[OFFICIAL] Ubiquiti Networks, Home/SOHO/Enterprise Networking

ee7han
post Jan 13 2017, 01:23 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Jan 10 2017, 04:07 PM)
hi, wanna ask for advice to setup ubiquiti wifi networks around the house,
3 storey house, main unifi access at middle floor.
currently using old unifi router, unifi 50mb

wanna change all to use ubiquiti, and setup middle floor as the main unifi connection, with acces point on top and btm floor, something like below:
[attachmentid=8383846]

any suggestion? what would i need?
I have the exact same setup as you, and have the same targeted setup as your drawing, how do you plan to do the cabling? that's the only thing stopping me atm.... icon_question.gif
ee7han
post Jan 13 2017, 03:42 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Jan 13 2017, 09:13 AM)
lol. no idea yet, but not so soon as well

i planned to just route the cable out of the wall (to the outside) then route from outside to top floor ceiling and btm floor ceiling. that way i dont have to break so much walls.
you'll be routing through the roof-ceiling? hmm, sounds like a feasible idea, I do not intend to break walls too. Well, good luck with your upgrade!
ee7han
post Aug 15 2018, 04:38 PM

317 posts

sifu2 sekalian, one question, i'm in the midst of setting up a new network for my new home.

will tm unifi be able to work with this setup? or must use Edge Router? The reason i chose USG is because all the other products in the environment is from UniFi line.. and i read in the forums USG is more friendly in terms of the GUI. But i'm open to ideas, appreciate the input from experts here..

TM modem -> USG -> US-24-500W -> UAP-AC-LR / PRO
ee7han
post Aug 16 2018, 03:00 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(wanttotree @ Aug 15 2018, 07:08 PM)
Yes sir u can setup pppoe through vlan on usg to work with tm unifi. Usg and edgerouter lite is basically the same hardware. Usg has gui interface running on a controller. Pretty and somewhat easy to figure out. Usg and erlite will perform exactly the same. Usg has prettier interface while having higher price. Erlite isnt as pretty hardware and software wise, but it too is easy to setup. A few clicks away through the built in wizard and u r up and running like a flash. Checkout my tutorial if u need some head start. Either one will be a great buy. Cheers
wonderful, thank you so much !!
ee7han
post Jan 19 2019, 04:24 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(wanttotree @ Jan 17 2019, 03:07 AM)
Hi there, i uploaded a video to my server so you can watch a quick set up for your unifi. I hope it works. Cheers.
here is the link to my video

http://opn.sytes.net:5000/vs/sharing/7neqX...G9tZV92aWRlby0y
sorry bro hijack a bit. i'm having the exact same issue, but after doing the steps shown in the video, can see from the controller, that the USG has already a WAN IP, but i am still unable to access the internet.. my pc is connected to the LAN 1 port on USG.
ee7han
post Jan 22 2019, 10:52 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(wanttotree @ Jan 19 2019, 04:44 PM)
Reset your usg to factory default. Set up again by accessing 192.168.1.1 through yr web browser. It will say yr connection is not private, click advanced and continue. U will see unifi page now and click on configuration tab on the bottom left of the page. U will see similar page like in the video and fill up your pppoe details again with the vlan tag. Then later adopt the unifi to yr controller. It should work this time.
Yes it is finally working thumbsup.gif

Thank you.

edit: ignore the cabling mess, test setup only, will move into a proper setup later tongue.gif

edit 2: oh and to add on to wanttotree's guide, if your browser has an error connecting to USG default gateway (in my case the error was: ERR_SSL_VERSION_OR_CIPHER_MISMATCH), disable / turn off your antivirus, i'm using bitdefender and it worked once i turned off the online threat prevention thingy. hope this helps thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by ee7han: Jan 22 2019, 10:56 PM
ee7han
post Jan 25 2019, 12:38 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(wanttotree @ Jan 23 2019, 12:41 AM)
Nice equipments u have there sir.  A ton of ports on that unifi switch poe. Are u wiring the whole house? Appreciate the picture. Looking forward for another picture with all of it sorted and wired up. In the meantime, enjoy good sir.
yes it'll be for the whole house.. one shot tarik everywhere. i also bought a couple of UAP-AC-IW, like the stealthy sleek look very much. will report back once all is up! thanks for making the setup process for me a breeze with your guide thumbup.gif

0.0478sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:25 AM