USD/MYR v4

limeuu
post Nov 29 2016, 04:25 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Nov 29 2016, 02:19 PM)
has anyone here actually uplift/hedge ringgit for other asset/commodity class to protect from net worth erosion from the trend? by that i mean actual action and not 'nato'.
everybody with money has been doing that...including all the politicians....

i have hedged currency since 2001....
limeuu
post Nov 29 2016, 06:31 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Nov 29 2016, 05:39 PM)
care to share which are the low transaction hedging instruments you most preferred with some insights?
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 29 2016, 06:04 PM)
wow so long u have been doing this..

most only started few year back.. small time only  blush.gif
this is long term hedging NOT currency trading...ie hedging for future use....specifically for children's education...

at that time, there is no local FC accounts, but it is still relatively easy to open accounts overseas...i opened accounts in the usual suspect countries oz, nz when visiting, and have a uk account from the time i was working there....and manage them online remotely...

the cheapest way to transfer is by FC bank drafts....just change at the banks and then post them to the banks overseas to bank in...

if you look at currency charts, there were long periods when aud was below 2, and nzd 1.6....and pounds below 5....whenever i felt it's worth it, and have spare money, just convert, buy a draft and send it over....

in later years, i use dci to convert.....

as late as last 2 years, i had need for a substantial sum of aud, and dci most of it, at still good (compared to now) rates of below 3....

of course i over hedged, so after use for education, etc i still have deposits in these countries, which now becomes valuable...lol

in addition, i have bonds in usd, bought when the usd was about 3.0 to 3.2....
limeuu
post Nov 29 2016, 07:07 PM

12,290 posts

yes, i will also not be converting them back, so the gains are paper gains....but it's nice to know you are spending "cheaper" money when holidaying there....

the yields in oz and nz was good, but spore is a low yield environment, so did not open an account there till 09 via maybank msia...the bulk of the sgd was at 2.4, during a dip just after the 2013 ge13.....cheap holiday money again....lol
limeuu
post Nov 29 2016, 09:41 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Nov 29 2016, 08:26 PM)
May I know roughly how much of your net worth/wealth including residence etc (in % terms) has been converted to foreign currency denominated assets? This question is also addressed to all those willing to share their figures. I have only about 3%. Sigh....
About half...
limeuu
post Nov 30 2016, 09:19 AM

12,290 posts

The 'foreign investment' far exceed half, if you include investment in foreign education for children....
limeuu
post Nov 30 2016, 12:27 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Nov 30 2016, 11:23 AM)
Is the education funds spent already? If they are used up for education, then no longer considered "investments". They become written off expenses.(prudence concept) tongue.gif
these "investments" have been spent...and the "investments" are yielding in foreign currency as well... wink.gif
limeuu
post Dec 1 2016, 08:28 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 1 2016, 08:26 AM)
malaysia no cut?
Msia is not in opec....
limeuu
post Dec 2 2016, 11:54 AM

12,290 posts

the italy refenendum has nothing to do with leaving the eu per se....it is a refenendum on political reforms...

the problem is that the italian pm promised to quit if the political reform referendum fails....which may trigger fresh elections next year, which then runs the possibility of the five star movement coming to power....and they have promised to initiate a referendum for possible itaxit....

the nett effect is uncertainty in eurozone (and britain as well)....how that will affect the myr....don't know....
limeuu
post Dec 2 2016, 05:59 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 2 2016, 05:27 PM)
Malaysians are too choosy. 2 weeks ago I was in Australia and saw the locals doing like all the jobs there. Unlike Malaysia. Too much dependence on the foreign labour.

locals do all kinds of jobs, and get paid well for it....and generally, efficiency and productivity is high...

if you pay australian rates, locals will also do "all kinds of jobs"....
limeuu
post Dec 3 2016, 07:32 AM

12,290 posts

Conditions in Turkey is very similar to msia.... except no Chinese minority and DAP to blame....lol
limeuu
post Dec 4 2016, 11:49 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 4 2016, 09:18 PM)
Bros,... hmm,... I'm going to do this,... I'll wake up earlier tomorrow morning and look at how the interbank rates below start :-

https://au.finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=MYR%...=MYR=X;range=1d

If the 'number at the top' drops below 4.4400, then I would know the RM is strengthening,... smile.gif
how can you look at a snapshot of initial trading and extrapolate it to trend?....
limeuu
post Dec 6 2016, 04:07 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(spiderman17 @ Dec 6 2016, 01:05 PM)
i have been selling usd buying myr since oct till now...guess i'm swimming solo here.
(my usd holding was from the 3.x period)
Why are you converting back?....you got good investment in myr?....

0.0935sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:16 PM