2016 Honda City or Toyota Vios

TSHolyCross
post Jun 27 2016, 10:54 PM, updated 10y ago

356 posts

Hi all lovely people

I am currently on a first gen proton persona (2008/2009?) and am interested to change it since it is giving me lots of problems already.

I currently have my mind on Toyota Vios and Honda City because they are within my budget and have been trying to figuring out which is better and gives the best bang for buck. Any recommendations which should I get? Or is there better car within my budget that I missed out?

Thank you so much! smile.gif)
Yoona<3
post Jun 27 2016, 10:55 PM

Honda city .. overall is better with 6 airbags biggrin.gif
Fasha1993
post Jun 27 2016, 10:59 PM

55 posts

go for honda jazz
cheapest compact car in peninsular
mls_gamer
post Jun 27 2016, 11:26 PM

1,589 posts

Mazda 2 ??
stargamer
post Jun 27 2016, 11:35 PM

282 posts

Honda airbags safe or not? takata airbag got problem, u better check first
khloh1166
post Jun 28 2016, 08:18 AM

21 posts

i just bought Vios recently since the offer so attracting. 11k from Salesman + Free Gift DVD etc etc.. Honda city only free petrol, umbrella etc ( depends on salesman)

both also nice car if you compare current version = Honda City > Vios. If not rush to buy, wait few more months ba, New version Vios with New engine, CVT coming soon.

Good Luck smile.gif
westlife
post Jun 28 2016, 08:25 AM

14,313 posts

Of course city, why buy a underspec cow head car.
TamashiiHeroes
post Jun 28 2016, 09:38 AM

35 posts

test drive urself
base on spec honda city sure win
aaron1717
post Jun 28 2016, 09:40 AM

Chui Shui in Property Manyak Best!
10,188 posts

lol... so many thread on this topic... city vs vios....

pls no matter what... go for city.... period....

no need ask why or know why since you dont bother to compare whats the diff between these two cars....
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 28 2016, 10:31 AM

12,696 posts

Do not buy any car without Electronic Stability Control. Period. I understand City have it but not sure about Vios
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C4-Lbt8KHkw
lsm1991
post Jun 28 2016, 10:48 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 28 2016, 10:31 AM)
Do not buy any car without Electronic Stability Control. Period. I understand City have it but not sure about Vios
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C4-Lbt8KHkw
i get how esc works and yeah its great and all, but purely from that video's standpoint, he lost control on purpose, in that particular case he very obviously forced the car to do that..... great way to emphasize the uses of esc but.... when i see videos like this, it seems like im being lied to~ ohmy.gif

i quote some random dude: In 10 car crashes, 6 of them are with cars NOT older than 5 years, so they have all possible electronic assist. That made me the conclusion that driving experience and responsibility are much much safer assists than electronic assist smile.gif

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jun 28 2016, 10:57 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 28 2016, 10:58 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 28 2016, 10:48 AM)
i get how esc works and yeah its great and all, but purely from that video's standpoint, he lost control on purpose, in that particular case he very obviously forced the car to do that..... great way to emphasize the uses of esc but.... when i see videos like this, it seems like im being lied to~ ohmy.gif
He did it on purpose and yet can't flip the car.

But what if you are driving on a highway and a box dropped off a lorry right in front into your path, then you will be doing exactly what he is doing but in an emergency.

There is a reason why since 2014 it's illegal to sell new car without ESC in Europe.
lsm1991
post Jun 28 2016, 11:09 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 28 2016, 10:58 AM)
He did it on purpose and yet can't flip the car.

But what if you are driving on a highway and a box dropped off a lorry right in front into your path, then you will be doing exactly what he is doing but in an emergency.

There is a reason why since 2014 it's illegal to sell new car without ESC in Europe.
about the flipping part, that really depends on the car itself...... suspension setup and all that has to be taken into consideration.... to do a fair test you need 2 of the same cars one with vcs/ecs one with none

There is a reason why since 2014 it's illegal to sell new car without ESC in Europe. not gona argue with this, but all im saying is, that video is very erm... exaggerated?? proton's live demonstrations are probably a better example of why ecs is important

main point is all these systems keep you in control, thats it... end of the day its there to keep your pointed in the direction you desire
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 28 2016, 11:21 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 28 2016, 11:09 AM)
about the flipping part, that really depends on the car itself...... suspension setup and all that has to be taken into consideration.... to do a fair test you need 2 of the same cars one with vcs/ecs one with none

There is a reason why since 2014 it's illegal to sell new car without ESC in Europe. not gona argue with this, but all im saying is, that video is very erm... exaggerated?? proton's live demonstrations are probably a better example of why ecs is important

main point is all these systems keep you in control, thats it... end of the day its there to keep your pointed in the direction you desire
Even newer cheap Proton have ESC. So see no reason to get a more expensive new car that comes without.

