LYN Runners Version.11

chester_85
post Jan 22 2017, 01:45 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jan 22 2017, 01:18 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm updating myself n sharing this for everyone.

How ironic I asked yesterday morning n on the same day I got answer myself.
Spotted Asics TMM 456 & TMM460 having 50% discount at Midvalley, the store beside Nike store. Forget it's name.

Sekian.
I think it's RSH or Stadium (guessing from the discount tag) hmm.gif
chester_85
post May 3 2017, 11:28 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(thelung @ May 2 2017, 06:06 PM)
hey guys..

my heart rate monitor batt is running low..

any suggestion where can i replace them?

im using forerunner 620..

thanks! smile.gif
Just go to Mr DIY to buy the battery (CR2032) and replace it by yourself. I think the total cost is less than RM5.
You'll need to pair it again with your watch after that.

chester_85
post Jun 28 2017, 10:32 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(afiqishak @ Jun 23 2017, 10:46 AM)
for 50KM, which is easier, TITI Ultra or Route 68???
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
never join titi b4...
personally feel that route 68 is easier compared to titi ultra because still got tree shades along the route , so the heat is more bearable than titi.. hmm.gif

chester_85
post Nov 10 2017, 10:30 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Nov 9 2017, 06:31 PM)
yes you can , from the MRT station to Bukit Kiara is about 1.5km based on google map distance .
one loop bukit kiara (which not inclusive with the trail) about 5km with 160m gain
Can take lrt to BK5 to run the Newton 30k route... LSD on hilly route... win liao
chester_85
post Dec 4 2017, 04:59 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(iqa1309 @ Dec 4 2017, 09:59 AM)
Hi, since your weekly mileage is still at a relatively lower side, I suggest you train for a HM first. A HM training normally requires a weekly mileage of between 30 - 40 km, which I think is not a too big jump from your current 21 km. If you want to train properly for a FM, you need to commit yourself to around 60 - 70 km.

Once you already have a few HM races under your belt, then attempt for a FM. All the best  thumbsup.gif
Not sure about the required weekly mileage for training.
I've done more than 10 FMs but my weekly mileage was never more than 40KM except for the race week. Rarely touched 30KM too. sweat.gif
My PB was 4:18 and i was still holding back a little bit at that time.
chester_85
post Dec 4 2017, 11:08 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(lightworks @ Dec 4 2017, 05:20 PM)
interesting, how you train
speedwork on weekday... 8x400m or 8x800m
lsd on weekend... 15~20km

i only run twice a week, or the most is 3 times...

but recently less join race and my training also become lesser... sweat.gif

chester_85
post Dec 4 2017, 11:16 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(silvadesk @ Dec 4 2017, 07:11 PM)
I did not do sub4 like you la, but my training for my FM also is not as powerful as the rest here  sweat.gif
I manage to sub5, and personally (and this is a personal opinion) all I did was make sure I train for endurance. FM is an endurance test. You maintain a pace of 7mins per km in your training, then you should be able to do sub5. And my training is usually between 8-10km, 3 times a week (on lazy weeks, only twice haha).

But nowadays I don't run FM anymore. I cannot take the never-ending tarmac  cry.gif
I still unable to do sub4 yet but should be doable next year. (hopefully)
Maintaining at 7min per km is about discipline and self control, i did my 1st sub 5 2 years ago, maintaining at 7 min pace from KM1 till finish. Holding the urge to run faster at the beginning to prevent burn out later.

Nowadays, I prefer trail more than road... brows.gif
chester_85
post Dec 7 2017, 04:01 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Dec 7 2017, 09:38 AM)
any tips to maintain pace longer?
i can maintain 7m/km pace for the first 10 ~ 15 minutes only
after that my legs become so tired and i have to walk for a few minutes before cont the running
Do warmup before your run.
I think you should do more LSD.
Try running at a slower pace but try to last longer... after u get comfortable with the pace, u increase the pace bit by bit.

chester_85
post Jan 16 2018, 04:14 PM

214 posts

i performed badly in those midnight marathons... PBIM, the infamous KCIM...
The brain went into hibernation mode half way into the race and zombie walk until the pacers overtook me. lol
chester_85
post Jan 18 2018, 11:36 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Jan 18 2018, 11:26 AM)
Yeah but obstacle races are not as stressful as time is less of an issue. A lot of waiting and resting while queuing for obstacles. 

A friend of mine who join together in obstacle races tried his 1st FM and he finished in 8 hours plus.

He seems shaken and said he prolly wont do FM again anytime soon. That scared me a little lol.

I dont drink/smoke but when it comes to eating i barely held myself lol. loads of fast food too lol sweat.gif

Twincity the cut off time is 8 hours im sked i wont make it. Thats why i googled a bit and saw ppl say the best bet to survive is follow galloway walk/run method so i guess it's worth a try.

