Nissan Sentra CLub, LYN Sentra User

nlik
post Sep 7 2007, 10:03 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(NISMOgan @ Sep 6 2007, 10:37 PM)
aiks vanquish, u using brake system from what car how come  cannot find here so headache?

nlik : by any chance u play Initial D stage 4 with card? coz i saw a person nlik was playing with his FD RX7 when i visit mid valley arcade yesterday hehe
Yes I do play and all my initial D cards use NLIK. But that nlik you saw yesterday was not me, cause I was not there yesterday nod.gif . Haha.. but thanks for the heads up. I would never expect anyone else to use this name. nlik is my full name initials actually. Ai.. how come guy and not a hot gal? If gal then i will hunt her down hahaa. wub.gif

Ver.4, I have of course the NISSAN skyline R32 FT, a white FC and a grey GDB lor. I wish they would include a sentra in the game smile.gif hahaha lol.. then can mod kau kau in game without worry.

Walaue.. U also play initial D kar? haha smile.gif). I have been playing since ver.2. . Then spent too much on ver.3 and now to expensive ver.4.

This post has been edited by nlik: Sep 7 2007, 11:41 AM
nlik
post Sep 16 2007, 08:53 PM

876 posts

Just had my N16 car battery changed. Yesterday, the car had trouble starting. Turn the key and the car is like caughing but not starting. After a few tries then the car came alive. The blinking red dot on the dashboard also doesn't light up already when lock the door, which is probably a good indicator that the battery is died-ed and not the alternator.

So today went scouting for battery and finally did the change at Brother's Klang. Bought the GP NS70L which was the same as the original one that came with the car. Surprisingly the address on the warranty card is Meru Klang. So if any problems.. haha I can go to the factory if I wanted to.

Costs me RM198 for the batt and RM5 for installation work. Hmm.. quite simple to make the swap actually. Just need to remember -ve unplug first and for the new battery connect +ve first. But RM5.. just let them do it lar.

Yeah.. battery prices are up and the maintenance free one's were about RM240 and above.

That battery lasted me 3 years 4 months.

This post has been edited by nlik: Sep 16 2007, 08:55 PM
nlik
post Sep 23 2007, 02:47 PM

876 posts

Just to report in for you guys reference tongue.gif . I just came back from Penang mainland.

Klang to Penang Sg. Bakap, enter at seafield, exit at jawi toll; my sentra n16 consumed exactly 1/2 tank and 2 small bars of petrol. From Penang Sg. Bakap I filled in RM50 to full tank again with Primax 3 before heading back to Klang. Once I reach Klang, it finished 1/2 tank and 2 small bars again. So It's RM50 for fuel 1 way Penang - Klang distance.

When you overtake lorries or buses on the highway, your car tends to sway closer to the other vehicle. I'd say the sentra has less of this symptoms compared to wira, camry or cefiro that I have driven before. Haha.. maybe the bodykit does help ? laugh.gif

My car stock specs for this particular fuel consumption, cause your's could be different:

This post has been edited by nlik: Sep 23 2007, 02:49 PM
nlik
post Oct 1 2008, 05:43 PM

876 posts

Any of u face the issue where the backside of the n16 just jerks to the outside of a corner? this happens when the corner is uneven, has a bump or indent. Eg.. from kinrara to bukit jalil LRT station, you have to go up the slope and turn left where on your right is the TPM entrance. For this corner there is a slight groove on the road. opposite of a hump.. errr..sunken abit type of thing that will cause the back to jerk slightly.

I wonder how to solve this issue.
nlik
post Nov 16 2008, 06:30 PM

876 posts

I had low humming sounds when travelling at 110kmh. any faster or slower it's quiet. So while 50K service I asked the TCEAS ppl to check. One of the foremans, sat with me in the car as I drove on a nearby highway to demonstrate the sounds. Well.. later on they told me it's the rear wheel bearings that are making the noise and should be replaced. Quoted price.. rm500+.

I didn't have a job then so I decided not to at that time. I went out to shops and the price of bearings are around 400+ since the sentra N16 bearing is actually a 1 piece set.