If you want to get a car without ABS or ESC or whatever, up to you.

People don't buy a car and deliberately go looking for accident. Those system are there just in case you are in difficult situations.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jun 28 2016, 11:27 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 28 2016, 11:23 AM

12,696 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z8KjsjrIGqI

lsm1991
post Jun 28 2016, 11:29 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 28 2016, 11:21 AM)
Even newer cheap Proton have ESC. So see no reason to get a more expensive new car that comes without.

People don't buy a car and deliberately go looking for accident. Those system are there just in case you are in difficult situations.
ehh dont get me wrong abang~ im critisising the video!! not esc!!..... im just saying thats an exagerated video thats all~~

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 28 2016, 11:23 AM)
now this video me like~ no silly exaggerated flipping of cars/funny stuff happening, simple, clearcut

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jun 28 2016, 11:31 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 28 2016, 11:35 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 28 2016, 11:29 AM)
ehh dont get me wrong abang~ im critisising the video!! not esc!!..... im just saying thats an exagerated video thats all~~
now this video me like~ no silly exaggerated flipping of cars/funny stuff happening, simple, clearcut
It's common to exaggerate something when one wanted to make a point but the important thing is, is the point valid? I find you shooting the messenger instead of focusing on the message.

lsm1991
post Jun 28 2016, 11:40 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 28 2016, 11:35 AM)
It's common to exaggerate something when one wanted to make a point but the important thing is, is the point valid? I find you shooting the messenger instead of focusing on the message.
nuuuuu.... owait... might be cause that was fifthgear... which reminded me of top gear.... which reminded me of the old top gear..... cry.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 28 2016, 11:46 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 28 2016, 11:40 AM)
nuuuuu.... owait... might be cause that was fifthgear... which reminded me of top gear.... which reminded me of the old top gear.....  cry.gif

I am sure in many of the accidents in Malaysia safety system like ABS and ESP would have helped in sizable number of those accidents but of course not all. If both cars cost similar amount money there is no reason to choose one without.

lsm1991
post Jun 28 2016, 12:06 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 28 2016, 11:46 AM)
I am sure in many of the accidents in Malaysia safety system like ABS and ESP would have helped in sizable number of those accidents but of course not all. If both cars cost similar amount money there is no reason to choose one without.
i know i would have benefited from abs on my old car..... bye.gif would have really been useful~~ rain + smooth roads = locked brakes
TSHolyCross
post Jun 28 2016, 12:14 PM

356 posts

Thank you so much for all the feedback, looks like City is the better choice,
the honda recall news just frighten me about the quality of their cars

https://toyota.com.my/vehicles/car/vios#pricespecs

toyota website shows that vios has ABS but can't seem to find any ABS feature on city, anyone knows about this?
and do both cars come with ESC?

This post has been edited by HolyCross: Jun 28 2016, 12:20 PM
adamhzm90
post Jun 28 2016, 12:32 PM

1,389 posts

lower spec : go for vios

higher spec : city
adamhzm90
post Jun 28 2016, 12:35 PM

1,389 posts

QUOTE(HolyCross @ Jun 28 2016, 12:14 PM)
Thank you so much for all the feedback, looks like City is the better choice,
the honda recall news just frighten me about the quality of their cars

https://toyota.com.my/vehicles/car/vios#pricespecs

toyota website shows that vios has ABS but can't seem to find any ABS feature on city, anyone knows about this?
and do both cars come with ESC?
high spec city got esc..lower do not have..
both car variants got abs
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 28 2016, 03:00 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 28 2016, 12:06 PM)
i know i would have benefited from abs on my old car.....  bye.gif would have really been useful~~ rain + smooth roads = locked brakes
If you think ABS is good then ESC would be fantastic because it incorporate ABS plus Traction Control.

lsm1991
post Jun 28 2016, 03:11 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 28 2016, 03:00 PM)
If you think ABS is good then ESC would be fantastic because it incorporate ABS plus Traction Control.
i did say its great and all @_@..... my old saga had nothing but a huge brake booster..... that, and wet smooth road lead to a 10/10 perfect recipe for locking the wheels up + aquaplaning

*remember boys and girls, good tyres are dabes*
alxlimcg
post Jun 28 2016, 04:01 PM

17 posts

New honda cars are not affected by the Airbag issues plaguing its older models.
loki
post Jun 28 2016, 04:05 PM

2,109 posts

If your height is 6feet and above, you would appreciate the extra legroom that the vios provides. Technology wise, City is way ahead of VIOS and Vios got an annoying problem when you go over a bump that they won't / can't solve.
Autocountstick
post Jun 28 2016, 04:05 PM