How many HM u joined ady? Stanchart the cut off time is even shorter just 7 hours. I didnt manage to register that one sold out dy  cry.gif
Hard to imagine one can "ran" a 8 hours marathon. It's like leisure walking. Average pace around 11min20sec . sweat.gif
Normal fit ppl can do a 6 hours marathon easily.
chester_85
post Jan 18 2018, 11:48 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Jan 18 2018, 11:39 AM)
yea i didnt ask him about the details. he probably stopped for injury or something.

is it a stretch to say that its possible complete a marathon under 8 hours if you just walk all the way?

On average one can walk 5~6km per hour.
So basically one can walk all the way and finished a marathon under 8 hours easily.

chester_85
post Jan 29 2018, 10:33 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Jan 29 2018, 09:29 AM)
hmm been using endomondo for a while now and a bit reluctant to change because of all the records and everything in there ady. but my new phone (redmi 4x) have some stupid gps issue. the app cant access gps if the screen is locked. was wondering if using other app will solve it.
Try this.

Settings -> Battery & Performance -> Manage apps battery usage.
Go to 'Choose apps', choose proper one (Endomondo, Runkeeper, what you need) and choose there 'No restrictions' instead of default 'MIUIBattery saver' and 'Allow' under 'Background Location'.

Hope it helps to solve your problem. brows.gif
chester_85
post Jan 29 2018, 10:35 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Jan 29 2018, 10:34 AM)
it's the first thing i tried. didn't work sad.gif
or try to off the power saving modes entirely... hmm.gif
chester_85
post Feb 5 2018, 01:44 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Feb 5 2018, 10:14 AM)
I'm thinking of buying those chapalang imitation compression tights (around rm40-60) online.

Don't expect them to be as good as original 2xu or under armour or something but wondering how good they are.

Anybody got experience using those? Does the compression even work at all? Got suggestions?
I'm not sure whether compression really helps or not.
I only wear it to prevent chafing.

chester_85
post Mar 9 2018, 11:29 AM

214 posts

topup a bit and get a pair of saucony peregrine ... u wont regret it
chester_85
post Mar 9 2018, 02:35 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(babychai @ Mar 9 2018, 01:16 PM)
Rm400+?
Im a beginner trail running. Not sure will run long term or not so i dont want to invest expensive shoes first. Hehe.
Get the off-season model, should be around 200++ less than 300 brows.gif

chester_85
post Mar 21 2018, 10:46 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Mar 20 2018, 07:23 PM)
100km in one go. Usually the cut off time is around 1-2 days. I think up to you how you plan to use your time as long as u can make it within the COT.

I'm curious oso how people usually rest in 100km runs. Do they went all the way without even a nap? Maybe allocate 1 or 2 hours for it? Short nap every stop?
Other than the overall COT, usually there are COT at each checkpoints, so you can't really take your sweet time in between the starting line to the finishing line.
I never really join a 100km road race before but i think ultra races are more leisure than usual FM, HM races. You can rest when you walk, of course you can take a short nap at every stop. Just timed it and set alarm or ask ppl to wake u up after 10 min or what. biggrin.gif
chester_85
post Mar 26 2018, 11:33 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(silvadesk @ Mar 26 2018, 10:46 AM)
Speaking of gel.

In my earlier years of running, I used to take gels for my long runs. After 2 years of experimenting, I HONESTLY couldn't find how it helps me in any friggin way -  I know a lot of people who will swear by using gels. So I stopped taking gels and just make sure I am well hydrated before, during and after run. Eat enough rice, pasta and potatoes before race (I don't have other food mantras, feel free to add). If you join ultra race, then most ultras sure got watermelon along the way, just grab those and go. Salt - important. Kurma or Snickers to avoid empty stomach. And gummies to keep me happy before I hit the invisible wall you guys keep mentioning about, LOL.

But most of all, TRAINING CUKUP TAK? Kalau tak cukup training, makan 10 gel pun tak guna kbye.
I took gel when i am in a rush... chasing PB or COT.
Honestly i did feel the surge in energy after taking gels, faster than eating the real food.
Sometimes the caffeine effect of the gels still stays after the race, I can't fell asleep even when i m very tired.

During ultra race, i just walloped anything they offered at the WS. Paid expensive fees, must fully utilize the support and eat la laugh.gif
chester_85
post Mar 26 2018, 11:36 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(SlomoX @ Mar 26 2018, 10:31 AM)
i myself carry 500ml bottle, dont like the crowd during first 10kms (if its 5km gap between water stations)
Skipping water stations won't save you much time unless you are one of those world class elite runners. Every seconds counts.

chester_85
post Mar 30 2018, 05:19 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(SlomoX @ Mar 30 2018, 03:04 PM)
its not about time, its about the crowd
Of course it's about the time because you feel ganjeong or time wasting to squeeze in between crowd to get a cup of water tongue.gif

0.0819sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:13 AM