126 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Sony-Ericsson ♪ ♪ Sony Ericsson W810i Thread V4 ♪ ♪, anyone to take over as the next TS?

TSshortleg88
post Dec 7 2006, 08:59 PM, updated 19y ago

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

WELCOME TO THE OFFICIAL W810 THREAD V4!
Also known as the Eiten-Tan Support Centre.

People... Thanks for all your help in making this thread as lively as it is! We are currently still in need of:

1. More tips and tricks (ones exclusive to the W810i would be good)
2. History of the W810i (if anyone can find it)
3. Parts/Service pricing (Need more info... PM me if you have info about flashing, skinning, and the best prices of any W810i related accessories!)
4. A wiki for the W810i (and how am I supposed to do this>)
5. Frimware changelog (now that a new firmware update has materialized, it seems - R4EA031)

Anything else?

This post has been edited by shortleg88: Mar 29 2007, 01:47 PM
TSshortleg88
post Dec 7 2006, 08:59 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

INTRODUCTION
(Courtesy Wikipedia)

On January 4, 2006, Sony Ericsson announced the W810 Walkman quad band mobile phone. All the key features of its successful predecessor, the triband Sony Ericsson W800 remain the same, while the W810 also offers an FM radio (with RDS), and connectivity to EDGE networks for fast data transfer.

Other noticeable features include a full function internet browser, 2 megapixel digital camera with autofocus, Memory Stick Pro Duo slot, and a music-only mode where phone functions are fully turned off. In addition to providing longer battery-life, this mode also allows the phone to be used as a Walkman in areas mobile phones would usually be barred from, such as aeroplanes and hospitals. The phone supports MP3 and AAC audio and MPEG4 and 3GPP video media formats.

There are many small changes from the Sony Ericsson W800, but most noticeable is the absence of the classic joystick that has been found on the majority of Sony Ericsson mobile phones since the Sony Ericsson T610. This has been replaced by a D-pad designed to improve ease of use when listening to music. The casing colour has also changed from burnt orange and cream to Satin Black, and the sliding camera lens cover has been left off.

The W810 was released in April 2006 and is now available worldwide. This new SE product has received much acclaim in reviews and provides something for other music-phone competitors to try and match.

SPECIFICATIONS

(Courtesy www.mobique.com / SE W810i white paper)

This post has been edited by shortleg88: Dec 7 2006, 09:14 PM
TSshortleg88
post Dec 7 2006, 09:00 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

PRICE WATCH

Mobile88 E-price

BDL's Price List here in LYN

Amedion's Price List here in LYN

IN THE BOX

W810i Da Vinci Edition (Midlands Original Set):

1 x W810i (Firmware: R4CK003)
1 x Battery (BST-37)
1 x 512MB SanDisk MS Duo Pro with adapter
1 x Fast Port Usb Cable (DCU-60)
1 x PcSuite CD with Disc2Phone software
1 x Original Fast Port Charger (CST-60)
1 x Original Warranty Card
1 x Original stereo hands-free (headset) (HPM-70 - Black version) with extra earbuds (different sizes)
1 x User Manual
1 X Da Vinci Pouch
1 x Da Vinci Phone Strap
1 x Da Vinci Screen Protector.

W810i Normal Retail (Midlands Original Set):old batch

1 x W810i (Firmware: according to phone)
1 x Battery (BST-37)
1 x 512MB SanDisk MS Duo Pro with adapter
1 x Original stereo hands-free (headset) (HPM-70 - Black/Silver/White version) with extra earbuds (different sizes)
1 x User Manual

W810i Normal Retail (Midlands Original Set):new batch

1 x W810i (Firmware: according to phone)
1 x Battery (BST-37)
1 x 512MB Sony MS Duo Pro with adapter
1 x Original stereo hands-free (headset) (HPM-70 - Black/Silver/White version) with extra earbuds (different sizes)
1 x User Manual

(Any other variations in content, AP or normal Ori? Inform me please)

FIRMWARE UPDATES (No changelog yet... icon_question.gif )

(Courtesy www.se-world.info)

(Latest on top)

R4EA031(NEWEST!!!)