678 posts

heavy use Vios less use city
theanswer
post Jun 28 2016, 04:26 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 28 2016, 10:48 AM)

i quote some random dude: In 10 car crashes, 6 of them are with cars NOT older than 5 years, so they have all possible electronic assist. That made me the conclusion that driving experience and responsibility are much much safer assists than electronic assist smile.gif
make sense. even some ppl didnt know how abs works..still pumping the brake. but pls we need a better safety spec for cars in malaysia. mentality like this wont help manufacturer (especially toyota) to include esc as a standard since ppl will still buy even tho without esc.
theanswer
post Jun 28 2016, 04:27 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(loki @ Jun 28 2016, 04:05 PM)
If your height is 6feet and above, you would appreciate the extra legroom that the vios provides. Technology wise, City is way ahead of VIOS and Vios got an annoying problem when you go over a bump that they won't / can't solve.
i found out that city offer better head and legroom.
lsm1991
post Jun 28 2016, 04:32 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Jun 28 2016, 04:26 PM)
make sense. even some ppl didnt know how abs works..still pumping the brake. but pls we need a better safety spec for cars in malaysia. mentality like this wont help manufacturer (especially toyota) to include esc as a standard since ppl will still buy even tho without esc.
true... i still dont get why the vios does so well here.... its not really cheap given that its really quite a simple car.........
TamashiiHeroes
post Jun 28 2016, 04:42 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 28 2016, 04:32 PM)
true... i still dont get why the vios does so well here.... its not really cheap given that its really quite a simple car.........
coz the branded ,lol
most malaysian doesnt care about safety feature
all they care about let go value ,maintenance fee , less common issue ,FC etc
andrewyu2005
post Jun 28 2016, 04:53 PM

QUOTE(TamashiiHeroes @ Jun 28 2016, 05:42 PM)
coz the branded ,lol
most malaysian doesnt care about safety feature
all they care about let go value ,maintenance fee , less common issue ,FC etc
Ok Can you help to choose my car first thanks? proton iriz 1,3 or 1.6 mt or exora bold cps thanks?

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 28 2016, 05:11 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(stargamer @ Jun 27 2016, 11:35 PM)
Honda airbags safe or not? takata airbag got problem, u better check first
Many car manufacturers have this problem, even Toyota.

andrewyu2005
post Jun 28 2016, 05:25 PM

QUOTE(AidaAzmann @ Jun 28 2016, 06:22 PM)
Iriz 1.6mt of course.
EXORA bold CPS MT or Iriz 1.6 mt? not auto please read carefully thanks
jepakazoid_82
post Jun 28 2016, 09:52 PM

830 posts

QUOTE(khloh1166 @ Jun 28 2016, 08:18 AM)
i just bought Vios recently since the offer so attracting. 11k from Salesman + Free Gift DVD etc etc.. Honda city only free petrol, umbrella etc ( depends on salesman)

both also nice car if you compare current version =  Honda City > Vios. If not rush to buy, wait few more months ba, New version Vios with New engine, CVT coming soon.

Good Luck smile.gif
VIOS J got 11K discount also ah?
theanswer
post Jun 29 2016, 08:04 AM

1,024 posts

yeah..i dont really mind about the simplicity..but the price is really..wow. the car should at least 5k cheaper than honda city or same as almera.
loki
post Jul 1 2016, 12:10 PM

2,109 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Jun 28 2016, 04:27 PM)
i found out that city offer better head and legroom.
the opposite. there is still 6 inches of space left if i put the seat to max in vios but for city my feet would have to be bended upwards and its not comfortable for driving. If you are 185cm and above, City will not fit you comfortably.
theanswer
post Jul 1 2016, 03:04 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(loki @ Jul 1 2016, 12:10 PM)
the opposite. there is still 6 inches of space left if i put the seat to max in vios but for city my feet would have to be bended upwards and its not comfortable for driving. If you are 185cm and above, City will not fit you comfortably.
oh for driving..yes. i'm talking about rear passenger. never drive a city before but jazz yep..the seat cant push to the max comfortably. plus middle fuel tank is a bit uncomfortable too.
jmq
post Jul 2 2016, 09:33 PM

41 posts

how about vios J vs city S/S+

monkeybar
post Jul 2 2016, 09:36 PM

576 posts

go for city... big cabin, safety,
so far i got jazz not bad... just cvt gear box driving abit boring... hahaha

This post has been edited by monkeybar: Jul 2 2016, 09:36 PM
andrekua2
post Jul 2 2016, 10:20 PM

13,493 posts

Keep It Simple Stupid...

Vios maintenance is really dirt cheap to begin with and it really durable. Comfort is also better on Vios especially on Malaysian bad roads. RV also pretty darn good (for those who die die want RV). Safety aspect will be a notch lower without the ESP but who needs them is quite true.

The car I had driven for 4 years now is equipped with ESP and hardly got it activated. I think I had it several times when I was running on very worn tires on a wet highway at 90KMH. Other than that I never had seen it activated. I also just bought the Rio which had the ESP and never once had it activated in 6months.

