Leasehold vs. Freehold - crossing point?

TS3sixty
post Jul 29 2016, 07:46 AM, updated 10y ago

73 posts

Hi all

I have been offered an option for two properties:

1) Freehold, 4 bedroom, 1800sqft
2) Leasehold (99 years remaining), 4 bedroom, 2300sqft

Both are the same price, both in the same location (around 2min drive between them), similar facilities but option 2 is 1 year older (both are new and completed this year and last year)

At what point, in your guys opinion, is the crossing point where it makes leasehold more worth it?

I have always been against leasehold and opt for freehold, because of the sale price in future and also because the demand will be a lot lower when I come to sell.

This is for own stay, not for investment and I expect to stay there around 5-10 years

My question is that the RM/sqft for the Leasehold is a lot lower and the space is a lot bigger for the same price, but the downside is it is leasehold. Does the cheaper RM/sqft and bigger space make it worthwhile to go for leasehold with all the problems it has?
CK15
post Jul 29 2016, 08:42 AM

1,466 posts

You will have problem to get prospect buyer for leased expire less than 40 yrs. Bank may not give loan. Cash buyer will think twice b4 place the booking.
interferens
post Jul 29 2016, 09:07 AM

337 posts

after 10-20 years you want to sell, the leasehold will be 89-79 years remaining while the freehold still the same.. if you are buyer at that time, which u are prefer?
AskarPerang
post Jul 29 2016, 09:39 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

Same price, same location. Freehold anytime.
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 29 2016, 09:54 AM

20,146 posts

If this is a newly built condo...rest assure that the lease wont be 99 yrs...it will be 99 yrs minus the building time.

Lishold property in general is 20% cheaper than fh...u can tell by the lower psf.

In a place where there are fh and lh...lh will loose out...

But for condo projects...fh or lh makes little impact bcos after 70/80 yrs the condo will be condamned anywhere...but if u intend to sell with lease period of 80odds years...its still doable and make sure the location is 'wong enuf'.
klangvalleyrookie
post Jul 29 2016, 09:56 AM

1,717 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jul 29 2016, 09:39 AM)
TS already said BU of respective properties not same leh..... If same sure no more dilemma lor....
klangvalleyrookie
post Jul 29 2016, 10:00 AM

1,717 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Jul 29 2016, 09:54 AM)
If this is a newly built condo...rest assure that the lease wont be 99 yrs...it will be 99 yrs minus the building time.

Lishold property in general is 20% cheaper than fh...u can tell by the lower psf.

But for condo projects...fh or lh makes little impact bcos after 70/80 yrs the condo will be condamned anywhere...but if u intend to sell with lease period of 80odds years...its still doable and make sure the location is 'wong enuf'.
Bean speaks truth.
easywin3
post Jul 29 2016, 10:01 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(3sixty @ Jul 29 2016, 07:46 AM)
Hi all

Both are the same price, both in the same location (around 2min drive between them), similar facilities but option 2 is 1 year older (both are new and completed this year and last year)

At what point, in your guys opinion, is the crossing point where it makes leasehold more worth it?

I have always been against leasehold and opt for freehold, because of the sale price in future and also because the demand will be a lot lower when I come to sell.

This is for own stay, not for investment and I expect to stay there around 5-10 years

My question is that the RM/sqft for the Leasehold is a lot lower and the space is a lot bigger for the same price, but the downside is it is leasehold. Does the cheaper RM/sqft and bigger space make it worthwhile to go for leasehold with all the problems it has?
In case of you're unemployed or unable to continue paying housing installment, when you intend to sell the house, leasehold unit will be more difficult to sell and expected lower price than freehold - meaning less profit.
mingyew
post Jul 29 2016, 10:10 AM

4,177 posts

all can believe bean's facts, he is freehold/lishold expert.
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 29 2016, 10:13 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(mingyew @ Jul 29 2016, 10:10 AM)
all can believe bean's facts, he is freehold/lishold expert.
I would never ever buy lishold landed for own stay.....
interferens
post Jul 29 2016, 10:32 AM

337 posts

in Selangor if leasehold, event it is non bumi status, after bumi purchase it.. it will automatically become bumi status after that.. leasehold not good to bumi investors in Selangor..
mthc
post Jul 29 2016, 10:32 AM

4,525 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Jul 29 2016, 10:13 AM)
Well that's you lol.

But many many tan sri spent millions on a garbage LH land in Tropicana. Oh well.. setia alam? Fkin joke.
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 29 2016, 10:35 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(mthc @ Jul 29 2016, 10:32 AM)
Well that's you lol.

But many many tan sri spent millions on a garbage LH land in Tropicana. Oh well.. setia alam? Fkin joke.
If u have few millions dumping on lh land...its yr choice loh

I dun have few millions...therefore cant afford to make the mistake.

Joke is on you.
mthc
post Jul 29 2016, 10:49 AM

4,525 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Jul 29 2016, 10:35 AM)
If u have few millions dumping on lh land...its yr choice loh

I dun have few millions...therefore cant afford to make the mistake.

Joke is on you.
Guess you don't know how well some LH condos appreciated.

Appreciated way better than any setia alam landed which is sought to be Freehold. Lol.

This will be a never ending debate between LH vs FH. But if you happen to find a gem on a LH land pls dispose to me okay? Don't let is miss the boat and that's probably some of the reasons why you don't have your millions.
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 29 2016, 10:51 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(mthc @ Jul 29 2016, 10:49 AM)
Guess you don't know how well some LH condos appreciated.

