the Most fuel efficient car (ANY MODEL/BRAND), fuel expensive lah nowadays

travis_ckf
post Jan 22 2007, 11:01 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

QUOTE(Vanquish @ Jan 22 2007, 10:01 AM)
Prius is CRAP, an overhyped car. Its exhaust emissions are higher than a Proton Savvy's. doh.gif
Agree. Actually a diesel saves more whales than the overrated hybrids!

QUOTE(-=Axis=- @ Jan 22 2007, 10:37 AM)
Not for all though. FC is the last thing I consider when it comes to buying a car. For me, budget > looks > performance.

Cars such as kancil and kelisa are already very very reasonable on fuel consumption. Drive sensibly, mind your right foot and you can save yourself more km per-liter. What more do all these people want from a car actually? Car that runs on water and air with gold coming out from the exhaust?
That for me if i look for my 2nd car or for weekend rides.

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 22 2007, 10:55 AM)
hmm interesting .. actually the only Proton models i am soon ngan with are Savvy and Satria Neo .. dunno why, maybe the change of management .. but then that is way too late and Proton has been consistently and systematically killing consumer confidence since the last 20 years. Anyhow, i still think Savvy and MyVi are rediculously overpriced! drop few Ks Savvy would not be a bad choice after all.
Dont just say savvy or myvi are overpriced, basically ALL cars in Mysia are overpriced. tongue.gif
Thedonbk
post Jan 22 2007, 11:03 AM

434 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 22 2007, 03:28 AM)
Okay .. lets make this the most helpful thread. the thread to help people look for the MOST fuel efficient car available in Malaysia.

So the 650 Kancil consume the less fuel of all cars in Malaysia? Well the car consume even less fuel when they come out with the DVVT model?

what about Chevy Spark, Smart for 2, Naza Sutera (Picanto), Kelisa or even Savvy and Inokom Getz.
i think that savvy is more efficient, that is what i saw in the Star paper yesterday its writen there, 1lit = 18km. thumbup.gif

just my 2 cents icon_rolleyes.gif
lee82gx
post Jan 22 2007, 12:30 PM

I guess I'm special
2,861 posts

smart for 2
terion
post Jan 22 2007, 12:51 PM

Got Android?
1,469 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 22 2007, 09:33 AM)
i guess you've not been browsing around the FC related threads in F&F forum to actually notice the pattern huh?

2 cars that always get praise for FC.

1. Honda City I-DSI version
2. Proton SAVVY.

other cars worth mentioning (i think) are
1. Perodua Kelisa (which model i donno.....)
2. Toyota VIOS
3. Perodua Myvi

these models are based on what i remember when i browse those FC related threads, so feel free to find out more.

as to Kancil 650 - small CC doesn't mean better FC. you have to compare it to the car's weight. and i've not come by praise for Kancil 650 FC, Kelisa 1.0 on the other hand is known to have good FC.
Kancil 850 manual has much better FC then the 660 version. A friend and me once drove from KL to Penang. He drove his gf's 660 kancil, while i drove my wife's 850. Both cars manual.

He had to stop for petrol near Bukit Merah, while my car not only had enough petrol to reach Penang but could even ronda-ronda a bit before refilling. If I remembered correctly the FC calculation i made was around 56MPG...
goldfries
post Jan 22 2007, 01:07 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

QUOTE(terion @ Jan 22 2007, 12:51 PM)
Kancil 850 manual has much better FC then the 660 version. A friend and me once drove from KL to Penang. He drove his gf's 660 kancil, while i drove my wife's 850. Both cars manual.

assuming tank volume and weight are identical, the 660 will need more power to push the car compared to the 850. biggrin.gif
terion
post Jan 22 2007, 01:18 PM

Got Android?
1,469 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 22 2007, 01:07 PM)
assuming tank volume and weight are identical, the 660 will need more power to push the car compared to the 850. biggrin.gif
yeah most probably...and also higher engine RPM to maintain same speed as 850...
ceo684
post Jan 23 2007, 12:03 AM

Component Burner
11,545 posts

660 kancil not economical at NSE speeds, unless u drive 70-80 all the time.
garrodz
post Jan 23 2007, 01:46 AM