Yeah, I do appreciate the ESP but I think at the end of the day, not everyone appreciate such feature especially for those who only drove 5-10 minutes per trip to market or school. Hence which is why Vios still sells. Yes, I did drove a Vios in my younger days for 7 years. I had one incident of losing control with very worn tires and wreck the left side of the car hitting the railing. Other than that, it has been pretty good ride. Having said that, I have a cousin who totalled her mom new Vios. I wonder if ESP would have made any difference given the severity of the accident.

Plus the mentality of the elderly when buying cars for their children. For example, they would rather their child not have sex at all than to have protected sex so to speak. We are still very much a third world country.
heavenly91
post Jul 3 2016, 12:23 PM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

Proton Perdana 2.0 low spec does not come with ESP whistling.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 3 2016, 04:53 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Jul 3 2016, 12:23 PM)
Proton Perdana 2.0 low spec does not come with ESP whistling.gif
Does the cheap Proton Iriz comes with ESP?
andrekua2
post Jul 3 2016, 08:33 PM

13,493 posts

QUOTE(loki @ Jun 28 2016, 04:05 PM)
They are more or less the same. There's not much tech in these B segment except M2 stop go and Fiesta 3 cylinder ecoboost.

City offer more safety features like ESP and more airbags whereas Toyota prefer the functionality with 4 disc brakes plus wider tires. Both engine had been the same for 10 years. Only CVT making a comeback for city.
Fasha1993
post Jul 3 2016, 08:36 PM

55 posts

dun buy toyota

go for honda

engine smooth, adv techno, reliable
lsm1991
post Jul 3 2016, 08:54 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 3 2016, 04:53 PM)
yes, has esp but it's not called esp, they named it esc (same thing)
heavenly91
post Jul 3 2016, 11:15 PM

1,717 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 3 2016, 04:53 PM)
Don't contradict yourself bro
aztechx
post Jul 4 2016, 12:37 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

If you're going for low spec, better go for the vios since the city s doesnt have esc either. Last i checked the j has push start smart entry and a free dvd player with GPS and reverse cam.

But if your budget permits, u wont go wrong with the top spec city.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 4 2016, 07:08 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Jul 3 2016, 11:15 PM)
Don't contradict yourself bro
Is Iriz new?
Is Iriz cheap?
heavenly91
post Jul 4 2016, 07:35 AM

1,717 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 4 2016, 07:08 AM)
Is Iriz new?
Is Iriz cheap?
Let's take the New Honda Accord into the context.
It is cheaper than Perdana?
No

Hence, the new 'cheap' Proton includes Perdana as well
thumbsup.gif
lustman
post Sep 22 2016, 06:44 PM

256 posts

any new input on this topic, Im still undecided, tqvm
post Sep 22 2016, 08:48 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(lustman @ Sep 22 2016, 06:44 PM)
I believe the input from fellow forumers here are clear enough.
Just get honda city top spec if possible.

u dont know when u need it, but when u need it, it will be useful and life saving.

just like u buy insurance. u dont pay for nothing right?
aztechx
post Sep 24 2016, 10:09 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(lustman @ Sep 22 2016, 06:44 PM)
Rumours are that the new vios might be coming soon. Possible to have VSC just like the thai counterparts. Maybe you should give it a little wait?

Facelift

However i strongly suggest you test drive both and determine which suits you. Different users will want different things and the vios and city both does have very strong pros and cons.
amad108
post Sep 24 2016, 10:49 AM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

New Vios with Dual VVTI engine, CVT 7 speed Shift-tronic, ESC, and TC..
Good news, it also come with 5 years warranty with unlimited mileage same as Honda City i think.. so the competition become hotter..
I am a user of Sienta with new Dual VVTi n CVT gbx, and also i'm upgrade from Vios model NCP93 dugong model.. i can say, the new engine and gbx is really good.. nothing much from spec power n torque.. but more to refine tune and fuel efficiency..

if Sienta is weight at 1350kg and i feel no problems going up and down Karak Highway with fully loaded, while for vios i can say more powerful and better FC because one big reason WEIGHT
jacobngen87
post Sep 24 2016, 11:11 AM

Easily Vios

City is just pure ugly shit... The previous gen city looks much better

Jazz nvh is pretty bad.. Need to do soundproofing to get the refinement of Vios.

Almera has pretty good refinement too and cheaper

amad108
post Sep 24 2016, 11:29 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(jacobngen87 @ Sep 24 2016, 11:11 AM)
Easily Vios

Jazz nvh is pretty bad.. Need to do soundproofing to get the refinement of Vios.

