The watch thread v13!

Kelvw
post Nov 7 2016, 08:44 AM

1,591 posts

still over the moon on my last purchase. As much as I'd like a GMT BLNR, it's hard to come by. This would do for now.
Some new pics taken last week, was thinking of changing to a brown leather strap.

Love the blue lume
Kelvw
post Nov 17 2016, 11:28 AM

1,591 posts

the poison is deep, I'm starting to look for another one barely 2 weeks on bangwall.gif

Can't decide if it's going to be Sub NoDate, GMT or BLNR

Kelvw
post Nov 17 2016, 05:08 PM

1,591 posts

no surprises here especially after the price hike. A lot of models started to appear on the shop windows. The BLNR is second hand and ADs are still fulfilling back orders, been told it's a one year wait. I think I can wait it out....

Both the GMTII & the Sub is available now. I wasn't expecting it but I saw it at the AD yesterday. Price increase wasn't too much for the sub, kinda tempted. I bet it'll be gone by the time I've decided ha.,
Kelvw
post Nov 17 2016, 10:08 PM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Nov 17 2016, 08:34 PM)
What's the price for brand new blnr in UK ?
it's £6550. No discounts though. Have enquired with most ADs and they wouldn't budge on any of the sports model. Shame.
Kelvw
post Nov 20 2016, 03:24 AM

1,591 posts

I would have snapped up the Daytona! ohmy.gif
Did you get any watches?
Kelvw
post Dec 13 2016, 09:56 AM

1,591 posts

Decided to get a bunch of accessories from WolfDesign and I'm pleasantly impressed with the overall packaging.

First up was a Windsor 10 piece box.

and a watch roll for my travels. Comes nicely boxed and wrapped in a bag

lastly watchwinders, ironically getting 2 separately is cheaper than a dual winder.
The box was well protected and comes with a dustbag.

I could just stare at it

Kelvw
post Dec 14 2016, 12:03 AM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Dec 13 2016, 01:32 PM)
That's a really nice watch box. Hows the built quality and did you buy them from their online store  ? I was pretty keen in getting those by Scalota Del Tempo but its pretty pricey.
Thanks. it was bought directly from their website. I wished I got the Blake model instead as it uses real leather but then it's a lot more expensive. I didn't want to spend too much on accessories at this time.

The motor is pretty quiet and when the enclosure is closed, you could barely hear a thing. Overall it's well made and sits beautifully on the bedside. I've heard that the batteries do last quite long, for some it's almost a year. I also liked the programmable panel allowing number of turns and on timer as well.

I've not see a Scalota Del Tempo in person but it looks really impressive.
Kelvw
post Dec 23 2016, 12:25 PM

1,591 posts

How was the RubberB installation on the GMTII? I heard it wasn't easy?

Kelvw
post Jan 4 2017, 03:55 PM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(Apple_DarreN @ Jan 2 2017, 12:31 PM)
Don't really have a choice, simple econs demand & supply

Your best bet is to get one in Europe and take advantage of the VAT rebate. Euro against MYR isn't that bad now
It's difficult to get any of the popular models here i.e Subs, ND Subs, BLNR, DaytonaC or DeepseaBlue especially UK. The past few months I've only seen ND Subs but that didn't last long. New AirKing and Explorer is now more available.

No chance of BLNR as it's an 18 months wait on the list.

I just got back from Milan and it's the same thing, lacking in popular professional models. However wait time for BLNR is only 4 months but £400 pricier than UK.
Kelvw
post Jan 4 2017, 03:57 PM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Jan 3 2017, 11:12 PM)
Ok ive a confession to make.

Im starting to feel a little bit lazy to wind my speedmaster daily. The crown is a bit positioned too close to the crown guard and it sort of hurt the finger after winding for a whilem

i know i may have said i wanted another manual winding watch...but now im not so sure anymore.
You can opt for a watch winder?
Kelvw
post Jun 3 2017, 03:49 AM

1,591 posts

Took some lume shots over the weekend smile.gif

Some Rolex swags

Kelvw
post Aug 16 2017, 07:07 AM

1,591 posts

Managed to check out the new Tag Heuer Pepsi today and I have to say I do like it!
It's on my watch list, no pun. biggrin.gif

Kelvw
post Aug 16 2017, 08:31 AM

1,591 posts

I'm in the UK and the shop told me they just got it 2 days ago. It's retailing for £2150 (Rm11,888) here but I would presume it would be a lot cheaper in Msia?
Kelvw
post Feb 26 2019, 03:39 PM

1,591 posts

New incoming smile.gif Will upload more when I get better photos

Kelvw
post Feb 27 2019, 06:17 AM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Feb 26 2019, 03:42 PM)
VC, good man!
I think I'll create a separate thread for it as I have quite a fair few photos.
Kelvw
post Jul 29 2019, 02:56 AM

1,591 posts

Wrist shot smile.gif

Kelvw
post Jul 29 2019, 04:42 PM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(OinkieE @ Jul 29 2019, 01:25 PM)
Beautiful, what makes you choose this over their overseas collection?
I was looking for something dressier, inconspicuous and one with a power reserve indicator. This watch will probably won't get a second look in the public and easily dismissed. Not many would know of VC sweat.gif What really sold to me was the invitation to the FiftySix launch party. Tried them on and loved it there and then.

I did try the Overseas multiple times but unfortunately it's a tad big for my slim wrist, just couldn't pull it off even with the rubber strap. Tbh the Overseas is of good value in comparison to the AP.

Kelvw
post Jul 31 2019, 04:15 PM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(OinkieE @ Jul 30 2019, 09:44 PM)
True that VC is so under radar among the holy trinity.
But that's why I am more drawn to VC among the AP and PP.
What's the case size of yours? Overseas is not that big right? 41mm.
The FiftySix is 40mm. I agree the Overseas is actually not that big but it's the lug (similar to AP Royal Oak) which wouldn't allow the bracelet/strap to wrap around the wrist. I guess it's ok for most people but my wrist is slim at 6.25" cry.gif It's a shame as I love the Overseas in blue dial. In comparison, my ExplorerII wears better despite it being bigger at 42mm.
Kelvw
post Dec 15 2019, 10:21 PM

1,591 posts

Visited both my favourite boutique at Old Bond Street.

Was contemplating between the Vacheron Constantin Traditionnelle Manual wind or the Lange. Both on Pink Gold which I'm starting to appreciate more over white gold.

Love the hand guillochè dial on the boutique edition

or the Lange?

or an Up Down. Probably not this one as it's off my budget, but the normal white dial.

This post has been edited by Kelvw: Dec 15 2019, 11:56 PM
Kelvw
post Dec 16 2019, 08:52 PM

1,591 posts

QUOTE(kl920930 @ Dec 16 2019, 04:44 AM)
vc guillochè rose gold dial looks very unique and more of a conversation starter piece compared to the others.

I would definitely go for that over the other choices you posted thumbup.gif
I'm quite torn over the blue dial Lange as well, I think I may be able to stretch the budget a little bit more. Also it's limited to 25 pieces.
Such a hard choice to mull over.

0.1428sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:05 AM