[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

SynexEvent
post Oct 25 2016, 10:03 AM

19 posts

Dear Sifus,

Building a rig from 0. Besides GTX 1060 and i5 6400 is in my mind I don't really have any idea. Mostly for gaming. Better if its built to be able to run also the latest games or future upcoming games in the next 3 years. Do I need a 144hz monitor as well?

Thanks sifus

[B][Budget] 4-5k

[Purpose] Gaming. Dota 2, Civ 6, CSGO, Overwatch, Witcher 3

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None

SynexEvent
post Oct 25 2016, 11:27 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Oct 25 2016, 11:11 AM)
No wonder cannot find in this thread  biggrin.gif
144Hz is optional, triple A titles are very hard to achieve high frame rate due to many factors and the results vary from games to games, 144Hz monitor will cost you around 1k, which left you 4k for the rig, I wouldn't recommend you to go for 144Hz monitor first if you are building from scratch, 144Hz is more towards "premium" quality gaming, luxurious yet expensive and doesn't always guarantee you can take full advantage out of it if you prefer graphics quality over frame rate. Why I said so? If you prefer to run games on the best available graphics settings (a.k.a ultra settings) then you probably won't be able to hit 144Hz in triple A titles and vice versa.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 865
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 198
Palit GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Jetstream - RM 1848
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 287
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409
Tecware Alpha - RM 199
Acer R241Y IPS - RM 622

Total: RM 5016 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

But here is a build with 144Hz monitor, you can swap it with a normal 60Hz monitor to reduce the total cost.

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 865
Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 198
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 1238
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 287
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409
Tecware Alpha - RM 199
Acer XB240H - RM 952

Total: RM 4736 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
Sifu I noticed your first choice of GFX card is usually Palit rather than ASUS or the other brands. Any specific reason for that?
SynexEvent
post Oct 26 2016, 03:16 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(NoKusshon @ Oct 26 2016, 02:57 PM)
Okay, thank you sir for the help! I'm kinda scared to buy used card, if still has warranty will considered  smile.gif If I replace with the GTX 1060 6GB, can the current rig support my GPU?

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 850
Gigabyte H170-HD3 - RM 479
GSKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 199
Gigabyte GTX1050Ti 6GB GDDR5 - RM 759 = (Exchange) GTX 1060 6GB
Samsung 750 EVO 250GB SSD - RM 349
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 199
NZXT S340 Razer - RM 479
This looks like my ideal RIG as well. No problem running AAA titles on this right Sifu? On max or near max settings.

0.0988sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:27 AM