But some new city user getting 20km/l for FC.. which is really good
dachshundPet
post Sep 24 2016, 12:39 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(jacobngen87 @ Sep 24 2016, 11:11 AM)
Easily Vios

Huh, when did VIOS become good looking car and NVH is good? with the BIGGGG discount given on VIOS, Resale value for VIOS is bad nowaday... If choose ONLY between City and VIOS, I will go for City anytime......VIOS inside So cramp and backside ugly ......Interior so plasticky, Exterior look not last longer and elegant

Strange, y Malaysian nowadays still buy a car based on the branding...

This post has been edited by dachshundPet: Sep 24 2016, 12:59 PM
munlok30
post Sep 24 2016, 12:43 PM

PinkyBoyDays
1,073 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 28 2016, 11:09 AM)

how do i know the special feature is ON OF OFF ..

i am wondering about that ..

kindly clarify ..
amad108
post Sep 24 2016, 02:28 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(dachshundPet @ Sep 24 2016, 12:39 PM)
Huh, when did VIOS become good looking car and NVH is good? with the BIGGGG discount given on VIOS, Resale value for VIOS is bad nowaday... If choose ONLY between City and VIOS, I will go for City anytime......VIOS inside So cramp and backside ugly ......Interior so plasticky, Exterior look not last longer and elegant

Strange, y Malaysian nowadays still buy a car based on the branding...
i think big discount because the new vios with new spec will fill in.. city n vios looks depend on people perspective, different people got different taste.. still both vios n city use normal bulb no LED like cheap axia, bezza, myvi and alza.. proton too..
heavensea
post Sep 24 2016, 04:35 PM

9,616 posts

City ftw.
Go test u akan tahu itu vios burok...

This post has been edited by heavensea: Sep 24 2016, 04:35 PM
Ginny88
post Sep 24 2016, 09:07 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Sep 24 2016, 02:28 PM)
i think big discount because the new vios with new spec will fill in.. city n vios looks depend on people perspective, different people got different taste.. still both vios n city use normal bulb no LED like cheap axia, bezza, myvi and alza.. proton too..
Nothing wrong with halogen bulbs. They don't blind others and are cheap to replace. If one segment in your LED headlight kaput and you are out of warranty you will cry at the cost until no tears come out.

Eternalgl0ry
post Sep 25 2016, 12:47 AM

463 posts

You upgrade from proton persona.. Definitely go for city

Go vios is more like a downgrade or minor improvements over your old car.

There is noting good about vios over city in normal daily usage plus it is more expensive than city
amad108
post Sep 25 2016, 06:18 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Sep 24 2016, 09:07 PM)
Nothing wrong with halogen bulbs. They don't blind others and are cheap to replace. If one segment in your LED  headlight kaput and you are out of warranty you will cry at the cost until no tears come out.
yup, maybe nothing wrong.. just point out small little tech that applied on cheaper car, summmore LED is brighter yet save energy nowadays.. i mean for the tail light
blmse92
post Sep 25 2016, 02:46 PM

603 posts

Got budget go for City. Got ESP. Vios until now high spec 92k no ESP.
amad108
post Sep 25 2016, 02:51 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(blmse92 @ Sep 25 2016, 02:46 PM)
Got budget go for City. Got ESP. Vios until now high spec 92k no ESP.
when last time did u check ya.. i thought they update the spec already..
Dual VVTi engine, CVT 7 speed gbx, traction control, stability control, 5 years warranty with unlimited mileage..
blmse92
post Sep 25 2016, 03:01 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Sep 25 2016, 02:51 PM)
when last time did u check ya.. i thought they update the spec already..
Dual VVTi engine, CVT 7 speed gbx, traction control, stability control, 5 years warranty with unlimited mileage..
Hi amad

Yeah, i heard the Vios facelift is coming out with 7 speed virtual CVT with ESP equipped. To me which is a good thing as the current vios still no ESP. That is why that time i choose City over Vios. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by blmse92: Sep 25 2016, 03:01 PM
Invader Zim
post Sep 25 2016, 03:30 PM

dead poets society
1,541 posts

guys, which spec of honda city is best bang for the buck? s+ or e?
lil_flank
post Sep 25 2016, 11:08 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Invader Zim @ Sep 25 2016, 03:30 PM)
guys, which spec of honda city is best bang for the buck? s+ or e?
At least E spec due to VSA feature!
dstl1128
post Sep 26 2016, 08:06 AM

4,464 posts

Rumours new Vios coming soon. VSC and TC across all range including 1.5J MT.

qqpoutat
post Sep 26 2016, 11:30 AM

prefer honda city
Invader Zim
post Sep 26 2016, 07:17 PM

dead poets society
1,541 posts

QUOTE(lil_flank @ Sep 25 2016, 11:08 PM)
At least E spec due to VSA feature!
lol need at least 82k to get vsa. wth honda malaysia
lil_flank
post Sep 26 2016, 07:28 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Invader Zim @ Sep 26 2016, 07:17 PM)
lol need at least 82k to get vsa. wth honda malaysia
Everyone kaya raya mah thats why City are flooded on the streets, lol..