Appreciated way better than any setia alam landed which is sought to be Freehold. Lol.

This will be a never ending debate between LH vs FH. But if you happen to find a gem on a LH land pls dispose to me okay? Don't let is miss the boat and that's probably some of the reasons why you don't have your millions.
I dun have millions so do you lah junior auditor...
JXplod
post Jul 29 2016, 10:51 AM

166 posts

Hi TS for own stay is obvious choice go for freehold. And freehold land is getting scare in most of part great klang Valley. N some free hold demand a higher price over Lh. Sacrifice on the extra 500 sqft . Is better to plan a head, if some unforseen circumstance

This post has been edited by JXplod: Jul 29 2016, 10:52 AM
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 29 2016, 10:54 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(JXplod @ Jul 29 2016, 10:51 AM)
Hi TS for own stay is obvious choice go for freehold. And freehold land is getting scare in most of part great klang Valley.  N some free hold demand a higher price over Lh. Sacrifice on the extra 500 sqft .  Is better to plan a head, if some unforseen circumstance
Jxplod....dun simple say fh is better leh nanti mtch taruk u kau kau bcos he got two lishold condos leh...and he is millionaire...
mthc
post Jul 29 2016, 10:54 AM

4,525 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Jul 29 2016, 10:51 AM)
I dun have millions so do you lah junior auditor...
Yeah wey... I also don't own anything. Sorry ya.. Junior come here tok kok sing song and meet old losers like you only

And I'm not an auditor.

klangvalleyrookie
post Jul 29 2016, 11:06 AM

1,717 posts

Chill, Guys. Let's put things back into perspective. This is not a LH vs FH discussion to begin with. TS already said both properties at the same location & same price. The key difference is 1 bigger BU (LH) vs 1 smaller BU (FH).

Two key questions are:
1) At what point, in your guys opinion, is the crossing point where it makes leasehold more worth it?
2) Does the cheaper RM/sqft and bigger space make it worthwhile to go for leasehold with all the problems it has?

TS, the properties that u mentioned r landed or high rise?
wkkor
post Jul 29 2016, 11:07 AM

493 posts

hm.... i also have doubt between FH vs LH. Let say government want to acquire the land, FH also can't stop it. If the government has no plan on the land, government will let us to renew.

In term of value, of course FH always better than LH... Meanwhile, you need to consider difficulty to find affordability of potential buyer between FH & LH.

Since you just plan to stay for 5~10 years which means left LH 89~94 years, buyer still able to get loan in this condition.
mthc
post Jul 29 2016, 11:08 AM

4,525 posts

QUOTE(wkkor @ Jul 29 2016, 11:07 AM)
hm.... i also have doubt between FH vs LH. Let say government want to acquire the land, FH also can't stop it. If the government has no plan on the land, government will let us to renew.

In term of value, of course FH always better than LH... Meanwhile, you need to consider difficulty to find affordability of potential buyer between FH & LH.

Since you just plan to stay for 5~10 years which means left LH 89~94 years, buyer still able to get loan in this condition.
EXACTLY.

And in terms of value. If you happen to find a gem on a LH land, you should not skip it for a stubborn mentality of sticking only to FH. Condos sitting on Kayu Ara and KD have already showed it success over the years being sitting on a LH land.

Anything above 30 to 40 years(diff banks have diff criteria) for a LH tenor can get up to 90% loan.

This post has been edited by mthc: Jul 29 2016, 11:12 AM
wkkor
post Jul 29 2016, 11:47 AM

493 posts

Actually this question is very subjective... is that 500sf mean to you? Do LH 27% cheaper mean good deal to you vs FH?

Or you may need to do some research, find those area nearby have FH + LH and compare their selling price whether the $/sf different is more than 27%
tko11
post Jul 29 2016, 11:53 AM

334 posts

No clear winner, I would go for the one I prefer which best suit for my staying purpose, as said intention is for own stay.
Ero-Sennin
post Jul 29 2016, 12:02 PM

930 posts

Go on what your wallet, brain and heart tells you, at the end it is yours to judge whether LH or FH worth it or vice-versa.

Everyone here have their own preferences.
C&D
post Jul 29 2016, 01:33 PM

840 posts

assuming for own stay, environment must fit your lifestyle, never mind lh or fh.

Jagalat
post Jul 29 2016, 01:37 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(wkkor @ Jul 29 2016, 12:07 PM)

Side question to all gurus/daikors/daijers/bosses, any one has a list of freehold KV residential properties (houses, terraces, banjialow, apartments, condos, service suites, or property building) being acquired by Gov? Pls advise the link(if any)? If not, pls spell the projects/ptoperties you can recall..
Thank you very much.
dawnrose
post Jul 29 2016, 02:18 PM

366 posts

I'm conservative and play safe. 500sqft is not too big to start with and when u familiar with a smaller place u no longer feel it. 1800sqft is not that small. Small difference in size potential big difference in the future. Since location is the same no comparison of LH in a great location because both are. I prefer to look at other details ie assessibilty, feng shui (personal opinion) and if can surrounding neighbours becoz you not only buy a house but also a home.
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 29 2016, 02:33 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Jul 29 2016, 01:37 PM)
Side question to all gurus/daikors/daijers/bosses, any one has a list of freehold KV residential properties (houses, terraces, banjialow, apartments, condos, service suites, or property building) being acquired by Gov? Pls advise the link(if any)? If not, pls spell the projects/ptoperties you can recall..
Thank you very much.
even if govt wanted to acquire yr fh property, it got to be at arms length transaction, meaning market price lah...
you may not have the right to reject the offer becos the purpose was supposed to be benefit to public at large...at least you are not given up your property chip chip....but that doesn't mean govt cant build a flyover over your house or very close to your house.

on the other hand, on lishold property, govt just need to wait for lease expired nia and you dun get any compensation at all....although klang valley at large still doesn't have many lishold properties that reached 99 years yet.

