YES 4G voice , sms and Internet

SleeplessEyes
post Aug 10 2021, 09:19 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Aug 9 2021, 09:49 PM)
yes. that normal. near tower always connect to higher spectrum than low spectrum band

i tot oppo got oppo engineer mode secret code ?
Hi JLA,
I found the so called Engineer Mode - Its different than Samsung's Engineer mode. Doesnt even have any Band mode to change.
I have tried MTK Engineering mode - to lock LTE - Well it only can Lock to 4g, cant change band.

And I have tried rooting the phone, only to be defeated by Oppo's OS console.gif
Lesson learned - Never get a Oppo / Vivo , if wanna hack laugh.gif

SleeplessEyes
post Feb 12 2022, 10:39 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(NF2M @ Feb 10 2022, 10:25 PM)
Guys, i see that YES postpaid plan offering 100GB data per month. So can i just put the YES postpaid SIM in 4G modem instead of a 4G phone?
Yes you can. But however do check your coverage first on their site.
Yes 4G indoor signal is quite sensitive. Any wrong placement can result either slow connection or no data connection.
100GB is way more enough for sane users even on a 4G modem.
SleeplessEyes
post Feb 14 2022, 04:57 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(MNF0 @ Feb 14 2022, 04:27 PM)
Anyone know what is the lowest topup to get the line active for 30 days?
Unfortunately only 10Gb 30 days for Rm 15 is the cheapest option.
Second option is top up Rm 1, then reload every 45 days, to avoid the termination after 50 days (there will be a reminder before the termination)
SleeplessEyes
post Feb 14 2022, 08:27 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Feb 14 2022, 05:30 PM)
Oh dear friend, where can we topup for amount RM1?
Okey let's not call it top up. Let's say, buy add ons.
Straight away buy 1GB 1 day and pay online instead of deduct from credit.

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Feb 14 2022, 07:25 PM)
in our dream la laugh.gif
I guess this dream is a reality. Just that I shouldn't had phrase it as top up. Add on purchase more like it.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Feb 14 2022, 08:28 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Feb 14 2022, 08:35 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(MNF0 @ Feb 14 2022, 07:32 PM)
Will i be able to use the YES-Shopee free data within that 30 days active period after i purchased the 10GB-30 days  data package?
Yes. It will then deduct the Shopee free data first then only after your free data finish then only it deduct from the 10gb.

Or like my case. My credit will expire on 19feb but I redeem for this month and its data will expire on 12 march
SleeplessEyes
post Feb 15 2022, 10:42 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Feb 15 2022, 01:23 AM)
it doesnt work that way ma pren

line validity and data validity is different

to use the data we need the line validity to be active

you can buy the rm1 data, but kenot use also if the line validity expired

so no choice to keep the line validity active must reload

deswai cheapest monthly plan cost rm15, rm15 reload = 30 days line validity
Lets agree to disagree (on the red part) on the part you quoted.
If one's line already expired and he/she buys the RM 1 or even RM 15 data, it will automatically renew the line validity. This is tested and proven.
Other telcos , you need to top up/reload first to keep the line active then only can use the data, but with YES, if the line already expired, buying new data add on will renew the line validity simultaneously.
Whether you believe me on this one, its up to you.

QUOTE(mitodna @ Feb 14 2022, 11:08 PM)
Does the purchase this add on active back the validity ?
Okey lets make it clear for everyone
If the line is still active, it will not add validity.
If the line already expired, it will renew the validity with the data add on purchase.

QUOTE(NF2M @ Feb 14 2022, 10:29 PM)
What will happened to your redeemed Shopee data after the expiration of your credit on the 19th of Feb?
This is based on their T&C.

Q: My YES Databack data is not reflected in my YES account, how do I resolve this?
A: Ensure your YES service plan is active in order to utilise and enjoy the free data. If the free data is still not reflected in your YES account, please contact YES Care via email at yescare@yes.my and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

https://site.yes.my/faq/databack/

So the answer is, there is no free lunch.
Same goes for previous Free 1GB Productivity and Free 2GB Jaringan Prihatin , on other telco.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Feb 15 2022, 10:46 AM
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 9 2022, 12:48 PM

2,429 posts

Yes4G playing games with us

RM0 YES: We received your request to port out. Kindly reply NO if you do not wish to proceed. To continue port out, reply YES to 0183301122 before 9/03/2022 08:28. Thank you
And I got the sms at 9.43am. Either because only 1 bar or because they intentionally send late.
I already replied but no respond.

And now PanasLink sent me this sms

RM0: MAXIS: Your current service provider has not approved your request to leave and join Maxis because the SMS verification on your move to Maxis was not successful. We will resubmit your request, kindly reply the SMS sent by your current service provider before the stated deadline. Need help? Call 1800 821 123

Damn yes. Your coverage at my home already is bad. Don't make it hard. I won't bother complaining either.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Mar 9 2022, 12:52 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 9 2022, 07:46 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Mar 9 2022, 03:30 PM)
any idea when did Maxis submit the request? trying to estimate how long it takes for Yes to send confirmation sms.
Fault does not lie on Maxis.
I remember I see the request at 11.30am then stupid Yes 4G...send the SMS at 9.30am .
By the time I see it, even if I reply the expired SMS, Yes4G "Ignore" the SMS.
Then at 11.30am today, Maxis sent the "fail to port" message.

