow our colleague Shima's charger to test your laptop at that time.

Kindly check your surrounding as the charger was mostly likely not sent in.

As for the price, we quoted you the same price as previously the time you asked for an additional charger price, plus SST.

Thank you.
Sorry i should have recorded myself packing the laptop into the box. And taking every wrapping for each step that i've done. Lesson learnt. Thinking back I probably wrapped the charger in the newspapers instead of stuffing it in the pouch. Did you guys check the newspaper wrappings or threw it all away? I don't know about Illegear but other companies i've dealt with will confirm with the client on the contents when they received the package. My bad for not reminding Illegear staff to double confirm the contents when the laptop arrived at your facility.

But the main issue now is how can a laptop manufacturer like Illegear run out of the most basic peripherals at their facility? Your staff even had to borrow another staff's charger? Wow. What happens if Shima decided to resign one day and the next day a customer with a U4 sends his laptop in with a faulty battery. Are you going to tell the customer to wait for 4 weeks for you guys to order a charger first? Unbelievable.

zstan
post Oct 12 2018, 04:52 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(AZIM@ILLEGEAR @ Oct 12 2018, 01:06 PM)
Hi zstan, we are not sure why you are reacting in this way despite we have verified that the adapter was not received on our end during the time of unboxing. By observing the CCTV footage, we also did not notice any traces of newspaper inside the box.

As for our colleague's laptop, the device is a company asset regardless of her resignation/availability. Nevertheless, we shall assist you accordingly regarding any issues for your laptop since the laptop is still covered under warranty and should you wish to obtain the CCTV footage, we can provide to you via WhatsApp as well, hope this clarifies.
Yes please send the cctv footage to me. i stuffed the entire box with newspapers as cushioning and apparently now there's no newspapers. wonder what happened during transit.
zstan
post Oct 13 2018, 03:51 PM

15,856 posts

Dedicated to existing U4 users:

So if your charger happens to mysteriously dissapear and Illegear does not have an immediate replacement which you may have to pay RM400 for, you can opt to buy Innergie's Power Gear 90 and get the B1 tip which fits perfectly, fortunately.

Alternatively I've also tried the latest the chargers by Lenovo laptops and their adapters work as well.

Unfortunately this 3rd party adapter is much more bulkier than the original adapter that came with the U4 but I will have to live with that. There are much slimmer models but The sales guy mentioned the other Innergie's models do not have a fitting tip so I settled for this.

0.0478sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:53 AM