NVIDIA GeForce Community V16 (welcum pascal), ALL HAIL NEW PASCAL KING GTX1080 out now

ALeUNe
post Jun 30 2016, 07:52 PM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 30 2016, 07:17 PM)
What's the lowest you can find?

Even if you can find it for RM 1500, you have to consider that a little bit more can get you a GTX 1070. biggrin.gif
Lowest used GTX980 @ MYR1150
ALeUNe
post Jun 30 2016, 07:58 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 30 2016, 07:56 PM)
biggrin.gif Wah got people sell so low meh? Actually they need not sell that low.

I was thinking to sell my R9 390 at RM 1100 range but that's really too low for a GTX 980.

Considering price to performance ratio and factor used condition and reduced warranty period, I reckon around RM 1300 - 1400 is a good price to go.
Yes, that was a desperate sale think.
ALeUNe
post Jul 7 2016, 03:37 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Jul 7 2016, 02:54 PM)
Saw 980 ti ( new ) price drop to as low as RM1825 now, wondering if I should sell my few months old 970 and add few hundreds for 980 ti. Saw benchmark/review that it's somewhere very near 1070 performance. Or should I wait 1070 price drop  hmm.gif  saw cheapest Palit @ 1999

Was getting 970 few months back to get the bloody The Division game for free  sweat.gif  , and now awaiting monitor upgrade which no doubt will sweat 970 @ 3440x1440 resolution.
GTX1070 has bigger ram capacity.

ALeUNe
post Jul 8 2016, 01:25 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(mulder_sam @ Jul 8 2016, 01:22 AM)
Meanwhile 1060 announced, how about this?

Source:-
https://www.facebook.com/594108547319340/ph...467911050640496
That's a good price for GTX980Ti.

According to the video, before nVidia released GTX1070, nVidia mentioned GTX1070 was Titan X performance card.
In actual, it is faster than Titan X.
nVidia claimed GTX1060 is GTX980 card. Well, there is a possibility it can beat GTX980.

If this card is indeed a GTX980 performance card, with 20% overclock headroom, it could beat AMD Fury X @ 1080p.
And it could be very close to GTX980Ti. drool.gif

So, it's a very interesting product. We keep our fingers crossed. Keep dreaming and drooling.

InB4 tabuli ini machiam. nVidia locks 9 the overclock-ability of this card. Then it's KNN. laugh.gif
ALeUNe
post Jul 10 2016, 01:13 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 9 2016, 11:22 PM)
my GTX 960 and R9 390 are both victims of the new cards. biggrin.gif

R9 390 i can still keep for my PSU stress test, looks like GTX 960 also I keep la, for PSU stress test.
GTX950 with no power connector, let me know if you want to sell it.
ALeUNe
post Jul 14 2016, 10:32 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jul 14 2016, 08:42 AM)
AdoredTV is an AMD troll.

You show him green, he can tell you red in the face.
ALeUNe
post Jul 14 2016, 09:03 PM

9,692 posts

Tried to get MSI GTX1070 Gaming X.

It's freaking out of stock everywhere. sad.gif
ALeUNe
post Jul 18 2016, 10:03 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 18 2016, 10:01 PM)
Really soon, tomorrow night I can talk about GTX 1060 already.
Share the link here. We go support you. tongue.gif
ALeUNe
post Jul 19 2016, 12:54 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(CPURanger @ Jul 19 2016, 12:24 AM)
OK here is the screen shots. Have not do anything yet to boost or OC.

Please share your OC result.

I'm expecting my card to arrive at my doorstep this week. laugh.gif
ALeUNe
post Jul 19 2016, 12:54 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(CPURanger @ Jul 19 2016, 12:24 AM)
OK here is the screen shots. Have not do anything yet to boost or OC.

Please share your OC result.

I'm expecting my card to arrive at my doorstep this week. laugh.gif
ALeUNe
post Jul 19 2016, 12:58 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jul 19 2016, 12:56 PM)
What cards are you pitting GTX1060 with? Got include GTX970? tongue.gif
That's a legendary industrial standard.
It must have included in all video card reviews, for god sake.
Without GTX970, we are clueless on how the card performs. tongue.gif
ALeUNe
post Jul 19 2016, 05:45 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(antaras @ Jul 19 2016, 05:22 PM)
all these poisons... I should be contented with my card now but why am I back to this page all the time?
http://www.gemfive.com/my/palit-gtx1080-je...gb-ddr5x-256bit

must... resist... temptation... >_<
Bought mine at MYR2880.
ALeUNe
post Jul 19 2016, 06:02 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(g104 @ Jul 19 2016, 06:00 PM)
Wow... GTX980 performance. thumbup.gif
ALeUNe
post Jul 22 2016, 12:10 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Darksorrow3010 @ Jul 21 2016, 11:02 PM)
argh... palit's gtx1070 is the cheapest... but my heart tells me to get the MSI's Gaming X gtx1070... at the cost of extra rm200+ and physically looks a lot better imo =(
If you wanna do AIO water cooling on GTX1070, MSI GTX1070 is the best.
No other GTX1070 as good as MSI's.