R4DB005

R4CM001

R4CK003 (Current official Firmware)

R4CF002

R4CE012

R4CA026 (First production Firmware)

change log for firmware of w810i (courtesy of evilhomura89)
sorry, only available in chinese

HOW TO UPDATE YOUR FIRMWARE

1. Go to your nearest Sony Service center and ask for an firmware update (Check Below for Service Center contact details.

2. Update through SEUS -----> download the software HERE and then get instructions for it HERE (Sony Ericsson official guide PDF) or HERE (simpler instructions on sombody's blog... Its for the K750i, but the same thing applies to the W810i).

Warning, a botched SEUS upgrade (which happens quite a lot) would usually mean a trip to the nearest service center for repairs, no Win XP style System Restore here... sweat.gif

Courtesy of moon*

3. Update Over The Air (OTA). Applies if you have the financial resources to pay for extended GPRS/EDGE sessions... Safer then SEUS in a way... smile.gif

SERVICE CENTER DETAILS

(Courtesy shinchan^^)

This post has been edited by shortleg88: Dec 31 2006, 12:31 AM
TSshortleg88
post Dec 7 2006, 09:01 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

(Many thanks to shinchan^^ from the W800i V5 Thread)

1. How many SMS can W810i store?
If you rather not hack your W810i (which is still, as of yet, impossible BTW), its still 200.

2.What are the differences between the K750i, the W800i and the W810i?
i. External housing: The W810i's Black! rclxm9.gif

ii. Hardware Shortcut Keys: The W800i has the Walkman shortcut key instead of K750i 's Activity Menu. The W810i, has both... thumbup.gif

iii. Flight Mode: Available on the W800i/W810i, not on the K750i

iv. Camera cover: K750i/W800i, yeah. W810i, no. cry.gif

v. Standard Packaging: W800i/W810i - HPM-70 headphones and 512mb Memory Stick Pro Duo. K750i - normal handsfree and 64mb MSPD.

vi. Maximum supported MSPD
K750i/W800i = 2GB
W810i = 4GB drool.gif
3. What can I use to save my phone contacts / SMSes to my PC?
Use floAt's Mobile Agent MyPhoneExplorer, available HERE ...

4. What video / audio files does the phone support?
Video Support : mpeg-4, 3gpp, h.263, xmf, svgt
Audio Support : midi, midi40, amr, aac, wav (16kHz only), mp3, mp4

5. Does the W810i support stereo Bluetooth headphones (A2DP)?
No. Again.

7. What about the WHITE W810i? Any news? (UPDATED!)
Its officially launched!! Details on mobile-burn.com HERE...
but it's low on stock at the moment. If u r patience enough to wait, care to do so. It is reminded that the colour is a matter of self preference. Some may prefer black more. So make ur choice wisely.

8. Why can't I see the pictures I just copied into the DCIM folders?
External files are only allowed in Media/Pictures folders only.
Memory Stick ---> DCIM folders --> only allows for DSCxxxxx.jpg format picture files.

9. How Long do I need to charge the phone for the first time?
Approx. 8 hours

10. The battery meter's increasing/decreasing a little sometimes? Is this normal?
Yes is it, because the W810i's battery meter actually calculates how much the battery is under certain loads (like your laptop).

11. Why is it that my included Memory Stick Pro Duo is SanDisk and not the official Sony product? Even though I just spent (insert hard-earned amount here) on an Original Midlands phone?
Most of the units available here is bundled with the SanDisk MSPD. Sandisk MSPDs and Sony MagicGate MSPD are same thing (the two companies got together to create MSPDs in the first place). Though the new batch now comes with Sony MSPD instead.

12. Can I IRC chat on my phone?
Yes. Use jmIRC (available HERE ), Virca (available HERE ) or WLIRC (available HERE )... icon_rolleyes.gif

13. Can I open MS Word files on my phone?
No, not until Picsel Viewer comes as a (preferably free) J2ME app (oh god please!)... Tho I seem to remember a Java app that can open up .doc files... sweat.gif

14. NetFront is just plain crap. Are there any alternatives?
Yep. Opera Mini, the best java browser on earth. Get the hacked version (faster, with a lot of extras including better GPRS connection... but still at version 1.2) HERE, and the Official version 2.0 release HERE ... thumbup.gif

15. Can I IM with my W810i? (NEW!!)
Yahoo, no... But you can MSN on your phone. Setup details below...

16. Can I use Gmail with my W810i?
Certainly! See instructions below...

SETTING UP THE EMAIL CLIENT FOR GMAIL

SETTING UP "MY FRIENDS" TO USE MSN THROUGH SMARTVAS (NEW!!)