This post has been edited by lil_flank: Sep 26 2016, 07:28 PM
aztechx
post Sep 26 2016, 08:30 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

Paultan showing leaked photos of the red vios..launch should be anytime..better hold back first
jacobngen87
post Sep 26 2016, 08:53 PM

Unconfirmed sources state that price will increased by RM8k? Cos with the addition of VSC and other things. Base model price starts from RM87k to top range RM103k

aztechx
post Sep 26 2016, 09:18 PM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(jacobngen87 @ Sep 26 2016, 08:53 PM)
Unconfirmed sources state that price will increased by RM8k? Cos with the addition of VSC and other things. Base model price starts from RM87k to top range RM103k
Seriously? Mind to share the source here? blink.gif
Boss262
post Sep 26 2016, 09:38 PM

109 posts

I doubt the Vios will have price increase, If not they'll remain the same, the selling price without any discount (RRP) as the new vios receive EEV incentives which lower the tax. I really hope the new vios will be price as fair as possible.
aztechx
post Sep 27 2016, 08:03 AM

~Aviation Freak~
3,854 posts

QUOTE(jacobngen87 @ Sep 26 2016, 08:53 PM)
you should really whack your source in the head or ask hiM/her to buy you a teh tarik

Prices are out on paultan! down indeed but not much though

JM RM76,500 (-RM1480)
JA RM79,800 (-RM2080)
E RM83,900 (-RM3680)
G RM89,800 (-RM3580)
GX RM92,800.
TRD RM96,400 (-RM1580)

freedom11
post Sep 27 2016, 11:05 AM

Both are good. Go test drive it and make up your mind.
NTE
post Nov 6 2016, 05:15 AM

So by now, after the launch of facelifted Vios, did anyone changed their mind about city is better than Vios?
Would Vios J be better choice than City S?
How is the fuel consumption of both car? Is the new vios better?
skylinelover
post Nov 6 2016, 09:35 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

Definitely city laugh.gif rclxms.gif
cmk96
post Nov 6 2016, 05:54 PM

2,096 posts

Anyone test drive the new vios? How is the pick up n handling compared to city?
eagle008
post Nov 7 2016, 09:36 AM

102 posts

anyone can share what is the year end rebate for vios and city ?
TamashiiHeroes
post Nov 7 2016, 10:10 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(NTE @ Nov 6 2016, 05:15 AM)
So by now, after the launch of facelifted Vios, did anyone changed their mind about city is better than Vios?
Would Vios J be better choice than City S?
How is the fuel consumption of both car? Is the new vios better?
vios all variants VSC basics so yes will be better than city for low spec choices
fuel consumption abang adik but i still think city is little better
monara
post Nov 7 2016, 09:08 PM

Enthusiast?
1,008 posts

Vios cruising rpm is 1.9k at 110kmph... i think is slightly lower than city.. does it mean vios fc able to be better?

This post has been edited by monara: Nov 7 2016, 09:18 PM
NTE
post Nov 7 2016, 10:11 PM

How about the pickup and top speed? Anyone tested both of them?
From my experience, city is slightly better than vios in pickup, could not try top speed with test drive unit lol
Any other opinion on this?
yattnana
post Nov 8 2016, 07:58 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(NTE @ Nov 7 2016, 10:11 PM)
From my experience, city is slightly better than vios in pickup, could not try top speed with test drive unit lol
Want Vios? get J specs. The difference between J & TRD spec are mostly cosmetics.....not worth the extra money. But I'd spend the extra money and get City V instead,.....
shelby_yong
post Nov 8 2016, 08:15 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(NTE @ Nov 7 2016, 10:11 PM)
tested both car. vios pickup is seriously worst compare to city and previous gen.

the engine roaring very loud when i full throttle. i manage to speed till 140kmh. but it was so noisy.

just my 2cent view
dstl1128
post Nov 8 2016, 08:16 AM

4,464 posts

J -> E: retractable wing mirror, foldable rear
E -> G: leather seat, 2 more speaker, MID, project head lamp

Vios J, E or G are quite good spec. Any spec beyond, just get City V.

versey
post Nov 8 2016, 10:57 AM

I Love Huawei ^_^
948 posts

QUOTE(shelby_yong @ Nov 8 2016, 08:15 AM)
tested both car. vios pickup is seriously worst compare to city and previous gen.

the engine roaring very loud when i full throttle.  i manage to speed till 140kmh. but it was so noisy.

just my 2cent view
CVT is designed to save FC, not for hard acceleration. biggrin.gif