But just saw this today, guy selling sentra parts.. and here it's RM115 for bearing?? Something doesn't seem right here.
Auto Garage
Also.. the same guy posted on PaulTan site in APRIL hmm.gif
PaulTan

Anyway, once I have got more stable job, will finally have that bearing change (hopefully less than rn500+) and have both a peace of mind and peace in driving.

This post has been edited by nlik: Nov 16 2008, 06:45 PM
nlik
post Nov 23 2008, 07:29 PM

876 posts

I finally got the bearing changed before my trip to penang yesterday. Before this , tceas ppl also recommended me to change the aircond and power steering belts. The list price for the bearing is RM495 and belts were rm100, rm70. But as usual, I sourced the parts from outside to get a cheaper price. There's 1 longer and 1 shorter belt.. so I dunno which is which rclxub.gif .

The tceas ppl were right, as after the bearing change I did not experience any more humming noises at 110km/h. Anyway, labour charge for bearing change was RM55, 2 belts were RM15 and RM16. So total damage RM86 + RM5XX.

Here are the pics of the faulty bearing. Damn.. sweat.gif whole hand black and greasy after taking the pics.
Attached ImageAttached Image Attached Image Attached Image

At the same time changed the aircond belt and power steering belt to Japan version. So bye bye birdie chirping from the engine.

Bonus:
Topless QG engine. The sentra was being serviced next to mine so I decided to peep. Timing belt, DOHC, spark plug holes visible. flex.gif

Got 1 sentra nearby hooked to a valve cleaning machine. Suddenly the guys there shouted " Hey mau bunuh orang ar!?" as 1 foreman rammed the engine and foul smelling fumes filled the air. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nlik: Nov 23 2008, 07:47 PM
nlik
post Nov 23 2008, 08:40 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(Vaiz @ Nov 23 2008, 08:15 PM)
BUMP BUMP BUMP! biggrin.gif
Did you mean Nissan's Nismo bodykit? You can get it from Nissan service centre if im not mistaken with the cost of RM2500 included with full installation.

And guys sigh, i think most of the N16 users experienced that annoying "cicicicici" sound during start up, timing belt problem eh? Did anyone fix this problem before?
Get the Japenis version aircond belt to get rid of the "cicicicici" sounds. N16 no timing belt, only timing chain, view my previous post.

This car also has a rear suspension problem where the rear end swings or jerks at uneven corners. Nissan received complaints from Malaysia and other countries and came up wit the fix..... The Nismo G Attack S tune set. Only problem is.. it's expensive I think.

http://then16files.blogspot.com/2007/02/ni...ension-kit.html

This post has been edited by nlik: Nov 23 2008, 08:41 PM
nlik
post Nov 29 2008, 08:38 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(boonpeng @ Nov 28 2008, 11:49 AM)
Bro, may I know what is the brand for the aircon belt? Going to change it soon...

But the way, N16 do not have timing belt? What is the timing chain? Need to change for certain duration?
aircond belt also Nissan brand, just that it's the japanese version, not the local 1.

Timing chain, as far as I know, change only when u notice extra sounds from the engine. Otherwise no need to bother. : flex.gif timing chain more reliable and also saves our money on the sentra's maintenance. Maybe that's why Genting taxi company choose the Sentra?

I think other cars need to change timing belts around 60,000km.

This post has been edited by nlik: Nov 29 2008, 08:39 PM
nlik
post Dec 13 2008, 11:38 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Dec 10 2008, 05:19 PM)
aiks.. dont want 1.5 engine ler..

so far any problem with n16?
n16. got problems

1. Cheerful bird chirping in the engine. (solve with japan A/C belt)
2. Rear end suspension is a low cost setup which tends to jerk abruptly (solve with aftermarket parts)
3. Again the rear end suspension design (short travel??) that get's the sound when going over humps (solve by.... some say copper shim)
4. Cramped interior space. (Always wished I could saw off some parts to increase cabin space)
5. Sometimes loose Side mirror. (solved by pulling it upwards and twisting to the front and then back again)
5. Less aftermarket parts compared to Honda and Toyota models. (what to do.. but our wallet happier la)

n16 got advantage.
1. For cheap trills, ask the Nissan guys to advance your ignition timing 2 degrees via consult II
2. For bragging rights, say ur car designed by the same fellers who did the skylines and GTR's. But maybe not??.
3. Ur car has many twin brothers around the world.
4. U can bring in your own parts to the Nissan service center. Warranty parts and labour would be evaluated separately in case of trouble after service.
5. No need rear alignment cause we lug around a horizontal bar than keeps the wheels straight.
6. For crying out loud, it's a Rena.. errrr sweat.gif ....Nissan.

