Review Viofo A119 dashcam

Keatsan
post Sep 21 2017, 06:30 PM

If it ain't broke, don't 6ix it
1,124 posts

Hi blurjoey, the link to download latest firmware from your dropbox seems broken.

Edited - Got it from http://support.viofo.com/

This post has been edited by Keatsan: Sep 21 2017, 06:34 PM
Keatsan
post Sep 22 2017, 07:40 PM

1,124 posts

I'm just wondering, using CPL filter and leaving it entire time, won't it be dark recording during the dark?
Keatsan
post Sep 23 2017, 01:05 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Sep 23 2017, 12:59 AM)
This my A119S with CPL filter. I leave it on 24/7.

Hopefully the sensors for a119 with CPL would be acceptable. sweat.gif
Keatsan
post Sep 23 2017, 01:31 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Sep 23 2017, 01:23 AM)
Here's A119 with CPL

How I know got CPL? Watch the daytime part at 5:56 and look for the rainbow effects. That's the issue for CPL and certain tints.
Hmm, looks like the CPL has its pros and cons. If driving in well litted areas at night especially highways, its okay.

But in not so litted area, can reduce the visibility of the camera recording distance.
Keatsan
post Sep 29 2017, 04:30 PM

1,124 posts

For those using this A119, did any of you bought the hard wire kit and use the parking mode?

I'm still finding the right fuse to piggyback onto it that has constant power to enable the a119 to use parking mode. Any suggestion?
Keatsan
post Sep 29 2017, 07:55 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Sep 29 2017, 05:37 PM)
The parking mode by Viofo is actually very good... Can almost compare with ThinkWare...

You'll need to read car's manual or use a multimeter...
QUOTE(KIntos @ Sep 29 2017, 07:53 PM)
I hardwired my car with vicovation brand on a119. You need to show us ur car fuse allocation. Then i can tell you to check which fuse and wiring.
I'll use a multimeter to check for current. If there's current, I'll tap into it.

Kinda hard to find 3a or 4a fuse. Smallest from Car Accessories shop is 5a...
Keatsan
post Sep 29 2017, 09:41 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Sep 29 2017, 09:33 PM)
Try get from online platform like element14 & rs component.
Thanks. I'll try find local.shops first. Imagine getting minimum order of 50 units from element14. sweat.gif
Keatsan
post Oct 6 2017, 12:04 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(j45on @ Oct 6 2017, 11:41 AM)
the idea i have in mind is that having a 128gb storage will increase the lifetime of the sd card by 2x of 64gb since it doesn't need to rewrite the same memory location over again and 4x longer than a 32gb sd card. per gb wise, its also cheaper... keep rewriting the memory location, not sure if the memory card will last a year for 32gb
I believe the memory card has 10 years warranty. And another thing, our phones are also constant writing memory location especially for Android phones.

So technically should be same concern as you have.
Keatsan
post Oct 6 2017, 02:30 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Oct 6 2017, 02:27 PM)
I just bought 128GB Samsung Evo+ UHS3 for USD48 from gearbest...
Mostly all will void the warranty if spoilt by dashcams or IP cams. Only those High Endurance is covered.

Get those microSD using MLC chips not TLC chips like the cheap Sandisk Ultra.
So the Samsung Evo Plus is TLC chips eh?
Keatsan
post Oct 6 2017, 04:16 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Oct 6 2017, 02:35 PM)
Nope. It's MLC.
Quite High Endurance but I guess Malaysia warranty would replace it even if usage is on CCTV/Dash Cam

Never warranty this Micro SD Card before. sweat.gif
Keatsan
post Nov 14 2017, 12:04 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 14 2017, 11:59 AM)
HDR is coming to A119. Currently in beta testing and the image image quality is improved further after v3.3 fw. Can't wait for it.

https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/hdr-w...-on-a119.31012/
Oh sweet HDR.

