Niantic BanWave. It's About Time, Niantic starts legal action & perma bans

TSsoonwai
post Aug 13 2016, 04:00 AM, updated 10y ago

11,458 posts

Good news for legitimate users that Niantic is taking action against bots and cheaters.

First things first, in case your account was permanently terminated wrongfully.
Here's the appeal FAQ. https://support.pokemongo.nianticlabs.com/h...it-a-ban-appeal

Seems there are now account termination and perma bans in addition to soft bans. I hope there aren't too many false positives. Perma bans will probably take some time for Niantic to process. Now would be a good time to report Level 30+ players. I suspect they'll be going after bots first.

Necrobot (awesome & free open source pokebot)

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 15 2016, 11:57 PM
TSsoonwai
post Aug 13 2016, 07:43 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(Cloud0890 @ Aug 13 2016, 07:19 AM)
It's not about whether they are harmful or not. They are in violation of ToS, simple as that. There were far simpler 3rd party tools for Ingress like extracting personal game data onto a spreadsheet and people got banned for using them.
Agreed. I don't think Niantic would care what it does. As long as there's 3rd party access to the servers, it'll probably be flagged. What's their criteria for a ban, we won't know.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 13 2016, 08:36 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Aug 13 2016, 07:53 AM)
Hope that I'm not in the false positive. My redmi note gps is really wonky.
I think if you're teleporting a few hundred metres and jumping around be like crazy, you should be ok.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 13 2016, 11:28 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ Aug 13 2016, 10:43 AM)
Dont want to burst the bubble of certain people but still so many 3k+ player in my nearby gym
Niantic probably busy with US, Japan region. Especially with Japan since some gyms there are sponsored by McD. Malaysia is probably at their bottom of their list.

Maybe making a report will help.

These 2 weedles used to be quite prominent in UTAR Sg Long. Haven't seen them the last few days.
user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 13 2016, 11:28 AM
TSsoonwai
post Aug 13 2016, 02:37 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(bashlyner @ Aug 13 2016, 01:49 PM)
This one must be ban biggrin.gif
Report! To Niantic, MCMC and special branch also.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 14 2016, 03:18 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(Marcian @ Aug 14 2016, 06:17 AM)
Why is using $$$ to buy stuff in-game considered immature? So whining about unfairness due to having less time to play compared to student players is mature? rolleyes.gif
Don't worry about him, mate. I'm married with kids, working with lotsa commitments and still have time have to play Pokemon. I'm against spending money on in-app purchases also but, having said that, I've already spent USD4.99. Not real money but iTunes credit acquired from freemyapps.

If you ask me, working ppl, should have more time to play. I compare with my daughter, she's revising schoolwork during her spare time. Only plays an hr or 2 a day. Level 10 vs me, lvl 20. So yeah, working ppl have more time especially single ppl working 9-5.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 15 2016, 01:40 AM

11,458 posts

Friend of mine reported these 2 persons to Niantic on Sunday 2am. Sunday evening, I passed by 2 of the locations and they were gone. Replaced with some fairly benign 1k pokemons. Coincidence, gang banged or action taken by Niantic?

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

user posted imageuser posted image

Let's see if they're back tomorrow.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 15 2016, 02:31 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(Marcian @ Aug 14 2016, 03:42 PM)
Hey, same boat as me.  Installed the game last Sat but no time to play, Sun participated in the SCB Marathon and with family the rest of the day, working 7 days this week (rotating shift), but able to play during lunch and for a while after work.  Haven't spent anything yet, but seriously looking at a bag upgrade.  Kids at school from morning till noon, tuition center till evening, then it's dinner and family time, only able to play using my phone on Friday night for 2 hours.

Wow you're fast, level 20!  I'm just at 15  biggrin.gif
SCB Marathon would be great for hatching eggs! Didn't bring your phone with you? But seriously your schedule looks a lot like mine. Fetch kid, work, fetch kids, eat, watch news, sleep. In between, try to squeeze in some family & entertainment time.

If you're gonna buy something, the bag upgrade is highly recommended. I bought 2 x 50 slots for 400 coins. Pokeballs are so expensive. I think it works out to ~20sen per ball. Literally throwing money away, LOL.

