[OFFICIAL] Ubiquiti Networks, Home/SOHO/Enterprise Networking

R4yMoNd
post Apr 21 2018, 04:44 AM

1,139 posts

Completed my home network upgrade recently.
Ubiquiti Security Gateway, Unifi Cloudkey, Unifi Switch 8 60W x 2, UAP AC Pro x 2.

Was using Asus Router AC RT68U x 2 (1 router & 1 AP)

Performance wise: Seems like Asus better coverage and faster speedtest results.

will try to tweak the unifi AP placement and see the results later.
R4yMoNd
post Apr 25 2018, 11:34 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 25 2018, 07:50 PM)
any result sharing? this must be interesting.. can post in UBNT forum.. and let the developer knows. laugh.gif
LEL. I joined the forum, but seems like many ppl only reading (post other question though)

Manage to install SSL certificate on my cloudkey controller and also use own domain.
able to access direct to cloudkey from WAN without need to go to unifi.ubnt
So far quite reliable, in the end i lower down the power of my AP to medium, and only boost max for the AP which we use most of the time.

some pic for the dashboard attached

This post has been edited by R4yMoNd: Apr 25 2018, 11:49 PM
R4yMoNd
post Apr 25 2018, 11:47 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Apr 23 2018, 01:38 PM)
Hey guys, so I just recently moved into a new place, and just recently installed Time @ 300 Mbps.

My thoughts were:
Modem --> ER-X --> AP AC --> WiFi Devices
Also desktops will hook straight up to the ER-X

For a 900sqft apt that is very low density, I think the AP AC should be sufficient enough, but AC LR is an option.

I probably will be against drilling my top ceiling and instead use some high strength 3M type sticker(?) for cable management as well as to keep the device on the ceiling.
Alternative option was to have it mid wall mounted instead.

Thoughts?
1. How do you run the utp/ethernet cable to the ceiling? unless you use cable tray or conduit or u fish the utp cable thru the lighting wiring.
2. I prefer AC AP Pro, but for mid wall mounting I will go for AP Mesh (slim device with two antenna. good for wall mount) I attached the pic.
3. How many Lan port you have in the house? if you have additional LAN Port behind living room TV should be great.

R4yMoNd
post Apr 27 2018, 10:20 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 26 2018, 09:24 AM)
i see.....

awesome.. btw... r u using TM UniFi? Maxis? or TIME?

im curious what is result for dual WAN speedtest if using USG... because last time when use ERlite can get 100+100 = 200mb...  now it detects 100  sweat.gif
I'm using Time at the moment, but hopefully able to add secondary ISP for testing purpose.

Wrong config for your ERlite perhaps? how do you get the secondary wan?
R4yMoNd
post Apr 27 2018, 10:26 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Apr 26 2018, 02:12 PM)
1. yeah probably cable tray or fish through lighting wiring
3. 2 port, one behind living room TV is very central and seems like the perfect location for either a mid wall mounting right behind the TV
Consider AP AC in Wall as well.
This wall type AP come with 2 Ethernet Port (1 Data with POE & 1 only for data) This will be useful if you need wired connectivity to your TV or TV box. or else you might place a switch over there.
Ubiquiti USG, 1 AP AC in Wall, 1 AP AC Mesh (place it anywhere you want and set it as wireless)
R4yMoNd
post May 1 2018, 03:40 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Apr 30 2018, 07:29 PM)
interesting, first time reading about the InWall solution... but is it available in MY though?
https://store.ubnt.com/products/inwall-ap

you can get it from sublime: https://www.lelong.com.my/uap-ac-iw-ubiquit...9-03-Sale-P.htm
tell him raymond recommend. u might get discount biggrin.gif
R4yMoNd
post May 1 2018, 07:30 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ May 1 2018, 07:28 PM)
hehe okok, erx vs usg though? i dont think im a very heavy user, mostly lots of video streaming, gaming, and the occasional torrent here and there, its more of getting exposed to UBNT myself, maybe i can start with erx and later on add in usg between erx and uap?
ill go with USG, Cloudkey, UAP AC in Wall, AC Mesh or AC Lite

