[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

ms749
post Sep 2 2016, 10:37 AM

301 posts

[Budget] 3.5k -4k (lower the better) (including monitor)

[Purpose] games and work

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Logitech keyboard, Logitech Z623 speakers and some RM50 gaming mouse. That would suffice for now.

[Monitor resolution] 1920x1080 preferably

[Games & softwares that use frequently] only dota2 and many excels and words, movie and internet surfing

[Personal preferences] not really sure cause I'm noob (currently play dota on macbook. Anyway, not sure if wifi card would be included but definitely need that

[Location] KL
ms749
post Sep 2 2016, 03:41 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Sep 2 2016, 11:40 AM)
Intel Core i5 6402P - RM 707
Gigabyte H110M-DS2 (D4) - RM 276
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 145
Palit GTX950 2GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 609
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Corsair VS450 - RM 162
TP-LINK TL-WN722N USB WiFi - RM 45
Tecware F3 - RM 125
BenQ GW2470H - RM 469

Total: RM 2747 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Optional upgrade:
1. 240GB SSD (or 120GB if only for OS)
2. 16GB RAM (if you deal with many large Excel files)
3. PCIe based WiFi adapter for better stability
4. IPS monitor
5. Other case (your own preferences)
WiFi is prone to interference, obstacles and many external factors, for optimum connection experience, you are recommended to use ethernet cable.

You can swap to a mobo with onboard WiFi card like Gigabyte H170N-WiFi, but that would cost RM 200+ more.

As for USB dongle, any cheap TP-LINK will do if you are still using single band router (2.4GHz) only, it makes no difference to get dual band when you are being limited by the router itself  sweat.gif
Is that like the kind of spec that "maxing out" on Dota2? i.e. should I upgrade the CPU or GPU for a better performance? And what do you mean 120GB for SSD if only for OS?

Sorry for being such a noob. I've only used laptops so far. First time building my own rig.

ms749
post Sep 2 2016, 06:01 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Sep 2 2016, 04:06 PM)
For 1080p 60FPS yes.

If you play other games too then you can consider upgrading the GPU to a better one, if not it is enough.

Some people get a small size SSD (like 60/120GB) for OS installation only (to improve system boot time and responsiveness by a large margin over HDD), whereas all the other files will be stored in HDD instead to save cost.
What about extra cooling system or fan? Do I need that as well? (Dota2 and microsoft office mostly). Thank you for being very helpful! thumbup.gif
ms749
post Sep 7 2016, 02:11 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Sep 2 2016, 11:40 AM)
Intel Core i5 6402P - RM 707
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 145
Palit GTX950 2GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 609
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Corsair VS450 - RM 162
TP-LINK TL-WN722N USB WiFi - RM 45
Tecware F3 - RM 125
BenQ GW2470H - RM 469

Total: RM 2747 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Optional upgrade:
1. 240GB SSD (or 120GB if only for OS)
2. 16GB RAM (if you deal with many large Excel files)
3. PCIe based WiFi adapter for better stability
4. IPS monitor
5. Other case (your own preferences)
WiFi is prone to interference, obstacles and many external factors, for optimum connection experience, you are recommended to use ethernet cable.

You can swap to a mobo with onboard WiFi card like Gigabyte H170N-WiFi, but that would cost RM 200+ more.

As for USB dongle, any cheap TP-LINK will do if you are still using single band router (2.4GHz) only, it makes no difference to get dual band when you are being limited by the router itself  sweat.gif
On the motherboard right, what is the best option if I wanna get the HDMI mobo?
And if I were to choose Phanteks Eclipse P400 instead of Tecware F3, would that add any advantage to the performance? Or should I spend the extra money elsewhere?
ms749
post Sep 7 2016, 05:39 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Sep 7 2016, 03:06 PM)
If so then I suggest you to go for cheaper mobo like H170/B150, you don't need a Z170 when you aren't going to overclock the CPU.

Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4), remember to use the display output port of your GPU and not mobo itself, if not the dedicated GPU will be wasted because the graphics/display will be routed through the iGPU instead of dedicated GPU, if you don't know about this then most likely you aren't aware of the "useless" display output port(s) of the mobo for gamers yet, they are pointless for those who have dedicated GPU, only show their usefulness when dedicated GPU is dead or you want to do some troubleshooting jobs etc  sweat.gif

My suggestion is to spend the money in somewhere else first, Tecware Alpha is a decent high airflow casing, hardware > aesthetic for beginners.
Do you mean that I should use both internal and dedicated GPUs concurrently? (Would it increase the performance somehow?) Is it better for me to only run the dedicated GPU? And save the internal GPU for back up?
ms749
post Sep 7 2016, 06:21 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Sep 7 2016, 05:48 PM)
No, I meant if you have a dedicated GPU then just use the display output port from your dedicated GPU, modern mobo will switch off the iGPU since it serves no purpose on desktop PC with a dedicated GPU installed (we don't need battery saving feature like laptop).

So it doesn't matter whether your mobo comes with HDMI port or not since you gonna use the HDMI port of your dedicated GPU, no?  hmm.gif
Ohhh okay I have just realised that GPUs also have output display ports!! shocking.gif shocking.gif

That just proves how noob I am! blush.gif

Btw thanks for clearing that up! So in summary, if I ever need to use HDMI, just plug it into my GPU output. Thank you boss!! notworthy.gif
ms749
post Sep 13 2016, 06:28 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(malinkundang @ Sep 13 2016, 06:17 PM)
Hello to all,
Need help to upgrade my rig
CPU : Intel Core i3 2120
HSF : Cooler Master Hyper TX3 Hsf
MOBO: Kingston KVR 2GB 1333Mhz DDR3
RAM : ASUS P8H61-M LE LGA1155
HDD : Western Digital Blue 640GB 7200Rpm
GPU : XFX ATI Radeon HD5770 1GB GDDR5
PSU : Cooler Master RS-500 500W PSU
CASE: Cooler Master Elite 335 Mid Tower
I am experiencing lag while playing Dragon Nest.. very long loading time + fps drop when in town(many people)..my budget around rm500 and less..
If I may, I think the Kingston KVR 2GB is your RAM and ASUS P8H61 is actually your MOBO. My guess would probably be your RAM (2BG), which needs a little upgrade to 8GB? And that requires an upgrade of your MOBO as well.
ms749
post Sep 13 2016, 07:31 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(Hilmax @ Sep 13 2016, 07:08 PM)

Why need to change the mobo, just add another stick of RAM. DDR3 RAM are still around.
Ohh okay haha yesss sorry noob here trying to giving some advice. Yes probably just change your RAM to 8GB then everything is good to go
ms749
post Sep 15 2016, 02:51 PM

301 posts

Intel Skylake Core i5-6500 - RM835
MSI H110M Grenade Socket 1151 - RM318
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB 2133Mhs DDR4 - RM162
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1060 WindForce 6GB - RM1239
Western Digital 3.5" 1TB 7200RPM 64MB SATA III - RM215
Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB 1.5" SATA III - RM159
NZXT S430 - RM320
Corsair CX650M Semi-Modular 80 Plus Bronze - RM316

Total: RM3564

[Purpose] Play Dota 2 and some light excel works.

Do you think this build is overkill? If I were to stick with the same budget (RM3.5k), which would should I change around?

Thanks Sifuuuu!!

ms749
post Sep 15 2016, 06:26 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(ipin.strike92 @ Sep 15 2016, 06:06 PM)
Btw, Segotep had officially launched their store at Lowyat n Lazada. Their cases are sexy as hell and the price is very cheap.

http://www.lazada.com.my/segotep-official-store/
https://www.facebook.com/segotepmy/?fref=ts
Wow fully tempered glass for RM300. Will defo switch NZXT S340 with this.
ms749
post Sep 16 2016, 05:59 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 16 2016, 05:09 PM)
Hello! I am back! Wanna ask the pros here.

MSI H110i Pro AC comes with WiFi card right? Or we need to sendiri buy a PCIe WiFi card and slot it there?

