Proton Persona 2016 Booking?
lowpro
Aug 16 2016, 02:12 PM

The previous Persona was a C segment car because at the point of time during its inception, the other C segment cars were sized as such, think the older sentra, older corolla etc. Today, the C segment has grown by quite a bit and Proton's C segment challengers are the Preve/Suprima. So, the only way to maintain a clear separation between the current C segment offering from Proton was to push the new Persona to B segment. Here, the overall car does not differ too much from the car it replaces. There will be some pluses and some minuses though. And to further create a space for the Persona, the Saga which when it first came out in 1985 as a C segment has been pushed all the way down to be the company's representative in A segment. This is to enable the Saga to continue being the company's most affordable model for its customers.
Hope the explanation helps.
This post has been edited by lowpro: Aug 16 2016, 02:20 PM
lowpro
Aug 19 2016, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Aug 19 2016, 04:51 PM) When actually will it be launched? 23 Aug
lowpro
Aug 23 2016, 08:31 AM

QUOTE(Boss262 @ Aug 22 2016, 08:37 PM) Malaysian ma how many times you shows the safety feature, they only care the outlook instead of safety. No DRLs, no other cosmetic instant reject.  You're right. Sad but true.
lowpro
Aug 26 2016, 12:10 PM

QUOTE(coolstore @ Aug 26 2016, 11:38 AM) last time p2 20 years celebration 3 years free service is 3 years or 60000km whichever come first. free parts only limited to engine oil, oil filter at regular service, and one time spark plug, air filter, gear oil, coolant, brake fluid for one major service within the duration. proton won't be so dumb giving unconditional free service cannot find this piece of info from their website too better have a black & white Just checked, it is for parts and labour for scheduled servicing.
lowpro
Aug 27 2016, 10:18 PM

QUOTE(Boss262 @ Aug 27 2016, 08:34 PM) The front sensor, if i'm not mistaken they'll keep/beep once if there is any incoming object around the car (similar to myvi front sensor but myvi sound so annoying). Queued behind a car at the traffic junction, the sensor will beep once you get near the front car. Btw there is no option to turn off this feature (the female SA told me) I don't know whether it will be annoyance for some user. The leg room for the driver are quite okay for me, I still got some leg room to move around but the seat need to be set at lowest point. Just that for the passenger especially at the back, for a big guy, they'll have a hard time to comfort themself as the leg room are quite limited, can't move around but my mom said it's comfy enough. Langgar all bumper she said still quite comfy at behind, my mum like 150cm. Front park sensor can be turned off
lowpro
Aug 28 2016, 09:33 PM

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Aug 28 2016, 07:48 PM) Thank you. Hmm not sure why so many people like light steering. I really love Preve heavy steering. Previous Persona even better. Your Preve tyre are stock tyre or already changed. I think the stock tyre Champiro BAX2 are very noisy. My car just almost 1 year and half or 35k km mileage.  Btw thanks for the comparison. The steering loads up with speed. I've experienced it and it works well. Solid on the highway and light in the city.
lowpro
Aug 29 2016, 07:56 AM

The ECO indicator only lights up when you are cruising on a constant throttle and when you accelerate gradually. It takes probably a slightly longer test drive to see that happening.
The acceleration and brakes (once the pads have bedded in nicely) will be much nicer once the car has about 800km on its clock after proper running in. Most showroom models don't have the opportunity of a longer distance to let the engine, brakes and tyres run in properly and will still be pretty tight when it is test driven.
I did like how the steering wheel can be light for slow traffic and how it weights up for higher speeds.
Average FC on the car I drove was about 7ish so, with a bit more kilometers under its belt, the car can be pretty decent for what it offers.
This post has been edited by lowpro: Aug 29 2016, 11:01 AM
lowpro
Aug 30 2016, 07:35 AM

QUOTE(flyingteeku @ Aug 29 2016, 11:55 PM) Test drive persona this afternoon, notice that the delay when pressing throttle is abit annoying, a bit hard to overtake in hilly road, whereas my myvi 1.5 can overtake with ease. Other than that, the persona is pretty solid and decent car with all the improved safety features. Well done proton! Probably the demo car is still not run-in yet. Try again a few weeks later. Should be fine.
lowpro
Aug 30 2016, 08:12 AM

QUOTE(Hizami_83 @ Aug 30 2016, 08:09 AM) Problem is myvi 1.5 straight from showroom not laggy. After break in...it can go all the way 200km/h & tapau 90% cars on the road in Malaysia. Its the bestest car in Malaysia...dont play play. LOL!!!
lowpro
Aug 30 2016, 11:29 AM

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 30 2016, 11:15 AM) No 1 and 6 still lame problem by proton? Still stuck with same vendor like Iriz? No further improvement made? FC for campro even vvt still on high note since it based on old campro engine. So 10km/l for average? The HU is not so nice to use but it is acceptable. For the FC, after using the car for about a day, I managed to get to about 7 something litres for 100km. Combination of highway, fast and slow driving plus city. Not too bad lah. Will improve further as it runs in.
lowpro
Aug 30 2016, 02:20 PM

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Aug 30 2016, 02:16 PM) What is HU?  Head unit
lowpro
Sep 1 2016, 09:31 AM

QUOTE(Jane's @ Aug 30 2016, 07:29 PM) You already got your unit? That's really early! When did you place your booking? How is it like living with the car thus far? That was a demo unit that I had tried out
lowpro
Sep 1 2016, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Sep 1 2016, 11:13 AM) Did you mean P1/P2 does not exist in the first place or P1/P2 does not exist now? I think there are two possibilities of what would happen. You may ask your parents/elder how much a sushi car cost back then before Proton was found. On side note, I would wait for Preve face lift and see how it goes. Basically the C-segment cars were affected back then in 85 when the Saga was introduced - Corolla LE 1.3/GL 1.6 and Sunny 1.3. The Japanese cars went up by about 4k to 6k depending on model and variant. Not sure if the Laser, 323 and Tredia also had their prices bumped up...
lowpro
Sep 6 2016, 09:56 AM

