1440p monitor, Worth?

llk
post Sep 3 2016, 04:01 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(Binsen @ Sep 3 2016, 10:51 AM)
I just discovered DSR function where can virtually set res up to 4k in my 1080p monitor. But it came with smoothness problem. So if i tune down res to 1080p in 1440p or 4k monitor, does it have similar problem?
Tune down the resolution shouldn't be any problem with smoothness issue, i have try 1080p with my U2715H the game is getting higher fps.

QUOTE(ongweiping @ Sep 3 2016, 02:19 PM)
Overall, erm, not very satisfied, i guess this is the pc master race mind, haha. I used to set high-ultra graphic settings, so far not very smooth, depends on game, when there is not much going on, its ok, which is like 40 fps and above, once it get intense, then it is noticeable that 970 cant catch up, not like very bad, but once it get noticeable, then you will frustrate dy. Played below game so far:

1. MechWarrior Online (play this mainly, once it get intense, will feel the lag, but not that bad, still enjoyable, ultra settings, not much improvement with high, so i go with ultra)
2. The Division - hovering around 25++ to 50fps, okok to me. regret to buy it, game not nice. haha
3. Mortal Kombat - set to ultra, fps not that nice, but playable.
4. Havent tested Project Cars yet, cuz too intense. Stressed playing that.
5. DOOM - The BEST game so far, played it without trouble with ultra settings on 1440p, so touched... @@

Suggest you to wait next year as planned, might as well i upgrade my pc also with new CPU and GPU together with you.
Nice one, liked to have that 980Ti to complement with 1440p. Not sure if you also tempted with those g-sync monitors, so tempting to get those ultra wide monitor like x34 predator after using this U2715H.

Both of you guys specs totally owned me.  blink.gif Hope to have CPU like both of you.
At this moment still yet to decide to upgrade the monitor, maybe wait for more choices & more competitive pricing, currently pricing for 34in with IPS & GSync shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by llk: Sep 3 2016, 04:04 PM
ongweiping
post Sep 4 2016, 01:34 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Sep 3 2016, 03:20 PM)
Thanks... I am also curious if with 1070 will the gaming experience become smooth for your dell monitor... I am sure to upgrade to 1070 at least but for monitor still kinda undecided... if go for Acer predator 27 inch that will be like rm3.2k....
Like llk mentioned, it should, since performance on par with 980Ti. Or hentam kuat to 1080 or 1080Ti next year. Was thinking abt 1440p monitor too, ultra wide version, but yeah, too expensive. Guess you can consider better monitor, if you havent buy any now for 1440p. Those with gsync. haiz, can easily reach 7k with just monitor and GPU alone. Crazy, who says desktop gaming is cheaper than laptop gaming. cry.gif
kevyeoh
post Sep 4 2016, 09:02 AM

4,721 posts

ok ok.... was thinking more on dell monitor refresh rate 60Hz and then the respond rate is like 8ms or 6ms...my current old monitor also already on 2ms....need to try go view demo....some ppl say very easily can notice the difference.... smile.gif

QUOTE(ongweiping @ Sep 4 2016, 01:34 AM)
Like llk mentioned, it should, since performance on par with 980Ti. Or hentam kuat  to 1080 or 1080Ti next year. Was thinking abt 1440p monitor too, ultra wide version, but yeah, too expensive. Guess you can consider better monitor, if you havent buy any now for 1440p. Those with gsync. haiz, can easily reach 7k with just monitor and GPU alone. Crazy, who says desktop gaming is cheaper than laptop gaming.  cry.gif
ongweiping
post Sep 5 2016, 12:59 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Sep 4 2016, 09:02 AM)
ok ok.... was thinking more on dell monitor refresh rate 60Hz and then the respond rate is like 8ms or 6ms...my current old monitor also already on 2ms....need to try go view demo....some ppl say very easily can notice the difference.... smile.gif
Good that you not in 1440p yet with GTX970. wait next year see market how. I am using 2ms 1080p monitor before this also, changed to 1440p didnt feel too much, my eye not that sensitive and... i didnt try a lot of fps yet. But playing DOOM is ok. Yeah depends on person also. cant comment much on this. Looks like those g-sync monitors and IPS 4ms will be the best. ahaha
TSBinsen
post Sep 5 2016, 12:39 PM

20 posts

So it come to the point again. Does 1440p worth upgrade from 1080p? Like youtuber says, 1440p better pixel density. But it really look nicer? I tried even 4k in the wticher 3 but dsr in 1080p 24" monitor. Feel like not much.. i also heard ultra wide have better experience even in 1080p, your eye balls moves more than your hands. Is it true? 1440p versus ultra wide, 3 display or XXL size screen?

This post has been edited by Binsen: Sep 5 2016, 12:41 PM
kevyeoh
post Sep 12 2016, 05:29 PM

4,721 posts

I never use monitor bigger than 22in but i read....27in...you get better immersive experience when playing games... smile.gif
But i was like thinking, wah...if play FPS...then your mouse move from one side to another side to shoot....can or not... haha ...

QUOTE(Binsen @ Sep 5 2016, 12:39 PM)
So it come to the point again. Does 1440p worth upgrade from 1080p? Like youtuber says, 1440p better pixel density. But it really look nicer? I tried even 4k in the wticher 3 but dsr in 1080p 24" monitor. Feel like not much.. i also heard ultra wide have better experience even in 1080p, your eye balls moves more than your hands. Is it true? 1440p versus ultra wide, 3 display or XXL size screen?

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0173sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:14 AM