Bro terence_nwb, I will be getting the parts this weekend liao!!! Waited for a few weeks and went to COMEX 2016 but didn't get any good deals there. Times like this mana ada good deals lahh.

sweat.gif
Where did u buy your parts? Assemble on your own?
ms749
post Sep 16 2016, 06:18 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 16 2016, 06:06 PM)
Will buy them from Tradepac at Sim Lim Square. Buy liao then my friend will help me assemble.

Why lehh?
Wanna survey the cheapest shops, preferably in shah alam
ms749
post Sep 18 2016, 01:05 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Sep 18 2016, 12:29 AM)

rclxm9.gif

rclxm9.gif
Details with price? And shops which you got those?
ms749
post Sep 25 2016, 04:34 PM

301 posts

[Budget]
RM 1000 (not sure if can get lower)

[Purpose]
Mostly Internet surfing. Others involve light excel and casual movie and music.

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Monitor, mouse and keyboard.

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Google Chrome, Microsoft offices, and light movies and music

[Personal preferences]
Nothing. Just wanna get the cheapest rig possible for this purpose

[Location]
KL
ms749
post Sep 25 2016, 10:26 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Sep 25 2016, 10:14 PM)
Intel Pentium G4400 - RM 225
Kingston 4GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 90
Transcend 220S 120GB SSD - RM 179
CM Elite Power 350W - RM 126
Armageddon Nanatron T1x - RM 95

Total: RM 991 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

You can swap the SSD to HDD if you prefer more onboard storage compared to faster boot speed (and overall faster system responsiveness).

You can opt to get cheap casing with OEM PSU included (around RM 150+/-) if you want to save money, the PSU included might be a "cap ayam" branded PSU so please take note on this  biggrin.gif
Thankss!
ms749
post Oct 4 2016, 07:54 AM

301 posts

Finally got my build done!

Intel i5 6402p - RM600 (2nd hand)
Msi Bazooka B150M - RM290 (2nd hand)
Msi GTX 970 4GB - RM850 (2nd hand)
Sandisk SSD 120GB
Kingston DDR4 2133Mhz 8GB
Corsair VS 550w - These 3 items for RM555
NZXT s340 - RM350

Total RM2645

Thanks sifu @terence_nwb

ms749
post Oct 17 2016, 07:25 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(travellingcircus @ Oct 17 2016, 05:22 AM)
Hello guys. What do you think about this assembly? First timer here. Building a rig that can last me for 2-3 years without major upgrades. Not that interested in overclocking hence the  non K CPU. GPU maybe. Using this for gaming at 1440p preferably with >30fps.

I am not too sure about the monitor, the cooler and the CPU though. Would it be enough using an i5 6600k and invest the extra money on some of the other parts?

Intel Core Skylake i7 6700 - RM1295

Coolermaster Hyper 412s 160mm - RM219

Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379

Gskills RipJawsV Black 2x8gb DDR4 2800mhz (CL16) - RM 499

Gigabyte GTX 1070 Windforce OC 8gb ddr5 - RM 1999

Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409

Phanteks Enthoo Pro - RM 435

Samsung 850 EVO 120gb SSD - RM 279

WD 1tb Caviar Black 7200 RPM - RM349

ASUS 27" MX27AQ 2560x1440/5ms/DP/HDMI/MHL/Audio @ 60hz - RM 2259

Windows 10 Pro 64 bit - RM349
Total RM 8471

Trying to keep it below 9k
You can get Windows 10 from lowyat forum for RM55, using digital activation
ms749
post Nov 21 2016, 12:14 PM

301 posts

Hi Terence,

I need suggestion for a rig for my dad as follow:

Budget : RM 1k
Purpose : Mostly internet surfing and some microsoft office works (not too heavy)
Hardware that will re use : Monitor, keyboard and mouse.

Thank you! smile.gif
ms749
post Nov 21 2016, 03:53 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Nov 21 2016, 03:36 PM)
Intel Pentium G4400 - RM 237
ASRock H110M-HDV - RM 245
Corsair 4GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 127
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 206
CM Elite Power 350W - RM 126
Armageddon V1x - RM 79

Total: RM 1020 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

You can save money by going for casing + PSU combo, I am not sure about the price but it should be cheaper than getting them separately, then you can upgrade the RAM to 8GB.
And if wanna cut budget to RM800?

0.0930sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:55 PM