haih.. nothin to do.. come here and talk crap.. yawn.gif . Have a rev filled year end guys. flex.gif

nlik
post Jan 4 2009, 06:08 PM

876 posts

Happy New Year Sentra Drivers. Hope this year brings you more HP, less FC and more RM laugh.gif
nlik
post Jan 11 2009, 02:09 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(singchaii @ Jan 10 2009, 11:09 PM)
Guyz, anyone driving nissan sport 1.6? I kinda interest on this car and wanna ask review about it. What the con and pro about this? Some more it got 10k discount now..
Which car are you referring to? sentra or latio?

By the way guys.. i read today's NST Cars Bikes & Trucks and someone advertised www.n16.com.my!! icon_idea.gif
nlik
post Jan 29 2009, 11:50 AM

876 posts

at the time of purchase of my N16..

SG - fabric seats, manual trans, no abs, rear drums, titanium interior finish.
SG-L leather seats, auto, abs, rear discs, steering mounted radio control, wood grain interior finish.

I still hate them for not standardizing the rear disc brakes for all sentra models vmad.gif . And also choosing a cheap rear suspension setup.

Anyway, Happy Niu Year, all sentra drivers. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by nlik: Jan 29 2009, 11:51 AM
nlik
post Feb 21 2009, 05:58 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(Vanquish @ Feb 17 2009, 03:53 PM)
My exhaust system upgrade consists of a performance extractor (JASMA certified but dunno what brand, it came with the half-cut), center bullet, 2" stainless steel piping, and a used Tanabe racing muffler (originally from a racing exhaust system set made for the Toyota Trueno AE86)...

Allowing more air flow in ur exhaust system will help your engine breathe better thus performing more efficiently... When your engine is running efficiently, you save fuel...
I frequently read that 2" piping is slightly too large for a NA engine but good for turbo, but maybe you have your reasons brows.gif

Anyway can you guys share your oil change habits? Would be great to know your experiences.

Mine...
Engine oil change mileage interval: 10000km
Current car Mileage: ~ 57000Km
Engine oil used : Mobil 1 Super S Plus
Plugs used :BK6RE ( the other option is BK5RE but I don't use this)
Always change oil filter at the same time : Yes.
Findings: 7000 km after the oil change, performance will have a noticeable drop. Flooring it on the highway, the acceleration is clearly less. So it's always shitty clocking the last 3000km before the next change. Suspect the local air filter (metal frame type) is inferior to the import (black rubber frame type) and contributes to the decrease in performance.

Thanks. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by nlik: Feb 21 2009, 06:01 PM
nlik
post Feb 25 2009, 08:11 PM

876 posts

Actually hmm.gif it does make sense that the exhaust piping follows the engine capacity. Weird to have a stock 3.5L NA engine with the same piping size as a stock sentra.

QUOTE(Nitrous @ Feb 23 2009, 11:32 AM)
Presumely you are using a Sentra? A 10,000km interval for an oil service is stretching it actually. The Nissan's Oil filter is optimum up to 5000km only and you will need to change at 5000km. You can opt not to discard the motor oil if you are using fully synthetic, but you should change your oil filter.
BKR6E is a colder plug, which is not really a big issue for Sentra engines. Usually people use 6E because their either track or race their car very often, or they have advanced the ignition timings on the engine.
At 35k, i decided to bring the car to svc center since i had another problem to solve. I brought an oil filter and told TCEAS HRC just to change that. The indian svc personnel told me no point. Because the oil already dirty at 5k km. Best to change at the same time with the engine oil according to him. But it's costly and troublesome to do this service every 5k.

nlik
post Mar 1 2009, 11:07 AM

876 posts

Finally found out where this model came from. Hope would be able to find a model of the N16 with bodykit at reasonable price and not Autoart lvl price.. unsure.gif

Paudi Model

nlik
post Mar 8 2009, 01:10 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(wirav6 @ Mar 2 2009, 04:52 PM)
yea la bro...
mana dpt??

sentra B14 hav ??
I don't know where to easily get in M'sia la, as I mentioned if can get for reasonable price... around rm100, then oklo. Autoart models more than rm300 ,sometimes 400+ lor.