(Courtesy Esato forums)

TIPS AND TRICKS

(Again, thanks to shinchan^^)

Modifying your beloved w810i (Note : do it at your own risk)
(again, courtesy of evilhumora89)

This post has been edited by shortleg88: Mar 28 2007, 11:28 PM
TSshortleg88
post Dec 7 2006, 09:02 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

Photos of the W810i

My white W810i Flickr album

Eiraku's W810i Flickr album

Reviews

Mobile-Review
- In my opinion, the best review site on the internet (as they get to test a lot of new phones even before they hit the market). A lot of pictures and info makes this review extremely worth reading.

Mobile Review Music Phones Comparison
- Comparing the W810i with other current (at that time) music phones.

Mobiledia
- In depth and very useful.

Mobile Burn
- Another in depth review.

Eiraku's Review Here on LYN
- Still ongoing, but he'll try his best to deliver you guys a long term review that extends throughout the lifetime of his W810i, with updates at monthly intervals. thumbup.gif

Useful Threads Here in LYN

LowYat.Net Forum Thread on Skinning Your Phones
- Skinning your phone for its protection. Read up on how and where here...

Thread on Ori vs Imitation MSPD
- With pictures!

Thread on Ori VS Non-Ori BST-37 Batteries
- With more pictures to help you!

External Links

Sony Ericsson Theme Creator (V3.0)
- Theme making software for your W810i

Esato
- The mobile community

Zedge
- Nice themes, wallpapers, etc... Under "public gallery"... But requires (free) registration (Thanks for the heads up, danwt)

MyW810
- Themes, ringtones, games and much more

Sony Ericsson Support Page
- Driver, PC Suite, Disc2Phone software download

MyPhoneExplorer
- Use to save phone contacts / SMSes to your PC
External Links, Reviews, Other Info Goes Here

(Placeholder)

This post has been edited by shortleg88: Dec 7 2006, 09:08 PM
TSshortleg88
post Dec 7 2006, 09:03 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

ACCESSORIES INFORMATIONcourtesy of the last thread starter, Eiraku
Low Yat Survey Trip Report Summary (21/06/2006)

MXE-60 Flash:
RM68 (check my review - link in my sig)

MPS-60 External Speakers:
RM150 (only found 3 shops selling it openly)

MSPD
- SanDisk: RM85 (256MB), RM125 (512MB), RM185 (1GB), RM370 (2GB), RM720 (4GB) - (various shops... No idea if they are Original Sandisk MSPDs or not though)

- Lexar: RM300(1GB - what the....)

- Sony: Generally all RM100 more expensive then their SanDisk counterparts (various shops, Original only)

HPM-70
- Original: RM159 (Accord Plaza Berjaya - 1 month SE warranty)

- AAA Non-Ori Black/Silver: RM50 (they say it's ori, but I don't think so... Comes in the green packaging - 3 months shop warranty, if I'm not mistaken)

- AA Non-Ori Silver: RM25 (they say its AP... seems so as well - 3 months shop warranty like above)

-----> All the non-Originals come from one shop, and they also come with the different size rubber ear pieces... Good as backup eh... icon_rolleyes.gif

FastPort to 3.5inch jack converter:
RM18 (various shops)

Bluetooth Dongle (the USB -> BT thing):
No Brand - RM35-60 (various shops)

MSI - RM50/79 (according to range - Viewnet 2nd floor)

D-Link - RM64 (10m - Same shop)
Skinning (Skinx+, Lifetime Warranty)
- 1 Side (simple phones/PDAs): RM39

- 2 Sides (normal phones): RM49

- 4 Sides (more complex flips/sliders): RM69

- PDA Phones: RM69
Screen Protector: (UPDATED!!)