So again, the one which taking their sweet time is Yes4G server.
At time of writing, I have found a spot in my house whereby it gets the "strongest" (and only 3 bars) signal, so I have no choice but to leave my handphone there.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Mar 9 2022, 07:48 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 9 2022, 09:37 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Mar 9 2022, 03:30 PM)
any idea when did Maxis submit the request? trying to estimate how long it takes for Yes to send confirmation sms.
Okay then, Let me reply your first reply above.

8th March - 11:22am - Maxis submitted port in request to Yes
9th March - 7.28am - YES sent port out SMS confirmation.

- So thats 20 hours (and 6 mins) for Yes 4G to respond.

SleeplessEyes
post Mar 10 2022, 02:21 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(NF2M @ Mar 9 2022, 10:21 PM)
And how quick you need to reply before the YES reply window expired?
1 Hour timeframe. As mentioned by dgboy.

QUOTE(dgboy @ Mar 9 2022, 10:32 PM)
The overall timeframe from submitting the request to successful mnp is typically 20~21 hours.

The difference is normal telco send the confirmation sms instantly and you then wait those 20-odd hours for porting to happen.

Yes, on the other hand, keeps you waiting 20 hours and gives you one hour to reply the sms, after which porting will happen within an hour.

When I ported out of Yes last January, luckily I was in a quiet place with decent signal when the sms came in so I could reply right away.

Easy to imagine doing the request at mall opening time, then getting sms from Yes 6am the next day while still sleeping. Timing is everything since you need to be awake, alert, paying attention to your hp and have a good Yes signal. That's a lot to ask.
QUOTE(Gold_Moderator @ Mar 10 2022, 01:44 PM)
Thanks for information. Moral of this story, never MNP into yes for you main number.
Mine is secondary number - used primary for data and because the number is "nice"
I even go all out to source for the strongest possible signal around my housing area, with the help of CellMapper and Network Cell Lite. Since my home is located at a "blind" coverage spot even outdoor.

I had experienced several OTP SMS delay/not coming in whenever I am at home.
So I'm not taking any chances. This port out have to be successful.
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 11 2022, 03:06 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Mar 10 2022, 05:28 PM)
Edit: port out request got denied by YES. Unifi told me I didn't respond to SMS. But there's no SMS from YES?

Edit 2: Contacted YES, and they advised me to resubmit and put the SIM in slot 1. Idk if that matters? Anyways, MNP request resubmitted. Fingers crossed, I'll be the 0.000001% success.
Hi, I'm currrently on the same boat as you. Maxis sent me SMS that I didnt respond to SMS.
Porting out from YES to Hotlink.

Twice my port out SMS was fashionably sent 1-2hours later by YES, causing it to expire.
You should receive SMS something like this:

RM0 YES: We received your request to port out. Kindly reply NO if you do not wish to proceed. To continue port out, reply YES to 0183301122 before 9/03/2022 08:28. Thank you

I already called to Yes Hotline and even the CS agent told me "to give us (YES) another chance and put on hold of the porting process, while we try to fix the problem" while he forward this issue to his "relevant dept".

Its either a bug software in their porting out. Or somebody in YES management deliberately requested this to happen.

Now the MNP is resubmitted automatically, for the 3rd time.
Please take note exactly what time your current provider send the SMS , then plus 20 hours and it will give you a good figure what time YES will ask for your permission.
Example: Unifi send SMS request yesterday at 3:30pm + 20 hours = 11:30am today.
1 hour time frame meaning 11:30am - 12:30pm.

I'm going to experiement and try responding "YES" even though they did not send the supposedly SMS.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Mar 11 2022, 03:30 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 12 2022, 10:45 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Mar 12 2022, 09:40 AM)
Thank you so much!!! It actually worked.

I responded YES to 018-3301122, even though I have not received any port-out SMS at all from YES.

1:31pm Yesterday - Resubmitted MNP request
9:33am Today - Responded YES (20 hours)

[/url]
Congrats KCY3701, you have managed to escape from YES prison rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Happy that my experiment worked for you even though I myself didnt managed to make it happen. Maxis already attempted 3 times, I think they have stopped trying for now.
Unfortunately I am on my own now. Tommorow is my last day of my credit.

Congrats once again to you. Enjoy your new Unifi line. smile.gif
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 15 2022, 08:13 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Mar 12 2022, 10:56 AM)
Well, you could always reload another RM15 to extend another 30 days, if you really like the number.
I was prepared to do it already.
Update:
I have earlier filed a report with YES and they admit they already found the issue of "Delay Port out SMS" and have fixed it.
So I will retry again resubmit my Port in request within this week. I have just reloaded RM 5 worth of 5GB Data (plus it gave me 10 days of validity) just to keep me alive while I retry my port in again.