Please be gentle when driving CVT cars. laugh.gif
shelby_yong
post Nov 8 2016, 11:06 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(versey @ Nov 8 2016, 10:57 AM)
CVT is designed to save FC, not for hard acceleration. biggrin.gif

Please be gentle when driving CVT cars. laugh.gif
haha, you are right, but imagine if u need overtake car. the current vios is too dull and slow response...

honda city response is fast..

versey
post Nov 8 2016, 11:20 AM

I Love Huawei ^_^
948 posts

QUOTE(shelby_yong @ Nov 8 2016, 11:06 AM)
haha, you are right, but imagine if u need overtake car. the current vios is too dull and slow response...

honda city response is fast..
I believe u can "play" with M (+-) to manual shift when u r in D mode. icon_idea.gif

rzam
post Nov 8 2016, 11:24 AM

133 posts

wtf compare fuel consumption and top speed?
for what???

difference would only be like 5%!
all depend on driving style lohh...

typical ......
slaveone
post Nov 8 2016, 11:26 AM

1,231 posts

friggin bored driving the vios. City is the better car over all
freedom11
post Nov 8 2016, 02:08 PM

CVT sux....just my take. Try M2
kevintai
post Nov 23 2016, 03:06 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(freedom11 @ Nov 8 2016, 02:08 PM)
CVT sux....just my take. Try M2
I bet in future, all cars will promote CVT. even mazda would not be excluded. icon_idea.gif
SUSDSEcomp
post Nov 23 2016, 03:08 PM

21 posts

NEW VIOS WITH MANUAL TRANSMISSION WITH ESC,ABS AND EBD,DUAL AIRBAG
TamashiiHeroes
post Nov 23 2016, 04:23 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(kevintai @ Nov 23 2016, 03:06 PM)
I bet in future, all cars will promote CVT. even mazda would not be excluded.  icon_idea.gif
not really ,lol
traditional transmission have the feel but cvt cant give
freedom11
post Nov 28 2016, 03:47 PM

QUOTE(kevintai @ Nov 23 2016, 03:06 PM)
I bet in future, all cars will promote CVT. even mazda would not be excluded.  icon_idea.gif
doh.gif Like that just avoid any cars with CVT

Have you driven a Mazda with Skyactiv and compare with to car with CVT?

This post has been edited by freedom11: Nov 28 2016, 04:30 PM
freedom11
post Nov 28 2016, 03:49 PM

QUOTE(TamashiiHeroes @ Nov 23 2016, 04:23 PM)
not really ,lol
traditional transmission have the feel but cvt cant give
thumbsup.gif spot on
P0lyStati0n
post Dec 6 2016, 07:16 AM

30 posts

Hi guys, going to test drive the 2016 Vios today. Any point/things to note before going for it?

Edit: After going for 20 min test drive on GX variant, here are my findings:-

Cons
- Very noisy CVT when trying to accelerate. Power kicks in few seconds (1-2 seconds) after you press the pedal hard. Didn't have any hills on route, but can imagine this car will have difficulty climbing hills or carry load
- Noticeable body roll. During cornering/roundabout, I can feel the car is almost felt not stable. Speed was around 40-60km/h I think
- Small rear window. Difficult to notice any car behind through your rear-view mirror

Pros
- Low engine noise/rpm at high speed on Drive mode
- Availability of Manual mode for all variant on the gearbox. Useful if you wanna overtake, but haven't tested overtaking yet
Note: For manual mode, user intervention is needed to up-shift. Simply shift the gear to 'M' mode, and push front/up. Vice versa for down-shift.
During breaking, no need to fiddle with the gearbox because it will automatically adjust the 'best' gear for it. You can see which gear you're in at the dashboard
- Nice turning radius. Could U-turn in 1 steering spin
- Absorb non-flat roads easily. Road bumps, not so much (IMO)

Other noticeable flaws/perks:
- Front dashboard is too high. You can adjust the seat to higher level/elevation, but you will have difficulty reaching the gear sweat.gif
- Moderate legroom on rear seats. If standing straight, your head could touch the roof. But usually people will 'kangkang'
- Too bad leather seat is only on G spec above. Can imagine uncomfortable-ness during long rides
- Steering sometimes easy, sometimes hard to turn. It's quite stiff during high speed, which is good IMO. But the steering quite thick. Can imagine those who have short fingers have hard time grabbing the wheel brows.gif
- Center armrest really freaking small sweat.gif

This post has been edited by P0lyStati0n: Dec 7 2016, 12:37 AM
outsiders_86
post Dec 7 2016, 09:41 AM

198 posts

CVT sucks big time. They should be ZF 8 Speed torque converter, it's FC is good too
freedom11
post Dec 7 2016, 10:04 AM

QUOTE(outsiders_86 @ Dec 7 2016, 09:41 AM)
CVT sucks big time. They should be ZF 8 Speed torque converter, it's FC is good too
Have to agree that CVT sux....the pre-face lift with 4 speed auto drives better.
SUSkevin23
post Dec 7 2016, 07:56 PM