This post has been edited by BEANCOUNTER: Jul 29 2016, 02:34 PM
Ero-Sennin
post Jul 29 2016, 02:37 PM

930 posts

Gasing Hill lease been renewed. Ampang Park FH been forced to give up their land for MRT construction.
godhand
post Jul 29 2016, 02:47 PM

206 posts

Like bean said FH > LH anytime in the same location, residential type
It highly depends on your mindset, if you are single and do not have to worry for your descendants. Then it doesnt matter la.
As long as your yield > loan, i see no problem in LH, but bear in mind it depends very much on your tenant quality.

LH is cheaper but take note this is Malaysia not UK or US. The mindset here is different.
and because of that mindset LH depreciates greatly over time
wkkor
post Jul 29 2016, 02:49 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Jul 29 2016, 01:37 PM)
Thank you very much.
Juz know exist of such law, like this: http://www.theedgeproperty.com.my/content/...cquisition-laws

btw, i am juz small potato, maybe i am wrong. tongue.gif
Fortezan
post Jul 29 2016, 03:21 PM

474 posts

For own stay, it is better you look at other factors such as facilities, furnishing, management, neighbour and surrounding...etc other than just FH vs LH
cherroy
post Jul 29 2016, 03:37 PM

25,802 posts

The prime consideration is the property itself especially for own stay one.

Get the one better in term of quality, how it is maintained, and make your living life comfortable one, which is invaluable in term monetory.

LH or FH is a secondary issue.

Even 2 properties are adjacent, it can be maintained differently, which determine the value of property especially for highrise whereby the key issue of its value not come from LH or FH, but how it is maintained in a top notch condition.

SUSempatTan
post Jul 29 2016, 03:53 PM

1,678 posts

Actually, what's d problem with LH, really?! If lease is up, just renew it. In pj, that costs only $1000 for another 99 years.
A good property is a good property. LH, FH, wateva hold don't really matter. What matters is how much money are people willing to pay for it. All else can b negotiated.
(If malay rizab land, above comments is void smile.gif
teNtiOn
post Jul 29 2016, 03:59 PM

684 posts

if it's condo just buy the one you like more.. who willing to stay in 100+ years old condo if not maintained properly?

This post has been edited by teNtiOn: Jul 29 2016, 03:59 PM
gst1209
post Jul 29 2016, 04:09 PM

189 posts

anyone know how to calculate LH renew price ? thanks
Jagalat
post Jul 29 2016, 04:12 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(Ero-Sennin @ Jul 29 2016, 03:37 PM)
Gasing Hill lease been renewed. Ampang Park FH been forced to give up their land for MRT construction.
freehold residential next to/adsjecent to Ampang park also affected?
Jagalat
post Jul 29 2016, 04:13 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Jul 29 2016, 03:33 PM)
even if govt wanted to acquire yr fh property, it got to be at arms length transaction, meaning market price lah...
you may not have the right to reject the offer becos the purpose was supposed to be benefit to public at large...at least you are not given up your property chip chip....but that doesn't mean govt cant build a flyover over your house or very close to your house.

on the other hand, on lishold property, govt just need to wait for lease expired nia and you dun get any compensation at all....although klang valley at large still doesn't have many lishold properties that reached 99 years yet.
Any list, pls..
Jagalat
post Jul 29 2016, 04:15 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(wkkor @ Jul 29 2016, 03:49 PM)
Juz know exist of such law, like this: http://www.theedgeproperty.com.my/content/...cquisition-laws

btw, i am juz small potato, maybe i am wrong.  tongue.gif
Didn't see any affected freehold properties list from the link. Can enlighten further?
CK15
post Jul 29 2016, 04:17 PM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(empatTan @ Jul 29 2016, 03:53 PM)
Actually, what's d problem with LH, really?! If lease is up, just renew it. In pj, that costs only $1000 for another 99 years.
A good property is a good property. LH, FH, wateva hold don't really matter. What matters is how much money are people willing to pay for it. All else can b negotiated.
I might be wrong, the rm1000 only applicable for old kampung baru type of leased hold house.

Imagine, what premium to be paid 70 yrs later...?

SUSbalakong
post Jul 29 2016, 04:19 PM

340 posts

Many friends and relative around me don't buy leasehold. I myself will hesitate to buy leasehold.

mingyew
post Jul 29 2016, 04:23 PM

4,177 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 29 2016, 03:37 PM)

Get the one better in term of quality, how it is maintained, and make your living life comfortable one, which is invaluable in term monetory.

Even 2 properties are adjacent, it can be maintained differently, which determine the value of property especially for highrise whereby the key issue of its value not come from LH or FH, but how it is maintained in a top notch condition.
totally agree on this.