(USG function as router, DHCP server, managing vlan if you plan to use managed switch) the best part you can manage it from unifi controller

This post has been edited by R4yMoNd: May 1 2018, 07:31 PM
R4yMoNd
post Oct 31 2018, 12:01 PM

1,139 posts

I like how I can customize my Controller dashboard in this new version

R4yMoNd
post Oct 31 2018, 12:04 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(war3boy @ Oct 20 2018, 09:21 AM)
Anyone is using USG-Pro4 with UniFi Turbo or TIME in 500Mbps?
I'm thinking to replace my Mikrotik to that, so i can have the DPI feature.
But afraid the USG-Pro4 is unable to take the 500Mbps load.  icon_question.gif

Anyone can share the experience?  notworthy.gif
Im using USG (non pro) and i able to get download 900+Mbps using Time (DPI ON)

If IPS yes.
Warning: Enabling IDS/IPS will affect the device maximum throughput. USG: 85 Mbps, USG-Pro: 250 Mbps, USG-XG-8: 1 Gbps.

This post has been edited by R4yMoNd: Oct 31 2018, 12:06 PM
R4yMoNd
post Oct 31 2018, 12:19 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(war3boy @ Oct 31 2018, 12:13 PM)
This is what i'm looking!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

I love Application Recognition Device, but i not sure how accurate the application that it can category and recognize.

Do you run some blocking for the DPI? Like restrict certain category?
Some apps not detected accurately and shown as unknown.

Nope i didn't restrict any category because only 2 user in my house. For my other unwanted device or guest i will let them use different SSID and VLAN with different bandwith limit.
R4yMoNd
post Nov 3 2018, 12:59 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Oct 31 2018, 08:06 PM)
notworthy.gif love the new look.. but still many things need improvement... i hate white wallpaper.. make my eyes pain see it
I heard they developing the dark/ night version
R4yMoNd
post Nov 11 2018, 01:17 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(war3boy @ Nov 9 2018, 10:47 PM)
i kena poison from you and looking for full Unifi solution.
Lols!

Want to understand that the USG for TM UniFi?
Is that we need managed switch for the VLAN500 and VLAN600?  icon_question.gif
for better management of vlan and also built in POE recommend using managed switch. I have spare like new 1 AP AC Pro and 8port managed Poe switch for sale in case you are interested

This post has been edited by R4yMoNd: Nov 11 2018, 01:18 AM
R4yMoNd
post Nov 11 2018, 01:20 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(th3game @ Nov 4 2018, 06:33 PM)
My own house and my inlaws house located 3km away driving distance. So in straight distance maybe about 2km. Plus my house located a bit higher ground compared to my inlaws.

So my question is ...Is that possible if i can install a dish on my roof and beaming it towards my in laws house and provide them my Internet? My current plan is 500Mbps.

Can save another subscription on my inlaw. Anyone can recommend realible ubiquiti dish Transmitter and Receiver?
If you install using a pole on the roof can you view by line of sight? if many intereference i will doubt the quality. but you can check out 5Ghz unlicensed product
R4yMoNd
post Sep 5 2019, 06:01 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(Garena @ Sep 4 2019, 04:25 PM)
I'm planning to deploy a router for a hostel. Currently choosing between EdgeRouter 12 and  RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD-IN. Which one is better in terms of network traffic monitoring, network traffic history record and network quality of service? Can EdgeOS features compete with RouterOS in any ways?
For simple setup i will use: USG, cloudkey and couple of UAP
R4yMoNd
post Jul 30 2024, 10:23 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(rip_code @ Apr 12 2024, 01:12 PM)
interested in unifi express. any distributor that i can reach out to?
Subtel selling for RM717

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/ubiquiti...3981409513.html

0.0473sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:21 PM