BenQ Joybook Club, Owner & Interested Party Please Come In

jasonlts
post Jan 22 2007, 12:52 AM

397 posts

Here's me smile.gif

QUOTE(he-sham @ Jan 21 2007, 03:28 AM)
Just Want To Make BenQ Joybook club like other notebook brand.

Please Register your name if you're Joybook owner !

Joybook R55
1) He-Sham
Joybook S73G
1) jasonlts
Joybook S53W
Joybook S61
I'll do review of my Joybook R55 later...Feel free to review your joybook here or any problem regarding software,drivers,warranty & anything else about joybook..  laugh.gif
jasonlts
post Jan 22 2007, 01:00 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Jan 22 2007, 12:39 AM)
so i just got a look at benq joybook s31. in white it does look good. the build feels solid. runs cool, but that was just idling temp. the screen looks bright and good contrast, vertical viewing angle is pretty wide. to me vertical angle is more important than horizontal, applies only to notebooks, tv is a different matter.
i think its a good buy for a 2.1kg laptop.
correction, at rm3299 i think t31 is a good buy, the c2d ver, s31, is rm500 extra, which is 15-20% more performance per clock cycle. i think the radeon1150 is enough to make up for that compared to gma950.  hmm.gif

so after seeing it in person t31 gains merit compare to the almost same price lenovo y400 and asus a8j.

now researching what people says about its reliability/aftermarket services/support.
Yup, I too feel the t31/s31 is a good buy for those who prefer mobility and not the gaming ability wink.gif It also has a 1.3 mpx webcam which is quite clear (at least from what I tested). Looks like price has dropped RM 200 for this models. Previously when I asked, the price was RM4.1k with 2gb DDR2.

On reliability, before I bought the s73g, my previous model (still in use, handed to my bro) did not encountered any serious hardware issues. Currently no issues either with s73g (after 2 months usage).

On service, I did call the Benq hotline the other day to check on my laptop hinges creaking sound. I talked to the operator for awhile. She was friendly. I was asked to wait for a technical person to call back. And the tech guy did call later to check out my case. After explaining the issue to him, he asked me to bring it to the service center for an inspection. Of course, he forgot to tell me the service center is open only from Monday till Sat so I went there on Sunday tongue.gif
Thus, on call support, I would call it satisfactory. Will give more updates once I send it to the service center.

By the way, here's the Benq hotline if anyone needs it ... 1800-38-8811
jasonlts
post Jan 22 2007, 01:04 AM

397 posts

Photos of s73g :

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
jasonlts
post Jan 22 2007, 10:01 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Jan 22 2007, 02:11 AM)
http://pdlib.pconline.com.cn/product/servi...roductId=156936
lots of picture t31 here. by the looks of it aluminium heatsink.
that site just convinced me to get one.
now, between black or white.  icon_question.gif

i only found the s31 for the same price.
1.66ghz is not fast enough eh  tongue.gif
I agree with you that 1.66ghz is not really fast. But do remember it's a dual-core processor so what it provides is stability and for the s31, I believe is adequate coz it's not meant for really heavy usage.

QUOTE(europology @ Jan 22 2007, 03:46 AM)
jason:

why ur windows desktop got mac toolbar?
Haha, coz I installed the Vista theme and added a Mac toolbar on top, europology smile.gif

QUOTE(kelvinbongcn @ Jan 22 2007, 03:59 AM)
Add me too got benq s73g..
Haha no regret in terms of gamming due to its powerful x1600
and its Ultra vivid bright screen
even proud of it when talk about price... HAHA no one cheaper than me with these same spec.. 
hmmm bad part is may be the speaker for this model need some improvement.
Hi kelvinbongcn, the speaker does have surround effects though. Haha, although itz quite a hollow effect.
jasonlts
post Jan 23 2007, 12:05 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(s2000 @ Jan 22 2007, 09:30 PM)
i jz wan to ask the benq s73g. wat is the best price nw at lowyat?? is it bundled wif ori windows xp os or jz wif linux??? i am frm jhr cant go to do the survey there.
The price when I bought s73g was 4.3k with 2gig ram. I believe the price would have dropped by now. It is bundled with Linpus Linux.
jasonlts
post Jan 23 2007, 10:06 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(kelvinbongcn @ Jan 23 2007, 06:30 AM)
i got it about 5 months ago with about rm 3899 & 1x1024 ram (not bad la at that time). everything works perfect. just one thing.. my speaker....
Dont know is my problem only or what...
the sound seems a bit sharp, unpleasant tone heard when playing music... although not consider as break sound but not nice...
ha no chance to get it change in Malaysia anymore but will try the service center in uk.

So those who wish to buy ths model remember to confirm it's speaker quality. i know benq joybook products easy to got this and keyboard problems. the rest i think not bad than those so call famous brand brows.gif , especially in terms of software and lcd screen.. but with super low price... so it's really worth to get benq product provided u know its minor flaw... (like i use external keyboard usually rather using it's own keyboard.)  icon_rolleyes.gif
I know these cause i got one relative working in BenQ service center.. cool2.gif
Hi kelvinbongcn, I dun use the speakers much but you might be right. The sound quality of the speakers is not too great. I would usually use headphones to listen to music or games. As for the keyboard, some keys might be bothersome. I don't know how they built it but itz not all perfect.
jasonlts
post Jan 24 2007, 01:58 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Jan 23 2007, 07:21 PM)
Have this joybook 5000 for 3 years +
The battery latch broken lolx, can't take off the batt already.
Then recently the combo drive just failed. Can't read any media already.
Keyboard keys surface became glossy edy due to gaming abuse bwahHAhaa. F1 key become in responsive because of DotA xD.

