Leasehold vs. Freehold - crossing point?

BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 29 2016, 09:54 AM

20,146 posts

If this is a newly built condo...rest assure that the lease wont be 99 yrs...it will be 99 yrs minus the building time.

Lishold property in general is 20% cheaper than fh...u can tell by the lower psf.

In a place where there are fh and lh...lh will loose out...

But for condo projects...fh or lh makes little impact bcos after 70/80 yrs the condo will be condamned anywhere...but if u intend to sell with lease period of 80odds years...its still doable and make sure the location is 'wong enuf'.
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 29 2016, 10:13 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(mingyew @ Jul 29 2016, 10:10 AM)
all can believe bean's facts, he is freehold/lishold expert.
I would never ever buy lishold landed for own stay.....
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 29 2016, 10:35 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(mthc @ Jul 29 2016, 10:32 AM)
Well that's you lol.

But many many tan sri spent millions on a garbage LH land in Tropicana. Oh well.. setia alam? Fkin joke.
If u have few millions dumping on lh land...its yr choice loh

I dun have few millions...therefore cant afford to make the mistake.

Joke is on you.
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 29 2016, 10:51 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(mthc @ Jul 29 2016, 10:49 AM)
Guess you don't know how well some LH condos appreciated.

Appreciated way better than any setia alam landed which is sought to be Freehold. Lol.

This will be a never ending debate between LH vs FH. But if you happen to find a gem on a LH land pls dispose to me okay? Don't let is miss the boat and that's probably some of the reasons why you don't have your millions.
I dun have millions so do you lah junior auditor...
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 29 2016, 10:54 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(JXplod @ Jul 29 2016, 10:51 AM)
Hi TS for own stay is obvious choice go for freehold. And freehold land is getting scare in most of part great klang Valley.  N some free hold demand a higher price over Lh. Sacrifice on the extra 500 sqft .  Is better to plan a head, if some unforseen circumstance
Jxplod....dun simple say fh is better leh nanti mtch taruk u kau kau bcos he got two lishold condos leh...and he is millionaire...
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 29 2016, 02:33 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Jul 29 2016, 01:37 PM)
Side question to all gurus/daikors/daijers/bosses, any one has a list of freehold KV residential properties (houses, terraces, banjialow, apartments, condos, service suites, or property building) being acquired by Gov? Pls advise the link(if any)? If not, pls spell the projects/ptoperties you can recall..
Thank you very much.
even if govt wanted to acquire yr fh property, it got to be at arms length transaction, meaning market price lah...
you may not have the right to reject the offer becos the purpose was supposed to be benefit to public at large...at least you are not given up your property chip chip....but that doesn't mean govt cant build a flyover over your house or very close to your house.

on the other hand, on lishold property, govt just need to wait for lease expired nia and you dun get any compensation at all....although klang valley at large still doesn't have many lishold properties that reached 99 years yet.

This post has been edited by BEANCOUNTER: Jul 29 2016, 02:34 PM
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 30 2016, 12:30 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(3sixty @ Jul 29 2016, 11:54 PM)

Thats my question, does the extra space make up for these problems....
500sq is not a large space for naked eyes to feel. It ccould be just an extra bedroom or larger balcony a bit bigger in living and kitchen.

After 10yrs...the maintenance of building and access play more important part.

Beside with lease of 90yrs or sloght lower wont do any harm to fh or lh.

Thats why o said earlier if die die must buy lh..make sure there is demand in that area and the area is poised to be "ong".

Thats why i am against lh property in si beh far places bcos it takes times to develope.
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 30 2016, 12:32 AM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(3sixty @ Jul 30 2016, 12:27 AM)
Agree with this - thats why I am asking. She is against LH, but I look at RM/sqft and can't understand why she want to pay same price for less space....
Listen to wifey will get u fart dart...
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 30 2016, 12:34 AM

20,146 posts

Just take mont kiara for example...mostly freehold but there are pocket of lishold...

Compare the prices btw fh n lh there...

Or klcc area...
BEANCOUNTER
post Jul 30 2016, 01:58 PM

20,146 posts

wife will always find something else to nag, if not about properties.

Wan4..its not about renewal of lease. I dun think anyone here will live til renewal of lease...be it at the end of 99 yrs or 20 years left.
its more to do with ease of selling should one moves forward in life and the perception of lishold over freehold. End of day, perception of human win over the actual laws itself bcos you cant educate your potential buyers.

0.0190sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:49 AM