22 posts

i vote for the city i-dsi smile.gif
phatzlan
post Jan 23 2007, 01:50 AM

121 posts

smart for 4 flex.gif
kevler
post Jan 23 2007, 01:53 AM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

how about Honda civic Hybrid ?
Naka7a
post Jan 23 2007, 03:14 AM

St. Neo
5,417 posts

get a bicycle la! ha ha ....no just joking...anyways, myvi is not bad though....can go to kl from malacca with 60%+- percent fuel left...and that's like avg speed of 130.
clsiluf
post Jan 23 2007, 08:20 AM

2,058 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Jan 22 2007, 11:01 AM)
smart for 2 & smart roadster.
1L can do 20+km.
so if fetch family out need fetch 2-3 times lor?
this car is a toy for rich man...

how much the price ? like prius 270k++??

when u talk bout save petrol, must think of the car price as well in malaysia...

what for buy a 200k++ car just to save petrol ?
goldfries
post Jan 23 2007, 08:45 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

QUOTE(Naka7a @ Jan 23 2007, 03:14 AM)
get a bicycle la! ha ha ....no just joking...anyways, myvi is not bad though....can go to kl from malacca with 60%+- percent fuel left...and that's like avg speed of 130.
AFAIK the new batches of Myvi has better FC, some changes on the ECU.
-=Axis=-
post Jan 23 2007, 08:58 AM

- SS -
2,453 posts

QUOTE(kevler @ Jan 23 2007, 01:53 AM)
Generally, hybrids in M'sia are well over 200k. Because hybrids have 2 motors, it will be heavier so they have to keep the weight down by fitting lightweight, cheap materials. Built quality wise, they are not up to par with other vehicles within that price range. So they will have awful resell value. In other words, the money you saved from petrol is gone as well on depreciation. Pretty pointless.
kcng
post Jan 23 2007, 09:24 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

at the end of the day, it still depends on how heavy your right foot is.

big car with super light right foot and a smaller car with a super heavy right foot, i wont be surprise the big car will have better FC

floor a kancil 850 all the way and it will drink more fuel then you will ever know.
ltw82
post Jan 23 2007, 09:38 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 23 2007, 08:45 AM)
AFAIK the new batches of Myvi has better FC, some changes on the ECU.
drool.gif
exactly fall under which batch...?
how to see which is better ECU...?
Beach_Boy
post Jan 23 2007, 09:48 AM

:D
8,453 posts

i believe the new kangoo turbo diesel 1.5litre would give a very good mileage tongue.gif
Vervain
post Feb 5 2007, 12:34 AM

Scathach
5,458 posts

actually. IMO an independent diesel engine should be 2.0 litre to work properly without the aid of turbo. for 1.5 diesel, its a must to install turbo. don't get me wrong. cause 1.5 might seem underpower. even the wira 2.0 diesel still feels sluggish when it comes to the petrol versions. if it can provide good mileage then i think there should be not problem. any test rats?
eng98
post Feb 5 2007, 01:12 AM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

for non local car.... jazz/city(not really a big big gap in between of idsi and vtec)/yaris/vios

for local car..... savvy/myvi/kelisa and kenari?? lol

all those i mention i think can give u atleast of 400KM per tank maybe i'm wrong about kelisa and kenari....

better get a realiable car to me... in the end... ur FC will be almost the same... if u get lets say vios... and u found out vios is good den u got heavy food instead... den idsi u feel power is not there so regreted in the end.... den savvy and myvi feels not much power also...... and small... if u got the budget.. should go for more realiable car...but not just good FC only... i dun mind having a medium FC with more realiability advantage car...

This post has been edited by eng98: Feb 5 2007, 01:15 AM
Gouki
post Feb 5 2007, 02:21 PM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jan 23 2007, 09:24 AM)
at the end of the day, it still depends on how heavy your right foot is.

big car with super light right foot and a smaller car with a super heavy right foot, i wont be surprise the big car will have better FC

floor a kancil 850 all the way and it will drink more fuel then you will ever know.
Agree, even i-dsi can barely reach 300km per tank mileage under the abuse of my friend's supernatural right foot. tongue.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0241sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 08:09 PM