If freehold condo come with huge deficit in management account vs top notch maintenance on leasehold condo, i will choose the later one.
Ero-Sennin
post Jul 29 2016, 04:24 PM

930 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Jul 29 2016, 04:12 PM)
freehold residential next to/adsjecent to Ampang park also affected?
http://www.mymrt.com.my/en/ssp/project-info/land-acquisition

Here the list
dvinez
post Jul 29 2016, 04:25 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

QUOTE(3sixty @ Jul 29 2016, 07:46 AM)
Hi all

well, if in doubt expensive one is better
same price but different size is already a guideline

there are plenty of reasons to consider, have to give and take thumbsup.gif notworthy.gif 2 cents

Jagalat
post Jul 29 2016, 04:32 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

Suggest TS to put up a poll...
Also reveal landed or highrise
:thumbsup:

This post has been edited by Jagalat: Jul 29 2016, 04:36 PM
Cabinda
post Jul 29 2016, 04:38 PM

Property Noobie
2,040 posts

Easy lar.. fh and lh, if by comparison, after stay for 5-10yrs, and dun want to sell and want to rent out.. then base on psf rental let say rm2 like this lh can rent higher rate..

If good renting area.. lh is more on advantage coz buy cheaper, and I think rental doesn't care if it's lh or fh right? So u know what I mean? Lh are more advantage on this.. and if same location same, same BU, same features, the different is price and lh or fh, do u think rental will makes different? Like fh getting higher rental and lh getting lower rental? No right?

So my POI is, if future rental purpose lh still more advantage... coz lh definitely cheaper than fh, so u have more cost saving while rent out same as fh price..
wkkor
post Jul 29 2016, 04:40 PM

493 posts

Perhaps just let your wife to choose... so in future she don't "mengamuk"... lol...
SUSbalakong
post Jul 29 2016, 04:42 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(Cabinda @ Jul 29 2016, 04:38 PM)
Easy lar.. fh and lh, if by comparison, after stay for 5-10yrs, and dun want to sell and want to rent out.. then base on psf rental let say rm2 like this lh can rent higher rate..

If good renting area.. lh is more on advantage coz buy cheaper, and I think rental doesn't care if it's lh or fh right? So u know what I mean? Lh are more advantage on this.. and if same location same, same BU, same features, the different is price and lh or fh, do u think rental will makes different? Like fh getting higher rental and lh getting lower rental? No right?

So my POI is, if future rental purpose lh still more advantage... coz lh definitely cheaper than fh, so u have more cost saving while rent out same as fh price..
But the price appreciation for freehold will be higher and the leasehold near to balance 50 below value is actually depreciate.
cherroy
post Jul 29 2016, 04:57 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(balakong @ Jul 29 2016, 04:42 PM)
But the price appreciation for freehold will be higher and the leasehold near to balance 50 below value  is actually depreciate.
Price appreciation level is about the property location or the property is in demand or not.

A FH strata properties which is poorly maintained, management has no money due to poor maintenance fee collection, its condition will deteoriate quickly.
This kind of property won't fetch good valuation one.

Compared to a LH which is maintained in tip top condition, you don't need to guess which can fetch better value or having better price appreciation.

The appreciation in value is not solely on FH or LH.

Somemore most residential property has more than 50-70 years lease, and I will be no longer exist even the lease just being running down half of it. laugh.gif

Yes, you don't need to second guess everyone prefer FH, but at the same time, be more objective about LH as well.
As one may miss good opportunity to get good property (especially for own stay), just because of it is LH that already shy away from it.

As long as it is a "good" property, FH or LH is not that important.
Cabinda
post Jul 29 2016, 05:20 PM

Property Noobie
2,040 posts

QUOTE(balakong @ Jul 29 2016, 04:42 PM)
But the price appreciation for freehold will be higher and the leasehold near to balance 50 below value  is actually depreciate.
If fh appreciate means lh rental appreciate also mah.. Let say u buy at fh 400k, and u rent out 2k, then u sell to other ppl at 600k, then the other ppl if rent out 2k rugi lor.. Then he will rent out 2.8k, and as a lh property holder can follow trend increase to 2.8k, and last time this lh property buy at the price of 320k only.. So whose in long term advantage leh? Rental play, does it matter if the lease left how many years?
SUSempatTan
post Jul 29 2016, 05:28 PM

1,678 posts

QUOTE(CK15 @ Jul 29 2016, 04:17 PM)
I might be wrong, the rm1000 only applicable for old kampung baru type of leased hold house.

Imagine, what premium to be paid 70 yrs later...?
I'm pretty sure u wrong. It's statewide. At least that's wat khalid ibrahim said, before he got kajang-moved... smile.gif

QUOTE(balakong @ Jul 29 2016, 04:19 PM)
Many friends and relative around me don't buy leasehold. I myself will hesitate to buy leasehold.
Many malaysians speak like uneducated peasants. Pls dont listen to them. "LH no good lah." "Why ar?" "Becos LH mah!" "Oh ya hor"... Do u see d cycle of stupid reasoning ??!
aspartame
post Jul 29 2016, 05:30 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 29 2016, 04:57 PM)
Price appreciation level is about the property location or the property is in demand or not.

A FH strata properties which is poorly maintained, management has no money due to poor maintenance fee collection, its condition will deteoriate quickly.
This kind of property won't fetch good valuation one.

Compared to a LH which is maintained in tip top condition, you don't need to guess which can fetch better value or having better price appreciation.

