5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Official Honda Civic 10th Gen Owner/Fans Club V1, Turbo kick in yo...

Alternation
post Jun 30 2016, 05:43 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Jun 30 2016, 03:51 PM)
Ruby Red TC-P with Huper Optik and modulo visors.  Lovely in the sun. This was my 2nd choice color.
This is gorgeous!

Showroom lighting didn't justify it's beauty at all.

Post some night pix as well.

So there are 2 civics in ur family?
Alternation
post Jul 1 2016, 06:33 AM

912 posts

QUOTE(dororo @ Jun 30 2016, 11:38 PM)
how would you rate the overall NVH and quality comparing to conti car? I know it definitely loses to conti car but I just want to know how far behind the new civic is compared to conti.  wink.gif
Civic's overall (NVH, build quality, cabin space and power) is miles ahead of other c segment cars and almost on par with sports luxury contis such as c class and a4. I would rate it slightly better than entry spec 3 series for its features, especially the e-parking brake, android auto and better designed interior.
Alternation
post Jul 1 2016, 06:35 AM

912 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 30 2016, 10:36 PM)
Just collected my wife's Civic 1.8S Lunar Silver this evening.

I drove about 50km in total since. My brief observations:

1) The 1.8 CVT is NOT sluggish at all. A complete difference to the City and its slight more powerful than the HRV. I think its been tuned to suit the Civic.
2) NVH is good and gives you the conti feel. But Honda should have done a better job with the NVH between the engine compartment and the cabin.
3) The CVT gets loud when you floor the pedal during hard acceleration but very quiet when cruising
3) Tyre noise is there probably due to Conti MC5 tyres (which are just medium range)
4) Fabric seats are sufficiently comfortable but I would take leather anytime
5) Seats are well designed and suits body contours well.
6) Steering feels firm when cruising and light when manoeuvring. Honda did an excellent job here.
7) Brakes are good and gives you that extra confidence
8) Aircon is damn cold. I usually have the temp set at around 19 deg in my own car but in the Civic I had it at 24 deg.
9) Suspension is a bit on the firm side but makes cornering good

Really satisfied with the 1.8S. I was preparing myself for a sluggish ride especially since I drive a F10 myself. But kudos to Honda for doing a good job in minimising the negative effects of the CVT.
Congrats! Don't forget the pic.
Alternation
post Jul 1 2016, 12:12 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Jul 1 2016, 09:05 AM)
A few more cons:
No sensing suite option available in US/Canada/Australia
No lanewatch
No automatic wipers available almost everywhere
That rear seat floor hump (why laaaa)
The rear seat floor hump is exhaust pipe tunnel. Withoit it, u'll be scraping ur exhaust on bumps.
Alternation
post Jul 1 2016, 12:16 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(pigin @ Jul 1 2016, 09:44 AM)
guys.. you guys have gotten your cars for a while now...

i have a burning question.

when you guys go over humps or bumpy surface..

do you "Feel" like the suspension is setup just nice for the weight of the car?

i have this very insecure feeling that the suspension is crashing whenever i go over badly paved roads or roads with small lubangs.

when the car goes over it you hear a sharper "ting" or "tang" as opposed to a normal "thump" or "dup" like you get in alot of cars.

its not like the suspension is bad.. just the sound of it..

im half awake so i can't really describe the sound but... i hope you guys get it.

just wondering if its engineered that way or just a run-in thing?
Mine normal 'dup' sound. Is it knocking sound u r experiencing?
Alternation
post Jul 2 2016, 12:54 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(avave88 @ Jul 2 2016, 11:40 AM)
Guys, anyone know what is this? Found a couple of this thing at the cup holder while collecting car. Salesman also not sure.
I've got 2 of those. Not sure myself. Keeping it just in case.
Alternation
post Jul 2 2016, 08:13 PM

912 posts

Had a close shave today while on LPT heading to kl.

Heard a sudden loud bang and screeching sound with sparks coming from a city on my right which was overtaking me.

The front bumper dropped and went under the car. The front tires were skating on it. Lucky it didn't swerve into my lane and no one was hurt.

City drivers please check for signs of loose bumper.

On side note, my civic achieved 110kph @ 1.8k rpm. At 2k = 130kph. 2.5k = 150kph.

The car feels very planted at speed but conti MC5 is noisy. Hope it quiets down once it's broken in though I doubt will be much different.
Alternation
post Jul 2 2016, 08:14 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(usopkun @ Jul 2 2016, 07:29 PM)
@hihihehe kindly include my name in owner's list😄
TC-P lunar Silver.
Finally! Congrats bro.
Alternation
post Jul 3 2016, 11:34 PM

912 posts

The civic is making me feels like a celebrity in sg. Getting so many admiring stares. Guys from VEP even took time to check it up. They mentioned sg likely won't be getting the turbo.