Xi Ying -
RM9-10 (various shops)

Martin Fields -
RM 35 - Get it on LYN HERE!

or

Martin Fields Overlay Plus Screen Protector (Sony Ericsson W810i) from shops (courtesy of alrasla)

Crystal Case:
RM15 (I found only one shop selling this, in a back alley near the Skinx+ shop, just go straight in from Skinx+)

Brando Speaker Cradle (see the W800i Thread's 1st page for info):
RM50 (various shops - but you'll have to ask hard)

FULL VERSION

HPM-70: ORIGINAL VS. NON-ORIGINAL
(Courtesy catsper)

TSshortleg88
post Dec 7 2006, 09:03 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

SKIN W810i

This post has been edited by shortleg88: Dec 7 2006, 09:15 PM
TSshortleg88
post Dec 7 2006, 09:04 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

!! Sony Ericsson W810i Users List !!
(UPDATED 28/3/2006!!)... NOW WITH WHITE VERSION!!!

TOTAL USERS = 256

[cool.gifRemember to inform me the colour as well]

Black = 213
White = 43
BLACK

8L@Z3
abe_mad
aBs-
accutane
ahbenggay
ahdum
akira de aimbuster
albirri
aliendarknez
aliqueamyrei
alfie
Alvino
amir_links
angel82
Are_keem
arif
arfaie
BakaInu
BATLKK
bbjslee
BEGGINNER
bernardryan
bezet
blackmarket
blinkidz
blurry
boris
BratPAQ
bruised
bullit
calson
canho
casperito
cbkhor
chinail
Chrono|Exe
chw
ckteu
cOMMANDER pRASNTH
ConquerorX
coolkidz
Cool_Knights
Corn24
crazymelon
CreamMilk
cspace
cvcmind3d
danilo5753
dantwt
DarkKikiLala
Dark Lynx
deadman8836
deakun111
Demon_Eyes_Kyo
DeMoNkInG
diehard1979
Diligent Sloth
d0rr
dokidoki
dude06
dude831126
eagle.ng
eddyann
eiraku (last thread starter...will miss u)
emp3ror
ericklim
extremeJ
farro
fecgoh
fish_fryzzz
Forgiven
gaze
Gen
GAMEOVER
glook
HailCaesar
Hangmen
hardyboyz888(resident MOD)
haVocasta
Havoc Knightmare
Hell Fire
iman_210
imisu29
Irenicus
jaremfan
JasonSky
JayFactor
Jazzing
jceh83
jchong
jcwc84
Jeffery
jhlou
jrmy02
jslut
juzQriouz
keithkeat
kaffra
Kahuku
kakilang
kangaskhan_1984
Kantao
Kim^.^"
kokyun
kosea01
kupang
kurasano
lankutu
ldhong
leenux
Leonard liew
LeVisGuY
lokgotz
lordsharingan
LotsaFuns
lthock
lulusantos
luqman505
Lynn
mADmAN
Mascon
mastaflubb
mememe12
me0wSter
Mike3300
mojam
moon*
MoonBlaze
na.tech
ncbf
NeO2
Neomax3
neoxz
nickyb
Notoriez
ntc3freak
OrCaGaL
pacqa
padisawah
panasonic88 (resident MOD)
peachmonkey
PetroToxin
Phalanx
pharoah
piggychiann
pk Tokan
PowerHouse
prem182
PutraCrewz
rakuen
rmy
ronasdfghjklzxc
rufinus
sasaug
Sawamura
sayming
samsungfreak
seaotter
shah_animator
siaukia
sidewinderz
smoochiesayn
Snoopy{happy.gif}
spitz
subpar
suiteng
sukhoi37
SweetTooth
syiafuku
syncronyzer
szekeiemme
tadasu
-TaKuMi-
TehWateva
ThE-HunTeD
thundergodx
travis_ckf
turboclinkz
Turtlez84
tycheah_7
UnCleHenG
vader83
v_dracul666
Vanquish
veon
vikingw2k (ELITE)
VoiVod
voonmy
wackyflik
waihung82
wakatsu
whateva
whoopa
WindChaseR
woo_hitman
Worm77
valquisser
xAmdx
xenocapin
xiongie
xxx2
yan5619
yanouchi
yao.c
ybtan
ysyeo
Yukito(resident MOD)
ZeShun
zekrycortez
Zer0 c00L
^666^
6GDominator
[][][][][]

