demon invasion exp nerf

TSdimensionx
post Aug 17 2016, 08:11 AM, updated 10y ago

23 posts

was having fun leveling alts to level 100 via demon invasions. before the nerf, level 90 toon can get to level 100 after doing 16 invasions. Now each invasion rewards only 33% as much exp. But the frequency has increased to 3 invasions every 2 hours instead of earlier 2 invasionms every 4 hours. So for those who has some alt toons sitting around with nothing to do, you might just want to send them to invasion zone and get exp for free. Just sitting around doing nothing already qualify for getting the exp when each stage is completed.

only level 10 and above toon can qualify to take part in demon invasion by the way. Low level toons get more exp than high level.

This post has been edited by dimensionx: Aug 17 2016, 08:11 AM
helven
post Aug 17 2016, 12:10 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

may I ask, just sitting there afk? not even need to tag the mob?
A trick I can think of to make the invasion faster could be let a low lvl tank the boss and let the high lvl healer heals the tank. Yesterday there was only llike 5 ally and 1 horde fighting the entire invasion in tanaris, guess nobody wants to do it now since the reward is meh..what can I do with the shards?
TSdimensionx
post Aug 17 2016, 08:41 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Aug 17 2016, 12:10 PM)
A trick I can think of to make the invasion faster could be let a low lvl tank the boss and let the high lvl healer heals the tank. Yesterday there was only llike 5 ally and 1 horde fighting the entire invasion in tanaris, guess nobody wants to do it now since the reward is meh..what can I do with the shards?
You don't need to tag the mob to earn the stage completion exp. You can also tag the mob to earn "level appropriate" exp when it dies, but I find tagging big mob does not necessary mean you will get lots of exp. I found my low level toon actually get more exp fighting the smaller invasion mob that I can kill comfortably. Killing boss level mob at stage 3 is a good way to get shards quickly though.

As for shards, you can use it for a variety of purpose as below.

http://www.wowhead.com/guides/legion/pre-p...ent#accessories

helven
post Aug 18 2016, 04:17 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

Any usage of the shards besides item from those NPC? to me those are not very useful.
Since after the afk exp nerve, they also buff the demon. Solo demon grant quite good exp but it can be screwed by any lvl100 that tag it in the mid of fight.
TSdimensionx
post Aug 19 2016, 02:04 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Aug 18 2016, 04:17 PM)
Any usage of the shards besides item from those NPC? to me those are not very useful.
Since after the afk exp nerve, they also buff the demon. Solo demon grant quite good exp but it can be screwed by any lvl100 that tag it in the mid of fight.
Shards are actually not very useful once you already have better gears than what can be bought. The buff items will expire in a very short time so they have hardly any real use. The gears are only at ilevel 700 so it is only good for those players who just level a toon to 100, or in the midst of leveling. I carry lots of shards in many toons, planning to just by stuff and vendors them later.

For soloing mob, I usually go to out of the way places during stage 3 so there is less chance of people tagging.

kimp
post Aug 20 2016, 11:01 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Aug 17 2016, 12:10 PM)
camping azshara < --- > cross road <------- > westfall

afk = 1/2 level per invasion

stage 1/2/3/4 kill elite mobs = 4 level per invasion

idk ur server , but mine in nagrand always dozen of erm during invasion + latency lag so bad but still worth to do it

never join invasion < 20 mins , wait for new invasion .

TSdimensionx
post Aug 22 2016, 07:59 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(kimp @ Aug 20 2016, 11:01 PM)
camping azshara < --- > cross road <------- > westfall

afk = 1/2 level per invasion

stage 1/2/3/4 kill elite mobs = 4 level per invasion

idk ur server , but mine in nagrand always dozen of erm during invasion + latency lag so bad but still worth to do it

never join invasion < 20 mins , wait for new invasion .
you are correct. the recent exp nerf has made it worthwhile to tag and kill elite mob which is +2 level higher than you. During stage 3, usually a big group of players will fly together to get to the next elite mob on map. It is better to just follow them around and join in for the kill, than trying to kill smaller mobs on your own. Need to avoid dying though or won't get the exp when the mob dies.
kEazYc
post Aug 22 2016, 10:16 AM

1,314 posts

edit: oh didn't notice someone mentioned this easy leveling trick lel.

If you want ez exp:-

1. get invited to a group while in Stage 1.
2. afk in an inn.
3. once Stage 2 complete, relog, rinse and repeat steps 1-3.
4. ???
5. profit.

This post has been edited by kEazYc: Aug 22 2016, 10:17 AM
helven
post Aug 22 2016, 12:56 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Aug 22 2016, 10:16 AM)

2. afk in an inn.
4. ???
5. profit.
afk doesn't give much exp after the nerf, tagging mob gives more, bliz buff the mob exp..those boss mob gives more exp.
kEazYc
post Aug 22 2016, 06:06 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(helven @ Aug 22 2016, 12:56 PM)
afk doesn't give much exp after the nerf, tagging mob gives more, bliz buff the mob exp..those boss mob gives more exp.
as long someone in your group is tagging all the mob, you still get the same amount of exp based on your level even if you join the fight or just afk.

This post has been edited by kEazYc: Aug 22 2016, 06:07 PM
TSdimensionx
post Aug 26 2016, 12:14 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Aug 22 2016, 10:16 AM)

2. afk in an inn.
4. ???
5. profit.
Well, actually this trick is not that great. I tested it a few rounds, it takes around 5-6 minutes to complete the whole cycle and it rewards about 5-6 bars of exp after level 90. If everyone has stayed and completes all the stage, and follow the big group to kill +2 elite mobs, everyone will have get more than 22 bars of exp, and it takes around 15-20 minutes depending on how fast everyone travels to the right elite. The key is to get into a big group though, otherwise you won't get that much exp.

However, due to more and more people knows about the trick mentioned above, the group that try to complete all stages now are usually left with not enough people to kill elite boss fast enough and it takes longer most of the time. So if really wants to get exp as fast as possible, best bet now is to use the above described method.

kEazYc
post Aug 26 2016, 05:07 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(dimensionx @ Aug 26 2016, 12:14 PM)
Well, actually this trick is not that great. I tested it a few rounds, it takes around 5-6 minutes to complete the whole cycle and it rewards about 5-6 bars of exp after level 90. If everyone has stayed and completes all the stage, and follow the big group to kill +2 elite mobs, everyone will have get more than 22 bars of exp, and it takes around 15-20 minutes depending on how fast everyone travels to the right elite. The key is to get into a big group though, otherwise you won't get that much exp.

However, due to more and more people knows about the trick mentioned above, the group that try to complete all stages now are usually left with not enough people to kill elite boss fast enough and it takes longer most of the time. So if really wants to get exp as fast as possible, best bet now is to use the above described method.
I rotate in-between the mentioned method depending on the crowd, if i don't get group after few shout on Stage 3 then i will just reset to Stage 1.

0.0161sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:18 PM