The appreciation in value is not solely on FH or LH.

Somemore most residential property has more than 50-70 years lease, and I will be no longer exist even the lease just being running down half of it.  laugh.gif

Yes, you don't need to second guess everyone prefer  FH, but at the same time, be more objective about LH as well.
As one may miss good opportunity to get good property (especially for own stay), just because of it is LH that already shy away from it.

As long as it is a "good" property, FH or LH is not that important.
All your points make sense except "I no longer exist and so I dun care" argument. Surely, you are still concerned about the realisable value of the assets before you die. If u don't care, your heirs will care, and you will also want to pass down a property of higher value to them. Not only that, u do not know when u going to die, but the value of the property throughout your life time determines your net worth. Note: I am not arguing that FH definitely better than LH. It all depends on whether the discount is high enough to freehold and the potential of the area.
MeToo
post Jul 29 2016, 05:38 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Jul 29 2016, 10:13 AM)
Depends...

I'm upgrading right now planning for the "stay until old" kinda house...

So lease hold or freehold no difference to me.. 99 years my daughter also gone liao... who cares if no value later.. let my grandkids (if any) worry about it
CK15
post Jul 29 2016, 05:39 PM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(empatTan @ Jul 29 2016, 05:28 PM)
I'm pretty sure u wrong. It's statewide. At least that's wat khalid ibrahim said, before he got kajang-moved... smile.gif
Many malaysians speak like uneducated peasants. Pls dont listen to them. "LH no good lah." "Why ar?" "Becos LH mah!" "Oh ya hor"... Do u see d cycle of stupid reasoning ??!
I hope you are right. biggrin.gif

SUSempatTan
post Jul 29 2016, 05:48 PM

1,678 posts

QUOTE(CK15 @ Jul 29 2016, 05:39 PM)
I hope you are right. biggrin.gif
I'm v rarely wrong. biggrin.gif
CK15
post Jul 29 2016, 06:15 PM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jul 29 2016, 05:30 PM)
All your points make sense except "I no longer exist and so  I dun care" argument. Surely, you are still concerned about the realisable value of the assets before you die. If u don't care, your heirs will care, and you will also want to pass down a property of higher value to them. Not only that, u do not know when u going to die, but the value of the property throughout your life time determines your net worth. Note: I am not arguing that FH definitely better than LH. It all depends on whether the discount is high enough to freehold and the potential of the area.
Just share my friend's view.
By end of the day. V all just need 2'×6' land. The value to properties are meaningless. Kids should be thankful if v left something for them. The kids should earn themself. V don't own anything for them.
I buy the idea.
aspartame
post Jul 29 2016, 06:47 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(CK15 @ Jul 29 2016, 06:15 PM)
By end of the day. V all just need 2'×6' land. The value to properties are meaningless. Kids should be thankful if v left something for them. The kids should earn themself. V don't own anything for them.
I buy the idea.
Don't talk about the kids first. Talk about ourselves. Even if you do not plan to leave anything for the kids, isn't it better if the property is freehold and the value appreciates instead of going to zero. You never know. You might not want to stay there forever. With freehold properties, you can sell and move anywhere else you like. With leasehold, you can also sell but no value. Which is better? I prefer preservation of capital.
b00n
post Jul 29 2016, 06:49 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

An article wrote back in 2002 which still make sense subject to one willing to open up their mind.
http://www.hba.org.my/news/2002/1102/leasehold_fallacy.htm

To me personally FH vs LH is not really in my mind if I want to shop for a property. As we always say - location, location, location. But no one will entirely forgo the consideration of how many years left in the lease. No one of sane mind will not consider that.

If one gets to know the lease is only left with 10-20 years, or even 30-40 years; the next question to ask is, is the community already banding up to go for renewal of the lease.

Because most of the time we are only discussing about new project where most likely the lease is still fairly new - maybe 10 years into the entire tenure perhaps; so don't really care about whether it is lease of free.

To answer TS queries; if you want, you can go and try find out why for the different B/U - prices are similar. Who are the developers? Any difference in amenities etc...

This post has been edited by b00n: Jul 29 2016, 06:51 PM
b00n
post Jul 29 2016, 06:56 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Jul 29 2016, 04:15 PM)
Didn't see any affected freehold properties list from the link. Can enlighten further?
Whether there are any precedence or not, am not sure. However when the law provides the avenue; you cannot say it will never happen.

Although this is not applicable to freehold properties, the ownership of freehold properties may be subject to Land Acquisition Act 1960 where the state government has the power to compulsorily acquire the property. The title holder will be compensated based on its market value.
Quoted from the below source which also contains the logical diff/pros and cons of FH vs LH
http://realproperty.my/freehold-vs-leasehold-properties

Article published by a solicitor firm on "Compulsory Land Acquisition in Malaysia, Compensation and Disputes"
Basically highlights the law does allow acquisition of Free Hold property by the government.
http://www.mahwengkwai.com/compulsory-land...ation-disputes/

This post has been edited by b00n: Jul 29 2016, 07:03 PM
b00n
post Jul 29 2016, 06:59 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

more recent article wrote on FH vs LH by imoney:
https://www.imoney.my/articles/freehold-vs-...is-a-better-buy

Another interesting read.
mthc
post Jul 29 2016, 07:01 PM

4,525 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 29 2016, 06:49 PM)
An article wrote back in 2002 which still make sense subject to one willing to open up their mind.
http://www.hba.org.my/news/2002/1102/leasehold_fallacy.htm

To me personally FH vs LH is not really in my mind if I want to shop for a property. As we always say - location, location, location. But no one will entirely forgo the consideration of how many years left in the lease. No one of sane mind will not consider that.

