Getting Another Car, Need Your Advice/Opinions

TSFuturama
post Jan 21 2007, 10:32 PM, updated 19y ago

167 posts

Hi All, need some answers again.. not really a car person so I'll need to ask :-P I currently am gonna get a car for myself as my car's gonna be given to my sister. Getting a car about the range of RM60,000 or so.. less is ok, more is not :-P, second hand or first hand (Don't want to get another high end car as I'm already paying 3 installments for the next 3 years every month).

I'm thinking of either a second hand Chevy Optra sedan or a second hand Honda.. any other cars you guys think is good and value for money in my price range? Any cool tips when buying a second hand car? I would like a comfortable car; a sedan I guess, and also maybe a car which does not consume much petrol.

Thanks in advance!
rivoluzione
post Jan 21 2007, 10:48 PM

353 posts

honda civic,its fuel saving and a nice car
Ken
post Jan 21 2007, 10:49 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

I would like a comfortable car; a sedan I guess, and also maybe a car which does not consume much petrol.
city idsi year 2004 should suit ur bueget...

ikarishinji
post Jan 21 2007, 11:16 PM

.:Nerv Corporation:.
783 posts

ViosG 2004 can get around that price
skyloon
post Jan 21 2007, 11:20 PM

581 posts

either city and vios year 2004
TSFuturama
post Jan 22 2007, 12:55 AM

167 posts

I tried the Vios but its quite a cramped up car. Thanks! Any other car?
clsiluf
post Jan 22 2007, 08:46 AM

2,058 posts

QUOTE(Futurama @ Jan 22 2007, 12:55 AM)
I tried the Vios but its quite a cramped up car. Thanks! Any other car?
honda city? or a 2002-2003 civic...

how bout a new waja campro 2007? rclxm9.gif
FlamingFox
post Jan 22 2007, 09:31 AM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

QUOTE(clsiluf @ Jan 22 2007, 08:46 AM)
honda city? or a 2002-2003 civic...

how bout a new waja campro 2007? rclxm9.gif
Waja Campro's not really fuel-efficient. But the interior is better now hehe
Don't like the exterior though ...

I think the best is still Honda City lor ... very comfortable and good reliability ... low consume of petrol too rclxms.gif
NewVi
post Jan 22 2007, 10:27 AM

194 posts

IMHO, no matter wat, it is better to get a new car....unless one craved for a specific range of cars which when new, its beyond one's budget...at least when buyin new car, maintenance wise is quite easy for the first few years...

further....second hand car loan has high interest....

well putting that aside, like wat others have suggested....city would be a great car...but do buy from a reliable dealer....

cheers

This post has been edited by NewVi: Jan 22 2007, 10:28 AM
travis_ckf
post Jan 22 2007, 11:02 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

A 2nd hand city will be a great choice for ur needs. smile.gif If new car then get the new waja, but hope u dont mind its high FC though.
zenophobia
post Jan 22 2007, 11:43 AM

I just want to noe who i am
788 posts

dude, ur budget already 60k? with 60k u not really necessary go for second hand car except u not really going for protons. As other forumer suggest above, as much as they can suggest, u might need to think of it urself. I would suggest u go for toyota second hand car especially camry'02. Since u prefer comfort and it really proves comfort.

But for me, i would go for a new waja with that kind of budget u having now.
TSFuturama
post Jan 22 2007, 12:33 PM

167 posts

Yeah, the reason I'm most probably going for a second hand car is because my family & relatives have had problems with Proton and Perodua cars.. call it unlucky, but with cars which had given problems even after being taken care of very well, I'd rather stick to other non-local brands, no offence guys.

Thanks for the tip, higher interest for second hand cars is a problem.. but I can't seem to find a new non-local car for about 60k price range. sad.gif Are there any?
zenophobia
post Jan 22 2007, 02:01 PM

I just want to noe who i am
788 posts

yep, u can find it at the second hand car shop....theres pretty much 60k foreign car there. Honda civic year 2000, and so on.
jamik
post Jan 22 2007, 05:12 PM

Vrooommmm
679 posts

get a new Myvi la dude..... rclxms.gif new 1 always better....
Kerry1136
post Jan 22 2007, 07:34 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

If doesn't consume much then its difinitely a city but with a 2 year old city you would start to question yourself why are they selling their car so fast...its either good or bad...its up to you
FlamingFox
post Jan 22 2007, 11:49 PM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

QUOTE(Futurama @ Jan 22 2007, 12:33 PM)
Yeah, the reason I'm most probably going for a second hand car is because my family & relatives have had problems with Proton and Perodua cars.. call it unlucky, but with cars which had given problems even after being taken care of very well, I'd rather stick to other non-local brands, no offence guys.

Thanks for the tip, higher interest for second hand cars is a problem.. but I can't seem to find a new non-local car for about 60k price range.    sad.gif Are there any?
Of course there are new non-local cars for that price range ... just that it's not sedan type only.

There's Inokom Getz and Naza Suria/Kia Picanto ... can't really say local right? lol
xtracooljustin
post Jan 23 2007, 10:37 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(Futurama @ Jan 22 2007, 12:33 PM)

Thanks for the tip, higher interest for second hand cars is a problem.. but I can't seem to find a new non-local car for about 60k price range.    sad.gif Are there any?
how bout a 10 year old Bimmer for 30-40K? think about it.
Kerry1136
post Jan 23 2007, 11:21 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

^ Hows the maintenance wise for your beemer lol
e30
post Jan 23 2007, 11:48 AM

JFT 96
1,189 posts

why not get a corolla SEG? the '92-'95 model is about 25k. and the '96-'99 model is between 30 - 40k....the SEG is known as a very reliable sedan. the choices you have is either a 1.3 or a 1.6 engine. its way under your budget, and you'll get to save alot.
but if you prefer something newer then the '01 1.7 i-vtec civic is priced exactly at your budget now.
Sim (2)
post Jan 23 2007, 12:29 PM

¬¬ Wacha Luctking at?
2,360 posts

for comfortable car.. i will choose either Honda city or Myvi ( FC not that good )

0.0209sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:01 PM