Did 165kph briefly when tailgated by fd2 at 130. The acceleration is so smooth, no drama at all. Rpm was about 3.5k - 3.8k only. Going for 1k service tomorrow.
Alternation
post Jul 4 2016, 01:59 PM

912 posts

Just did my 1st 1000km service. Nothing is changed. Just inspection. SC said oil change only when 'A' is displayed.
Alternation
post Jul 4 2016, 06:02 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(Sanity @ Jul 4 2016, 02:10 PM)
Thought the car only out about 2 weeks. For real you reached 1000km liaw?  blink.gif
Alternation
post Jul 4 2016, 06:06 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(pigin @ Jul 4 2016, 02:07 PM)
wtf no oil change?

did they charge u den? u got nothing to complain meh?
F.O.C

My civic's build quality seems to be a notch higher than showroom cars. So far there's no weird noise. No complain at all *touch wood*
Alternation
post Jul 4 2016, 06:08 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(fooj @ Jul 4 2016, 02:10 PM)
Wow so fast 1,000km. Did you go back to the showroom you booked your car from? I have to go back to the same showroom as no service book is available yet. Not sure other sc will accept for 1st inspection or not.
I bought it in Kota Bharu and servicing it at jb. U must bring along your service book for servicing outside ur dealership.
Alternation
post Jul 4 2016, 06:41 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(Sanity @ Jul 4 2016, 06:25 PM)
My car only travelled 100km but my oil life indicator from 9900km drop to 9600km. Do you all encountered this accelerated drop in oil life? My car is 1.5 turbo
[CODE]

8500km +-
Alternation
post Jul 5 2016, 11:31 AM

912 posts

QUOTE(LV4ever @ Jul 5 2016, 11:25 AM)
Hi Guys, i encountered a problem with my walk away lock last nite at the petrol station.

Was standing near to the fuel door with the remote in my pocket while filling up my car, halfway thru it some how the walkaway lock trigger (i guess its bcoz it could not detect the remote is within the 2m radius) and the alarm triggered as well..had to press the unlock button to stop the alarm..and it happened again after a few seconds..the only door not closed is the fuel door ...and my wife is sitting in the car..

Anyone experienced this before?? any idea whats the prob here?? hmm.gif  hmm.gif

Anyway i find that the sound of the alarm is very 'gentle'..no 1 at the petrol station seems to notice that the alarm had been triggered  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
U can off the engine, then press the start engine to on the accessory mode (without turning on engine). If it auto locks, it will on the alarm and the motion sensor near rear mirror will be triggered.

Even a trapped mosquito will trigger the sensitive alarm.
Alternation
post Jul 5 2016, 02:22 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(LV4ever @ Jul 5 2016, 11:46 AM)
ohh yea must be the motion sensor that triggered the alarm..thanks man..anyway can we lock the door while leaving the accessory mode on?? need to try it out later...
in acc mode, the passenger can lock the door but u wont be able to open petrol lid.

What i do is i'll get my wife only to lock the door once the lid is open. Then before i close the lid, she has to unlock the door.
Alternation
post Jul 5 2016, 03:59 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Jul 5 2016, 02:09 PM)
Yeah. I meant no regular oil option but only fully synth for 0W20 oil.. The oil fill cap in the engine bay states only 0W20 oil .
I didn't realize but Malaysian civic is recommended to run 0W20?

The low viscosity (thinner) SAE 20 is formulated to run in colder climate. Will it hold up to our much higher climate?

Vw, audi and etc are running 5W30 or higher viscosity oil.

Let's hope the Honda engineers have throughly tested it in extreme heat tempreture.
Alternation
post Jul 7 2016, 11:35 AM

912 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 6 2016, 06:13 PM)
China market is very big. Many car manufacturers are willing to create China only models

Chinese car buyers like to have many features in their cars. Demanding customers
Their market is huge and ultra competitive. Honda got to fight anti Japanese sentiments as well.
Alternation
post Jul 9 2016, 01:12 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(isr25 @ Jul 9 2016, 12:26 PM)
According to the trip computer it was 92km/h. But on the highway I tried to keep it between 110-115km/h. Tried to keep it between 1800rpm - 2100rpm too.
I'm only doing this once bro. Kenot tahan kena cucuk by every f*ckin Vios FD FB Audi BMW VW buggers. I'm gonna drive like usual when I come back to JB tongue.gif

If anybody is wondering:

1. I didn't use Econ mode
2. Didn't use cruise control, right foot control all the way.
3. D mode all the way without using paddle shifters
4. I used Shell V-Power 97 (Green handle).
Same here. Let all the tailgaters have their fun until the 1000km mark. Yesterday payback time. Cucuk back lansi elantra and fd. Was shocked to see 200kph on my speedo. The car felt planted even on slightly uneven stretch. Thus didn't really feel the speed.
Alternation
post Jul 10 2016, 06:34 PM

912 posts

This civic is designed in North America but running a Japanese engine. It's chasis is beyond its Japanese c segments rivals and comparable to German marquee.

For FF n FR cars, high speed manuverability depends very much on wheelbase and bodyroll. A common c segment jap short wheelbase sedan will feel nervous at such speed while Civic is supposed to excel at it.

I've also noticed that the fd2 which I was following at 200kph was floating at the slightest road imperfections while mine was very composed / planted. That's how well the chasis is sorted.

Anyhow It's good to know ur car's limit but make sure ur not jeopardizing safety of others.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0262sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:54 AM