QUOTE(flyingteeku @ Sep 6 2016, 09:50 AM) The engine is 1.2, overtaking with 4 people might be tough... and the handling is so so even though it has Mitsu badge.. and not to mention expensive price tag.. Hmmm, I quote 'might be tough'. Hope there are some owners who could shed some light on this. But to be fair, the Attrage is really meant to be a Bezza type car, A-segment, small and clearly more at home in the city than venturing out of it. But the Persona is built for more all rounded duties.
lowpro
Sep 6 2016, 10:06 AM

QUOTE(flyingteeku @ Sep 6 2016, 10:01 AM) U can check out the thread here.. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3458038/allThe price for A segment, at 60K++ after discount, ... the RV is not good... unless if you get second hand car, at the price of 40K++ for 2 years car, then it is more worth It is pricey though for what it offers but many times, car companies are tied to the high taxes and have no choice but to pass on the prices to buyers. The discounts that Mitsubishi offer are possibly pushing the car to negative profit. IMHO, Malaysia will probably, slowly head to where more developed countries are in terms of car business i.e. sell at low price with little profit and make back on aftersales. Hmm, so the Persona with its 3 year free service should be a good deal now.
lowpro
Sep 15 2016, 02:29 PM

Yup, from the time of the Gen2, the cars used electronic throttle already.
lowpro
Sep 21 2016, 08:09 AM

Here's parts of a report from the recently concluded media test drive of the car. Full story can be found in carlist. I think the 2 sections I posted below are key questions that potential buyers would like to know the answer to:
How does it Drive?
As expected, the Persona’s ride and handling far surpasses anything within its price range. At highway speeds it feels composed, secure, and firmly hunkered down on the road. The electric power steering feels slightly aloof compared to older models with hydraulic assist, but is quick and accurate enough to satisfy.
Body movements also feel reassuringly controlled. For the average driver, it is a satisfactory setup; only the enthusiasts among us will miss the finer control afforded by the predecessor’s fully independent suspension setup. The solid fundamentals of this car was amply demonstrated in the closed demo session where, even with ESC switched off, the Persona requires very deliberate and abrupt steering inputs to unsettle. (Our friends at PanduLaju recorded a couple of videos that showed the Persona's performance at an obstacle avoidance course with ESC switched on and off)
Further contributing to our highly positive impressions is a vastly improved CVT. Although hardware remains identical to what the Iriz gets, the software has been expertly recalibrated. Not only is the dreadful drone that plagued earlier Proton efforts with the Punch CVT markedly reduced, kick down response has been made sharper, and the car takes off from standstill with more conviction.
How Economical Is it?
A simple fuel economy challenge was included in the drive programme. Over a 117km route across the state of Pahang from Jengka to Tanjung Lumpur, majority of the participating cars (all being CVT units) achieved readings between 5.4 and 5.7 litres/100km on their trip computers, all of which were reset at the start of the route.
To give the numbers a sense of realism, the drive organizers imposed a time restriction, requiring all cars to complete the route with a minimum timeframe of two hours, meaning we had to maintain average speeds of 80 to 85 km/h in order to complete the challenge. The route itself offered an even mix of highway and trunk road driving before ending in rush hour downtown traffic at the heart of Kuantan.
We switched over to a manual transmission unit for the journey home. Driven with greater exuberance, the said vehicle returned an average consumption of 8.3 litres/100km; incidentally the same figure attained when we recently reviewed the Iriz 1.6 manual. Between the two extremes, we reckon most users can expect to average in the region of 6 – 7 litres/100km in their daily grind.
Servicing costs would be identical to the Iriz, with regular maintenance scheduled at 10,000km intervals. Additionally, early takers who complete their purchase of the Persona before the end of September get three years of free servicing covering parts and labour.
lowpro
Sep 21 2016, 12:10 PM

QUOTE(shakku @ Sep 21 2016, 12:07 PM) Why does it look to have double disc brakes? I thought rear supposed to be drum?  Hmmm, could the wheels be photoshopped on? Here's another article on the recently concluded media drive. Do note the media cars are fully run in already so, do be patient with your own cars when it comes to 'pick-up' or acceleration. Give it some time. https://www.autofreaks.com/reviews/test-dri...proton-persona/http://www.mekanika.com.my/pandu-uji/pandu...mpur-ke-kuantanThis post has been edited by lowpro: Sep 21 2016, 04:52 PM
lowpro
Sep 22 2016, 12:47 PM

There's a new video on Proton's FB page. Not sure how to copy the video link so I paste the whole address here for you guys to watch: https://www.facebook.com/ProtonCarsOfficial/?fref=ts
lowpro
Sep 25 2016, 12:13 AM

QUOTE(tanlowyatking @ Sep 24 2016, 10:46 PM) Bro i'm looking to buy this car mostly for highway usage. So, the Persona 2016 is very steady and stable at speed of 120km/h i suppose? Anything that you dislike about this car? I read in a few places that the engine humming was quite bad and very noticeable during driving. Your car got produce such sounds during highway cruising? Actually it is very quiet at speeds from 120kph to about 150kph. I wouldn't really believe those who mentioned that it was 'humming'... lot's of competitors staff tend to mention such things in the most convincing way though. Didn't go faster than that during the test drive. Some journalists have reported speeds of 180kph to 190kph and mentioned that it was pretty stable even at those speeds.