Ahh.. But if I'm not mistaken, I only saw a single red sentra model at a model/toy shop at Mines shopping center, top floor about 1 year back. I didn't bother to ask the price la, just look through the glass display.

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Mar 3 2009, 12:51 AM)
how true is the top quote taiko?
It's true la. I write in a crap way but based on own experience and true facts wink.gif.

No 2 how to solve ar.. use Nismo G-ATTACK lo. However, I don't know anyone that has this setup so I don't have 1st hand experience on this g-attack lar. Actually what is considered short and what is considered long travel??? like a minimum of X inches is short.. more than Y inches is long..

This post has been edited by nlik: Mar 8 2009, 01:11 AM
nlik
post Aug 9 2009, 05:33 PM

876 posts

Looks tempting. Any takers? drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

nlik
post Aug 30 2009, 01:56 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(advanceNissan @ Aug 18 2009, 11:08 AM)
Hi, I would like to ask something and hope you guys can let me know. I just changed my rims from 14" to 15", base on the guy in Tan Chong, he recommended me to add wheel spacer, is that true that I should add wheel spacer since I only use 15" rims with 195/60/R15 tires? Thanks.
When i changed from oem 14" to 15" K-Speed, I had to get an extra metal 'ring' but no need spacers. PLUS I also got a set of new nuts as as the oem one's won't fit into the smaller holes of the K-speed.

Different rims maybe have different offsets, so perhaps at the shop you can test fit the new rims and see how big is the space between the tyre sidewall and the edge of your fender?

QUOTE(leongwk15 @ Aug 27 2009, 02:57 PM)
Hi Guys,

Tan Chong is giving a big discount for Sentra Sport at RM79K (a discount of RM10K).

Questions,
1) How is the Fuel consumption of Sentra?
2) What is the RPM on cruising of 100km/h?
3) What is the RPM on cruising of 120km/h?
4) Any problem with this car?
5) Averagely how much is the service provided by Tan Chong, minor and major service?

Is this worth a buy? Or go for others Nissan models.

Leong
Go for Latio or Slyphy la. smile.gif at this time a sentra....seriously, you're like buying a brand new old car. Space inside is abit cramped.
nlik
post Sep 13 2009, 04:34 PM

876 posts

Yesterday went for 10k front/back wheel swap .. the usual. Found that even though there's the torsion beam which makes the rear wheels dead, mine is now slightly off alignment already. shakehead.gif
So I guess that horizontal bar is not 100% true, or maybe bends overtime. The shop says there is a way for sentra owners to align the back wheel, but it'll cost around 100 each wheel, if not mistaken it will be using a shim?.

Also they found that one side of my lower arm bush is worn out already, so i guess it's time to replace it. He mentioned that cefiro's are worse as he had many encounters with cefiro with spoilt bushes.

vmad.gif Y don't car manufacturers use the adjustable camber screws for all cars as default!!. Those tyre shops really make alot of profit by selling, replacing all these stock camber screws with adjustable ones. If you don't change to adjustable camber screw, then they claim they can't do the alignment for you.

Anyway, more useless info for you.. the front wheel camber is -ve 1.5 degrees.
nlik
post Sep 19 2009, 01:40 PM

876 posts

I sent my sentra to TCEAS last week and while they were servicing the brakes they found the rear brake pump for drum brakes has jammed.

So.. close to rm300 gone juz like that, to replace it.. cry.gif damn.... But anyway, seems our sentra brakes are from AKEBONO which i have never heard of before this.

brows.gif ... maybe his dream car is the Aston Martin V8 Vanquish.

This post has been edited by nlik: Sep 19 2009, 01:43 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0501sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:15 AM