NVIDIA GeForce Community V16 (welcum pascal), ALL HAIL NEW PASCAL KING GTX1080 out now
stringfellow
Jul 25 2016, 02:32 PM
The diatribe and jeering directed at the new Titan X reeks of jealousy. It's simple really: have the dough and want the performance? Go for it. Dont have the dough? you still have the 1080 and 1070. Nobody's pointing a gun at your head to get one.
Sure, the 1080ti may (or may not, depending on who you believe/read into) arrive 3-6 months later at a cheaper price, but that'll land between USD700-1200, most probably occupying last-gen's Titan X pricetag of USD999, with disabled SMs, lower bit memory bus, etc, but when OCed may (or may not) match this new Titan X. But bear in mind, all Nvidia's x80Ti models are in direct response to AMD's threat at the high end segment: 780ti was NV's answer to 290X, 980Ti to FuryX. What is AMD's answer to the high end segment? Vega? When is that coming out again?
Leave the mocking and jeering out of the door. The market audience for this card know that the Titan segment has never ever been about price per performance, you had this 3 times already, aren't you tired of the same spewed diatribe already? If you can wait, yes an x80Ti model is always cheaper and cost effective at the cost of degraded performance (if a Ti model for this ever comes out that is). But to some of those who have been waiting for a 4K60Hz performance in a single card, this may be it. If this is true, then I can ditch my own multiple cards setup and go single card, and forget the headaches of SLI. That alone is enticing enough to pay for that kind of performance.
This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 25 2016, 02:35 PM
stringfellow
Jul 25 2016, 02:47 PM
Keyword: "MAY achieve 4K60Hz". Nothing is certain until the benches are out. All these suppositions and guesstimations are based on the fact that it's "up to" 60% faster than the last gen Titan X.
stringfellow
Jul 25 2016, 02:50 PM
They dont need Palit, they have fair pricing on most of their GPU cards anyway, unless they're super-clocked.
stringfellow
Jul 25 2016, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(r47z @ Jul 25 2016, 03:02 PM) I think the correct term is we're lucky to have tha palit cards not overpriced. Last time when i got my 970 strix it was retailing at only 1,399. After that the price went up. Your 970 Strix is announced January 2014. USD/MYR was 3.35. What is it now again? Palit (or rebranded as PNY in the US) has a long history of quality control problems with their cards. Them pricing it cheap either means that they're aggressively trying to regain that market share and trust they've lost, or God forbid, them using cheaper quality parts (low quality VRMS, PCB components, etc) to make up for selling their card at that price. Business is business, no company is doing their business on the basis of charity, and nobody wants to sell at a loss unless that loss means gains in other departments.
stringfellow
Jul 25 2016, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(Bombgen @ Jul 25 2016, 03:35 PM) So far quite satisfied with Palit. Been using GTX670 Jetstream for almost 3 years with no problem whatsoever, and it is quiet too.. Great that it worked for you. The cost of them learning their lesson by putting the cheapest price in the market works. Must've hurt their bottom dollar, but as long as they get good impressions, that's the price they have to pay for it.
stringfellow
Jul 28 2016, 12:55 AM
Just because it supports your cause, it's "far more legit and transparent". Talk about cherry-pickin' season. Confirmation bias at its best.
This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 28 2016, 12:55 AM
stringfellow
Jul 28 2016, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(g104 @ Jul 28 2016, 12:57 AM) i noticed u that every post u also got issue with it expect some elite users. What's transparent here is that if you pick a game that favors Vulkan/DX12, AMD's cards looks good. DX11 cards, it's Nvidia's turn. No surprises there. Plus, aren't that article more relevant to your AMD side of the forum? The AMD thread is that way. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3963636/+1920#entry80996929 And you question why I call that confirmation bias and/or cherry-pickin'?
stringfellow
Jul 28 2016, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(g104 @ Jul 28 2016, 02:05 AM) AMD's not mine & so far right now i don't have a single AMD gpu at my side. i posted that link is for more info & they did really well on their review which is better than those silly bias reviewer from youtube. i'm bias or u dude?  I know where my biases are, I've explained them in previous posts. What's your point posting that here then?
stringfellow
Jul 28 2016, 10:33 AM
You have more patience than I do addressing this. I left that "explanation mode" behind the moment I posted that #PlayMoreGames hashtag a few weeks back. After all, I bought these cards to play games, not to play the numbers game. And I dont see why I should bother taking up arms about these lower end cards, when I'm enjoying my GTX1080. Should just grab popcorns and watch the plebs duke it out for my entertainment pleasure.  EDIT:And no, I'm not stepping foot in that troll-infested cesspool place called Kopitiam. I see lots of them trying to "goad" their way into Hardware section here, some try to disguise their trollish way with better language, but others just brings their /k nonsense here without any filter. Scroll back and see. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jul 28 2016, 10:35 AM
stringfellow
Jul 28 2016, 06:00 PM
Bleh, these 1060 vs 480 mudslinging contests are beneath me. I should be sitting by the side and enjoying the show.
stringfellow
Aug 2 2016, 02:28 PM
stringfellow
Aug 2 2016, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(richard912 @ Aug 2 2016, 02:34 PM) Concurrent with the salivating will be the accompanying nose bleed arising from the price tag though Looking at the chart, I really wonder if there will be a 1080ti. Another question will be if AIB Titan X Pascal will be in the works? The joy of three old Titan X with water blocks: sell them off and it funds more than 2/3 of the cost of getting two Titan XPs.
stringfellow
Aug 2 2016, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(richard912 @ Aug 2 2016, 03:04 PM) I envisage the selling price of the Titan XP in MY will be close to RM6k, if not more. We will know soon enough as it becomes available from tomorrow. The Titan XP is definitely another kick in the gut of red team Not gonna be sold in Malaysia unless the vendors goes through the only available channel to buy this: through Nvidia. When that is the case, why rely on sellers here to do that, when you can do that yourself?
stringfellow
Aug 2 2016, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(richard912 @ Aug 2 2016, 03:13 PM) Buying direct, (USD1200 + USD30 DHL) + 6% GST Precisely. But in my case it's heading to Singapore and will be "smuggled" into KL after that. I'm not paying a single sen, not even GST, to the government here.
stringfellow
Aug 2 2016, 04:10 PM
stringfellow
Aug 2 2016, 10:04 PM
No Titan X Pascal for me. Credit card fail to authenticate at checkout. Either they changed the credit card charging agent or they beefed up the address lookup against cards outside of the US.
Not gonna hassle American friends for this, amount is too much to ask for (two TXPs and 4 slot HB bridge goes up to USD2500++).
Looks like I will be slaughtered by the local vendors then. Haih......
stringfellow
Aug 2 2016, 11:40 PM
Cautiously optimistic. Will only celebrate once it ships to the forwarding agent.  Also ordered the HB SLI Bridge in a separate order.
stringfellow
Aug 3 2016, 01:31 PM
QUOTE "Naturally, the kind of raw framerates that are achievable at those speeds is like trying to take a drink from a fire hose. Words just can’t describe it so I’ll let some charts do the talking. In short what you are seeing is a single TITAN X achieve performance levels that almost approach two GTX 1080s in SLI. I don't care what side of the AMD / NVIDIA divide you are swinging from; that's just bonkers." http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardw...nce-review.htmlDrool, stay in mouth. One more week. Just....one.....more....week.
stringfellow
Aug 3 2016, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(Darksorrow3010 @ Aug 3 2016, 02:32 PM) inb4 doom vulkan test  *cough cough cough*