The parking mode time lapse video is just 1.5x speed playback. Kinda hilarious when I view it. Haha
Keatsan
post Nov 14 2017, 12:47 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 14 2017, 12:30 PM)
Timelapse... Even those premium dashcam is timelapse recording in parking mode. Then normal recording if got triggered.
I'll check again. Haha. Cause I don't seem to see any normal recording but instead the time lapse recording in video format.
Keatsan
post Nov 21 2017, 10:16 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 21 2017, 09:46 AM)
Actually, some people hardwire dashcams for the parking mode or just to power on when starting engine so that won't use up the accessory port. Depends on your requirements.

I got a friend testing the parking mode on the A119's v3.3 firmware. No issues for more a month now. He parks outside during the day.

But not all dashcams can work 24/7 parking mode like the DDPai Mini2. Tested parking mode for around 72 hours and the board burn due to its thin board design.
Wait wait wait.......if the A119s park for more than 72 hours, got chance to get the board burn !!!?? sweat.gif

And I think I could try out the 3.3 firmware also.
Keatsan
post Nov 21 2017, 10:23 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 21 2017, 10:19 AM)
Friend still testing the A119 with parking mode haven't burn yet laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
eh? the burn board is dpai mini2 or a119? A lil confuse. rclxub.gif
Keatsan
post Nov 21 2017, 10:43 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 21 2017, 10:37 AM)
DDPai Mini2 burn cause they use solder instead of ribbon to connect the board. So the heat was too intense till burn the solder.

This from local supplier for DDPai
[attachmentid=9358645]
Oh mai gawd......that hurts....so much.....

The mini 0906 ... i hope it wont melt too under long recording. sweat.gif
Keatsan
post Nov 21 2017, 10:46 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 21 2017, 10:45 AM)
Mini0906 I didn't test the parking mode as I don't have a microUSB hardwire kit laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

But tested 1+ months no issue parked outside in Cyberjaya everyday biggrin.gif
Glad to know A119s still surviving well. Btw, is the firmware 3.3 available to download ?

Any changelog ?
Keatsan
post Nov 21 2017, 11:03 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 21 2017, 10:57 AM)
Got new firmware v3.4

http://support.viofo.com/support/solutions...camera-firmware

Change log:
1.Added: Finally fixed camera freezing while showing XXXXX on screen.

But no HDR sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Aihz....the specs inside A119 can easily go full HDR but firmware doesn't has the option. sadding
Keatsan
post Nov 21 2017, 11:54 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 21 2017, 11:36 AM)
They are still beta testing the HDR. Seems some testers got issues. Wait lo. Hardware all ready. Now is only software side.

Can't wait for it.

Left HDR enabled. Right HDR disabled.
[attachmentid=9360232]
[attachmentid=9360238]

Found the changelog for v3.3

Version 3.3 Released 08/16/17

Change log:

1. Added: Parking mode feature
2. Added: Lock the previous file while the ! button pressed in the begin of 15s of current file
3. Improved: Change the sound for taking screen shot when you press the menu button
4. Improved: One click to stop recording, mute/unmute while in screen saver mode
5. Improved: No embedded GPS info in movie when GPS feature is disabled
6. Fixed: Screen will no longer come on when in screen saver mode and in Parking/motion detection Mode
HDR!! My A119 IS READY !!!
Keatsan
post Jan 14 2018, 12:38 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(-Aktan- @ Jan 14 2018, 11:20 AM)
My rear mount is stuck like this on the rear brake light
[attachmentid=9512063]

Keep falling down due to the funny semi slippery plastic surface of the brake light.
Did you DIY yourself the cabling?
Keatsan
post Jan 14 2018, 04:57 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(-Aktan- @ Jan 14 2018, 12:40 PM)
My DIY not cantik, will have small part outside the pillar there..
My car wash helped me to make it better...
Cause I'm always curious how to DIY the cable all the way to the back. I plan to add on another dash cam for the back, but the cabling would be quite tough.

0.0342sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 01:14 AM