If one gets to know the lease is only left with 10-20 years, or even 30-40 years; the next question to ask is, is the community already banding up to go for renewal of the lease.

Because most of the time we are only discussing about new project where most likely the lease is still fairly new - maybe 10 years into the entire tenure perhaps; so don't really care about whether it is lease of free.
To answer TS queries; if you want, you can go and try find out why for the different B/U - prices are similar. Who are the developers? Any difference in amenities etc...
I attended the national land code classes as it's mandatory for my work purposes and it opened up my thoughts to FH vs LH. I was a FH supporter until that 2 months class opened up my view to LH too. But then again many here think they are all that. An investor doesn't care if it's FH or LH as long as that prop makes money. 99 years lease and the fella thinks he can live so long to bring his prop to grave with him. Seriously big time joker.

This post has been edited by mthc: Jul 29 2016, 07:02 PM
b00n
post Jul 29 2016, 07:05 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(mthc @ Jul 29 2016, 07:01 PM)
I attended the national land code classes as it's mandatory for my work purposes and it opened up my thoughts to FH vs LH. I was a FH supporter until that 2 months class opened up my view to LH too. But then again many here think they are all that. An investor doesn't care if it's FH or LH as long as that prop makes money. 99 years lease and the fella thinks he can live so long to bring his prop to grave with him. Seriously big time joker.
The counter argument is if the Lease is left with short tenor like my example.
Cabinda
post Jul 29 2016, 07:11 PM

Property Noobie
2,040 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 29 2016, 07:05 PM)
The counter argument is if the Lease is left with short tenor like my example.
In LH term how low is consider low? And what is the minimum low to easily discard? 35/40yrs of least balance? Are there any property which having 35/40 lease and are selling like half of their purchase price?
SUSempatTan
post Jul 29 2016, 07:23 PM

1,678 posts

I buy the idea.
This I agree. Our responsibility ends when we hv imparted enough moral, spiritual &, yes, monetary "assets" to our kids for them to continue on their own. This strengthens d race as well. Spoonfeeding leads to destruction.
mthc
post Jul 29 2016, 07:26 PM

4,525 posts

QUOTE(Cabinda @ Jul 29 2016, 07:11 PM)
In LH term how low is consider low? And what is the minimum low to easily discard? 35/40yrs of least balance? Are there any property which having 35/40 lease and are selling like half of their purchase price?
If you see 35 to 40 years remaining lease for residential theb you go buy lor. A smart investor will usually dispose theirs around 80 to 85 years lease remaining.
Ero-Sennin
post Jul 29 2016, 07:56 PM

930 posts

I buy the idea.
Agree.
Jagalat
post Jul 29 2016, 08:04 PM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Jul 29 2016, 07:56 PM)
Whether there are any precedence or not, am not sure. However when the law provides the avenue; you cannot say it will never happen.
Quoted from the below source which also contains the logical diff/pros and cons of FH vs LH
http://realproperty.my/freehold-vs-leasehold-properties
Article published by a solicitor firm on "Compulsory Land Acquisition in Malaysia, Compensation and Disputes"
Basically highlights the law does allow acquisition of Free Hold property by the government.
http://www.mahwengkwai.com/compulsory-land...ation-disputes/
From all the text, there is no indication it never happened. On contrary, to go one step further, it is best to identify the pattern or trend of the acquired freehold properties.

CK15
post Jul 29 2016, 08:09 PM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jul 29 2016, 06:47 PM)
Don't talk about the kids first. Talk about ourselves. Even if you do not plan to leave anything for the kids, isn't it better if the property is freehold and the value appreciates instead of going to zero. You never know. You might not want to stay there forever. With freehold properties, you can sell and move anywhere else you like. With leasehold, you can also sell but no value. Which is better? I prefer preservation of capital.
Hahaha... u have points. I respect ur view.

But in real life, both FH and LH can make money. Just the knowledge and skills make the different.

CK15
post Jul 29 2016, 08:24 PM

1,466 posts

QUOTE(mthc @ Jul 29 2016, 07:26 PM)
If you see 35 to 40 years remaining lease for residential theb you go buy lor. A smart investor will usually dispose theirs around 80 to 85 years lease remaining.
Nothing wrong to buy property with remaining 35-40 yrs leased. Some gems out there. Only smart investor knows how to spot it and grap it.
mthc
post Jul 29 2016, 10:42 PM

4,525 posts

QUOTE(CK15 @ Jul 29 2016, 08:24 PM)
Nothing wrong to buy property with remaining 35-40 yrs leased. Some gems out there. Only smart investor knows how to spot it and grap it.
Wah sifu
TS3sixty
post Jul 29 2016, 11:48 PM

73 posts

Wow, didnt expect such a big discussion. Hold on - will try to do a mass reply to all those who asked questions
TS3sixty
post Jul 29 2016, 11:51 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Jul 29 2016, 08:24 AM)
Leasehold property especially nearby got freehold properties don't have advantage all the time.
10 years ago when I bought my first house also I die die said I will stay there till I die. After 10 years, I'm forced to sell the house as I have neighbor that always give problem. Buying new property for own stay the bad part is you won't know your neighbor until you move in.
Its same anywhere - you buy, the neighbour might move out and a new one comes in who is bad. So this isnt really a consideration for me