I have to give credit to their CS cause they have been quite good in following up with calls.
Unfortunately for their call survey questionaire - I Press 2 for "No - I will not recommend YES to friends or family"

SleeplessEyes
post Mar 20 2022, 12:46 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Mar 15 2022, 10:03 PM)
Could then after this the 99.999999999999999999% failure rate turns into 99.999999999999999999% success rate....? LOL....
This time Yes4G make improvements.
Yes 4G No more give 1 hour to reply. Gives 2 hrs 59 mins to reply, as shown below Yes4G send me sms at 11:22am.
Total time : 18 Hrs to 21 hours for port out.

Once replied.. No more sms for confirmed. Straight away 15 mins later.. Line drop dead.. Tiiiiiiiiiiiiii (Like hopsital heart beat machine)

#Yes_Sudah_Bertaubat
#Goodbye_Yes
#Hello_Mak_Saya_Hijau
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 20 2022, 01:04 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Mar 20 2022, 12:52 PM)
So far quite unreliable speed even with band 38
So can't really depend on yes.
Evening 8pm peak less than 1mbps

So give unlimited speed unlimited data also no use

5g dunno lah. No coverage
Based on experience, Yes speed is sensitive to signal strength. Where I live, I only get 1 bar (or around - 110 to 120 dbm) indoor. 2 bars if I stand outside at the car porch.
Speed.. 2mbps. I found the tower though, ran speedtest only managed 18-20mbps even with close proximity with the tower.

On the other hand my Umobile gets up to 17mbps (not always) even indoor at my home.
Looking forward how Yes will cope with 5G. Especially with shorter 5G range.
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 22 2022, 06:57 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Mar 22 2022, 02:35 PM)
I seriously think MCMC should make it a requirement that the port-in telco take full responsibility to make sure consumer smoothly port out from existing telco.
The correct word should be
Port Out Telco should be responsible to ensure the consumer smoothly port out from existing telco.
Cause the one which buat hal is usually the current telco.

Digi is one of them.
Unfortunately our culture is not the same as Singapore.
Singapore telcos will call the customer and salvage the customer with free gift or whatever they can offer just to get the customer to stay on.
So far I only heard Maxis does that. Other telco make u port out a difficult journey.
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 23 2022, 01:47 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Mar 23 2022, 10:08 AM)

I would think you had misunderstood me. I wasn't giving any suggestion or ideas from my earlier reply. It's a sharing of experience.

To echo jsnhoh analogy,
It's like why would you tender your resignation at your workplace if your boss is treating you nice. Imagine you instead try to nego with your boss for a higher salary but he rejects (or worse still - ask you go fly kite and finish your job task given).
What will you do? Go find another job offer and tender resignation at your current workplace.
Same scenario applies to porting out. Again this is not a suggestion.

Most of the port out case is usually consumers having a bad ending. Coverage issue, speed damn slow. Or better offer at other telco.
And this is where each telco marketing dept works to lure new customers in.
Sadly like you said earlier : "Telco should be offering zero reason b4 consumer press the port out better. They should be giving us consumer zero reason to press the port out button"

Sometimes the offer for a new product or new feature is not available immediately to existing customers. With the usual T&C applies. Can you argue with the telco about the T&C? Nope. So the only way is to "take it or leave".

About your proposal : Can the driver seat be given to the Port In Telco. The answer would be I don't think so. Its not only in Malaysia. Its a global worldwide thing. The port in telco is the donor. Which has to ask permission from the port out telco. So unfortunately the driver still belongs to the Port Out telco.

My 2 cents opinion.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Mar 23 2022, 01:51 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 31 2022, 02:35 PM

2,429 posts

Yes4G really miss me lah.
I already ported out on the 20th March I still receive broadcast sms from them. Not annoyed but first time I receive sms from Ex-GF.. Erm.. Ex Telco.

Running out of data? Please sponsor me data at my new telco,YES Abang.
SleeplessEyes
post Apr 1 2022, 11:41 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Mar 24 2022, 11:01 AM)
No coverage at MRT TRX...luckily Momok Kuning saves the day....

No coverage in Redang. Luckily Panas link saves the day.

CellMapper doesn't show any tower at all

SleeplessEyes
post Apr 1 2022, 09:22 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(luqman98x @ Apr 1 2022, 12:57 PM)
There wasn't supposed to be any Yes towers at Redang Island & Perhentian Islands, if you do get Yes signal it is coming from mainland
Its unfortunate that Yes4G towers are so weak that they cant even reach middle of the sea. This is evident from checking the "coverage" via CellMapper and past experience with Band 40 indoor performance.

Whereas when I was on the ferry midway, Maxis towers on mainland could even penetrate the inside of the ferry with steel
Via Cell ID 510113 (Band 3) and 510164 (Band 7).
I think Yes doesnt want to install any towers in Redang due to probably lack of acceptance from the villagers...and also needs higher cost to install long distance microwave between island and mainland.
BTW, just for info, the hotel WIFI internet is pretty damn slow even via TM Unifi.
And what I Googled is that, they lack the underwater cabling from mainland to island. That explains.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1094sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:24 AM