1,803 posts

Both are great cars. Go and try out and buy what u like. U wont go wrong with any of this 2
SUSkevin23
post Dec 7 2016, 07:58 PM

1,803 posts

Have u driven a Vios before? In terms of ride quality, its awesome. City cannot fight.
lsm1991
post Dec 7 2016, 08:30 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Dec 7 2016, 07:58 PM)
Have u driven a Vios before? In terms of ride quality, its awesome. City cannot fight.
the pre-updated one and the city? yes..... (the new fancy version, not yet, but on paper, thats sort of acceptable)

tho everyone says it whines abit when driving slow and its a slowpoke... then again all these fuel sipping new cars are quite sluggish

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Dec 7 2016, 08:31 PM
netmask8
post Feb 12 2017, 11:37 AM

Validating
1,525 posts

Experience CVT with manual driving mode, D+ or D- shifting. People thought it is manual gear car when pickup?
Standard VSC + TC(always ON) with all day led daylight. City doesn't have all day led daylight, which road experts found that it have better viewpoint to reduce road accidents..

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daytime_running_lamp

This post has been edited by netmask8: Feb 12 2017, 04:13 PM
dares
post Feb 12 2017, 11:55 AM

834 posts

Top up a bit buy Altis or Civic. RM300++ is a small price for a much better car. Don't be penny wise pound foolish.

This post has been edited by dares: Feb 12 2017, 11:56 AM
GreenEnergy
post Apr 30 2017, 02:01 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(HolyCross @ Jun 27 2016, 10:54 PM)
Hi all lovely people

I am currently on a first gen proton persona (2008/2009?) and am interested to change it since it is giving me lots of problems already.

I currently have my mind on Toyota Vios and Honda City because they are within my budget and have been trying to figuring out which is better and gives the best bang for buck. Any recommendations which should I get? Or is there better car within my budget that I missed out?

Honda City

This post has been edited by GreenEnergy: Apr 30 2017, 02:33 PM
netmask8
post Apr 30 2017, 02:36 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

QUOTE(GreenEnergy @ Apr 30 2017, 02:01 PM)
Pls dont buy Vios. Too many lost control fatal case on the road. Last week alone got 2 fatal case.

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...rams-into-tree/

https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2017/04/...xpressway-crash
1) Overtake from left lane, switch to right lane and then skip on the road. It is a driver behaving style mode, road conditions instead of car safety features.
2) Didn't mention car model or type.

Toyota is well known in automotive industry with FMEA, SPC, Poka Yoke, 8D report, Root cause analysis, 6sigma green belt ..etc Anyone in mechanical/ automotive or engineering fields knew it with proven records. Or perhaps get Japanese friends or family / relatives live in Japan will get better decision making. Nobody there mention Honda, Nissan, Madza. Only here got many choices and go for No. 2, 3 + 4 .

Why you edited early post??

This post has been edited by netmask8: Apr 30 2017, 02:41 PM
boxer07
post Apr 30 2017, 05:31 PM

844 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Apr 30 2017, 02:36 PM)
1) Overtake from left lane,  switch to right lane and then skip on the road. It is a driver behaving style mode, road conditions instead of car safety features.
2) Didn't mention car model or type.

Toyota is well known in automotive industry with FMEA, SPC, Poka Yoke, 8D report, Root cause analysis, 6sigma green belt ..etc Anyone in mechanical/ automotive or engineering fields knew it with proven records. Or perhaps get Japanese friends or family / relatives live in Japan will get better decision making. Nobody there mention Honda, Nissan, Madza. Only here got many choices and go for No. 2, 3 + 4 .

Why you edited early post??
One of the funniest reply ever seen
netmask8
post Apr 30 2017, 10:07 PM

Validating
1,525 posts

With famous lean automotive manufacturing as mentioned, worldwide sales is the important factor of measurement. But in this country, I m not sure what factors that No 2 auto car got many in the road?
Relatives + Friends staying long in Japan will helps in decision making too.

This post has been edited by netmask8: Apr 30 2017, 10:07 PM
jacobngen87
post May 1 2017, 09:43 AM

I think the next generation Vios is launching next year with the new TNGA platform

Improve rigidity, drivability and FC

I think the next gen will be a major improvement over the current gen

This post has been edited by jacobngen87: May 1 2017, 09:46 AM
simpleguyme
post Jul 24 2017, 03:44 PM

71 posts

Honda city Hybrid
weichai
post Apr 6 2018, 09:49 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(HolyCross @ Jun 27 2016, 10:54 PM)
Hi all lovely people

Hi HolyCross,
Mind to share what is your final decision?
And why you choose that?

0.0484sec    1.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:42 AM