QUOTE(CK15 @ Jul 29 2016, 08:42 AM)
You will have problem to get prospect buyer for leased expire less than 40 yrs. Bank may not give loan. Cash buyer will think twice b4 place the booking.
Its 99 yr lease, and we plan to leave way before 40 yrs left

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jul 29 2016, 09:39 AM)
Same price, same location but not same size - thats why I ask the question. Does the bigger space make people move towards the LH

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Jul 29 2016, 09:54 AM)

Confirmed 99 year lease as its currently 74years and they will give strata title for 99 years (submitted already) and confirmed with department

QUOTE(klangvalleyrookie @ Jul 29 2016, 11:06 AM)
Chill, Guys. Let's put things back into perspective. This is not a LH vs FH discussion to begin with. TS already said both properties at the same location & same price. The key difference is 1 bigger BU (LH) vs 1 smaller BU (FH).

Two key questions are:
1) At what point, in your guys opinion, is the crossing point where it makes leasehold more worth it?
2) Does the cheaper RM/sqft and bigger space make it worthwhile to go for leasehold with all the problems it has?

TS, the properties that u mentioned r landed or high rise?
Both high rise
TS3sixty
post Jul 29 2016, 11:54 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(wkkor @ Jul 29 2016, 11:47 AM)
Actually this question is very subjective... is that 500sf mean to you? Do LH 27% cheaper mean good deal to you vs FH?

Or you may need to do some research, find those area nearby have FH + LH and compare their selling price whether the $/sf different is more than 27%
500 square feet is not huge, but in context its a 33% increase. I'm a Quantity Surveyor by background and now work in an accounting firm - so I do these kind of benchmarks out of habit wink.gif

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 29 2016, 03:37 PM)

Good point, and agreed to some extent

Because msot people don't think like that. Like 75% of people I speak to (and a few on here) all only want freehold. So when I come to sell in 10 years time, do I have a demand for my condo? Has the price not inflated in the same level as the others around? So I have to sell at a lower price, to a lesser demand market and have to negotiate even further.

Thats my question, does the extra space make up for these problems....
aspartame
post Jul 30 2016, 12:13 AM

3,165 posts

Renew the lease at RM1,000 but cannot sell. Only can stay there.
SUSbf1119
post Jul 30 2016, 12:26 AM

443 posts

so what is the conclusion ? 😆😆😆😆😆😆😆🐴😂😂😂😂😂
TS3sixty
post Jul 30 2016, 12:27 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(wkkor @ Jul 29 2016, 04:40 PM)
Perhaps just let your wife to choose... so in future she don't "mengamuk"... lol...
Agree with this - thats why I am asking. She is against LH, but I look at RM/sqft and can't understand why she want to pay same price for less space....
TS3sixty
post Jul 30 2016, 12:28 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(bf1119 @ Jul 30 2016, 12:26 AM)
so what is the conclusion ? 😆😆😆😆😆😆😆🐴😂😂😂😂😂
Conclusion is as the person above said... in end I am sure wife will choose. What say do I have? I am only paying the deposit and monthly payments... tongue.gif
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 30 2016, 12:30 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(3sixty @ Jul 29 2016, 11:54 PM)

Thats my question, does the extra space make up for these problems....
500sq is not a large space for naked eyes to feel. It ccould be just an extra bedroom or larger balcony a bit bigger in living and kitchen.

After 10yrs...the maintenance of building and access play more important part.

Beside with lease of 90yrs or sloght lower wont do any harm to fh or lh.

Thats why o said earlier if die die must buy lh..make sure there is demand in that area and the area is poised to be "ong".

Thats why i am against lh property in si beh far places bcos it takes times to develope.
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 30 2016, 12:32 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(3sixty @ Jul 30 2016, 12:27 AM)
Agree with this - thats why I am asking. She is against LH, but I look at RM/sqft and can't understand why she want to pay same price for less space....
Listen to wifey will get u fart dart...
Jagalat
post Jul 30 2016, 12:34 AM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

What if TS spells the project names then more feedback will be expected...lol...
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 30 2016, 12:34 AM

20,146 posts

Just take mont kiara for example...mostly freehold but there are pocket of lishold...

Compare the prices btw fh n lh there...

Or klcc area...
Ero-Sennin
post Jul 30 2016, 01:03 AM

930 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Jul 30 2016, 12:34 AM)
What if TS spells the project names then more feedback will be expected...lol...
spoiler alert!!! biggrin.gif
Jagalat
post Jul 30 2016, 01:11 AM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(Ero-Sennin @ Jul 30 2016, 02:03 AM)
spoiler alert!!!  biggrin.gif
LOL..it's already at "post-credit scene" after TS mass replied.....time to reveal more for the sequel....
Minolta
post Jul 30 2016, 03:19 AM

2,292 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Jul 30 2016, 12:34 AM)
Just take mont kiara for example...mostly freehold but there are pocket of lishold...

Compare the prices btw fh n lh there...

Or klcc area...
Please let us know which condo is lishold in MK.

