Working in Singapore V19, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

specopsmarines
post Jul 12 2016, 09:49 AM

258 posts

What are your AL entitlement guys?

Im being given a decent offer with 12 days AL. Im a bit concerned on this.
specopsmarines
post Jul 12 2016, 10:20 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ Jul 12 2016, 09:51 AM)
I got 14 days AL, 14 days ML
Thanks frank.

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 12 2016, 10:17 AM)
21days AL, 14days MC, 3days FCL, 2days CCL

Previously under agency, 12days AL, 6days MC pro-rated  ranting.gif  ranting.gif
What do you mean by under agency?
Im offered 12 days AL with 1 month salary gotta pay back if I quit within 1st year, pay back 2 months if I quit within 3 months.
No OT pay. But I think the pay is pretty good 3.8k sgd
specopsmarines
post Jul 12 2016, 11:35 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 12 2016, 08:06 PM)
First time working and coming to Singapore? Patience is virtue

Convert some money to SGD first. You need $500 or 1000 sum to open bank account next time
Wow, I didnt know this! Thanks. Any other tips?

I just signed my letter of appoinment today. Will be joining in sept.

My friend told me to get E Pass instead of S Pass because its easier with banking?
specopsmarines
post Jul 13 2016, 11:15 AM

258 posts

I just checked with my employer. He said he will be applying for work permit for me.

But I will be earning 3.8k, shouldnt I be eligible to apply for E Pass?
Should I press him to get E Pass for me?
specopsmarines
post Jul 13 2016, 11:40 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jul 13 2016, 11:17 AM)
why though?  confused.gif
No idea. Its a small advertising company. But I'll be joining as a degree holding IT professional.
specopsmarines
post Jul 13 2016, 02:17 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 13 2016, 12:25 PM)
Could be just difference in terminology (using mom terminology, "work pass" = work permit, s-pass or employment pass). Clarify with him lo.
Just got off the phone with him. He said s pass or e pass can take long, its just too much paperwork. He prefers work permit because its very easy to approve.
specopsmarines
post Jul 13 2016, 02:34 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jul 13 2016, 02:24 PM)
Well work permit usually got levy charges, if he willing to pay is fine, or u r expected to pay ?  sweat.gif some china company is like tat

No matter how, this make u get lesser salary than market rate.... As company may cut from ur salary....
He said company will pay the levy. Doesnt affect the salary he offered me.

My concern is, is not getting E pass or S pass something I need to be worried about.
specopsmarines
post Jul 13 2016, 03:30 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Jul 13 2016, 02:46 PM)
Yeah, you will be looked down upon in society  cry.gif
Really? How do people know? Ppl ask about this?

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 13 2016, 03:10 PM)
Work Permit for unskilled immigrants (those ppl who work as maids, etc) normally got limitations like can't marry Singaporean or PR and can't get pregnant otherwise SG will ask you to GTFO; but these limitations are normally waived for educated hires.

Here and there you might find some inconvenience with applying for loans, credit cards, etc cos some organizations treat WP vs EP differently.

If I'm not mistaken, Work Permit holder not eligible to apply for PR (but normally you need to work few years before applying anyway, so there's time for you to find a new company that will do an S Pass / EP for you if you want to use this one as a stepping stone).
I see, thanks for the useful info. Im at the limbo now. Salary offer is good. Just this WP thing makes me feel like pulling out sad.gif Plus there's 1 month salary payback this if I leave within one year.
specopsmarines
post Jul 18 2016, 11:14 AM

258 posts

Any idea if there's any active fb group for rooms for rent sg.

Im looking for a place in ang mo kio/bishan to move in sept
specopsmarines
post Jul 21 2016, 12:48 PM

258 posts

Where to get the cheapest USS tics?
specopsmarines
post Jul 28 2016, 02:28 PM

258 posts

Guys I need to transfer a large amount of money from msia bank acc to sg bank acc. Whats the best way to do this.
specopsmarines
post Jul 29 2016, 09:58 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(momijigari @ Jul 29 2016, 08:35 AM)
You could opt for telegraphic transfer (subject to limits) from Malaysia bank to Singapore bank.
Think your best bet is from MBB to Maybank Singapore. Dont think there's any free transfer.

Cheapest way is to bring cash over in person, but not recommended.
Or exchange the MYR with your Singapore colleagues/friends/family.
Momijigari is right, Foreign Telegraphic Transfer is the safest and easiest, can be done online.
I just transferred mine yday. Max rm30k per day. Charge rm10 + any charge by beneficiary bank.

Make sure you change your limits on your maybank online transfer limit. By default telegraphic transfer is limited at rm0. You can put it at any figure between rm0 - rm30k.

Now for my question, I need to budget my entire living expense to be below 1200sgd. I haven't been to sg yet so im not sure how much I need for daily expenses. Anyone can advice whats the max room rental I can pay to live within 1.2k a month?
specopsmarines
post Jul 29 2016, 11:46 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(Ultimaweapon @ Jul 29 2016, 10:46 AM)
A lot of it dependent on how the other items are allocated / other factors.
Accommodation can reach as low as S$400 if you're willing and someone is available
to share a room with you. Like travel expenses can be reduced if you rent near to workplace
and walk directly to work.

So, maybe:-
Food:- S$450
Travel:- S$100
Mobile:- S$50
Then
Accommodation:-
S$500-600 (private room, there are locations which this price is rare)

You don't have much to save that's for sure with S$1.2k
1.2k have deducted savings I assume?
Yes 1.2k is after deducting my target savings.

I'll be working at midview city so I need a room at bishan or amk then I can take bus also no problem.
My only issue is with room, I cant share because I sometimes sleep very late and have difficulty sleeping even with slightest noise or light.
Im wondering if its possible to get a non share common room for 500 ard that area.
specopsmarines
post Aug 3 2016, 05:14 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Aug 3 2016, 01:02 PM)
He's carpooling I believe
Are there any threads on carpooling sg - kl for weekends? I think that will be very useful for many of us here.

0.0979sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:09 PM