Have you tried doing a lucky egg mass evolve? You'll jump a few levels in 30 mins. More details here and example of my mass evolve that I did a few days ago:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4026716

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 15 2016, 02:39 AM
TSsoonwai
post Aug 15 2016, 02:43 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Aug 15 2016, 02:38 AM)
can I know how to report them ?
I want to report a player as well, nearby my college laugh.gif
https://support.pokemongo.nianticlabs.com/h..._form_id=319948

This is the form. Under Report, select Cheating.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 15 2016, 11:39 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(chrisling @ Aug 15 2016, 11:01 AM)
It has been two weeks (or three weeks) since the release date, any hardcore here reach lvl 35? I saw some guy like lvl 34-36 in the gym. I'm still thinking the possibility of doing that.

I'm a moderate player and I'm like 10 lvl behind! Oh gosh....
lvl 34-36 in Malaysia, you can straight away report. Not possible to reach that by playing normally. Highest among my friends I know is lvl 25. Another giveaway is lotsa 100% IV pokemon.

Actually the best time to report is the first week. That's why I have a bunch of screenshots taken during that time. As time goes by it gets harder to tell who's legit and who's not.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 15 2016, 01:19 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(kevinlowl @ Aug 15 2016, 11:56 AM)
is it where you sit and wait for a gym to turn neutral then you quickly stick your pokemon in there? wtf does this result in a ban?
That is also called sniping but sniping a gym is OK though many ppl complain about it though.

Sniping a high IV pokemon is done using a bot like Necrobot, poke-bot, pokefarmer, mygobot, etc...

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Aug 15 2016, 11:57 AM)
can't discuss it here

u better google it
Shouldn't be a prob to talk about it. It's very interesting. Those of use who have been playing since US Day 1 can share their experience. Is experience gained from botting or spoofing also considered cheating if you're sharing it?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 15 2016, 01:22 PM
TSsoonwai
post Aug 15 2016, 08:30 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(lifeofkuli @ Aug 15 2016, 05:27 PM)
I tried

in the end I only able to get 10 pokecoin only.....

it isn't u get 10 coin right away when u slot in ur pokemon into gym sad.gif

that is why i confuse why I couldnt
Easier way to think of it is that you can only press that shield button every 21 hrs.

If you haven't press that button and you slot in a Pokemon into the gym. Straight away go press it. 10 coins.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 15 2016, 08:36 PM
TSsoonwai
post Aug 15 2016, 10:32 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Aug 15 2016, 11:41 AM)
how lah your level 25 friend can reach 710,000 xp so fast one?
yalor, slow right? He bots but he's not very good at it.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 16 2016, 12:26 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Aug 15 2016, 04:39 PM)
I heard they will give you 100 coins for every acc that you lipoted
it's 101.

TSsoonwai
post Aug 16 2016, 12:53 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(kalliban @ Aug 16 2016, 12:47 AM)
U serius??? I thought it was a joke...so really they gib coins if report cheater???
smile.gif Take my replies to JimbeamofNRT with a grain of salt.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 16 2016, 01:02 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(kalliban @ Aug 16 2016, 12:54 AM)
So u support cheater whistling.gif
Bro, it's cool, nothing wrong with botting, just a different way to enjoy the game. You should try it. With a different account of course. The closest analogy I can think of right now is sex vs masturbation. biggrin.gif
TSsoonwai
post Aug 16 2016, 01:16 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(kalliban @ Aug 16 2016, 12:47 AM)
U serius??? I thought it was a joke...so really they gib coins if report cheater???
smile.gif how else to explain the odd number coins? cool2.gif
TSsoonwai
post Aug 16 2016, 02:52 PM

11,458 posts

To all legit players, be careful, the botters have started hitting back. Players reported in Penang.

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2016...oise-pollution/

/joke

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 16 2016, 03:12 PM
TSsoonwai
post Aug 17 2016, 02:08 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(kevink82 @ Aug 16 2016, 11:52 PM)
Don't get too happy yet it seems like there is a reddit thread legit ppl which travel to places r getting ban and also ppl who tried sending email to ban a certain legit player to test and he got banned.

So if it's the way it is then there's no point in this game atm since ppl jelly and they report u no matter u legit or not u will get hit.
Very scary, let's see what happens.
TSsoonwai
post Aug 18 2016, 12:56 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(kevink82 @ Aug 17 2016, 10:40 PM)
Plz refrain calling ppl names or u will all be reported and thread clean or closed. U guys r not 12 yrs old.
That's the problem. I don't think mea culpa is 12yrs old. Maybe he's just slow. Quite a few people in this forum have called him that. Anyway it doesn't matter, he behaves how he chooses. I better go check on the word on9. l8r.

0.0421sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:58 AM