Humming sound while driving
TSskullz)
Jan 15 2007, 12:14 PM, updated 19y ago
guys,
i changed my amp yesterday to a 1600w 4-chan amp coz my old one not working ade..
the problem is, now whenever i accelerate, there's a slight humming sound (like the sound of someone whistling). whenever i accelerate harder, the sound also follows the pitch of my engine.
before i changed the amp, this did not happen... how do i solve this? hope any of u can advice me on this..thanks..
mattchin
Jan 15 2007, 12:22 PM
check ur car's grounding.. they didn't do the grounding well when they install ur amp.. and there is a chance that cabling too..
make sure that do not let them to add a suspressor.. because it will decrease ur amp's performance..
TSskullz)
Jan 15 2007, 12:47 PM
sorry but what's a suspressor?
yeah, my friend recommended to put grounding wires.. so this should solve the problem la?
XCremator
Jan 16 2007, 08:48 PM

Lol same problem that I have earlier. But after rewired my system the problem solved. More info: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/372204
kenlimfornication
Feb 1 2007, 11:27 PM
ur gain in ur amp might be too high
tester1979
Feb 2 2007, 01:53 AM
the amps grounding was not done properly that might have caused this....
TSskullz)
Feb 6 2007, 04:08 PM
spot on.. did the rewiring and the sound disappeared! cheers
tester1979
Feb 6 2007, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(skullz) @ Feb 6 2007, 04:08 PM) spot on.. did the rewiring and the sound disappeared! cheers  good to hear that........
jacob
Feb 13 2007, 01:41 AM

Normally ppl connect the grounding from AMP to which part of ur car? I'm driving iswara and i connect to the metal beside my sit.....feel like my car no power when accelerate after i install my AMP....thinking might be grounding problem....
Zyntherius
Mar 8 2007, 05:07 PM

I have the same problem oso..i rewired the whole system already... sounds dissapear..but now another sound arise...got like clicking sound... like those sound of a tasers
diablos
Mar 23 2007, 01:05 AM

I put a small transformer before the AMP. It worked
alex_tan1983
Mar 23 2007, 03:19 AM

Izzit the sound like aeroplane?
dirsly
May 28 2008, 08:08 PM
yep...i put supressor but it wil smell like burn after 1 sound pioneer player(vol at 33) y ha?rewiring ok...big power for grounding 2.. any gud contact point in rear kelisa pls..
MobyDick
May 29 2008, 12:41 PM
Basic principle here is always use the same size wire for the ground & the positive wire from the battery & the ground wire installed rigidly to the chassis(make sure you sand-paper or grind areas) with a shortest possible wire. My 2 cents only.
dirsly
Jun 1 2008, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(skullz) @ Jan 15 2007, 01:14 PM) guys, i changed my amp yesterday to a 1600w 4-chan amp coz my old one not working ade.. the problem is, now whenever i accelerate, there's a slight humming sound (like the sound of someone whistling). whenever i accelerate harder, the sound also follows the pitch of my engine. before i changed the amp, this did not happen... how do i solve this? hope any of u can advice me on this..thanks.. hi power amp must separate cable line.. power cable left side.. rca right...try it or buy rca isolator.. rm 25 to 30... pudu shop