However, with the price paid on MSI GTX1070, you should get GTX1080. GTX1080 gonna beat watercooled GTX1070 by miles anyway.
ALeUNe
post Jul 22 2016, 03:58 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jul 22 2016, 03:45 PM)
heavy card need proper support... don't want a saggy card right??????

You don't do something redundant.
ALeUNe
post Jul 23 2016, 08:03 PM

9,692 posts

What we have now is the "tick" of Pascal.

For sure nVidia will have "tock" products later.
ALeUNe
post Jul 25 2016, 02:17 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jul 25 2016, 12:03 PM)
TITAN X has to be 50-60% faster than the GTX 1080 to justify its price tag... which I highly doubt will happen.

If it is indeed 20-25% faster than the GTX 1080 as speculated, not worth it.

Then again, it is aimed at 'prosumers'.

Will wait for reviews this August.
Look at Intel Extreme processors, they do not ask for justification.

It is not 1+1=2.
Titan X is the most powerful single GPU on earth.
The best.

You expect cheap rate for such luxurious product?
That wishful thought doesn't "justify".
ALeUNe
post Jul 26 2016, 06:17 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(babykids @ Jul 26 2016, 05:53 PM)
2 more generation, i think ppl can get maxout 1080p gaming with fan-less design  sweat.gif
Fan-less, I doubt so.

Power-connector-less, it's a yes.
ALeUNe
post Jul 28 2016, 09:06 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 28 2016, 01:29 AM)
Oh but depends on model.

my GTX 1060 AMP from Zotac draws about 76W from Furmark test.

The GTX 1060 G1 Gaming from Gigabyte, now that one draws some 120W range but you get about 10% performance boost.
According to tomshardware, GTX1060 can run with only 61w power consumption.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/nvidia...cal,4679-7.html

We're gonna get GTX1050 with no power connector. thumbup.gif
ALeUNe
post Jul 28 2016, 10:28 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 28 2016, 09:49 AM)
I know where my biases are, I've explained them in previous posts. What's your point posting that here then? rolleyes.gif
About the never ending myth, I posted a message at kopitiam (see here), I just cut-and-paste here (pardon my /k language tongue.gif ).

http://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages/msi-g...x-review,1.html
http://www.eteknix.com/sapphire-nitro-rx-4...cs-card-review/

The score is taken from guru3d as reference.
Based on these links, let's do some comparisons.

If DX12 is your concern, well, the score is 3 : 2. Green team wins.
Well, if you take Vulkan into the DX12 score, it's 3 : 3. It's a tie.
DX11, green team tapau the red team.
DX11/12/Vulkan final score, 12 : 3. Green team wins.

Next, let's do overclocking.
Real world overclocking that reflects the actual FPS increase.
- MSI GTX1060, with 10% OC headroom on actual real-world result
- GTX 980, with 13% OC headroom on actual real-world result
- GTX 970, with 13% OC headroom on actual real-world result
- RX480, with 6% OC headroom on actual real-world result
If DX12 & Vulkan are your concerns, well, the score is 4 : 2. Green team wins.
DX11/12/Vulkan final score, 13 : 2. Green team wins.

Heard people give high ratings on Sapphire Nitro+ RX480 OC.
We do comparisons with these videos then.

MSI GTX1060 is used, OC results as shown in video.
GTX980, with +13% OC headroom.
GTX970, with +13% OC headroom.
Sapphire Nitro+ RX480, OC results as shown in video.
For overclocked cards, green team tapau red team in all DX12 benchmarks. Well, if you take Vulkan into DX12 score, it's 3:1. Green team wins.
DX11/12/Vulkan final score, 8 : 1. Green team wins.

Kek. laugh.gif

P/S
- First things first, don't ask me how or why. I just picked the figures from either the website or the videos. You can see it for yourself. Credit given to those reviewers.
- If you can get a GTX980 cheap, get it (i.e. MYR800-900). See the score card, it ain't bad.
- How could GTX980 outperfoms GTX1060? well, I simply slapped 9 ten% OC headroom on GTX1060, while GTX980 enjoiced thirteen% OC headroom. GTX980 wins some. GTX1060 loses some. laugh.gif
- Wait, you asked why RX480 low class? laugh.gif
- If you wanna argue AIB RX480 has higher OC headroom, you go check above video, eteknix' review on Sapphire Nitro+ RX480 and Techpowerup's review on Asus RX480 Strix. You do your own calculation on OC headroom of RX480.

0.1084sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:11 PM