WHITE

ahamid13
blixn
bRIGHt
Chartry
Chocolatte
chuppy
Daven81
dfcloud
EmmaFarina
evilhomura89
faidz85
FlamingFox
fookiatchong and gf
geooorgie
glare842006
ikaz79
jnick
kehao
kel_jink
KelJun
KoYuKii
kulus
kwon
kyoko4eva
leadaxer
mns
nickyb's wife
niwooe
[N]3on
NoNaM3z
panasonic88 (resident MOD)
prebetsapu
shadowrx-5
shortleg88 (1st white user tongue.gif )
siauann
skyer
s.n.a.g
sonyclie77 (STAFF)
techgirl
ruffstuff
valho
xavierchan
yuckz

Report in and be added to the list, W810i users!

This post has been edited by shortleg88: Mar 29 2007, 01:48 PM
ldhong
post Dec 7 2006, 09:05 PM

620 posts

hei, u reserved so many post???
pharoah
post Dec 7 2006, 09:06 PM

300 posts

hye mr thread starter..im a proud owner of Black W810i
TSshortleg88
post Dec 7 2006, 09:18 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

QUOTE(ldhong @ Dec 7 2006, 09:05 PM)
hei, u reserved so many post???
Why not??? since so many info for w810i rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(pharoah @ Dec 7 2006, 09:06 PM)
hye mr thread starter..im a proud owner of Black W810i
No prob...welcome to the community...
thumbup.gif
ldhong
post Dec 7 2006, 09:21 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Dec 7 2006, 09:18 PM)
Why not??? since so many info for w810i  rclxm9.gif
No prob...welcome to the community...
thumbup.gif
thumbup.gif , the more info the better....then, did i disturbed ur reservation??? shall removed for more info?
Zer0 c00L
post Dec 7 2006, 09:25 PM

i haz hammer!
3,510 posts

so shortleg,at last finish ya stpm???haha,the physics abit tough ler 2day,hehe

neways,u ever seen any MMR-60 fm transmitter here b4???any price quotes 4 it???seem unable 2 find it ler
youngkies
post Dec 7 2006, 09:28 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Dec 7 2006, 10:25 PM)
so shortleg,at last finish ya stpm???haha,the physics abit tough ler 2day,hehe

neways,u ever seen any MMR-60 fm transmitter here b4???any price quotes 4 it???seem unable 2 find it ler
hard to find here.. may want to try ur luck from sonystyle.. not really sure bout the price.. forgotten, bout rm150-180 if not mistaken.. tat was so long ago..

fat_lip2525
post Dec 7 2006, 09:30 PM

we can be heroes, just for one day...
676 posts

Grats on V4, looks like this phone is still going strong despite the arrival of new models
fat_lip2525
post Dec 7 2006, 09:32 PM

we can be heroes, just for one day...
676 posts

Sorry, double post blush.gif Streamyx punya pasal mad.gif

This post has been edited by fat_lip2525: Dec 7 2006, 09:33 PM
Zer0 c00L
post Dec 7 2006, 09:32 PM

i haz hammer!
3,510 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Dec 7 2006, 09:28 PM)
hard to find here.. may want to try ur luck from sonystyle.. not really sure bout the price.. forgotten, bout rm150-180 if not mistaken.. tat was so long ago..
so only flashy shop have lar,the normal SE booth in LYP or service centers dun have???
pharoah
post Dec 7 2006, 09:35 PM

300 posts

i saw one MMR-60 fm transmitter at Sony Style at BTS if im not mistaken..
youngkies
post Dec 7 2006, 09:35 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Dec 7 2006, 10:32 PM)
so only flashy shop have lar,the normal SE booth in LYP or service centers dun have???
very hard to find.. but u can walk around some shops.. maybe u will hv the luck.. cos this thing is hot for quite short time i would say.. so not easily available..
Zer0 c00L
post Dec 7 2006, 09:46 PM

i haz hammer!
3,510 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Dec 7 2006, 09:35 PM)
very hard to find.. but u can walk around some shops.. maybe u will hv the luck.. cos this thing is hot for quite short time i would say.. so not easily available..
so the price???is about slightly less than 200???any1 can confirm???

126 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:05 AM