[OFFICIAL] Ubiquiti Networks, Home/SOHO/Enterprise Networking
meh_man
Aug 10 2016, 12:14 PM

I read great reviews for this product but there isn't any proper seller channel here in malaysia so there's not a lot of information I can get about the products.
I'm planning to upgrade my home wireless router/modem combo. Currently using streamyx. It will be great if the router signal can get thru 3 floors.
Anyone can point me to the right direction ?
meh_man
Aug 10 2016, 06:51 PM

QUOTE(wafer @ Aug 10 2016, 02:33 PM) Hi meh-man, There is no short answer to your question. If I needed to redo my whole network again, I could: - 1) Plan for >100Mbps fiber boardband, 2) Use Gigabit switch, LAN & CAT6 cables, 3) Use dedicated wired router to manage DCHP, routing traffic, QoS, etc. 4) Use WiFi APs to cover all 3 floors (diff SSID). WiFi-AC at 5GHz channel is rated at 867Mbps, but range is much lower than WiFi-N at 2.4GHz. Note. It is too early to consider mesh-Wifi (Eero or Luma)! No point paying premium to be their lab rat...! Hi I just reread my post and I think I was too vague with what I want out of the setup. I live in a rural area so i doubt unify is coming anytime soon. I only plan to get a wireless AP since I think that's all I can afford for the moment. I plan to reuse the modem TM gave me. Plus this is for home use so at most its 5-10 max at a time. So a high end router is out of the question. I'm sick and tired of generic low quality bullshit products from tp,asus dlink etc. TLDR version : What is the cheapest wireless AP compatible with streamyx ?
meh_man
Aug 10 2016, 09:11 PM

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Aug 10 2016, 08:58 PM) there is Wireless AP long range... up to 183m Model number ? Any rough estimate on the pricing ?