Wanna repair sure costly oh. Still thinking whether want to repair or not. Still operates fine anyway minus the combo drive.
My Benq 5000U is still in perfect condition. Just handed it to my bro and bought the s73g smile.gif
jasonlts
post Feb 3 2007, 06:51 PM

397 posts

I am playing Dungeon Siege 2 and Marvel Ultimate Alliance. Everything's smooth and dandy with no noticeable lag. I still have not benchmark using 3DMark or PCMark yet. Anyone know where I can get it ?
jasonlts
post Feb 4 2007, 04:04 PM

397 posts

As far as lappie lifespan is concerned, I believe it is around 2 -3 years if you use it for games, if you are a normal user e.g. office, Word, programming .. it can probably last 3 -5 years.

This comes from experience as my old Benq 5000U is 3 years old but can still run Visual Studio and Sql sever 2005 (albeit a bit slower but usable).

As for the s73g, my machine is running WinXp pro now which I bought without the vista upgrade. I am wondering if there's any discount for existing XP Pro users to upgrade to Vista.
jasonlts
post Feb 4 2007, 11:07 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Feb 4 2007, 04:39 PM)
if it's me, i'll wait for Vista SP1 to come out, then only i'll upgrade, since windows is well known for its vulnerabilities  smile.gif
Yup, I agree. Will probably wait till the second half of the year.
jasonlts
post Feb 5 2007, 10:33 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(skip2myli @ Feb 5 2007, 04:32 AM)
i pulled the trigger today and bought a s73. specs:

c2d t5500
2GB 667Mhz DDR2 Kingston RAM
ati radeon x1600
windows vista home premium
free 2GB Kingston thumb drive
free laptop bag
2 free optical mouse

All for rm4450. What do you think? Good price or not?
Yup, itz definitely worth it. Bought mine at RM 4.3k (2 gig Patriot DDR2) with Linux and no free gifts.
jasonlts
post Feb 12 2007, 11:15 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Feb 12 2007, 08:04 AM)
standard price lo cos come with genuine win xp wat.XP home or Pro?If home is standard but if XP Pro considerly is cheap alr(worth RM500). biggrin.gif
Yup. that's right. Although mine was 4.3k with 2 gig RAM ,it didn't come with Windows. So, at michaelyii1988's price .. it's still ok although I am wondering if you can get Windows Vista at the same price.

About the heat, it is standard in the Benq Joybook series. It has not overheated before and shouldn't now. Of course, the palm area will feel hot after a while but you will get used to it smile.gif
jasonlts
post Feb 15 2007, 08:40 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(williamngwl @ Feb 14 2007, 10:02 PM)
as information to all of u.benq joybook only come with 1 year warranty.2 & 3 year u still have to pay for the part
Yup, that is correct. However, you can add on 2 & 3 year warranty for around rm 250.
jasonlts
post Feb 21 2007, 10:40 AM

397 posts

Ok guys. Since I had some time today, I managed to run a benchmark with 3DMark05 AND 06 (basic edition). Below are the scores :

3DMark06 - 1744
3DMark05 - 3208

Here are my specs :

Intel Core 2 1.6Ghz
ATI X1600 (425Mhz / 373 Mhz)
2 gb Patriot DDR2 667Mhz

CPU-Z details as follows :

This post has been edited by jasonlts: Feb 21 2007, 10:41 AM
jasonlts
post Feb 22 2007, 03:23 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Feb 21 2007, 12:57 PM)
Nice scoring man...Do u overclock the GPU processor?
Hi tplcaik, nope .. no overclocking whatsoever. Running at stock speed. Next testing is to run PCMark05 and try to overclock the x1600. Stay tuned for more updates smile.gif

jasonlts
post Feb 26 2007, 08:04 AM

397 posts

Hi ivzh, what router are you using and the security setup ?
jasonlts
post Feb 28 2007, 09:48 AM

397 posts

I believe the seller quoted me for rm 280 for additional 2 year warranty. However, what Insydious said is true, for a hassle-free warranty service, there is none better than Dell.
jasonlts
post Mar 7 2007, 04:43 AM

397 posts

Support site :
http://www.benq.com.my/support/downloads/i...?productline=18

However, it only has drivers for certain models available e.g. R55.
jasonlts
post Mar 8 2007, 03:34 PM

397 posts

Hi michaelyii1988, if you are using Nero, check the options. There is a folder that specifies where files are to be copied before burning to DVD.

Make sure the drive specified in that path has enough space (depending on how much you are burning into DVD e.g. if full DVD, 4.7gb must be free).
jasonlts
post Mar 8 2007, 11:25 PM

397 posts

Everything seems to be alright except for the disc space. If it's an empty disc, it shouldn't be showing that amount of space left.

There might be some settings that need to be configured. Anyone can help ?

0.0385sec    0.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:34 AM