Dutamas is not MK
TS3sixty
post Jul 30 2016, 08:27 AM

73 posts

I won't give away the names as a) unfair to owner and b) you might steal the condo away from me biggrin.gif

I can say both are high rise, low/medium density in Kuchai Lama and Taman Desa area
SUSempatTan
post Jul 30 2016, 08:38 AM

1,678 posts

Tmn Desa.
Jagalat
post Jul 30 2016, 09:37 AM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

Since TS mentioned about wife factor, perhaps some of the potential scenarios to assess in future ...

S1) Bought LH, if there is any unplesent neighbors / neighborhood activities / property matter happens in future, will she complain "l have already told you not to buy this property. We would have been better if staying at the FH one"?
Weightage is higher if she contributes to the purchase.

S2) Bought FH, if there is any unplesent neighbors / neighborhood activities / property matter happens in future, you reserve the right to turn the table and say "We would have been better if staying at the LH one". (You have the future arguement advantage)
She has to keep silent about this argument.

Human side to consider, wife in general, will consider sense of secured(price appreciation) and a purchase worth every ringgit spent for family.
(Not promoting/hinting anything but spend some time to discuss with her)

P/S..no show her this post.
If l were you, I will choose the FH... tongue.gif

eikhwan4
post Jul 30 2016, 12:16 PM

192 posts

no problem lah even leasehold. im a land surveyor by profession, always can renew the lease by paying some premium.
Ero-Sennin
post Jul 30 2016, 12:46 PM

930 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Jul 30 2016, 09:37 AM)
Since TS mentioned about wife factor, perhaps some of the potential scenarios to assess in future ...

S1) Bought LH, if there is any unplesent neighbors / neighborhood activities / property matter happens in future, will she complain "l have already told you not to buy this property. We would have been better if staying at the FH one"?

S2) Bought FH, if there is any unplesent neighbors / neighborhood activities / property matter happens in future, you reserve the right to turn the table and say "We would have been better if staying at the LH one". (You have the future arguement advantage)
Human side to consider, wife in general, will consider sense of secured(price appreciation) and a purchase worth every ringgit spent for family.

Wife always win...end of story.
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 30 2016, 01:58 PM

20,146 posts

wife will always find something else to nag, if not about properties.

Wan4..its not about renewal of lease. I dun think anyone here will live til renewal of lease...be it at the end of 99 yrs or 20 years left.
its more to do with ease of selling should one moves forward in life and the perception of lishold over freehold. End of day, perception of human win over the actual laws itself bcos you cant educate your potential buyers.
TS3sixty
post Jul 30 2016, 11:38 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(empatTan @ Jul 30 2016, 08:38 AM)
Tmn Desa.
This is a question or a statement? Without considering anything else just pick Tmn Desa?

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Jul 30 2016, 09:37 AM)

I thought this statements were from a very wise person... then i read this:

Every husband know this is literally impossible wink.gif

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Jul 30 2016, 01:58 PM)
wife will always find something else to nag, if not about properties.

Wan4..its not about renewal of lease. I dun think anyone here will live til renewal of lease...be it at the end of 99 yrs or 20 years left.
its more to do with ease of selling should one moves forward in life and the perception of lishold over freehold. End of day, perception of human win over the actual laws itself bcos you cant educate your potential buyers.
This is a great reply and is the exact reason I ask the question. I can't see any issue with LH, but people like my wife (and others on here) do - so it affects my decision as I worry abotu re-sale in 5-10 years
Jagalat
post Jul 31 2016, 12:16 AM

(J)et L(ag) Ji(alat)
5,949 posts

QUOTE(3sixty @ Jul 31 2016, 12:38 AM)
This is a question or a statement? Without considering anything else just pick Tmn Desa?
I thought this statements were from a very wise person... then i read this:

Every husband know this is literally impossible wink.gif
This is a great reply and is the exact reason I ask the question. I can't see any issue with LH, but people like my wife (and others on here) do - so it affects my decision as I worry abotu re-sale in 5-10 years
LOL...at least a moment to have a wife paused a moment (making use this moment to tell her the property was purchased in line with her wish)...doesn't hint will win...
Anyway, no intention to generate further scenario for your assessment....good luck to your decision.

oxm8
post Jul 31 2016, 09:13 AM

1,458 posts

Again it become FH camp vs LH camp.
still waiting for TS to give more info....
TS3sixty
post Jul 31 2016, 05:42 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(oxm8 @ Jul 31 2016, 09:13 AM)
Again it become FH camp vs LH camp.
still waiting for TS to give more info....
What additional info do you need?
legioss
post Jul 31 2016, 11:32 PM

466 posts

in sepang near klia, got ioi and glomac project, ioi is f/h selling about rm660k+, glomac is l/h selling about rm500k+, maybe can compare in this way, another area to compare is bandar kinrara which is f/h vs damai utama which is l/h, both next to each other
cspt123 P
post Jun 4 2019, 05:46 PM

Probation

Hi there, do check out this article that compares between freehold and leasehold. Both do have their pros and cons, this article streamlined down the one that will suit you, https://blog.carousell.com/property/freehol...hold-singapore/.
csbong87
post Jun 4 2019, 07:05 PM

263 posts

Sell within 5 to 10 years ? Own stay might as well rent since half heartedly.
Hunakadoo
post Jun 4 2019, 07:53 PM

Call me Gold Man !
2,494 posts

freehold now abit overrated
if u notice now freehold project ALWAYS rm200 psf more than project leasehold surround

developer already catch the point and jack up the price .

meanwhile rental price is same .

0.0381sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:30 PM